ATV question.

sufferrar

ATV question.

Postby sufferrar » October 30th, 2008, 8:12 am

Saw some cool looking ATVs at M Rampersad and i'm considering buying one.
Need to know if this needs to be licensed,
do you need insurance and any special driving permit required?

Postby RBphoto » October 30th, 2008, 8:26 am

What brand and displacement they had selling? Chineese thing or yamaha/ other good brand? Don't think that it is street legal.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » October 30th, 2008, 8:30 am

The are considered 'mopeds', and are not street legal, the displacement are between 250 and 500 i believe and the brands are yamaha and they have ah honda too.

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » October 30th, 2008, 8:32 am

Made in china.
no good brand but most of them about 15 k and below.
good for the price.
from 110 cc go up

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » October 30th, 2008, 8:38 am

^^ true for ah lil 'run around the block' toy... lol.... not someting as ah vehicle investment....

Postby RBphoto » October 30th, 2008, 8:44 am

We getting all kinda chineese brands in scooters and mopeds popping up nowdays. I thought a scooter was a moped? Ent they street legal, just not on the highway? How pizza men does use them then? I tort ATV's were another kettle of fish?

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » October 30th, 2008, 9:18 am

^^^^ well i was riding one in gulf view and ah po po stop me and tell me, boi that not supposed to be on the road so i ask but officer i jus riding round de block, the man tell me, it not supposed to be used on any public roads, as i am not paying insurance for it to be on the road..

so i say ok....... but does still ride it all over the place.... LOL

Postby RBphoto » October 30th, 2008, 9:31 am

ray786 wrote:^^^^ well i was riding one in gulf view and ah po po stop me and tell me, boi that not supposed to be on the road so i ask but officer i jus riding round de block, the man tell me, it not supposed to be used on any public roads, as i am not paying insurance for it to be on the road..
so i say ok....... but does still ride it all over the place.... LOL

You have to pay insurance to drive on the road with a motor vehicle, else if I bunx you, and you have no insurance, I will bunx you again. Ent you need to get plates and thing to drive on the road with a motor vehicle??

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 30th, 2008, 9:54 am

They can be licensed, saw one with license plates in Grande recently, driver had on helmet as well.

Postby RBphoto » October 30th, 2008, 10:22 am

http://www.yamaha-motor.com/outdoor/pro ... specs.aspx

Can you get ^^^^licensed for the road?

Postby foss » October 30th, 2008, 10:24 am

they can license.. i wouldnt tho.. not the way ppl drivin :mrgreen:

Postby RBphoto » October 30th, 2008, 10:37 am

foss wrote:they can license.. i wouldnt tho.. not the way ppl drivin :mrgreen:

I would not mind the side by side one. Put some good road tyres, soften suspension, upgrade brakes, four point harness seatbelt, better lighting / reflector package, windscreen and yuh orn like socks. Wonder if you can get a gearbox with a better drive ratio for crusing on the road?

Postby foss » October 30th, 2008, 10:39 am

^^^i find they good for some track or dirt road, or better yet a beach!! real antics, and a hell of a lot of fun to drive :D

Postby RBphoto » October 30th, 2008, 11:04 am

http://powersports.honda.com/atvs/sport ... =TRX700XX9

I luving this honda. Would love to get this on the road.

Postby tr1ad » October 30th, 2008, 11:21 am

there are two licensed atv in san fernando
info for the know it alls

Postby foss » October 30th, 2008, 11:22 am

^^yeah by SSL

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 30th, 2008, 12:32 pm

They can be licensed, saw one with license plates in Grande recently, driver had on helmet as well.

Yeah I saw one parked up in Santa Cruz with TCC plates on it :lol: :lol: I'm thinking of buying one also. :mrgreen:

Postby RBphoto » October 30th, 2008, 12:36 pm

15 gran? hmmm...what is the price of a yamaha 250 dirt bike?

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » November 2nd, 2008, 7:58 am

as yall on this topic, i was looking to get a pocket bike for my lil brother for christmas and was wondering the same thing concerning registering it.
its for an 11 yr old
here's a link..... http://www.minipocketrockets.com/mx3-pocketbike/
by chance these available locally - price?

marky

Re: ATV question.

Postby marky » February 11th, 2011, 8:45 am

i need an atv licenced for the road to buy, they not licencing them again because they dont knw what to class them as. if i get one thats licenced for the road i will surely take it

richierramsahai

Postby richierramsahai » June 27th, 2011, 11:13 pm

i'm getting a new 150cc atv for $9000.00.. do you guys think that is a good price?

it is one like this,

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 27th, 2011, 11:41 pm

atv with plates in the rio claro as well....doh mind was XCL****

Postby rollingstock » June 28th, 2011, 9:07 am

Vega is XCL yuh say dey? lmao :lol:

Ruff

Postby Ruff » June 28th, 2011, 9:20 am

I don't think ATVs are being licensed/ registered anymore.
Avoid the Chinese units if you are looking for something safe, sturdy and reliable.
My preference would be Yamaha or Kawasaki.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 28th, 2011, 12:48 pm

rollingstock wrote:Vega is XCL yuh say dey? lmao :lol:

yup, XCL......made a point of looking at it today when I passed.....

Postby rollingstock » June 28th, 2011, 1:20 pm

^^^ :shock: ok den :?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 28th, 2011, 1:29 pm

would try to get a pic but I don't think the owners would be pleased.....they might think I scoping to kidnap......seriously...

Postby rollingstock » June 28th, 2011, 1:35 pm

Or report them to Licensing office.

Postby Bizzare » June 28th, 2011, 2:05 pm

Get ah masked gang and do a driveby. Instead ah bussing shots, snap pictyas.

richierramsahai

Postby richierramsahai » June 28th, 2011, 6:22 pm

the XCL does look real good... i will take a pic of it next time i pass