12% to 52% increase in electricity rates!!!

slimsexytrini

12% to 52% increase in electricity rates!!!

Postby slimsexytrini » January 17th, 2009, 6:32 pm

Residential customers to pay more for electricity
...up by 12 to 52%
Camille Bethel cbethel@trinidadexpress.com
Saturday, January 17th 2009

Residential customers of the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (T&TEC) will soon have to pay more for their electricity supply, T&TEC general manager, Ernest Boxill, said yesterday.

Speaking at the commission's media luncheon at the Hilton Trinidad in Port of Spain, Boxill assured customers who recently experienced excessively high bills that the billing process would return to normal.
Still, he noted, "I must however point out that the because of the increased rates, now structured in three tiers, residential customers can expect increases in their bills ranging from approximately 12 per cent, for customers whose bi-monthly consumption is less than 400 units, to 52 per cent at a higher end, depending on how much more than a 1,000 units are consumed."

Boxill acknowledged the many complaints made by customers about the excessively high bills they received, which he said occurred because of difficulties experienced by T&TEC in coping with updating its customer billing information system.

"For this we sincerely apologise to all affected customers," he said.
He pointed out that the implementation of the advance metering infrastructure is approximately 75 per cent completed and currently, about 300,00 out of 400,00 meters have been changed, with the project scheduled for completion in June of this year.

One of T&TEC's primary focus areas for 2009, he said, is the improving of electricity reliability by reducing the frequency and duration of outages.

Postby joker » January 17th, 2009, 6:36 pm

so y they raising it for? :x

Postby r3iXmann » January 17th, 2009, 6:50 pm

in an unrelated note,ttec called my company this week asking them why was there a decrease in electricity usage :lol:

i heard they received a sound cuss out :lol: :lol:

Oleander

Postby Oleander » January 17th, 2009, 6:54 pm

Ohh lawwdd.. more $$ out of pocket.. :evil:

Postby De Dragon » January 17th, 2009, 6:56 pm

joker wrote:so y they raising it for? :x
Man doh play de arse nah! Ent ArcelorMittal cut 'way ah whole heap ah electricity usage? Money hadda mek yunno!

Postby joker » January 17th, 2009, 7:16 pm

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » January 17th, 2009, 7:18 pm

presureeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

urabus

Postby urabus » January 17th, 2009, 8:56 pm

ways to conserve energy and control your cost
http://www.ttec.co.tt/useful_tips/conse ... efault.htm

but for real these ppl are ridiculous!!

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » January 17th, 2009, 9:49 pm

>>>>>>>ArcelorMittal<<<<<<< this is the reason. T&TEC biggest customer not using much so they have to find some way of making the money :( :(

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » January 17th, 2009, 10:07 pm

but ent oil prices rock bottom... whuz de justification for the increase???

slimsexytrini

Postby slimsexytrini » January 17th, 2009, 10:38 pm

I was wondering the same...what the purpose of this increase? and why by such a large increase? Back to caveman days....no electricity...no lights...no tv....no entertainment....etc..... :shock:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 17th, 2009, 10:54 pm

solar powahhhh!!!

slimsexytrini

Postby slimsexytrini » January 17th, 2009, 11:26 pm

they might charge we for the sunlight just now.... :fist:

Postby Damien » January 17th, 2009, 11:59 pm

BWDMC :?

Postby buzz » January 18th, 2009, 12:32 am

slimsexytrini wrote:they might charge we for the sunlight just now.... :fist:

u really want clarification on this?

i was amazed my self :shock:

slick

Postby slick » January 18th, 2009, 11:53 am

reiXmann wrote:in an unrelated note,ttec called my company this week asking them why was there a decrease in electricity usage :lol:

i heard they received a sound cuss out :lol: :lol:

it good for dem

inocrew

Postby inocrew » January 18th, 2009, 12:11 pm

Real Madness in this place if that happen because yuh no when electricity go up everthing else will. :shock:

Postby Sky » January 18th, 2009, 1:00 pm

cute corolla wrote:ways to conserve energy and control your cost
http://www.ttec.co.tt/useful_tips/conse ... efault.htm

but for real these ppl are ridiculous!!

There's also a way to modify your main breaker with capacitors to consume less power. I don't know the detail, maybe crossdrilled knows. Of course they won't tell you this, but it sounds possible.

Postby buzz » January 18th, 2009, 1:23 pm

you could have modded the anolog meters as well

bet they got wiser :x

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » January 18th, 2009, 3:22 pm

you can't tamper with the new meters. there's a transmitter built in to it. so no more meter man, no more calling to say current gone in the area. hence the electrician can't cut your mains and move it or any stuff like that, they'll see current gone by you alone :? :?

slimsexytrini

Postby slimsexytrini » January 18th, 2009, 8:20 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:you can't tamper with the new meters. there's a transmitter built in to it. so no more meter man, no more calling to say current gone in the area. hence the electrician can't cut your mains and move it or any stuff like that, they'll see current gone by you alone :? :?

:?

Postby buzz » January 18th, 2009, 8:29 pm

yup GPS bizniz or so dey say

cud cut yuh current with a left click :|

dias wa dey say eh :|

Postby hydroep » January 19th, 2009, 12:54 am

Hmmph...technology in your razz. Makes you wonder if they can manipulate it's readings just as easily... :|