WTK: Claiming tax return on Foreign purchases...

aR&D

WTK: Claiming tax return on Foreign purchases...

Postby aR&D » August 28th, 2008, 7:35 pm

Hello All

Can someone with an insight to this matter inform me of the how, who and where for making a claim on (small, personal) purchases made aboard.

many thanks
aR&D

Postby SMc » August 29th, 2008, 2:27 am

doesn't it have to be done when you are leaving the country with the goods? What concession yuh mean ie one in TT or for eg getting back VAT from goods bought in the UK?

aR&D

Postby aR&D » August 29th, 2008, 8:04 am

I was of the understanding that since you are allowed a TT$3000.00 duty free entitlement that you would/could be able to submit your foreign receipts and claim the taxes back (here in TT) once equal to or under TT$3000. :?: :?:

Again i am simply seeking an answer on this too myself.

thanks
aR&D

Postby Dave » August 29th, 2008, 8:28 am

from my understanding, in canada that is
there is a form you complete in canada with supporting documents to show non citizen and from there u lodge to obtain the GST back
i am subject to correction

twisha

Postby twisha » August 29th, 2008, 9:08 am

To reclaim taxes from canada. each receipt submitted must have a purchases over CD$50. And the return forms can be acquired at eaton centre in toronto at the guest services counter.

larafan

Postby larafan » August 29th, 2008, 9:15 am

(small, personal) purchases made aboard.

it have a couple adult stores here where yuh could buy small dildos u know... :idea:

Postby Maserati » August 29th, 2008, 10:16 am

Dave wrote:from my understanding, in canada that is
there is a form you complete in canada with supporting documents to show non citizen and from there u lodge to obtain the GST back
i am subject to correction

use to..they stopped this in 2006 or 2007.

Postby Dave » August 29th, 2008, 1:38 pm

^^thanks man :)

Postby Maserati » August 29th, 2008, 1:41 pm

yea $hitty deal..shop in the US save $
Canadian stores overcharge.

W2J

Postby W2J » August 29th, 2008, 1:45 pm

As a registered importer and dealer for certain lines we don't pay US taxes since the items are for export.