Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Dizzy28 » July 11th, 2017, 3:18 pm

Guys working on a project -

Anyone knows of the regulations (links to respective agencies would be fine) governing the export of ornamental fishes from Trinidad. Conversely do you all know of the regulations in countries that import ornamental fish from us?

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » July 31st, 2017, 8:18 am

Looking for pool filtration sand in central or south today anybody knows where I can get t

Preludeman1

Postby Preludeman1 » August 28th, 2017, 11:24 am

Hey fellas, Looking for 100-200 very small goldfish. Anyone selling?

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » September 1st, 2017, 1:13 pm

meccalli wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:
meccalli wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:Is not ah small filter i building so those options will cost alot...

remember gravel has a smooth surface no pores, and not much surface area, so you may need alot less than you think if you go that route. But gravel more or less limitless so you can always add how much you need lol. When i want gravel, i does go pick up some by small boats, wash and let em sit in the sun, but you look like you need alot more.

Do you bleach and soak it for 48hrs? If not you playing with the lives of your fish.

Nah, been doing it for years, tinfoils turn 15 and the oscar 17 in 2 months time. Anything organic is killed by nature; sun, wind and rain time, soaking in bleach might be more dangerous if you don't ensure any chlorine residue is taken care of. Those people who run bioballs, also have to take other measures to take care of nitrate issues unless it's a natural pond that has mud which has all the goodies to deal with the nasties. Bioballs and potscrubbers have ok surface area but they lack any anoxic environmental feature to facilitate denitrification. I don't think anyone does water changes to their ponds to lower nitrates, so they use some chemical agent and some sort of algae removal whether it be uv/chemical or diatom filtration. The purpose of mechanical filtration and trapping large debris is to isolate and rremove larger particles before it can decompose into ammonia for your biofilter to handle. I recommended the matrix because in low flow, it can host denitrifiers, facultative aerobes and actually save some cost and headache in the future.

Anyone knows where I can get Matrix filter media locally.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » September 29th, 2017, 2:52 pm

Goodday guys. Lookin for some advice on doin a planted tank with local species, cuscorub sardines etc. Where do i start wrt dirt and plants.

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » October 3rd, 2017, 8:17 pm

I looking for anything round that smaller than a half cut tank for my 4 red eared slider turtles, it doh make sense buying aquariums for them cuz they will eventually reach close to a foot each. any recommendations? I renting so i prefer a round or wide tank base.

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » October 4th, 2017, 7:31 am

I have a half of tank pm me

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » October 21st, 2017, 11:18 am

Image. For sale pm
Me

180beast

Postby 180beast » November 6th, 2017, 8:37 pm

any body want to trade a white oscar for one of my black? i have the black orange type and tiger type.... but want a white one.

chitradev

Postby chitradev » November 29th, 2017, 2:44 pm

Anyone want two Chinese algae eaters? I am giving them away for free...
1 is about 2 inches long and the other is about 2.5
You can reach me at 7794091, ask for Dave

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » November 29th, 2017, 4:51 pm

Looking for shubunkin goldfish, specifically the orange and white (sometime show blue in light) with the black stripes, that plus any other color shubunkins. Who have?

image91

Postby image91 » May 2nd, 2018, 1:49 pm

Anyone has or know who has Siamese Algae Eaters at the moment? Thanks.

keith

Postby keith » May 8th, 2018, 7:24 pm

Hi, I have the following for sale.

Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System. $250

Automatic fish feeder $75

Drift wood $70

Atlas Nitrile gloves- 1 pair - XL size. Excellent condition $70
Located in Cascade

image91

Postby image91 » May 9th, 2018, 8:04 am

Also interested in Nerite snails or Amano shrimp if anyone knows where they are available down here.

Looking for some help with cycling a tank. If anyone has extensive knowledge on the topic & is willing to help, please pm me. Would be greatly appreciated.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 9th, 2018, 8:28 am

image91 wrote:Also interested in Nerite snails or Amano shrimp if anyone knows where they are available down here.

Looking for some help with cycling a tank. If anyone has extensive knowledge on the topic & is willing to help, please pm me. Would be greatly appreciated.

Join the group 'Trinidad Aquatic Pets Society (TAPS)' on Facebook. Lots of local experts there (lots of idiots too, but you'll know eventually)

Regarding cycling a tank, there's actually a solution that is sold in pet stores that has beneficial bacteria in it, which rapidly speeds up the cycling process. The normal cycling process takes a couple of weeks, but if you use the solution, it can take a couple of days. Lots of info in the interweb too.

image91

Postby image91 » May 9th, 2018, 9:05 am

Appreciate the respone. Off of fb a while now. Did a lot of research on the matter. Finding a lot of contradicting results. Guessing there is no "wrong" way & it comes down to personal preference & the situation. With regards to the beneficial bacteria sold, there is never a guarantee that the bacteria survived the shipping, handling & storage processes. Have been considering it though.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 9th, 2018, 12:16 pm

Well a sure method is to get some stuff (preferably the gravel or sand) from a cycled tank (one thats been running > a year or so), and put it in your new tank. That material will surely contain beneficial bacteria, which will spread to the other parts and filtration media of your new tank. This process should take less than two weeks.

