Re: Japanese Anime THREAD

Postby matr1x » December 23rd, 2021, 8:00 pm

And bleach is due next year.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 23rd, 2021, 11:08 pm

Been more than 10 years now... and the end is near.
Not a manga reader myself, so looking forward for all hell to break loose.

"Eren, what is it that you're fighting for? What is it?"

"Because I was born into this world.
We have to keep moving forward.
Even if we die... and even after we die"

Postby timelapse » December 24th, 2021, 7:59 am

As awful as this is:
I watch Samurai Pizza Cats every now and then.

Apart from that my all time favorite picks:
Death Note
Gun Grave
Ninja Scroll
Samurai Champloo

Postby MG Man » December 24th, 2021, 10:03 am

Soul Collector wrote:Been more than 10 years now... and the end is near.

I watched most of season 1 when it was on netflix. I found it began dragging toward the end and lost interest
Started Evangelion recently but same thing....taking sooo long to get to the point
The last one binged start to finish was Fullmetal Alchemist

Postby Les Bain » December 24th, 2021, 10:25 am

This was a great OVA series. Kinda dragged in the middle and got depressing, but the ending is one of my faves.
Hoping to afford a Giant Robo figure someday.

1st action clip from EP1,

Postby st7 » December 24th, 2021, 11:12 am

Soul Collector wrote:Been more than 10 years now... and the end is near.

I watched most of season 1 when it was on netflix. I found it began dragging toward the end and lost interest
Started Evangelion recently but same thing....taking sooo long to get to the point

nah keep up with AoT ... season 2 was better, then season 3 was betterer.

i read the manga -- get ready for WTFFFFFFF

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 24th, 2021, 11:21 am

Season 2 of AoT was a mess, Season 3 was better and the final season part 1 was decent. All in all a series that I would rate a 75% out of 100% or 3.5 / 5. I agree the 1st season is what set the bar for AoT as a unique and thoroughly engaging anime but after that it fell off a bit. Lets hope it can finish on a high.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 24th, 2021, 11:53 am

MG Man wrote:I watched most of season 1 when it was on netflix. I found it began dragging toward the end and lost interest

Hmm. I can get why you saying that. I started it as soon as it came out and well, that was that for me. The first episode still hits like a dump truck. If after hearing all the hype about AoT and then just diving in expecting an immediate pay off, it won't go so well. But if you decide to stick around...it starts to get very political and the transformation of Eren's character over the course of the series was incredible to witness. Also, the soundtrack from Hiroyuki Sawano sank its claws deep in me...some truly epic stuff.

I never watched Evangelion. Started Fullmetal Alchemist but didn't care to finish it. I know people rate it highly, but it wasn't doing much for me.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 24th, 2021, 12:06 pm

Les Bain wrote:This was a great OVA series. Kinda dragged in the middle and got depressing, but the ending is one of my faves.
Hoping to afford a Giant Robo figure someday.

1st action clip from EP1,

That looks great. From the action clip you posted, feel I'll add it to a list to check out some time. The boy's voice a lil irritating but looking like there's more than enough to make up for that, lol

Postby 16 cycles » December 24th, 2021, 2:57 pm

Evangelion is a look into depression....good to keep that in mind when watching..

AoT is too drawn out imo...

Postby sMASH » December 24th, 2021, 3:14 pm

Not an anime fan, just like samurai x and eagerly awaiting attack on titan second half come January.

Ps, really liked jaw titan. he come good when he did.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 24th, 2021, 3:33 pm

Anyone JoJo fans in here?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 24th, 2021, 6:47 pm

Were you watching full metal alchemist brotherhood
Soul Collector wrote:
MG Man wrote:I watched most of season 1 when it was on netflix. I found it began dragging toward the end and lost interest

Hmm. I can get why you saying that. I started it as soon as it came out and well, that was that for me. The first episode still hits like a dump truck. If after hearing all the hype about AoT and then just diving in expecting an immediate pay off, it won't go so well. But if you decide to stick around...it starts to get very political and the transformation of Eren's character over the course of the series was incredible to witness. Also, the soundtrack from Hiroyuki Sawano sank its claws deep in me...some truly epic stuff.

I never watched Evangelion. Started Fullmetal Alchemist but didn't care to finish it. I know people rate it highly, but it wasn't doing much for me.

Postby MG Man » December 26th, 2021, 8:24 pm

honestly can't remember, but I think it was Brotherhood

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 26th, 2021, 8:25 pm

Slime season 2 going gooood.

Postby st7 » December 26th, 2021, 8:29 pm

MG Man wrote:honestly can't remember, but I think it was Brotherhood
brotherhood is the best of the best

I've watched that over about ten times

Postby MG Man » December 26th, 2021, 8:52 pm

the live action movie wasn't bad either, considering the sheer volume of content they had to condense

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 24th, 2022, 4:17 pm

MG Man wrote:honestly can't remember, but I think it was Brotherhood

Same for me.

Demon Slayer and AoT getting hype!!!!! The opening for AoT is a real banger too.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 3rd, 2022, 9:05 pm

The next BIG anime to be coming out.

Postby st7 » July 3rd, 2022, 10:46 pm

so it's a more serious one-punch man origin story? XD

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 4th, 2022, 3:45 pm

st7 wrote:so it's a more serious one-punch man origin story? XD

It's MASSIVELY popular in the manga. Normally this tends to translate to massive popularity in the anime adaptation. Expect something on the level of Attack on Titan when this beast drops.

Postby st7 » July 4th, 2022, 4:08 pm

DMan7 wrote:

It's MASSIVELY popular in the manga. Normally this tends to translate to massive popularity in the anime adaptation. Expect something on the level of Attack on Titan when this beast drops.

eh heh? yuh better doh hype it so eh!

btw, i start Bastard!! on netflix.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 4th, 2022, 4:15 pm

st7 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Haven't heard of it, will check it out!

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 4th, 2022, 4:23 pm

st7 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Also check the WTF Pics and Vids thread, your post reminded me of a certain Trini Meme. :lol:

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 5th, 2022, 8:55 pm

cowboy bebop is where it's at.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 5th, 2022, 9:21 pm

Postby st7 » July 5th, 2022, 9:49 pm

hahaha dude's dressed as full metal, arm and all

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 5th, 2022, 10:25 pm

Wait you've never seen the original Trigun?

Postby st7 » July 5th, 2022, 10:38 pm

nah dred

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 6th, 2022, 3:14 pm

st7 wrote:nah dred

:shock: :shock: :shock: :o :o :o