Michael Phelps suspended for 3 months

aR&D

Michael Phelps suspended for 3 months

Postby aR&D » February 6th, 2009, 10:46 am

Michael Phelps’ return to competition for the first time since the Beijing Olympics is on hold. The swimming superstar has been suspended for three months and had his training stipend revoked by USA Swimming.

It’s the latest complication for the 23-year-old Olympic great since a photo surfaced showing him inhaling from a marijuana pipe.

He also lost a high-profile sponsor Thursday when Kellogg Co. said it wouldn’t renew its deal with Phelps that expires later this month.

Phelps recently resumed serious training in his hometown of Baltimore with the goal of qualifying for this summer’s world championships in Rome. But the suspension will cut into his racing schedule.

“This is not a situation where any anti-doping rule was violated, but we decided to send a strong message to Michael because he disappointed so many people, particularly the hundreds of thousands of USA Swimming member kids who look up to him as a role model and a hero,â€

noobie

Postby noobie » February 6th, 2009, 12:53 pm

Fricking bunch of hypocrites.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 6th, 2009, 12:59 pm

That good, he needed to come back down to earth.... after all is his own doing caused this....

:| :| :|

WD40

Postby WD40 » February 6th, 2009, 1:07 pm

What a load of crock. Obama/Bush can freely admit to using nose candy and still hold high office, but different rules apply to athletes. It wasn't even a performance enhancing drug.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 6th, 2009, 1:38 pm

meh, it's good to know they're not afraid to reprimand their sports heroes

antlind

Postby antlind » February 6th, 2009, 3:06 pm

WD40 wrote:What a load of crock. Obama/Bush can freely admit to using nose candy and still hold high office, but different rules apply to athletes. It wasn't even a performance enhancing drug.

Yeah, but Bush and Obama weren't foolish enough to get photographed hitting the Bong. Phelps is an idiot.

Postby teems1 » February 6th, 2009, 3:20 pm

they should legalize marijuana and X as they harmless.

lets face it, half of the US are a bunch of dumb jocks who won't make it to college level. they need a job to continue wallowing through life. police officer is their best bet as they still get to bully people around, and it doesn't require too much brainpower.

the war on drugs is a huge scam to make the local police, sheriff, prison correction officers, prison construction etc in business.

as for these seized drugs, the same police officers often engage in the lucrative resale business to make their pockets even fatter.

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2009, 3:36 pm

^ok..

<embed src="http://media.imeem.com/m/e0Awvm0Z1Y" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="300" height="110" wmode="transparent"></embed>

kaiger

Postby kaiger » February 6th, 2009, 4:54 pm

teems1, marijuana and X not harmless, why don't you take some of both and go try doing something productive (eg. your job). Tell me how that worked out.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » February 6th, 2009, 5:29 pm

man say 'X' not harmless
teems1, http://www.nida.nih.gov/InfoFacts/ecstasy.html

Postby teems1 » February 6th, 2009, 5:29 pm

kaiger wrote:teems1, marijuana and X not harmless, why don't you take some of both and go try doing something productive (eg. your job). Tell me how that worked out.

are you serious?

why then is alochol legal? drink a bottle of alcohol and see if you can do something productive.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 6th, 2009, 5:37 pm

teems1 wrote:
kaiger wrote:teems1, marijuana and X not harmless, why don't you take some of both and go try doing something productive (eg. your job). Tell me how that worked out.

are you serious?

why then is alochol legal? drink a bottle of alcohol and see if you can do something productive.
i can do that

kaiger

Postby kaiger » February 6th, 2009, 5:43 pm

teems1, there are alot of things that you can ABUSE eg. alcohol, take one "X" and you royally fawked..there is no safe amount so it's ILLEGAL, and I not gonna wait for you to ask me what is the legal amount to drink because there is not, you have common sense and know that already..I not going and get emo over this, take waeva you want, illegal or not :|

*thread closed

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 6th, 2009, 5:46 pm

x is cheaper in guyana than trinidad. Here police will find u with X and not do u anything because its not a popular drug and its in pill form. anybody want some? :mrgreen:

xtech

Postby xtech » February 6th, 2009, 5:47 pm

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » February 6th, 2009, 5:49 pm

^^BUSTED!!!!!!!

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 6th, 2009, 5:51 pm

i have 99.95%proof alco to sell too
smoking weed and drinking rum cancels them out

Postby Cjruckus » February 6th, 2009, 7:28 pm

xtech wrote:Image

well at least he got busted hitting an all glass pipe.

it would have been embarrassing if he was smoking it up from plastic.

Postby teems1 » February 6th, 2009, 9:37 pm

kaiger wrote:teems1, there are alot of things that you can ABUSE eg. alcohol, take one "X" and you royally fawked..there is no safe amount so it's ILLEGAL, and I not gonna wait for you to ask me what is the legal amount to drink because there is not, you have common sense and know that already..I not going and get emo over this, take waeva you want, illegal or not :|

*thread closed

man, you're acting like X is the worst thing since the PNM

carmelo

Postby carmelo » February 6th, 2009, 9:54 pm

the fork up part is if usain bolt or somebody else got cuaght doing smoking weed u know they would strip him of his medal or some sheit .............. them forking bunch of hypocrites

Postby buzz » February 6th, 2009, 10:36 pm

heh heh khat

kaiger

Postby kaiger » February 6th, 2009, 11:26 pm

buzz wrote:heh heh khat

link

Postby link » February 6th, 2009, 11:45 pm

phelps is a hypocritical ahole......
pretending to be superstar role model...........
he should be holding a DONG instead of a bong
:fist:

Postby teems1 » February 7th, 2009, 11:40 am

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/7876425.stm

article on bbc website saying X is no more dangerous than horse riding.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » February 7th, 2009, 12:03 pm

This is so much sheit
cannabis is medicinal
he may have anxiety or something
this is just a way of the government trying to keep weed as a bad image in the mind of most foolish americans and well i guess some foolish trinidadians also agree....
they are making an example of him............ i hate those ads on tv...the above the influence ones.......where they imply that if u smoke weed you will leave your little brother in school or steal from people ...........it is so much sheit and ppl actually fall for it..........IMHO cannabis is better than alcohol ...........cuz i never see some one smoke a splif and get ignorant and want to fight or chap some one with a 3line....but bet you u fedup hear bout some drunk injun with a cutlass or fights in bars......and if ne thing i would say that alot of ppl on the forum need to take a few hits from a bong to unbundle the panty from outta their ass .......