SUMMITS WILL SAVE US

WD40

SUMMITS WILL SAVE US

Postby WD40 » January 24th, 2009, 1:09 am

IN AN apparent attempt to drum up public support for the two international conferences later this year, Prime Minister Patrick Manning yesterday hammered the point that the Summit of the Americas and the Commonwealth Heads of Government conferences would bring immeasurable economic benefits as well as international political exposure for Trinidad and Tobago.

"It is a known fact that every host country of these international conferences has reported increased foreign direct investment in the aftermath of the meetings. We have an extraordinary chance to open doors further to trade and industry," the Prime Minister said in a statement to the House of Representatives.

It was Government's first robust attempt to blunt criticisms of the $603 million expenditure for both summits and to respond to Opposition calls to cancel the summits because of the changed economic climate. Manning indicated that the conferences were critically linked to the bread and butter of the average citizen.

"Following the high-level summits, it is anticipated that more requests to use our facilities will be forthcoming and that there will be an increase of business tourists on a continuous basis. The opportunities for hotels, taxi-drivers, artisans, caterers, interpreters, room attendants, tour operators, business equipment and other suppliers are therefore many," he said.

Noting that the Summit of the Americas, due to take place from April 17 to 19, comes three months after the inauguration of US President Barack Obama, Manning said it would be the "first multilateral forum in our hemisphere at which he (Obama) will have the opportunity to interact with his counterparts on issues affecting us all".

Addressing the "misguided notions in some quarters" as to why Government decided to host the conferences, Manning said: "Let me assure the national community that when we took the decision to host these events, it was ... after very, very, careful consideration of the benefits that can accrue to our people, and the wider Caricom region from leading multilateral initiatives of such importance and magnitude.

Story continues...

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161429382

Postby Maserati » January 24th, 2009, 1:52 am

^lol

promises promises
never believe promises from a politician

slick

Postby slick » January 24th, 2009, 2:28 am

ah tink mannin need to check Banzai for some "product"

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2009, 5:40 am

lol, i was thinking the same
if i recall miss universe was 30m or so

pioneer wrote:yeh, jus like miss universe helped us.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 24th, 2009, 8:17 am

too late to turn back :idea:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » January 24th, 2009, 8:30 am

*clicks view next topic*

noobie

Postby noobie » January 24th, 2009, 8:45 am

HOLY F***!!!!
603 MILLION!??

When that price get released to the public? First time I hearing about that total cost.
Geeez and ages!! And we in a deficit with the budget!

*shakes head*

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » January 24th, 2009, 9:11 am

prime minister muga** ah mean manning knows wha he doing..........

603mil is ah drop in d bucket fuh we an we oil rich economy, wait tha is d price per barrel now!?!

doh frighten crime goin an go down just like d cost of livin.......... :| :| :|

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 24th, 2009, 9:50 am

While I wish that given the present economic situation, this could jus disappear, but the opportunity for this has long passed.

Public consultations were held and I'm pretty sure that all the posters in this thread were as absent as I was.

Too late to cancel now. You had your chance. STFU and work with it.

Postby RASC » January 24th, 2009, 10:05 am

Manning is clearly delusional... only good hope he has right now is the fact that oil is up 6% as at the close of markets Friday.
Trust me even if it recovers 47% to levels it once was...he has no chance at this point at retaining the PM office!

slick

Postby slick » January 24th, 2009, 10:24 am

RASC wrote:Manning is clearly delusional... only good hope he has right now is the fact that oil is up 6% as at the close of markets Friday.
Trust me even if it recovers 47% to levels it once was...he has no chance at this point at retaining the PM office!

for the sake of all of us, i hope ur rite

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 24th, 2009, 10:46 am

RASC wrote:"Oh Gawd Oh Gawd Oh Gawd...I just get this email-Trust me it real...PH Taxi...African...Rob...Rape...Beating...Trincity Mall...Zen CarPark...Gov't Don't Care...Call Inshan"

ROFLMAO @ that sig

Thought I was the only one who noticed the trends

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 24th, 2009, 11:22 am

they feel everybody is ah ass

but wait is true since we put them there & we did it again on monday .... :roll:

Postby bushwakka » January 24th, 2009, 7:50 pm

pioneer wrote:yeh, jus like miss universe helped us.

not 2 mention the billions wasted on U17 world cup

twenty_inches_strong

Postby twenty_inches_strong » January 25th, 2009, 1:33 am

wat about d airport....:skurred:

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 25th, 2009, 2:05 am

noobie wrote:HOLY F***!!!!
603 MILLION!??

When that price get released to the public? First time I hearing about that total cost.
Geeez and ages!! And we in a deficit with the budget!

*shakes head*

I don't believe this cost involves the upgrading of the old airport.