best way to invest $20K

Antic

best way to invest $20K

Postby Antic » February 17th, 2009, 11:52 am

Best way to invest $20K over 3 years to get a >6% rate of return?

no smart jokes pls. Serious posts only.

Postby SUPAstarr » February 17th, 2009, 11:53 am

CRIX TIN, 4 foot hole, plant a few tomato tree around it to mark de spot

Postby crazybalhead » February 17th, 2009, 11:54 am

Put it in a regular savings account.

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » February 17th, 2009, 12:12 pm

I invested in a Republic Bank Mutual fund, low risk, very good returns every quarter and easy access to the money if i need it.

Postby MG Man » February 17th, 2009, 12:12 pm

savings or fix deeposit?

I buying sterling :mrgreen:

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » February 17th, 2009, 12:28 pm

Buy 50 pairs of air force 1's, sell said pairs at $600 each and you made $10,000 on your $20,000 :!:

Postby Dave » February 17th, 2009, 12:29 pm

both UTC and Roytrin 2nd schemes making 6% and more

toolpusher

Postby toolpusher » February 17th, 2009, 12:35 pm

Invest in gold

BUY The Pound it will go up to $13+ soon

Postby Greypatch » February 17th, 2009, 12:38 pm

UTC, Roytrin, RBL mutual fund tek yuh pick...

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 17th, 2009, 12:52 pm

UTC seem to be the best and safest option right now

or u could buy cheap sheit off ebay and come and sell on tuner for greater than 2 times the price

WTF

Postby WTF » February 17th, 2009, 12:59 pm

buy sagicor shares...u goh double up in 3 years easy

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 17th, 2009, 1:10 pm

WTF wrote:buy sagicor shares...u goh double up in 3 years easy

^^ and you based that on what theory may i ask..... currently sagicor results may be misleading to a non investor eyes... they are takin heavy 'mark to market' losses in their equity portfolio which is not shown in this period... now if you take dat loss and place it against there current 'profit' it will not be much of a profit.... it would more look flat...

NML results came out today and it was flat... a mere 6%...

With the current state of the stock market, any 'recognised' stock is a good buy, dat is if you plan to hold for the 'long term' and by long term i mean, as the above states 3 - 5 years.....

But in these times it is hard to find ppl willing to put away large sums in de stock market, with the current low confidence in the system...

i suggest you place it in a mutual fund for now...

Gshock

Postby Gshock » February 17th, 2009, 2:09 pm

Buy Some US Currency after the summit when T&T Dollar gone down to 10 - 1 you will be rolling in the dough

aR&D

Postby aR&D » February 17th, 2009, 2:14 pm

Gshock wrote:Buy Some US Currency :idea: :idea: after the summit when T&T Dollar gone down to 10 - 1 you will be rolling in the dough

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 17th, 2009, 2:46 pm

Dave wrote:both UTC and Roytrin 2nd schemes making 6% and more

go with those ^^i am not sure about Caribbean equity , fluctuates more than any measure of crude right now , my principal 2.5 years invested has yet to realized , be mindful that the rates for most of the current portfolio of investment available to us are less than the inflation rate
Last edited by cornfused on February 17th, 2009, 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

silentbaby

Re: best way to invest $20K

Postby silentbaby » February 17th, 2009, 2:50 pm

Antic wrote:Best way to invest $20K over 3 years to get a >6% rate of return?

no smart jokes pls. Serious posts only.

hmmm your real rate of return will be negative unless the inflation rate drops to below 6%

Postby ronsin1 » February 17th, 2009, 3:09 pm

How come nobody say CLICO

newto4x4

Postby newto4x4 » February 17th, 2009, 3:20 pm

Credit Union ... mine gave 7.5% divident last yr

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » February 17th, 2009, 3:37 pm

Invest in EURO ..in a few years it maybe the more dominant currency

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » February 17th, 2009, 4:16 pm

invest it on the website trinituner.com so we can get a spell check or some thing of that sort so we can understand post made by ST and men like details

you would be doing a good thing, God go bless you for it

seriously though Republic Bank Mutual fund and Roytrin

Mystique

Postby Mystique » February 17th, 2009, 4:36 pm

newto4x4 wrote:Credit Union ... mine gave 7.5% divident last yr

which credit union is this?

Postby Damien » February 17th, 2009, 5:38 pm

Mystique wrote:
newto4x4 wrote:Credit Union ... mine gave 7.5% divident last yr

which credit union is this?
That have to be the interest rate on a loan :!:

Rush

Postby Rush » February 17th, 2009, 6:55 pm

if i am not mistaken,
a MONEY MARKET account shud be more than 6% p.a

check CMMB, ANSA MERCHANT, ROYTRIN, GUARDIAN LIFE,

very low risk,
my advice- call them and ask them abt it,

Marct

Postby Marct » February 17th, 2009, 7:28 pm

definition of "low risk" is a helluva ting

gencon

Postby gencon » February 17th, 2009, 8:31 pm

adri 2nr wrote:Invest in EURO ..in a few years it maybe the more dominant currency

it have any euro investment schemes out there??

Postby gt4tified » February 17th, 2009, 9:46 pm

1. Buy gold and sit on it for 3 years;

2. T.Bills;

3. Buy a corolla and wuk it "PH" in yuh spare time.

Rush

Postby Rush » February 17th, 2009, 10:02 pm

yes, there are euro schemes,

check CMMB

T. bills,
government bonds,
fixed income papers

all are low risk,
for your defn of low risk, call the places i mentioned b4,
and see what they offer and what risk level they are at

and...
be a good tuner,
and post up what they said and ur decision and why...

Postby eliteauto » February 17th, 2009, 10:06 pm

open a car wash

Postby sMASH » February 17th, 2009, 10:07 pm

nuthin much will be makin money now. 6% real gud for these times.
if u willin to invest and sit still for 3-5 years then u would make a lot

buy stuff while prices low, and wait for 3years for it to appreciate. i did not mean buy now. hold on a little, when gold and oil lookin a lil betta you could start the low buyin

my OPINION