On side note, I have actually gotten away a few times with just filling up the new tank, adding new filter, décor, and fish, all in the same day, with no negative effects to the fish. But it will depend on the robustness of the type of fish you have. I have cichlids, and they pretty tough, so they can withstand a wide variety of water parameters, and conditions.

image91

Postby image91 » May 9th, 2018, 10:19 pm

That's the plan so far @ seeding the tank with some media from an established tank. Will see how it goes.

i realised most people get away with doing so as long as they don't overstock the tank. Don't intend on doing so either. Will start off slowly & see how the levels read. Thanks again.

nivek

Postby nivek » May 9th, 2018, 10:30 pm

nivek

Postby nivek » May 9th, 2018, 10:34 pm

Some pics of my community tank
IMG-20180508-WA0003.jpg
IMG-20180508-WA0001.jpg
IMG-20180509-WA0012.jpg
IMG-20180509-WA0013.jpg
IMG-20180509-WA0014.jpg
IMG-20180509-WA0011.jpg
IMG-20180509-WA0010.jpg

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 10th, 2018, 6:42 am

Goodstuff Nivek. But a word of advice from someone who has a wee bit of experience with cichlid community tanks, that Butterkoeri is gonna out grow every fish in there, and also wreck havoc on your other fish. Doesn't matter if all of them grow up together, if all of them living good now, or even if there are lots of hiding places, that's a very aggressive fish, and the older they get, the more aggressive they become. I owned a few in my time, and all results were always the same - that fish is the devil LOL. more suited for a pond.

nivek

Postby nivek » May 10th, 2018, 4:10 pm

Kasey wrote:Goodstuff Nivek. But a word of advice from someone who has a wee bit of experience with cichlid community tanks, that Butterkoeri is gonna out grow every fish in there, and also wreck havoc on your other fish. Doesn't matter if all of them grow up together, if all of them living good now, or even if there are lots of hiding places, that's a very aggressive fish, and the older they get, the more aggressive they become. I owned a few in my time, and all results were always the same - that fish is the devil LOL. more suited for a pond.
Thanks..I'll keep monitoring

nivek

Postby nivek » May 12th, 2018, 11:22 pm

Cichlid breeders locally...plz point me in d right direction..thnks

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 14th, 2018, 7:24 am

I breed, and currently have some Peacock Cichlids. Available are Sunshine Peacocks, Sulphur head peacocks, OB peacocks, AND strawberry Peacocks. Females also available at half the price of the males.
The males I sell are colored up, approximately 3" and are $80 each.
Females are $40 each

Whatsapp @761-7699 for pics. I am a hobbyist located Gasparillo.

nivek

Postby nivek » May 15th, 2018, 12:35 am

Kasey wrote:I breed, and currently have some Peacock Cichlids. Available are Sunshine Peacocks, Sulphur head peacocks, OB peacocks, AND strawberry Peacocks. Females also available at half the price of the males.
The males I sell are colored up, approximately 3" and are $80 each.
Females are $40 each

Whatsapp @761-7699 for pics. I am a hobbyist located Gasparillo.
I'll msg u

nivek

Postby nivek » May 22nd, 2018, 4:34 pm

Pair of pacu and tinfoil....pacu are abt 5inches and tinfoils are abt 6inches...$200 for all 4...pm or call 3554681

nivek

Postby nivek » May 22nd, 2018, 4:37 pm

nivek wrote:Pair of pacu and tinfoil....pacu are abt 5inches and tinfoils are abt 6inches...$200 for all 4...pm or call 3554681
Or trade for cichlids
IMG-20180522-WA0020.jpg
IMG-20180522-WA0021.jpg

BIG BLUE

Postby BIG BLUE » June 10th, 2018, 12:47 pm

Good day fellow tuners where would I get a uv sterilizer at reasonable cost for and outdoors koi pond thank

daron

Postby daron » June 10th, 2018, 4:04 pm

BIG BLUE wrote:Good day fellow tuners where would I get a uv sterilizer at reasonable cost for and outdoors koi pond thank
Saw some by pet boys started cost was $750

BIG BLUE

Postby BIG BLUE » June 10th, 2018, 4:08 pm

daron wrote:
BIG BLUE wrote:Good day fellow tuners where would I get a uv sterilizer at reasonable cost for and outdoors koi pond thank
Saw some by pet boys started cost was $750
Thanks for the information where is pet boys located