Importing an AE86 Trueno Hachi Roku

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 8:17 pm

fellas , assuming a foreign used dealer could find a used stock AE86 Trueno in japan, how much would it cost to bring into the country? I have no interest in registering it, so it could be brought in as scrap, ie shell and running gear separate......and who could I check for such a thing?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 21st, 2008, 8:22 pm

good luck ...... i heard yuh could get a used 7 series BMW from england for the same price

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 21st, 2008, 8:27 pm

at the moment, theres quite a few for sale in japan, just check thru some yards and link with someone who you no willing to bring one in along with their container.

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 8:27 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:good luck ...... i heard yuh could get a used 7 series BMW from england for the same price

3,000 quid?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 21st, 2008, 8:41 pm

1,200,000yen is cheapest 1 i found which is about $73,358.93TT give or take a few bucks, no import duties yet

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 8:43 pm

sooooo like around 100k?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 21st, 2008, 8:45 pm

MG Man,yeah and then buy an ae80 and write it off or buy the wirtes to it and drop on the plates cause it make about the same year and u can have it on the road more or less legal

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 8:47 pm

Zeriam wrote:MG Man,yeah and then buy an ae80 and write it off or buy the wirtes to it and drop on the plates cause it make about the same year and u can have it on the road more or less legal

nah, I not on dat.........jail not ah nice ting
I jus want one to add to de collection, maybe tow to dex an ting

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 21st, 2008, 8:50 pm

i sure it have it cheaper and not in as in good condition as the ones i've found. or u could hunt down some of the local ones and buy it from the people and it would be legal :mrgreen:

Postby eliteauto » October 21st, 2008, 9:15 pm

local ones only came as the GTS coupe, not as the Levin or Trueno

Wifey and I always planned to do a 1JZ swap in a TE/KE70 SR5 Coupe, these are more available for under 10K

TK!

Postby TK! » October 21st, 2008, 9:35 pm

http://www.carontrack.com/toyota/index.shtml

http://www.tamparacing.com/forums/toyot ... -sale.html

and the japan auction site have five. two of which are rate at grade 4.0. avg price is 260,000 yen. shipping is approx us 1200 to trinidad. when they say grade , they really mean it. i can personally vouch for that!

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 9:38 pm

man even them shakedown SR5 gettin pricey
man drivin rotten dong cyar an callin big money now......sheesh

When I was in naps a guy used to come to school with a yellow SR5........I used to be like *woah.........one day when I grow up*

anybody have one to sell cheap?

would look good next to my old KE30 when I buy it back :(

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 9:39 pm

what is the TT : Yen exchange rate?

TK!

Postby TK! » October 21st, 2008, 9:44 pm

www.xe.com

1 JPY = 0.0608511 TTD
26,000.00 JPY=1,582.13 TTD

if u want to bring it in i can get u a quote in the morning.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 21st, 2008, 9:45 pm

u know how long i looking for the rims like on them ae86

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 9:48 pm

hmm..........15k
lemme do some maths

TK!

Postby TK! » October 21st, 2008, 9:51 pm

MG Man wrote:hmm..........15k
lemme do some maths

1.5k ... ie - 1,500.00 TT FOB (add the handling fee of 85,000 yen for the Japanese dealer)

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 9:56 pm

waiiiiiiiiit.............26,000 yen or 260, 000?

I was checkin 260,000

TK!

Postby TK! » October 21st, 2008, 10:01 pm

MG Man wrote:waiiiiiiiiit.............26,000 yen or 260, 000?

I was checkin 260,000

oh snap :oops: i calculated at 26,000 ... u rite.. 15,000 ...

at 1500 i woulda take one for kicks yes. always dreamed of driving/owning one of these classics .. with a wicked engine revving up to 9000 safe.

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 10:04 pm

ah shoulda let yuh quote first :lol:

so wid shipping, tax etc, about 50k?

TK!

Postby TK! » October 21st, 2008, 10:21 pm

MG Man wrote:ah shoulda let yuh quote first :lol:

so wid shipping, tax etc, about 50k?

lol.. i wouldn't ah make dat mistake when i'm awake! lol

amm.. if u were licensing it, it would be around 50K ..but u'r not.. i'm not sure if u get away from MVT or Duty. Vat should still apply tho. can confirm with broker in the morning. or customs.

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 10:22 pm

cool

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 22nd, 2008, 2:43 am

hmmmmmmmmmmm

Postby wagonrunner » October 22nd, 2008, 5:48 am

group buy?

Postby MG Man » October 22nd, 2008, 6:13 am

karl, u wanna chip in fiddy-fiddy?

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 22nd, 2008, 6:21 am

This had me thinking about the question I had in the TTRC forum, can anyone answer?

Rallyfignis wrote:So let's say I bought like an old starlet from Barbados; how can I go about racing it in Trinidad?
I know Dean's Subaru is locally registered, I'm trying to remember if Betts' own is as well.

Postby MG Man » October 22nd, 2008, 6:39 am

you would not be able to license it, thus it would be illegal to drive on public roads....I do not know how the law applies to closed-off stages, but certainly at Preysal, for example, you would not be able to legally drive thru the village to get back to the start of the stage....unless you ran 'D' plates

Mini

Postby Mini » October 22nd, 2008, 6:48 am

MG Man wrote:you would not be able to license it, thus it would be illegal to drive on public roads....I do not know how the law applies to closed-off stages, but certainly at Preysal, for example, you would not be able to legally drive thru the village to get back to the start of the stage....unless you ran 'D' plates

or 'V' plates

rally cars need to be licensed for the road since they traverse the road sections of the event

MG... how hard is it to take out everything from an AE86 and say put it into a licensed KE70?

Postby eliteauto » October 22nd, 2008, 7:57 am

^^^not hard at all 4AGE 16V would swap in a KE70

same engine in a Charmant in B'dos earlier this year

Postby MG Man » October 22nd, 2008, 8:00 am

Mini wrote:
MG Man wrote:you would not be able to license it, thus it would be illegal to drive on public roads....I do not know how the law applies to closed-off stages, but certainly at Preysal, for example, you would not be able to legally drive thru the village to get back to the start of the stage....unless you ran 'D' plates

or 'V' plates

rally cars need to be licensed for the road since they traverse the road sections of the event

MG... how hard is it to take out everything from an AE86 and say put it into a licensed KE70?

if a trini brings in a car he cannot riun it on V plates
V plates are for visitors and has a stipulated time etc

As for a KE70, it will not handle like an AE86. The wheelbase is all wrong, and the car is not as rigid. Even if you manage to graft the suspension, it will take considerable work to get it to handle....the AE86 is a finely balanced machine.....it is what it is..........only thing comes close is an HSR :P