AMSOIL vs Redline

nes123

AMSOIL vs Redline

Postby nes123 » December 2nd, 2008, 10:25 am

was watching some comparos between Redline and Amsoil and was shocked to find out Mobil 1 even has better wear protection for engines over Redline??:shock: .....please discuss...just an enquiry not meant to bash anyone eh fellas

Amsoil Vs. Redline

When AMSOIL created the Series 2000 20W-50 Racing Oil, it seems the competition got upset with the testing results showing it's better protection. For years Red Line advertised that they provided the best protection, but the results of the Four Ball Wear Test showed the AMSOIL Series 2000 20W-50 providing over twice the protection. Red Line decided that they would perform their own test by running both oils and then seeing what results they would come up with. Their results some how showed their oil to be better. In an attempt to discourage the promotion of AMSOIL they mailed this information to all AMSOIL Dealers as well as their own reps. The findings of the Four Ball Wear Test were that of 100 tests and coming up with an average. Unlike the Red Line test, it could be proved over and over, under proper testing conditions. Rather than going along with the hype that this action provoked, AMSOIL simply issued the following letter:

Recently Red Line Synthetic Oil Corporation mailed an article to AMSOIL Dealers outlining results of testing done on AMSOIL Series 2000 Synthetic 20W-50 Racing Oil and Red Line products. AMSOIL finds the article flawed in both its marketing approach and scientific methodology.

Initial Red Line testing of an unused sample of AMSOIL Series 2000 20W-50 Racing Oil in the ASTM D4172 Four Ball Wear Test yielded results consistent with those appearing on the Series 2000 label. That is, AMSOIL Series 2000 20W-50 provided nearly three times better wear protection than Red Line 20W-50.

The article, however, goes on to report results of used oil testing using the ASTM D4172 Test. ASTM tests, as any informed entity in the lubricants industry knows, are designed for use with new (unused) lubricants, not used oil.

There are two problems with testing used oil. First, the conditions of testing are uncontrollable. While Red Line states the service conditions under which the samples operated were the same, variables including fuel and glycol dilution, contaminant levels, filtration, driving conditions sampling techniques and many more are virtually impossible to control.

The second problem is repeatability. AMSOIL attempted to replicate Red Line's findings by testing samples of used oil. The results were inconsistent with Red Line's and failed to meet the repeatability requirements of the ASTM D4172 test method. This failure is the result of testing an oil along with its contaminants.

Red Line's claim that their oil is designed to become more effective as it reacts with blowby gases is absurd. Clearly, if blowby gases improved the anti-wear characteristics of lubricants, then lubricant manufacturers would expose their products to such gases during the manufacturing process. The fact is, lubricant performance should not depend on the uncontrollable reactions of blowby gases with the oil.

Is AMSOIL Series 2000 Synthetic 20W-50 Racing Oil better than Red Line?

Yes.

When all the appropriate, scientifically valid, repeatable tests are applied Series 2000 is clearly the better oil.

Of course, AMSOIL Dealers are much too educated on the technical aspect of lubrication and on the principles of ethical salesmanship to be swayed by unscientific and unprofessional marketing tactics. And as the documented histories of vehicles achieving oil drain intervals greater than 100,000 miles under the Trigard Program continue to mount, dealers are assured that AMSOIL motor oils remain the standard by which other oils are measured.

So with that said, who sells Amsoil in Trinidad?

http://www.perfectoilchange.com/redline-vs-amsoil.php

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 2nd, 2008, 10:26 am

AMSOIL! is the BEST!

mobil 1 burns off way to quickly!

nes123

Postby nes123 » December 2nd, 2008, 10:27 am

is Amsoil 20w50 sold in Trinidad?dats what I really want to knw

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2008, 10:29 am

AMSOIL
Prolube Ltd 35 Alyce Glen, Petit Valley, Trinidad - 633-6110

nes123

Postby nes123 » December 2nd, 2008, 10:29 am

thanks

TK!

