Loans for vehicles 8yrs and over.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Loans for vehicles 8yrs and over.

Postby zodiaque » March 10th, 2009, 11:40 am

I have been trying to investigate options available in the event that I want to purchase a vehicle that is over 8yrs old.

The problem is that the banks I have contacted so far, with the exception of one, said that they do not finance vehicles that are 10 years and older.

Are there other financial institutions that would offer this service at a reasonable rate?

Thanks.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » March 10th, 2009, 11:48 am

vehicles over 5 years old are considered to not have a loan value. similarly when listing your assets in an application, vehicles over 5 years have a value of $0.00.

for this reason they do not finance older vehicles. unless you have some other form of security, or you qualify unsecured, or if you have excellent credit history they can recommend discounting the loan as unsecured but hold the vehicle still.

Postby r3iXmann » March 10th, 2009, 11:50 am

depending on the value,just write the loan off as personal expenses :!:

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 10th, 2009, 12:06 pm

i knew someone who got a lone for a 10year old civic.
maybe the bank official doesnt like the model of car u want to buy

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » March 10th, 2009, 12:08 pm

^Nope, does not have to do with model, type, etc. Purely on age.

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 10th, 2009, 12:55 pm

Credit unions may be more lenient - you should see what options you get with them

Postby Damien » March 10th, 2009, 1:24 pm

Tell them you taking a loan to do some renovating on your house ,make up and estimate with just the cost of material and once you qualify loan coming through

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » March 10th, 2009, 1:28 pm

and if they send someone to verify :lol:

Credit Union

or get a link with somebody big enough in the bank to bypass that criteria

Postby Damien » March 10th, 2009, 1:30 pm

crash dummy wrote:and if they send someone to verify :lol:

Credit Union

or get a link with somebody big enough in the bank to bypass that criteria

Once you qualify they dont send someone to verify

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » March 10th, 2009, 1:33 pm

cool.. :lol:

Postby Dave » March 10th, 2009, 1:35 pm

credit union will always work out better

some banks depending on your relationship will bend the rules for some clients

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » March 10th, 2009, 1:59 pm

I could check a Credit union. but don't you have to have had a running account with em for a while?

Postby r3iXmann » March 10th, 2009, 2:22 pm

zodiaque wrote:I could check a Credit union. but don't you have to have had a running account with em for a while?

not with secu...you could sign up today and get a loan next week once you qualify :lol:

or you can try the bank route wrt the personal expenses loan..just make up some (good) bs and you'll get through

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » March 10th, 2009, 2:42 pm

Things hard yes! easier to buy a brand new car, lol!

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 10th, 2009, 2:44 pm

^^ yuh right!

m6

Postby m6 » March 10th, 2009, 4:51 pm

My bank financing vehicles 8 yrs. and older,but they say you must come up with at least 100% downpayment. :P :P

Postby MG Man » March 10th, 2009, 4:55 pm

3 out of every 2 banks will turn you down

Postby Damien » March 10th, 2009, 5:04 pm

MG Man wrote:3 out of every 2 banks will turn you down

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 10th, 2009, 5:46 pm

To the bank, an 8 year old car is worthless. As with everything in Trinidad, it's who you know, so it's not impossible to get through. But be prepared to put down one hell of a lot of security or prove you make real paper.

waxcmus

Postby waxcmus » March 10th, 2009, 6:43 pm

m6 wrote:My bank financing vehicles 8 yrs. and older,but they say you must come up with at least 100% downpayment. :P :P

that is what you calling your block now :D

Postby Rooki3 » March 10th, 2009, 6:50 pm

MG Man wrote:3 out of every 2 banks will turn you down

fraggle

Postby fraggle » March 10th, 2009, 8:02 pm

Banks are in the business of lending money, so it is very possible to get this loan..
the only thing is that they would demand some collateral equivalent or more than the value of the car e.g money equiv , house , land.....etc, but why would do this.
So just go Credit Union, most of them only want 1/3 the cost of the vehicle as collateral.

In short with banks NO MONEY, NO LOVE..

m6

Postby m6 » March 10th, 2009, 8:26 pm

[Waxcmus]
m6 wrote:
My bank financing vehicles 8 yrs. and older,but they say you must come up with at least 100% downpayment.

that is what you calling your block now
[/quote]
Dude I lost???? :roll:

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » March 10th, 2009, 10:25 pm

m6 wrote:[Waxcmus]
m6 wrote:
My bank financing vehicles 8 yrs. and older,but they say you must come up with at least 100% downpayment.

that is what you calling your block now

Dude I lost???? :roll:[/quote]

is a joke ......laud

Hammy Bolo

Postby Hammy Bolo » March 11th, 2009, 5:53 pm

You can this vehicle financed

*either as no security

*using the car as security, but it will have no lending value to the bank- so its like the loan is unsecured

*unsecured outright

*using an alternative form of security

*have someone secure the loan for you