WTK : Converting a flat house to a 2 storey house

jsr

WTK : Converting a flat house to a 2 storey house

Postby jsr » November 11th, 2008, 9:02 am

Is it possible to build on top a flat house and convert it to a 2 storey house. I want to extend my house upwards. Any technical advice would be appreciated

Virus

Postby Virus » November 11th, 2008, 9:24 am

Am no builder but your going to have to consider structural reinforcements ie walls decking etc any good builder as well as a designer can help you but do proper research

altec

Postby altec » November 11th, 2008, 9:35 am

i am no builder but the biggest prob is the posts. Once that done everything easy and u might have to move everything. builders might charge a lil more for a retrofit.

jagdesh

Postby jagdesh » November 11th, 2008, 10:18 am

it can be done, but the problem is the post to support the upper decking. I am presently building my home and its a flats. if you are going to to a upstairs afterwards you will have to do something called orga pill the ends of the foundation will deap concrete post and that would be outside of your flatz foundation. This process is very costly.

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » November 11th, 2008, 10:38 am

There a lot of factors to consider when doing this such as:
1. Can the existing house foundation take the additional loads?
2. Are the existing walls loadbearing?
3. If no for 1 & 2 above, then you'll have to consider new conc. or
steel columns depending on the type of structure your'e going with.
(I would recommend steel because all you would need is new foundations &
you can start with errection of structure).
4. You can place the new columns at key locations so that you minimise
disruption of the existing ground floor layout.

The way I see it, you'll need to engage the services of a competent Structural Engineer and a good designer as virus stated.

Virus

Postby Virus » November 11th, 2008, 12:18 pm

Indeed this type of build in my eyes is something that cost a good raise now if it was the other way around lets say you wanted a downstairs i would have given you some good pointers as i went tru the process

Best thing i have seen many people do just extend the back and go up from there so you may just end up with a split level something just a fact to consider but also dependent on the amount of available space ie land

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » November 11th, 2008, 12:38 pm

Best thing i have seen many people do just extend the back and go up from there so you may just end up with a split level something just a fact to consider but also dependent on the amount of available space ie land

That's exactly what I'm doing right now, I'm just trying to finish my flat
right now and later on, I intend to errect a 2 storey addition to the back.
I planned for it in advance

Postby skylinechild » November 11th, 2008, 1:39 pm

basically everyone saying......u need to have a good foundation on the flat if u decide to go up with an upstairs....

Virus

Postby Virus » November 11th, 2008, 2:38 pm

vickyexp wrote:

That's exactly what I'm doing right now, I'm just trying to finish my flat
right now and later on, I intend to errect a 2 storey addition to the back.
I planned for it in advance

^^^^^^ In most cases i find this solution works out and looks alot better even the slight chance of more room, the only lost is backyard

jsr

Postby jsr » November 11th, 2008, 6:45 pm

what about an extension from the back with a beam over the existing structure, how fare can this exension go without compromising structural integrity?

TriniStore.biz

Postby TriniStore.biz » November 11th, 2008, 6:50 pm

post this in ole talk, you might get a better response...

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 11th, 2008, 9:23 pm

If you have an old structure where the pillar does not have steel reinforcements you may have to breakdown the beams and pillars and put steel . If its relatively new its no problem ..

I intend on building like tht as well but where i'm gonna go I have to break the beams and pillars coz its not up to mark so I have to replace pillars with steel and reinforce the groundlevel walls before I go up ..

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 11th, 2008, 9:37 pm

was the original foundation built to accommodate 2 storeys? if not then the answer is a no brainer. the cost to redo may end up higher than starting from scratch as you'd have to go through existing foundation.

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » November 12th, 2008, 5:56 am

jagdesh wrote:it can be done, but the problem is the post to support the upper decking. I am presently building my home and its a flats. if you are going to to a upstairs afterwards you will have to do something called orga pill the ends of the foundation will deap concrete post and that would be outside of your flatz foundation. This process is very costly.