Postby TK! » December 2nd, 2008, 10:46 am

evo-STI-k wrote:AMSOIL! is the BEST!

yup. be prepared to fork out some serious dough :-)

Postby crazybalhead » December 2nd, 2008, 10:48 am

Mobil 1 thanks, that is what the people say to use. And so what if it burns off???

jusbitter

Postby jusbitter » December 2nd, 2008, 11:01 am

AMSOIL Chaguanas Auto retails and distribute this product

W2J

Postby W2J » December 2nd, 2008, 11:16 am

crazybalhead wrote:Mobil 1 thanks, that is what the people say to use. And so what if it burns off???

you should be renamed harden..

AMSOIL! is the BEST!

I have been saying this for years, when I had the lancer I tested mobile, redline, castrol in traffic all of them showed high oil temps compared to Amsoil.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=83787&highlight=amsoil

Postby crazybalhead » December 2nd, 2008, 11:18 am

You wouldnt be the first to call me harden nah w2j lol...

Postby Dave » December 2nd, 2008, 11:30 am

Amsoil FTW!

btw, check meh who want lol

nes123

Postby nes123 » December 2nd, 2008, 11:42 am

^^ yeah Dave, PM some prices nah but right now Petit Valley is like 5mins from where I live,so if ya price better than dem I go check ya

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » December 2nd, 2008, 3:48 pm

my good friend is the distributor. Tony ..

W2J

Postby W2J » December 2nd, 2008, 4:07 pm

996vtwin wrote:my good friend is the distributor. Tony ..

correct Tony Alcantara is Prolube... but I don't know if it is father or son you talking about

nes123

Postby nes123 » December 2nd, 2008, 4:10 pm

996vtwin,so u saying once I mention ya name is instant discount? :lol:

Postby skylinechild » December 2nd, 2008, 9:57 pm

NP oil anyone..?? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Cjruckus » December 2nd, 2008, 10:22 pm

Castrol SLX pwns all.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 2nd, 2008, 10:39 pm

i used amsoil last oil change in my ga16 that was last December
smooth running since

Dr. RF

Re: AMSOIL vs Redline

Postby Dr. RF » May 25th, 2012, 10:30 am

any dealers for amsoil in south??

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 25th, 2012, 10:36 am

http://www.amsoil.com/international/distributors.aspx

Prolube Limited (Exclusive Distributor)
Brandon Alcantara
36 Alyce Glen
Petit Valley, Trinidad
868.633.6110 or 868.733.4140
prolubelimited@gmail.com

call them and find out

Re:

Postby 1UZFE » May 25th, 2012, 10:36 am

crazybalhead wrote:Mobil 1 thanks, that is what the people say to use. And so what if it burns off???

this!!!...
I used Mobil in my sc and my ls great performance...
Had amsoil in the Subaru it was just OK...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 25th, 2012, 10:38 am

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 25th, 2012, 10:48 am

Royal Purple FTW :twisted:

Postby gastly369 » May 25th, 2012, 11:07 am

all over sellin amsoil :\ .. does pay i think $275 or $285 something so can remember

Re:

Postby sliderz1 » May 25th, 2012, 11:53 am

skylinechild wrote:NP oil anyone..?? :lol: :lol: :lol:

NP is good stuff, i rate their Ultra 15W40

Postby stev » May 25th, 2012, 12:20 pm

heard NP oil is really great. i use Mobil 1...changed from castrol syntec

kual

Postby kual » May 25th, 2012, 12:21 pm

CAM2 motor oil.

Postby 16 cycles » May 25th, 2012, 12:34 pm

used to get my AMSOIL fix + oil filter, fuel filter, spark plugs etc from W2J

Postby turbosingh » May 25th, 2012, 2:31 pm

Amsoil is the best you can get!

W2J

Postby W2J » May 25th, 2012, 3:16 pm

16 cycles wrote:used to get my AMSOIL fix + oil filter, fuel filter, spark plugs etc from W2J

thanks bro, still carry Amsoil and is the only thing I would use and recommend.