WTK: wireless router

Civilian

WTK: wireless router

Postby Civilian » July 25th, 2008, 12:21 am

i wanna buy a wireless router.. i wha some advice on which one i shud choose...an stuff like that...

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » July 25th, 2008, 1:43 am

Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router WRT54G2

http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellit ... 0933028B01

I have this and it works great.

Soca Warrior

Postby Soca Warrior » July 25th, 2008, 1:46 am

If u are using blink u will have problems connecting with a linksys an the paradyme modem........ TSTT now has a wireless modem available if it is blink...is 350 4 lan ports an wireless built in

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » July 25th, 2008, 1:48 am

agreed with chris90

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » July 25th, 2008, 1:53 am

Soca Warrior wrote:If u are using blink u will have problems connecting with a linksys an the paradyne modem........ TSTT now has a wireless modem available if it is blink...is 350 4 lan ports an wireless built in

You are right. when we hooked it up, it gave trouble but after a long while ( talking weeks here) we finally got it to work.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » July 25th, 2008, 2:02 am

Chris90 wrote:
Soca Warrior wrote:If u are using blink u will have problems connecting with a linksys an the paradyne modem........ TSTT now has a wireless modem available if it is blink...is 350 4 lan ports an wireless built in

You are right. when we hooked it up, it gave trouble but after a long while ( talking weeks here) we finally got it to work.

Simple problem simple solution... TSTT has their paradyne modems setup with the same IP address as the router - 192.168.1.1. Obviously you can't have two devices with the same address plugged into one computer. All you have to do is change the IP address of the wireless router to something like 192.168.2.1, and you're good to go.

Postby bushwakka » July 25th, 2008, 7:11 am

linksys tend to bit more difficult to setup i find...if u cud get ur hands on a D-link....u in de game

nd4spd

Postby nd4spd » July 25th, 2008, 8:03 am

BELKIN 2.4ghz works well with BLINK

Postby honda hoe » July 25th, 2008, 8:11 am

i recently bought a belkin54 wireless modem from pricemart for $315

works good wit blink

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 25th, 2008, 8:18 am

linksys wrt54 .. works well for what it is

Snyper

Postby Snyper » July 25th, 2008, 8:24 am

i'm also looking for purchase but i need one bout 300ft, could you all recommend one.

netsket

Postby netsket » July 25th, 2008, 8:44 am

Soca Warrior wrote:If u are using blink u will have problems connecting with a linksys an the paradyme modem........ TSTT now has a wireless modem available if it is blink...is 350 4 lan ports an wireless built in

not necessarily........i have a Linksys WRT54GS and a Paradyne modem...had some problems detecting the internet...but i chatted online with the Linksys rep and he showed me how to reconfigure my router (easy) and now it wuking!!

Civilian

Postby Civilian » July 26th, 2008, 12:43 am

is nuh blink i using.. where i cud get one ah these routers to buy for a good price... ?

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » July 26th, 2008, 1:26 am

I got my Linksys wireless -G broadband router WRT54G2 from d states for like 100 USD. Dunno how much it costs locally and who selling dem exactly.

nubz

Postby nubz » July 26th, 2008, 2:49 am

netgear is also a good brand.

Postby Sky » July 26th, 2008, 3:20 am

Running a netgear on flow. Plug in, run auto ip and set passwords to get on wifi. Does reach in the backyard with this notebook with 4 bars. Would get the model # but too far form it right now to check and too lazy to get up :P

dmitc

Postby dmitc » July 26th, 2008, 10:25 am

Dude if you want a router that you don't have to pay someone to install for you then don't go with the Linksys. it is not end user friendly, mind you it works great when it is properly installed but installation is a b!tch.
from my experience it is better to go with the D-Link. it is as simple as clicking next on an installation window and does not have the IP conflict with the TSTT paradym modems that was mentioned above.

here is a good one to check out

http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-DIR-615-4-Port-Wireless-Router/dp/B000QD7B6W/ref=pd_cp_e_2?pf_rd_p=413863501&pf_rd_s=center-41&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B000FJ3I5U&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0HYJZT04QS09P09ZM6S0

oh and d-link a wireless usb adaptor that allows you to connect wirelessly without onboard wifi

xtech

Postby xtech » July 26th, 2008, 1:37 pm

Sky wrote:Running a netgear on flow. Plug in, run auto ip and set passwords to get on wifi. Does reach in the backyard with this notebook with 4 bars. Would get the model # but too far form it right now to check and too lazy to get up :P

feel yuh backyard far...............

do it the right way and get 1mile range now.............. :twisted:

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » July 28th, 2008, 8:49 pm

also need some help with this.
having problems with blink and linksys wrt54g

QG

Postby QG » July 28th, 2008, 10:11 pm

srnoth wrote:
Chris90 wrote:

Simple problem simple solution... TSTT has their paradyne modems setup with the same IP address as the router - 192.168.1.1. Obviously you can't have two devices with the same address plugged into one computer. All you have to do is change the IP address of the wireless router to something like 192.168.2.1, and you're good to go.

Yes u r correct. I catch hell getting my laptop to run with my lynksys wireless router. I called my padna nad he reconfigured the IP addresses and everything works perfectly. I got the Lynksys G Router for $445 at Diamond Systems in La Romaine.