Can anyone program PIC?

Kasey

Can anyone program PIC?

Postby Kasey » March 24th, 2009, 10:05 pm

yep i on a special project and need help.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » March 24th, 2009, 10:10 pm

wah u talkin bout a PICkit using microbasic?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » March 24th, 2009, 10:13 pm

u have a programmer ? what u want to do?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » March 25th, 2009, 10:05 am

Well I am about to purchase a starter kit from microchip.com using the pic18. The kit has software to program, compiler and everything one needs to program it including simulation stuff. I need assistance to program it. Does anyone have experience? Doing an experiment to make a controller for a washing machine.

R. Hertz33

Postby R. Hertz33 » March 25th, 2009, 1:27 pm

using Mplab, u can run a compiler and program it using C, which is wayyyy easier than assembly, but depending on exactly what u want done, u might have to use the assembly. u sure not just in elec and want somebody to do ure project for u?

R. Hertz33

using Mplab, u can run a compiler and program it using C, which is wayyyy easier than assembly, but depending on exactly what u want done, u might have to use the assembly. u sure not just in elec and want somebody to do ure project for u?

R. Hertz33

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » March 25th, 2009, 1:30 pm

^^^WTF!

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » March 25th, 2009, 1:30 pm

^^^WTF!

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » March 25th, 2009, 1:35 pm

^^^WTF!

Postby RBphoto » March 25th, 2009, 3:21 pm

Assembly is much easier than using C, and saves a lot of time in debugging. Pluss you have full control of all the instructins and stack. One thing you might consider is writing a subrutine that basically brings down your clock speed by telling the execution program to idle for 1/10th of the clock cycles. I have found that when the PIC tries to execute code at the the internal clock rate, the attached hardware and sometimes the device itself is not capable of executing as fast as required. Kinda like the mind willing but the body not able. Good luck, is about 8 years since I work with them buggers. Why you could not write something useful like to change timing advance on a distributor car or a boost controller?

switchblademaster

Postby switchblademaster » March 25th, 2009, 4:28 pm

aye right now building a robot for a project and using CCS C Compiler together with proteus VSM for simulation. You should have checked CCS before purchasing from microchip. CCS has an easy user interface and alot of built in programming instructions especially for the PIC18 series. Also has easy to use tutorials. You can get alot of information on the net about programming the PIC18 and ebooks.

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2009, 4:56 pm

I bought a PIC setup sometime ago, never got around to using it other than program a chip to blink some led lights.
Assembly type programming separates the sheep from the goat
unless you know assembly or have an idea from before it might be very difficult to start with PIC

Doing the programming part is only one part, you still need the electronic side of which you want the cpu to manipulate.

There are many impressive things you can do with a microprocessor, plus there are many third party chips designed to be used by with a mcpu

PIC type stuff is used practically everywhere now,
the "mods" they do on playstations/xbox are done with this