The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Chimera » September 9th, 2022, 7:02 am

Or if your phone get damaged and you cant/don't want to get it fixed immediately...you have to go buy either another phone with esim capability or go buy a physical sim card with your current number to use on a older phone.

Can't just pop out your sim and use in a next phone.

Postby maj. tom » September 9th, 2022, 9:51 am

But I think Apple was talking about leasing their devices now eh, because they lost the legal argument for "Right to Repair" and they hate 3rd party sellers and repairs because that's a profit loss to them. Means they going to lock down their devices even further with unique ID activated components that cannot swap out like the Home Button replacement.

Under that model, users lease their devices for X years, and if anything goes wrong they swap it out under the lease agreements because it's a hardware subscription. Means you can only get your devices from an official regional Apple store. Leased. At least that's the talk for USA Apple. Don't know about international sales.

https://www.techradar.com/news/apple-might-want-you-to-subscribe-to-your-next-iphone

Postby Chimera » September 9th, 2022, 10:00 am

No...apple has been selling original parts for the items to allow people to do repairs on their own using genuine parts and tools. They're even providing repair manuals so you can diy

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2022, 12:06 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:No...apple has been selling original parts for the items to allow people to do repairs on their own using genuine parts and tools. They're even providing repair manuals so you can diy

From what I read it seems that was just optics to appease the right to repair legislation - it's apparently a process to get the parts and you have to rent a specific and HUGE piece of equipment from apple in order to carry out the repairs by their guidelines

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2022, 12:11 pm

xmas coming up
need to bling the latest phone

I mean an XS is more than adequate for 99% of ppl but we want to see more than the lil 2 cameras on the back.
all them other phone have 3,4 and 5 camera at the back

MaxPower wrote:Allyuh Trinis going crazy with this eSim. For heavens sake friends, remain calm.

Everything will happen in timing.

But since my iPhone XS, i love using the eSim option when i travel. It’s so easy to switch between the hard sim and the E.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2022, 9:33 pm

iPhone 14 eSIM Controversy Explained - Unbox Therapy

Postby K74T » September 27th, 2022, 2:34 pm

FB_IMG_1664303542629.jpg

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 27th, 2022, 2:51 pm

No eSIM iPhone 14 for T&T

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » September 27th, 2022, 5:50 pm

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1664303542629.jpg

The prices gonna be ridiculous

Postby maj. tom » September 27th, 2022, 5:54 pm

So they should be ready by iPhone 15 release. That's expected though, and this move turning out to be a good one by Apple to push and force providers to upgrade to better.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 27th, 2022, 5:55 pm

Digicel Jamaica and Flow have esims there. Maybe trini just that shiddy

Postby j.o.e » October 14th, 2022, 9:25 am

I know it was mentioned in here recently but can’t find the post. How do skyboxes treat with Apple Watches in terms of charges ?

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » October 14th, 2022, 10:30 am

Canada iphone 14 models have sim trays

xtech

Postby xtech » October 14th, 2022, 11:01 am

maj. tom wrote:So they should be ready by iPhone 15 release. That's expected though, and this move turning out to be a good one by Apple to push and force providers to upgrade to better.

You think apple can be pushed and forced into using the usb-c charging port on their phone by the Europeans ?

Who came up with the usb-c design anyway. Looks like a copy of apple charge cable but reversed. Both ends of the cable looks like a lighting port on the bottom of the apple devices. And the port in the charger looks like the end of the Apple cable

Postby maj. tom » October 14th, 2022, 11:52 am

They already have. USB-C and Thunderbolt 4 is the same port. All their new macbooks and ipads already use USB-C, using a USB-C charging port as the plug. USB-C is superior to Lightning Port both for power delivery and data transfer. If Apple choses to use Thunderbolt 4 instead of Lightning, it's the same port as USB-C.

It's expected that iPhone 15 will have USB-C, or they will go directly to wireless charging which is still very inefficient and expensive per useful watt.

USB standards are developed by an international technical committee involving all the tech companies of the world including Apple. They came up with an ergonomic design this time, compared to USB-A and USB-B.

Apple is the final word for their propriety and licensing mess of standards that their consumers accept for the brand and their marketing and profits. Did you know that every cable manufacturer has to pay a licensing fee to produce an Apple type cable? Lightning had the same power and data transfer specs as USB 2.0. USB is the universal accepted free standard that ALL other manufacturers accept. Apple markets their deliberately using different ports and chargers by telling their customers that they're unique and free-thinkers by not having a headphone jack and selling more Airpods. All 2 billion of them are unique.

Their gimmick was busted in the EU in 2022 through consumer protection laws with standardizing the USB for them.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 18th, 2022, 3:37 pm

New iPad and iPad Pro launched today

Screenshot 2022-10-18 at 3.42.06 PM.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » October 18th, 2022, 4:55 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:New iPad and iPad Pro launched today

Screenshot 2022-10-18 at 3.42.06 PM.jpg

i donno why but that video blew my mind

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 19th, 2022, 10:24 am

price not bad.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » October 24th, 2022, 6:48 pm

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 26th, 2022, 12:48 pm

Niceness

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2022, 1:29 pm

ppl might upgrade to phones which can have dual esims

Postby MaxPower » October 26th, 2022, 1:31 pm

pugboy wrote:ppl might upgrade to phones which can have dual esims

Padna anything the “latest” people want to upgrade too.

If dual esim is out in T&T and it costing $15,000…Trinis WANT that!

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » October 26th, 2022, 4:08 pm

If you have an iPhone XS or newer, once this launch you can have a physical bmobile SIM and a Digicel eSIM in the same phone.

Postby MaxPower » October 26th, 2022, 4:58 pm

ed360123 wrote:
If you have an iPhone XS or newer, once this launch you can have a physical bmobile SIM and a Digicel eSIM in the same phone.

Precisely.

Trinis quick to get the latest iphone but get dotish when the i14 launched totally oblivious to the fact that they had esim capability all along.

My days for constantly switching sims with that primitive tool have been over years now. I simply “add data plan/add esim” and scanned a barcode to activate my other carrier. You can execute a simple toggle between on and off depending on what country you are in or which carrier you would like to use.

IMG_0444.JPG

Postby Chimera » October 26th, 2022, 5:06 pm

Padna anything the “latest” people want to upgrade too.

If dual esim is out in T&T and it costing $15,000…Trinis WANT that!

ive sold some of the dual sim hong kong versions for 17k

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2022, 5:10 pm

yeah but blingers doh want not hong kong phone
they want iphone

Postby redmanjp » October 26th, 2022, 5:22 pm

iPhones will get USB-C charging after Apple says it will have to comply with EU law

https://www.cnbc.com/2022/10/26/apple-confirms-iphone-to-get-usb-c-charging-to-comply-with-eu-law.html

does this mean all iPhones will have USB-C or only those sold in the EU?

Postby S_2NR » October 26th, 2022, 5:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:iPhones will get USB-C charging after Apple says it will have to comply with EU law

https://www.cnbc.com/2022/10/26/apple-confirms-iphone-to-get-usb-c-charging-to-comply-with-eu-law.html

does this mean all iPhones will have USB-C or only those sold in the EU?

All

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2022, 5:44 pm

i like how them eu does not let anybody bully them

Postby Chimera » October 26th, 2022, 6:52 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah but blingers doh want not hong kong phone
they want iphone
I'm talking about the apple iphones that are hong kong spec...from apple store..and come as original dual sim.