differentiate bet singapore and japanese manufactured car

urabus

differentiate bet singapore and japanese manufactured car

Postby urabus » December 9th, 2008, 3:22 pm

so i finally found a vehicle that is to my liking and i'm strongly considering purchasing it - the subaru impreza

it's a singapore vehicle as oppose to a japanese vehicle
can someone explain the difference

and one more thing, after purchase, what are some things that i shud do/check immediately

thanks guys!

Postby SR » December 9th, 2008, 3:28 pm

singapore cars known for mileage rollback on the dash

Dragist

Postby Dragist » December 9th, 2008, 3:30 pm

cute corolla wrote:what are some things that i shud do/check immediately

thanks guys!

Make sure you can drive

Postby wagon r » December 9th, 2008, 3:33 pm

.....keep left as you will be overtaken.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 9th, 2008, 3:37 pm

^^^^^SR u have it the opposite way there pallie.....Singapore is over 8 times smaller than Trinidad and Tobago and that can account for very low mileage on cars over 3 years old.....
whereas Japan is many times larger than Trinidad yet there are 4 year old cars coming here with worn down brake pedals and mileage stickers in the hundred thousand's showing 28,000km on the odometer

Dragist

Postby Dragist » December 9th, 2008, 3:38 pm

SR wrote:singapore cars known for mileage rollback on the dash

And the method that they use is to switch around the chassis ( Front to Back ) so that the Odometer runs in reverse .

Postby RBphoto » December 9th, 2008, 3:39 pm

Take out the rear differential and drive shaft if it is a AWD from early. Will save a bundle on gas. This part is as nesescary on a impereza as your appendix is to you.

*Ask tr1ad for details*
Last edited by RBphoto on December 9th, 2008, 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » December 9th, 2008, 3:39 pm

^^^ Dummy you take out the front :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby tr1ad » December 9th, 2008, 3:43 pm

ent?

crossdrilled stop tryin to fit in the conversation.....go do something else

check mileage, and listen to any sounds of engine trouble, and as wagon r said stay left except when yuh passin jwt an crossdrilled

Postby RBphoto » December 9th, 2008, 3:44 pm

Dragist wrote:^^^ Dummy you take out the front :shock: :shock: :shock:

:oops: tr1ad is the kant then.....daiz what he tell me.

Postby wagon r » December 9th, 2008, 3:45 pm

at this point.....looking at threads, is better yuh buy this than a swift.....see the swift on fire thread for details.... :lol: :lol:

Postby SR » December 9th, 2008, 3:46 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:^^^^^SR u have it the opposite way there pallie.....Singapore is over 8 times smaller than Trinidad and Tobago and that can account for very low mileage on cars over 3 years old.....
whereas Japan is many times larger than Trinidad yet there are 4 year old cars coming here with worn down brake pedals and mileage stickers in the hundred thousand's showing 28,000km on the odometer

fella ah not askin yuh ah tellin yuh

based on the singapore bought vehicles that have been thru our garage and the parts that have required changing compared to the vehicles mileage on the odometer as well as personal experince when removing guage clusters and seeing greasy fingerprints on the back of the gauge cluster as well as damaged screw head on the cluster

also noted from singapore suppliers asking if we want it mileage rollbacked before shipping

there are some reliable suppliers out of singapore however there are more unreliable ones and roro dealors in trini who looking to keep cost down usually get caught up dealing with these guys

Postby tr1ad » December 9th, 2008, 3:47 pm

tsk tsk crossdrilled....trying to save face now?

Postby RBphoto » December 9th, 2008, 3:47 pm

wagon r wrote:at this point.....looking at threads, is better yuh buy this than a swift.....see the swift on fire thread for details.... :lol: :lol:

Interesting, somebody have one of these too...

Dragist

Postby Dragist » December 9th, 2008, 3:48 pm

Wagon :lol: :lol: :lol:

crossdrilled wrote:

Why tr1ad told you that is because on the Singapore model the ECU is directly hooked up to the front Diff therefore you have to leave it in.
Last edited by Dragist on December 9th, 2008, 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SR » December 9th, 2008, 3:48 pm

also be wary of cars that have had flood damage

Postby Razkal » December 9th, 2008, 4:28 pm

crossdrilled wrote:

Steups!! :lol: :lol:

Oh God...yuh go do the man dat boy tr1ad?? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby 16 cycles » December 9th, 2008, 5:05 pm

In general, the speedometer of cars from japan are graduated up to 180 kmph whereas those from Singapore are up to 220 kmph

Re: differentiate bet singapore and japanese manufactured ca

Postby r3iXmann » December 9th, 2008, 5:09 pm

cute corolla wrote:so i finally found a vehicle that is to my liking and i'm strongly considering purchasing it - the subaru impreza

once is not a TS :|

16 cycles is on the money with the speedo thing as well

Postby equipped2ripp » December 9th, 2008, 5:13 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:^^^^^SR u have it the opposite way there pallie.....Singapore is over 8 times smaller than Trinidad and Tobago and that can account for very low mileage on cars over 3 years old.....

like yuh never see a deregistration form from singapore?

cars coming here with 19000 and 23000km on the dash, have 68000 and 86000 on the form... sometimes even more!

