CCIEs in T&T

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2008, 7:11 am

anybody know how many authentic local CCIEs there are in T&T ?

larafan

Postby larafan » October 27th, 2008, 7:15 am

wais dah?.... :|

aR&D

Postby aR&D » October 27th, 2008, 7:25 am

i like how you worded your question and used the "authentic".

Currently i know of one person who will be, come January going for the Lab exam abroad.

I also know of two other people who are setting up their equipment rack to start studying and practicing for the Lab exam - maybe in about 18months time.

And i also know personally, one rather handsome fellow :lol: (and his wife agrees on this too :lol) who has just finished CCNP and has given himself a one year sabbatical from studies before he starts to set up his equipment rack for the lab exam - 3 years tops

Dragist

Postby Dragist » October 27th, 2008, 7:28 am

When you are ready to get your Equipment check here .

http://www.ciscokits.com/

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2008, 8:05 am

yes authentic wording is required,
many local IT companies have had people registered etc
and they call themselves "candidates" which means nothing.......

so the answer is zero ?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 27th, 2008, 8:21 am

Actually I know of one personally.
He is listed on the Cisco site as well.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 27th, 2008, 8:42 am

knew of one...but he left.
The golden age of the vlaue has ended a few years now. We just hired a new CCIE as Level 1! he has zero experience spent 1 year in lab and went from CCNA to CCIE routing and switching. He is only now doing his CCNP as it is not a pre requisite.
I"ve got CCNPs that will give him a run for his money.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 27th, 2008, 9:06 am

I thought there was a handful of them..... hmmm

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 27th, 2008, 11:37 am

I don't think here are any

once you get that qualification you'll get an offer from even cisco itself or some big fish.

Postby AllTrac » October 27th, 2008, 11:42 am

aR&D wrote:
And i also know personally, one rather handsome fellow :lol: (and his wife agrees on this too :lol) who has just finished CCNP

from your wife and I, congrats! 8-)

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 27th, 2008, 11:46 am

once you get that qualification you'll get an offer from even cisco itself or some big fish.

Not really. Actually no.

Snags

Postby Snags » October 27th, 2008, 11:49 am

/me starts dancin

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » October 27th, 2008, 12:39 pm

Everybody and they grandma CCNA :?
We just hired a new CCIE as Level 1! he has zero experience spent 1 year in lab and went from CCNA to CCIE routing and switching. He is only now doing his CCNP as it is not a pre requisite.
I"ve got CCNPs that will give him a run for his money.

Thats the thing...alot of ppl coming out with Certifications , no experience and cyah handle it...

Postby Rainman » October 27th, 2008, 12:51 pm

finished CCNP a year ago. won't be attempting CCIE anytime soon. lol. like nismo said CCNA is just like A+ now. I once asked a interviewee who was "CCNA" to tell me what inter-vlan routing was. He looked at me like i talking urdu.

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2008, 1:48 pm

the question was about CCIE, not CCNP/CCNA
there is not much comparison between CCIE and CCNP/CCNA

so it appears there are none locally

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 27th, 2008, 1:55 pm

Hoss you know there are like 5 streams for the CCIE right?
CCNP is jsut A preofessional level certfication among many. Having an Professional level cert and experience is way better and marketable than a CCIE.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 27th, 2008, 2:25 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Hoss you know there are like 5 streams for the CCIE right?
CCNP is jsut A preofessional level certfication among many. Having an Professional level cert and experience is way better and marketable than a CCIE.

Rightly said, CCIE is way overrrated imo..

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2008, 3:11 pm

yes, but i really didnt ask about a debate, just wanted to know if there were any locally

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 27th, 2008, 5:07 pm

pugboy wrote:yes, but i really didnt ask about a debate, just wanted to know if there were any locally

MANUALMX SAID!!- "Actually I know of one personally.
He is listed on the Cisco site as well."

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 27th, 2008, 6:41 pm

Oh yea, well I have an AWOL that went MIA, gotta get to it ASAP before it becomes NFG in which case I'll have to do an NCR, QIR and have an ICAM conducted just to find out what caused the BOP to fail so that I won't lose another BHA.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » October 28th, 2008, 10:29 am

According to Cisco's website there are no CCIEs that are citizens of Trinidad as of 10/10/2008
http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le3/c ... dwide.html

On another note there are no jobs for CCIEs in Trinidad and even if there were employers here cannot pay internationally competitve salaries to keep CCIE's here.

In Trinidad we have plenty of paper CCNA/CCNP's. There really is not much opportunity outside VARs (IBM, Fujitsu, etc) and service providers (TSTT, Digicel, etc) for persons to get extensive hands on experience in designing, implementing and supporting large IP networks.

The level of skill that is needed in Trinidad should not go pass CCNA since most networks are small to medium size anyway.

Many persons pursue these certifications not because they are really interested in the technology and the value it adds to their organization but think it would lead them to a lucrative career which is not true.

My advise is before pursing any certification get the relevant experience first as this is much more difficult to get than studing braindumps to pass exams.

Postby AllTrac » October 28th, 2008, 10:40 am

Rallyfignis wrote:Oh yea, well I have an AWOL that went MIA, gotta get to it ASAP before it becomes NFG in which case I'll have to do an NCR, QIR and have an ICAM conducted just to find out what caused the BOP to fail so that I won't lose another BHA.

rofl u is ah grade A c*nt ehno :lol: :lol: :lol:

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » October 29th, 2008, 9:28 pm

Having an Professional level cert and experience is way better and marketable than a CCIE.

Trueeeee DAAAT

yes, but i really didnt ask about a debate, just wanted to know if there were any locally
Sorry for the hijack :oops:
In Trinidad we have plenty of paper CCNA/CCNP's. There really is not much opportunity outside VARs (IBM, Fujitsu, etc) and service providers (TSTT, Digicel, etc) for persons to get extensive hands on experience in designing, implementing and supporting large IP networks.

FLOW gots the experience yo!!! :P

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » October 29th, 2008, 9:57 pm

x10 for experience.. speaking from experience ;)

nemo

Re: CCIEs in T&T

Postby nemo » May 24th, 2014, 2:11 pm

Yes i know of one local CCIE personally. Don't know how many there are in total though. I am CCNP, CCDP and CCIP (now retired by Cisco) certified myself and hope to join the CCIE community soon.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 24th, 2014, 4:01 pm

Postby desifemlove » May 24th, 2014, 5:09 pm

Dey mus be some, but not many. doh know any offhand, but again mus be some.#

I does tink though a good degree from either UWI, UTT or a foreign uni would give yuh all grouding needed to manage a small network. Most organisation networks here only gonna have 500-1000 users, so a degree or a CCNA is enough to administer dat and all items. CCNA should cover syllabus for dis, like VLANs, how much bandwidth yuh does need, QoS settings, IP addressing space in versions 4 and 6, etc.