tool-band

NO more Subaru

Postby tool-band » December 16th, 2008, 9:17 am

Subaru to withdraw from World Rally Championship

16 December 2008
Subaru has announced its decision to withdraw from the 2009 World Rally Championship

This sudden decision was in response to the widespread economic downturn that is affecting the entire automotive industry, and follows Suzuki’s withdrawal announced yesterday.

http://www.swrt.com/news/latest_news.html?id=1590

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 16th, 2008, 9:20 am

Ok this is a serious question...

what will happen to the WRX STi model?

Freelander

Postby Freelander » December 16th, 2008, 9:21 am

omg /slits wrist no point in living now :(

Postby 16 cycles » December 16th, 2008, 9:24 am

price of pre-08 sti models will go up?

snowman

Postby snowman » December 16th, 2008, 9:25 am

WOW.... this is serious

Raziel

Postby Raziel » December 16th, 2008, 9:30 am

16 cycles wrote:price of pre-08 sti models will go up?

only in Trinidad, Subaru is struggling to get rid of present stock, right now major discounts and 0% apr is available on most Subaru models, including the sti

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » December 16th, 2008, 9:33 am

Bye bye WRC :evil:

Atleast they lasted longer than Mitsu (*runs*).

Postby eliteauto » December 16th, 2008, 9:37 am

why would the STi go up? It's not a collectors car ( maybe a 22B :twisted: ) but otherwise the market will remain the same won't it? Not many ppl bought it because of WRC but more because of what it offered in terms of AWD, performance and tuning ability

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 16th, 2008, 9:41 am

they just pulled out of WRC - they didnt stop making vehicles!

Strauss wrote:Ok this is a serious question...

the two are not uniquely related
they are withdrawn from the WRC competition for 2009, but will still continue to manufacture cars.

They will still continue to make STi models once the Subaru company stays afloat.

The WRC class does not require homologation of a production car - so just like Mitsubishi pulled out of WRC and still made the Evo X, Subaru would do the same.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 16th, 2008, 9:48 am

Duane my point is... you actually have a "rally edition" model car. But if you no longer rally it's just rice.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 16th, 2008, 9:53 am

^ how is it rice when its been bred for years in WRC? Despite what happens now the roots are still there - this also doesnt change the fact that their cars are still highly competitive in other rallies around the world. Even though the Subaru WRC team will not be there in 2009, there will be WRC class and Group A and Group N class Subaru STi privateer rally cars competing at say Monte Carlo etc.

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » December 16th, 2008, 9:54 am

Its just like Acura, no longer going to make the RSX type S etc.... any more, they said they leaving it to Honda for small imports cars now....

Postby crazybalhead » December 16th, 2008, 9:55 am

Strauss wrote:Ok this is a serious question...

Same as the evo, it will turn into a mampee in retirement.

Postby 16 cycles » December 16th, 2008, 9:56 am

pre-08 STi GDB chassis have been rally tested and technology filtered to the consumer as with the evo6/7/8/9 chassis

not so sure about the new 08 model. Just one rally season?.

As for trouble getting cars sold - most manufactureres experiencing that now

This is the lean times - trim the fat

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » December 16th, 2008, 9:58 am

Suzuki is out too, so who's left among the manufacturers...

Ford, Citroen...That's it right?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 16th, 2008, 9:59 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ how is it rice when its been bred for years in WRC? Despite what happens now the roots are still there - this also doesnt change the fact that their cars are still highly competitive in other rallies around the world. Even though the Subaru WRC team will not be there in 2009, there will be WRC class and Group A and Group N class Subaru STi privateer rally cars competing at say Monte Carlo etc.

Duane, you fart... I'm not knocking the car. Stop being a puss.

I mean... if I bring out a car called the "Strauzz PvP ToMo" (Puller von Panty, Tournament Model), that I enter in panty pulling tournaments... and then drop out of professional panty pulling, can I still NAME my Strauzz a PVP ToMo?

TK!

Postby TK! » December 16th, 2008, 10:14 am

Strauss wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ how is it rice when its been bred for years in WRC? Despite what happens now the roots are still there - this also doesnt change the fact that their cars are still highly competitive in other rallies around the world. Even though the Subaru WRC team will not be there in 2009, there will be WRC class and Group A and Group N class Subaru STi privateer rally cars competing at say Monte Carlo etc.

I mean... if I bring out a car called the "Strauzz PvP ToMo" (Puller von Panty, Tournament Model), that I enter in panty pulling tournaments... and then drop out of professional panty pulling, can I still NAME my Strauzz a PVP ToMo?

yes. quite simply, what duane was saying is that while u not pulling panties anymore, someone else using your panty puller is pulling panites.

so your product is still a panty puller... jus nuh for u.

Postby crazybalhead » December 16th, 2008, 10:16 am

Allyuh and these complex analogies...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 16th, 2008, 10:21 am

Strauss wrote:

LOL - easy there Mike
and yes it would still be as it was built using past PvP technology - the WRX STi is far from the WRC car any way so there is still years of future tech for upcoming production models - and they also said ProDrive would forge on with other rally projects - so there between them and STi I think the road going car is safe.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 16th, 2008, 10:31 am

TK! wrote:
Strauss wrote:

yes. quite simply, what duane was saying is that while u not pulling panties anymore, someone else using your panty puller is pulling panites.

So then I can't call my car a Puller von Panty if the puller in question is not de-pantying as every other professional panty puller?

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » December 16th, 2008, 10:43 am

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 16th, 2008, 10:47 am

Strauss wrote:
TK! wrote:
Strauss wrote:

So then I can't call my car a Puller von Panty if the puller in question is not de-pantying as every other professional panty puller?

cause yuh levin cyah pull nutten cept bull!

TK!

Postby TK! » December 16th, 2008, 2:43 pm

Strauss wrote:
TK! wrote:
Strauss wrote:

hrmmm...
well.. i think u name it what u want. whatever u designed it for. they can lie too... like the new civic type r wasnt all dat.. then they did the type RR..

ppl can use it for whatever they want (ie - the sti rally car.) dunno if theyt will have a WRC wrx STi tho .. cause that one is kinda specific. but i guess it will have privateers still doing wrc with them. just no manufacturer team.