-bushman-
Location: trying to drown a goldfish in an aquarium full of water

Postby -bushman- » December 9th, 2008, 7:06 pm

cute corolla wrote:it's a singapore vehicle as oppose to a japanese vehicle
can someone explain the difference

check the tag.

if it says 'made in japan', then it from japan

if it says 'made in singapore', then it from singapore.

cute corolla wrote:and one more thing, after purchase, what are some things that i shud do/check immediately

on a serious note, go & get your oil changed, check up brakes fluid, see if transmission fluid needs changing, check the power steering fluid & radiator fluids as well. make sure those things ok. check tyres for any cuts, signs of cuts or any kind of puncture, its a good idea to change tyres & done.
check up your bulbs (headlights, tail lights, indicators etc) make sure all of them good & lighting, it seems like a style nowdays with them roro's, always one tail light lighting :roll:
uninstall the stock alarm & throw it way one time, invest in a good alarm, if you want to add in another anti theft device as well like shifter lock, immobiliser, remote control gas pump switch feel free to do so.

before buying: if you can - inspect car for rotten spot under fender, check for if any sign of welding took place (which might indicate car might have been in an accident), check under the hood for fluid leaks.
when test driving, feel for a pull on the steering, might mean wheels need alining (or car was in an accident & was fawked up & they cant get it to drive straight till now). inspect all the seams on the car - watch how the bonnet line up by the lights, doors line up by the fenders, trunk line up with bumper, front bumper line up with grill etc, make sure everything symmetrical & spaces even right through.
minor stuff: see how the ac working, look for scratches on the glasses, make sure all the glasses goin up & down, make sure power lock working.
if everything is not up to make with the one you check out (even the minor stuff I listed here, they may seem minor now but they tend to give headache later on wen they not working properly) check out another one, it should have more scoobys to choose from wherever you doin your shopping. if the cars there arent satisfactory / meet your standard / have what you want, its your money spending, walk away, it have plenty other places to get a roro scooby from. dont let the dealer tell you things like "we go fix dat nah" or "we go see bout that after yuh buy the car nah", anything have to fix, let it be fixed before you buy & make sure it working before $$$ pass. demand to see bill where it was fixed (to see if it was handled porfessionally or under some mango tree round the corner)

Postby cinco » December 9th, 2008, 7:09 pm

run you hand under the dash by the drivers side and look for water or brown dirt shouldnt have much for a 20000 km car
that is the place most people do not check while cleaning

urabus

Postby urabus » December 9th, 2008, 9:09 pm

thanks for the info

someone mentioned something about the electricals in singapore vehicles were of a poorer standard than the japanese..any word on this?

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » December 9th, 2008, 9:28 pm

well I not too sure bout that but what I can tell you is that the japs & chinese known for making 'disposable stuff', I dont know how do they compare to the stuff manufactured in singapore.

what I was told as well is that japan salts roadways to keep them from freezing so is level salt under them car fenders in japan so thats why most of them start rotting from the fenders wen they come here.
singapore dont salt road.

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » December 9th, 2008, 10:11 pm

Dragist wrote:
SR wrote:singapore cars known for mileage rollback on the dash

And the method that they use is to switch around the chassis ( Front to Back ) so that the Odometer runs in reverse .

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » December 9th, 2008, 10:17 pm

Even though singapore is smaller and japan is huge, the japanese is known for lower mileage.

JAPAN: Their public transport system is so diverse that ppl only use there cars to go places that the public transport cannot take them, they also use alot of pretty kool bicycles and scooters as well as the japs pay a huge tax if the own a vehicle for over three years i beleive and as a result they all sell their car to avoid paying the tax. Thats y u hardly see old cars in Japan. Sometime wat we call a 2008 model or a new model vehicle is really like an 06 model or jus plain old in japan.

Singapore: Its like the opposite to Japan. There public transport system is alot less diverse so everyone makes good use of there vehicles, as well as vehicles are cheap and said to be of lower quality so if something gooes wrong the tend to jus sell it and buy a new vehicle. The rollin back of the mileage is not done by the individual that originally owned the car but by the roll on roll off companies in singapore that export the vehicles and rip us off.....

My advice is to make ur prefernce japanese if not and u only gettin singapore then try to go wit a reputable roll on roll off dealership...........e.g. Dream Carz or Vishnu Maharaj.............dont prchse from anyone u never heard about....

Hope this helps.......btw my family has both japanese and singpore vehilces and had no worries........so it all depends on how honest the ppl u prchse from reallt are.

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » December 10th, 2008, 7:26 am

TRD12 wrote:My advice is to make ur prefernce japanese if not and u only gettin singapore then try to go wit a reputable roll on roll off dealership...........e.g. Dream Carz or Vishnu Maharaj.............dont prchse from anyone u never heard about....

its not dream motors you mean?

anyhow, I forgot to mention, change the batrrey as soon as you buy as well, them battries the cars come with usually go dead soon after.

urabus

Postby urabus » December 10th, 2008, 8:48 am

aye -bushman-, thanks for the advise they brudah man...yeah the guy at the roro did tell me about the battery and tyres

btw there is a dream carz and a dream motors

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » December 10th, 2008, 9:40 am

well I donno bout dream cars but I can vouch for dream motors, the guy name anil, he from ackbar trace, he does have cars home & cars in la romaine. you can check him out if you want.