Jeremy Clarkson's Car of the Year '08

Postby RASC » December 30th, 2008, 1:37 am

'09 CHEVROLET CORVETTE ZR-1

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/drivin ... t=0&page=1

Jeremy Clarkson

And now we shall move on to the good stuff from the past 12 months. On television recently, I said the best car from the year was the Caterham R500 but it’s important to remember that the criterion we were looking for was very specific. The winner had to do more than you could reasonably expect for the money.

The Nissan GT-R was a contender because it costs almost half as much as a Porsche 911 Turbo and yet around the Nürburgring – and such things do matter with cars like this – it is faster. Then you have the VW Scirocco, which costs, as near as makes no difference, the same as the Golf GTI on which it is based. And yet it’s so much more desirable. But the winner had to be the little Caterham, which is faster round the Top Gear track than the Bugatti Veyron . . . even though it costs about 30 times less.

However, if you broaden the search engine and look simply for the best car of the year, the Caterham isn’t in with a shout because it’s ugly and geeky and I wouldn’t have one even if the option was the loss of my right testicle.

Best car, then? Hmmm. You cannot discount the Rolls-Royce Phantom drophead because it is exquisite in almost every way. Nor can we ignore the Fiat 500 Abarth because it’s just so bouncy and wonderful and so full of enthusiasm. I don’t think it would be possible to be in a bad mood while driving this car. And soon there will be a 200bhp version with a spoiler the size of Middlesex on the roof. That’ll make the Mini Cooper look like a brogue.

However, the car I’ve selected wins because it’s just such a surprise.

Over the years there have been a great many Corvettes, and none of them, if we’re honest, have been any good. Oh, there have been some fast ones and some with great charisma. Mostly, they have been pretty as well. But to drive? No. They were the automotive equivalent of Big Macs. Cheap, plastic and at the right time, and in the right place, sort of just what you want. But like I said. Just no.

And then out of nowhere came the ZR1, which has a supercharged V8 that manages to be both docile and extraordinarily savage all at the same time. I’ve been trying to think of a dog that pulls off a similar trick, but there isn’t one. And anyway, this car is not a dog.

Oh, it’s not built very well. After just three days in my care, the boot lock disintegrated and the keyless go system refused to acknowledge the keys were in the car, but I didn’t mind because there is simply no other car that looks this good, goes this fast – in a straight line and around corners – and that most of the time bumbles about like a forgetful uncle. And when you throw in the price tag of just £106,690 – lots for a Corvette but modest next to a similarly powerful Ferrari – the case for the defence can sit down and put up its feet knowing that the prosecutor simply has nowhere to go.

It is an epic car and I’m only sad that unless the healthcare and pensions company that makes it can be turned around, it will be the last of the breed.

Indeed, I worry that the next 12 months will bring us many wrecks, many drownings and absolutely nothing to laugh at at all. I shall therefore stop short of wishing you a prosperous new year. Instead, I shall hope that in our new-found poverty, we can still all be happy.

Chevrolet Corvette ZR1

Engine: 6162cc, supercharged V8
Power: 638bhp @ 6500rpm
Torque: 604 lb ft @ 3800rpm
Transmission: Six-speed manual
Fuel: 18.8mpg (combined) 355g/km CO2
Acceleration: 0-60mph: 3.4sec
Top speed: 205mph

Postby RASC » December 30th, 2008, 1:41 am

Definitely more desirable than the GT-R IMHO...I agree with Clarkson :fadein:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/yQaas5NbIlw&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x2b405b&color2=0x6b8ab6&border=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="445" height="364"></embed>

Postby Maserati » December 30th, 2008, 4:20 am

he was pretty impressed by it when they did the road trip in the US.needless to say he wasn't fond of the gtr

Postby r3iXmann » December 30th, 2008, 5:15 am

Maserati wrote:he was pretty impressed by it when they did the "non entertainment documentary" in the US.needless to say he wasn't fond of the gtr

*fixed* :lol: :lol:

but yeah..i agree on those grounds

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » December 30th, 2008, 6:00 am

here we go again... :roll: :roll:

glad ya'll have driven the supercars and made your own opinions... :P

Postby wagonrunner » December 30th, 2008, 6:02 am

Tsuchiya wrote:here we go again... :roll: :roll:

glad ya'll have driven the supercars and made your own opinions... :P

you really forgot which website yuh logged onto? haven't you? :D

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 30th, 2008, 8:09 am

So is this guy the know it all of cars, I remember they had to tote his ass out the GT-R. Corvettes suck anyway :lol: .

