Crime Stories for the Carnival

Postby Greypatch » February 23rd, 2009, 7:36 am

American shot Dead
A United States national who came to Trinidad to enjoy Carnival celebrations was shot dead yesterday morning following an altercation on Cipriani Boulevard, Port of Spain.

Levon Lyons, 29, of California, had just exited an all-inclusive fete around 8.30 a.m., when he got into an argument with another man. The man reportedly pulled out a gun and shot Lyons.

Lyons was rushed to the Port of Spain General Hospital where he died on arrival, police said.

Following the murder, a 30-year-old Canadian man and a 26-year-old British woman are assisting police in their investigations.

A news release from the Ministry of National Security stated an illegal firearm, and several spent shells were recovered by detectives of the Organised Crime Narcotics and Firearms Bureau who were the first to respond.

The release further stated, "The murder was witnessed by a police officer and several other individuals who were leaving the party at the time."
Last edited by Greypatch on February 23rd, 2009, 7:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Greypatch » February 23rd, 2009, 7:38 am

Two men shot dead

Denyse Renne

Sunday, February 22nd 2009

The shooting death of a Diego Martin man has pushed the murder figure to 94 for the year thus far.

Kendell Robinson, 20, of Factory Road, was shot dead following an altercation with another man in the area.

Police say based on initial reports, at around 12 p.m. yesterday, Robinson and the man were arguing on Factory Road when the man whipped out a gun and shot him. Robinson died on the spot.

Sgt Michael Veronique of the Homicide Bureau is continuing investigations.

And investigations are also continuing into the shooting death of Santa Cruz resident Kevin Pakeera.

According to police reports, at around 9.15 p.m. on Friday, officers of the North Eastern Division were on patrol along Blackford Street, Santa Cruz, when they spotted five men, two of whom were armed and wearing jerseys with the word "Police" written on them.

The officers claimed they challenged the men but were met with gunfire. The officers returned fire and the men darted off in various directions.

A short distance away they noticed Pakeera lying in a pool of blood. He was rushed to the Mt Hope Medical Facility where he died upon arrival.

Police recovered a revolver with three rounds of ammunition.

Postby Greypatch » February 23rd, 2009, 7:40 am

Pensioner's hand chopped off

South Bureau

Sunday, February 22nd 2009

A PENSIONER lost his right hand after an altercation with a male relative yesterday morning.

Hollis Ramnath, 67, was at the San Fernando General Hospital last night after the incident which occurred around 8.15 a.m. opposite his Popty Trace, Rousillac, home, said police.

Police have been searching for 26-year-old labourer to assist in investigations into the cutlass attack.

In another incident, police officers held two men from East Dry River at a house on Murray Trace, Siparia on Friday night with seven rounds of ammunition and a .38 pistol.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » February 23rd, 2009, 7:44 am

Ah waiting to see what news comes out of today and tomorrow....keep it up

Postby Greypatch » February 23rd, 2009, 7:48 am

will try

Postby tr1ad » February 23rd, 2009, 7:51 am

ah tell allyuh 115 by ash wednesday

Postby ronsin1 » February 23rd, 2009, 8:01 am

reminds self not to get into altercation or argument with anybody they have guns :shock:

Postby RBphoto » February 23rd, 2009, 8:15 am

ronsin1 wrote:reminds self not to get into altercation or argument with anybody they have guns :shock:

For real. If you bat in yuh crease, and retire injured when you want to buss a tooze, you would not end up making a century with a brown stain on your pants.

Postby joker » February 23rd, 2009, 8:19 am

reminds self not to get into altercation or argument with anybody they have guns

Postby ronsin1 » February 23rd, 2009, 9:01 am

joker sig wrote:live life humble..... you never know who will be collateral damage.

apple

Postby apple » February 23rd, 2009, 10:26 am

110 - 125 reported by thursday

ztune

Postby ztune » February 23rd, 2009, 10:42 am

nice

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » February 23rd, 2009, 10:55 am

it happens :)

Postby buzz » February 23rd, 2009, 1:31 pm

trini bess eh? :)

Postby buzz » February 23rd, 2009, 5:07 pm

philbert go declare a clean bill of health :|

shady23

Postby shady23 » February 23rd, 2009, 5:57 pm

"jump wine wave stampede mash up d place get on bad put yuh hand inna d air lemmih see yuh rag inna yuh hand"

We like it so..

Postby Rooki3 » February 23rd, 2009, 5:59 pm

Ah bartender try to charge me $20 for ah guiness............................thats ah crime I tell you.

*he should be shot*

Postby Rooki3 » February 23rd, 2009, 6:12 pm

pioneer wrote:try $800 for a bottle of JWB nah :lol:

pios dat en so bad :!: http://www.wineglobe.com/12616.html

Paradoxx

Postby Paradoxx » February 23rd, 2009, 6:14 pm

pioneer wrote:jus know the US not gonna take this lightly :fadein:

hopefully

Postby AllTrac » February 23rd, 2009, 6:30 pm

the US is a bit preoccupied with other issues right now :lol: :lol:

Postby Greypatch » February 23rd, 2009, 6:38 pm

more to come stay tuned

Postby SUPAstarr » February 23rd, 2009, 6:45 pm

no joke as my friends and i exited DAWN an walked towards my office on the Blvd, 2 shots rang out, i think i saw the shooter bein pursued, but the best part is shots fired but some pl want to run towards it.....that really kinda hit home boy

evokiller

Postby evokiller » February 23rd, 2009, 6:55 pm

Las nite my partner truck get broken into...broke his driver side glasss.....he was going leave his truck in flag staff too and come in my car as i got 2 park inside country club....but he decided it doh make sense....wen we jump in my car and drive around the corner by CSB there see his window smashed in....steupsssss idk y men so yes

Postby buzz » February 23rd, 2009, 7:04 pm

buzz wrote:philbert go declare a clean bill of health :|

ah shulda bet $$$

Postby Greypatch » February 23rd, 2009, 7:10 pm

De CoP have no shame....

he gave the assurance of a safe carnival..

what a joke.....(just like the rest of the Ministry of National Security)

evokiller

Postby evokiller » February 23rd, 2009, 7:14 pm

:lol: :lol: pioneer yes ahaha

Postby Rooki3 » February 23rd, 2009, 8:21 pm

pioneer wrote:"no major crimes"...so a crime has to be major for it to be a crime?

only if ah whiteman geh kill we hadda care?

And i doh kno why the phoq ppl parking in the area designated for the disabled!

steupes *they should be shot*

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » February 23rd, 2009, 9:58 pm

The road steal the soles of my shoes this morning :lol:

avinashr

Postby avinashr » February 23rd, 2009, 11:24 pm

saw ah injun want to stab up he brother in los iros yesterday....

saw a big fight in armour street, princes town this evening.... some youth men and a old man and he whole family, called the police they eh know where armour street is! and they wokkin ptown