Wha? :roll:

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » November 12th, 2008, 6:09 am

Jack the Ripper wrote:
jagdesh wrote:it can be done, but the problem is the post to support the upper decking. I am presently building my home and its a flats. if you are going to to a upstairs afterwards you will have to do something called orga pill the ends of the foundation will deap concrete post and that would be outside of your flatz foundation. This process is very costly.

Wha? :roll:
I think he meant Auger Pile

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 12th, 2008, 8:09 am

its easy.did it recently,i work in an engineering firm and i also have my own (private) contracting company.i also do designs architectural,structural,etc.

its better if u go steel,but depending on ur budget,well concrete could work,if u need advice,gimme a call.334 0060 elvis

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » November 12th, 2008, 8:54 am

^^^^ this is the real man to deal with.... pm or give him ah call.... :)

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 12th, 2008, 8:55 am

ray786 wrote:^^^^ this is the real man to deal with.... pm or give him ah call.... :)

thnx ray,,,,,respect!!!

jsr

Postby jsr » November 12th, 2008, 7:02 pm

if i am building from the back of the existing house, how far can i extend this as a ledge over the existing house and still be structurally sound?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 12th, 2008, 8:02 pm

jsr wrote:if i am building from the back of the existing house, how far can i extend this as a ledge over the existing house and still be structurally sound?

depends on what u using,not much for the most maybe 3-5 ft.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 12th, 2008, 8:27 pm

eurogirl wrote:If you have an old structure where the pillar does not have steel reinforcements you may have to breakdown the beams and pillars and put steel . If its relatively new its no problem ..

I intend on building like tht as well but where i'm gonna go Ihave to break the beams and pillars coz its not up to mark so I have to replace pillars with steel and reinforce the groundlevel walls before I go up ..

YOU building a house?

Didn't you fail the OSHA test...twice? :?

beams and pillars without steel reinforcements? :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

yeh pios,,,she building,, :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby Greypatch » November 12th, 2008, 9:20 pm

easily done use steel beams for new post and floors

sliperywhenwet

Postby sliperywhenwet » November 12th, 2008, 10:02 pm

jsr the real man to deal with there is rahtid i work at an Architectural Firm . He will be better to give u info on structural cause he works at an Eng Firm. If u still need help Gimme a call maybe i can explain a thing or 2 for u ! 312-4074 Ritchie

jsr

Postby jsr » November 13th, 2008, 10:30 am

cool thanks for your replies....

jsr

Postby jsr » November 13th, 2008, 10:32 am

one more thing... what about T&C approval... i live in a housing development.... and i understand that i may have to apply to T&C before starting anything... how long would this take on average for approval... anyway to fast track this?

Postby SR » November 13th, 2008, 11:36 am

depends on the restrictions for the housing develpoment

you will need t&c approval if you are taking a loan

most people in "pre fab" housing developents usually make adjustments to thier home

and most do not go thru t&c
unfortunalty most of the renovations are also against the law according to t&c

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 13th, 2008, 11:53 am

eurogirl wrote:If you have an old structure where the pillar does not have steel reinforcements you may have to breakdown the beams and pillars and put steel . If its relatively new its no problem ..

I intend on building like tht as well but where i'm gonna go Ihave to break the beams and pillars coz its not up to mark so I have to replace pillars with steel and reinforce the groundlevel walls before I go up ..

YOU building a house?

Didn't you fail the OSHA test...twice? :?

:lol: :lol: actually its NEBOSH diploma and frankly , its ok I faced my demons on it .. at least I kno I tried , WAT have you done lately other than be a mama's boy ? :roll:

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 13th, 2008, 12:17 pm

jsr wrote:one more thing... what about T&C approval... i live in a housing development.... and i understand that i may have to apply to T&C before starting anything... how long would this take on average for approval... anyway to fast track this?

No scene either,i gotz them thingz locked!!!!

jsr

Postby jsr » November 13th, 2008, 5:40 pm

hmm.... you can send me a p.m rahtid... perhaps i can send you some pics of the existing structure

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 13th, 2008, 5:46 pm

pm yuh number,,ill give u a call,,,