Postby noshownogo » December 30th, 2008, 8:21 am

what is most impressive about this corvette is the amount of kit and performance for the price...the bits and pieces just add up to make a great car, it may have come at the worst time ever but there is no denying that the car deserves the accolades.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 30th, 2008, 9:00 am

Clarkson gave an American car as car of the year - the world is going to end, we are all going to die.

Postby RASC » December 30th, 2008, 9:15 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Clarkson gave an American car as car of the year - the world is going to end, we are all going to die.

Just to give you an idea of how good it truly is :wink:

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » December 30th, 2008, 9:22 am

TriniGT wrote: Corvettes suck anyway :lol: .

lol.

Postby AllTrac » December 30th, 2008, 9:28 am

omg i love vettes :oops:

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 30th, 2008, 9:30 am

omehlord!!!

ah love it!

Postby Monk BANzai » December 30th, 2008, 10:20 am

reiXmann wrote:
Maserati wrote:he was pretty impressed by it when they did the "non entertainment documentary" in the US.needless to say he wasn't fond of the gtr

i LOLLED....but true...the Zr1 did impress me as well...

Postby RBphoto » December 30th, 2008, 11:29 am

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2008, 12:28 pm

LEAF SPRINGS FTW :D

Postby Dave » December 30th, 2008, 1:07 pm

the corvette has always been an icon in the motoring world in terms of almost super car for much less than super car price

this doesn't surprise me

Postby teems1 » December 30th, 2008, 1:12 pm

£106,690 ain't cheap. its frikkin expensive even for an american supercar

Postby Maserati » December 30th, 2008, 4:56 pm

reiXmann wrote:

lol I stand corrected haha

Postby teems1 » December 30th, 2008, 5:21 pm

the zr1 could be a practical everyday car... kinda...

as a strict track day car the Caterham owns. and imo its not ugly.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » December 30th, 2008, 5:25 pm

Very Noice.

Would love to see this up against a GTR @ ummmm....let's say Nürnberg :twisted:

Postby RASC » December 30th, 2008, 5:45 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:Very Noice.

Would love to see this up against a GTR @ ummmm....let's say Nürnberg :twisted:

It did, ate it alive... :lol: That is of course if You're talking 'bout head to head...somehow I feel the result will be the same!

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » December 30th, 2008, 6:35 pm

I haven't driven a corvette yet, but the new models definitely look and sound the part from the ones I've seen in real life. The car has a presence that intimidates.

Postby Monk BANzai » December 30th, 2008, 6:36 pm

^^yuh eh find its time?....no IF only they cud re-invent the Typhoon...

Postby RASC » December 30th, 2008, 6:55 pm

A Corvette specifically the Z06 @ WOT is one of the most intimidating sounds you will ever hear. It is raw and vicious...seriously not to be taken lightly.

The Mustang GT,ROUSCH or COBRA pail in comparison. I don't know how to describe it, but I guess that's why it's most ppl's favorite and most times ONLY American car they like :wink:

Postby bushwakka » December 30th, 2008, 7:03 pm

it does sound really sexy

TechArt

Postby TechArt » December 30th, 2008, 8:59 pm

no replacement for displacement, a corvette is brute power while a R35 is technology @ its best on 4 wheels.

Postby Team Loco » December 30th, 2008, 9:01 pm

i think Clarkson has given in to BBC. he's under pressure. its not like him to choose an American car

Postby RASC » December 30th, 2008, 9:24 pm

Team Loco wrote:i think Clarkson has given in to BBC. he's under pressure. its not like him to choose an American car

Point me to one article, one anywhere on the net, which has a negative conclusion on the '09 ZR1

One...

Postby Maserati » December 31st, 2008, 1:19 am

Team Loco wrote:i think Clarkson has given in to BBC. he's under pressure. its not like him to choose an American car

I doubt he'll give into such pressure now..
he does like SOME american cars hell he even had a mustang granted it caused him alot of grief...in one supercar challenge he used the mustang gt while may used the ferrari and hammond a zonda.