digicel's new land line routers

Postby Team Loco » December 5th, 2008, 9:11 am

Digicel once again is fast apace at putting that final nail in tstt's coffin. They are now offering a sim router to businesses with a pbx system. Customers with a pbx hooked up to tstt land line need not continue to pay tstt for land line srevice. A digicel four port of eight port box is attached to the pbx. They boxes contain digicel sims. Once you make a call, the box traps the line and re-routes it through the digicel router. I am interested in this item but I am wondering about tstt's eventual possible action that may be taken against the customer.

What do you think? Is it high handed technology theft? Or should I just go for it?

The savings at the end of the month should be 50percent

Postby SUPAstarr » December 5th, 2008, 9:33 am

TSTT could say what they want, jus tell them yuh choose to use Digicel mobile services instead of a landline.

Digicel

CUG

+

WIN!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 5th, 2008, 9:58 am

its still cellular - I can't see anything wrong with it.
Might be expensive to install and operate though.

Postby tr1ad » December 5th, 2008, 10:01 am

actually not really, used it in guaya saved 32% on telecom budget

Postby Team Loco » December 5th, 2008, 10:04 am

Duane, they have waived my $2000 installation fee. I get everything free. Just pay $150tt per mth per line

noobie

Postby noobie » December 5th, 2008, 10:25 am

Doesn't that mean that a business would have to change all its numbers?

Postby Team Loco » December 5th, 2008, 10:46 am

No. You keep your tstt numbers

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 5th, 2008, 1:50 pm

noobie wrote:Doesn't that mean that a business would have to change all its numbers?

just use for your outgoing calls. thats where the bulk of your phone cost is.

greall

Re:

Postby greall » May 16th, 2011, 6:39 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
noobie wrote:Doesn't that mean that a business would have to change all its numbers?

just use for your outgoing calls. thats where the bulk of your phone cost is.

That's what we got installed at work but TSTT has issues sometimes...

Greg

Re: digicel's new land line routers

Postby Stephon. » May 16th, 2011, 6:45 pm

At the end of the day this has Digicels' name attached to it. It won't be saving you any money. -Fact.
Also if TSTT sees this service as any kind of threat, they would be able to counter it, people really look @ TSTT sly yes. The only REAL competition TSTT/Blink etc. has in this country at all is FLOW wrt internet services. As much as people (myself included) doesn't like TSTT, it's a fact that they ARE the cheapest + more people are on their services.

greall

Postby greall » May 16th, 2011, 6:52 pm

Stephon. wrote:At the end of the day this has Digicels' name attached to it. It won't be saving you any money. -Fact.
Also if TSTT sees this service as any kind of threat, they would be able to counter it, people really look @ TSTT sly yes. The only REAL competition TSTT/Blink etc. has in this country at all is FLOW wrt internet services. As much as people (myself included) doesn't like TSTT, it's a fact that they ARE the cheapest + more people are on their services.

TSTT's network footprint's larger than Flow...can get a TSTT line in almost any part of TT once you have a good credit rating... lol

What's Flow's coverage area?

Greg

Postby Stephon. » May 16th, 2011, 6:56 pm

greall wrote:
Stephon. wrote:At the end of the day this has Digicels' name attached to it. It won't be saving you any money. -Fact.

TSTT's network footprint's larger than Flow...can get a TSTT line in almost any part of TT once you have a good credit rating... lol

Greg

(uncivilized areas)

Anywhere outside of the brackets is where flow covering :|

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » May 16th, 2011, 7:07 pm

Stephon. wrote:
greall wrote:

Greg

(uncivilized areas)

Anywhere outside of the brackets is where flow covering :|

quite true, it doesnt make business sense to run thousands of feet of cable to service just a couple households.

turboturnsmeon2

Postby turboturnsmeon2 » May 16th, 2011, 7:15 pm

the gsm router can be used with any network with "minor programming changes to the router".Using it on a pbx is not something new.
you can set up the pbx when making an outgoing call to use the cheapest route.

at the end of the day its just a cell line.

greall

Postby greall » May 16th, 2011, 7:23 pm

I still say that the telcos sit together and decide which areas they'll venture into...

Greg

evotech

Postby evotech » May 16th, 2011, 7:43 pm

A couple things... a call from a landline to a cell line is more expensive than a call from a cell line to a cell line. This router, more specifically, the MATRIX GFX44 (4 Port) allows for you to put up to four (4) SIM cards in the device and hae the calls routed through a normal office PBX, or just to 4 Normal "Home Phones." They are designed to be programmed via a PC to use "Least Cost Routing." Meaning, if you have a B-MOBILE and a DIGICEL sim card in the unit. The unit automatically detects the carrier and selects the SIM card to use.

If you need any information on these, PM me.

I also sell them....

greall

Postby greall » May 16th, 2011, 7:48 pm

evotech wrote:A couple things... a call from a landline to a cell line is more expensive than a call from a cell line to a cell line. This router, more specifically, the MATRIX GFX44 (4 Port) allows for you to put up to four (4) SIM cards in the device and hae the calls routed through a normal office PBX, or just to 4 Normal "Home Phones." They are designed to be programmed via a PC to use "Least Cost Routing." Meaning, if you have a B-MOBILE and a DIGICEL sim card in the unit. The unit automatically detects the carrier and selects the SIM card to use.

If you need any information on these, PM me.

I also sell them....

That's how it works at my office but don't call back the mobile numbers...'numbers are not in service'...

Greg

Postby Team Loco » May 16th, 2011, 10:19 pm

since posting this roughly 2 yrs ago, my savings= $48,000.00

take that tstt!

only once did the digicel router crash. and it was for 10mins.

kudos to digicel

Postby Stephon. » May 16th, 2011, 11:08 pm

This was posted two years ago? :| The fk!

Postby Chimera » May 16th, 2011, 11:18 pm

Team Loco wrote:
take that tstt!

doh leh duane hear yuh say dat eh

greall

Postby greall » December 1st, 2012, 11:03 am

Most of the companies that I interact with now have that sort of service and I assume that it's only because they started to see the savings...

Greg

Postby sharkman121 » December 1st, 2012, 11:15 am

hmm interesting..

Postby redmanjp » December 1st, 2012, 4:29 pm

former employer had the Matrix gateway but used 4 TSTT sims AFAIK

Postby S_2NR » December 1st, 2012, 6:05 pm

sounds good. but switched to flow phone and never looked back.
still have the tstt line as alot of people know that number but that bill never exceeds 30$ since its never used.

demogorgon15

Postby demogorgon15 » December 4th, 2012, 11:29 am

Both TSTT and Digicel sell FWTs aka FCTs, if you want to save even more money you'd want to get a mixture of bmobile, digicel sims (and even flow lines). Then Place the sims in a CUG / Corporate plan along with your employees. You'll enjoy better rates with the corp plan and almost free calls to your employees.

The savings dont only apply to businesses I know some families that have each other on a CUG so they save money talking to each other.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 4th, 2012, 3:49 pm

have this 2 years now from digi....it actually a tad bit unreliable....everyday you have to reset the router

Postby SR » December 4th, 2012, 6:54 pm

depends on the signal strenght and where the antenna is located

some areas they work well others the unit needs to be reset every now and then