Does subaru Engines have timing belts?

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 9th, 2008, 8:24 pm

never had one yet.....

so does it? huhuhuh?

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » July 9th, 2008, 8:33 pm

yes very long ones, and all the same size in the DOHC 4 cyl engines.

Postby tr1ad » July 9th, 2008, 8:33 pm

yes

Postby Cjruckus » July 9th, 2008, 8:33 pm

Yes they do.
Wingroads however don't.

So Wingroad > WRX.

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 9th, 2008, 9:06 pm

i know wingroads dont have..(y nissan is boss for an everyday car).jsut i like to repair cars myself...so i dont like trouble spots...dont mind changing timing belts on rb25/6/0 2jz etc..thats simple..once u gota pulley puller.... but the scooby lookin a lil tough so i will leave that there.....

Postby Cjruckus » July 9th, 2008, 9:17 pm

well a scooby is a nightmare for repairs. Seeing that you need to drop the entire subframe just to change plugs.

Postby 16 cycles » July 9th, 2008, 9:55 pm

....100 years of experience fixing the same configuration of engine every year is 1 year of experience repeated 100 times...???

Postby 16 cycles » July 9th, 2008, 9:56 pm

Cjruckus wrote:well a scooby is a nightmare for repairs. Seeing that you need to drop the entire subframe just to change plugs.

^nope, can change in a matter of minutes

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » July 9th, 2008, 10:07 pm

Cjruckus wrote:well a scooby is a nightmare for repairs. Seeing that you need to drop the entire subframe just to change plugs.

:lol: :lol: no cj...you are wrong...

BlackXT

Postby BlackXT » July 9th, 2008, 10:25 pm

:wtf:

Looks like I have been doing it the wrong way all this time.

Postby equipped2ripp » July 9th, 2008, 10:34 pm

:rofl: what an idiot

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 9th, 2008, 10:52 pm

LOL

Postby tr1ad » July 9th, 2008, 11:12 pm

wda i hearin here

Rx

Postby Rx » July 10th, 2008, 7:07 am

Oh dear yet another misinformed individual.

Don't let the look of the boxer engine scare you. Once you get down into it ... repairs are quite easy.

Would u believe , it's takes less time to change a clutch on a WRX Sti than it would to do the same job on an EVO 7 ? :shock:

>> food for thought eh <<<< :idea:

lol @ BlackXT .... darn Fozzy drivers :lol: :lol:

air wick

Postby air wick » July 10th, 2008, 7:11 am

that isn't true

riderz

Postby riderz » July 10th, 2008, 7:14 am

I actually heard this from a mechanic too. lol.. No true though.

With the turbo models, its a beyotch to change when the car hot thats all.

Postby bushwakka » July 10th, 2008, 8:44 am

yea but de man was talkin abt changin de plugs...not de clutch?

is not true that hav to drop it out to change the plugs then?

Rx

Postby Rx » July 10th, 2008, 8:50 am

Fakk no !!!! :evil:

Where do u guys get this bull$hEiT ? :?:

air wick

Postby air wick » July 10th, 2008, 9:05 am

bushwakka wrote:yea but de man was talkin abt changin de plugs...not de clutch?

is not true that hav to drop it out to change the plugs then?

in the n/a scooby, the air box on the right and water bottle on the left can be removed for easier access...

when i changed the plugs it took around 1/2 hour

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » July 10th, 2008, 9:26 am

plugs not that hard to change but the other day the timing belt tensioner bolt in my car had strip...now that was a b!tch to change.

Dragular

Postby Dragular » July 10th, 2008, 9:59 am

Postby tr1ad » July 10th, 2008, 10:53 am

allyuh lettin cjruckus chain allyuh up still???

he dam well kno how to change the plugs in a subaru

Postby Razkal » July 10th, 2008, 12:03 pm

^I highly doubt that hoss. I would love to know what experience the man has actually working on cars. To me he's a trip on the forum but i wouldn't feel too nice fronting behind somebody else DC5 :|

Postby honda hoe » July 10th, 2008, 12:04 pm

Razkal wrote:^I highly doubt that hoss. I would love to know what experience the man has actually working on cars. To me he's a trip on the forum but i wouldn't feel too nice fronting behind somebody else DC5 :|

oh no u didnt :|

Postby tr1ad » July 10th, 2008, 12:05 pm

hmmm

raz yuh geh meh pm?

Postby Razkal » July 10th, 2008, 12:17 pm

^yesh i did 8)

Nah hoe i not bashing the man or anything, just i doubt the man ever actually "pull spanner" in his life. I sure real 2nrs here in the same boat. *shrugs shoulders*

Postby tr1ad » July 10th, 2008, 12:19 pm

buh raz

ent u does pull vice grip when it goin to rain?

Postby Razkal » July 10th, 2008, 12:23 pm

^Steups, yuh feel is only cbh, roro, an cl101 allowed to be premium now or wha? :?
power windows in yuh mc now b|tch!! :lol: :lol:

Go Fast
Location: Cheap and fast won't be reliable. Cheap and reliable won't be fast. Reliable and fast won't be cheap

Postby Go Fast » July 10th, 2008, 2:25 pm

BlackXT wrote:

:wtf:

Looks like I have been doing it the wrong way all this time.

true dat, CJ, research before u post, otherwise trinituner will eat u alive man.
Subaru timing belt change is easy, u just gotta remember where and how everything goes back, and be careful not to lose the idlers. Changing plugs is as Travis said, Easier. :o
I'd leave it to a mechanic to do tho. :wink:

Polydor

Postby Polydor » July 10th, 2008, 2:25 pm

InDeForest wrote:yes very long ones, and all the same size in the DOHC 4 cyl engines.

^^^not too accurate....they do differ in length.