WTK: Space Observatory in Trinidad with Space Telescopes!!

RadeonHD

WTK: Space Observatory in Trinidad with Space Telescopes!!

Postby RadeonHD » June 16th, 2008, 2:43 pm

Yeah folks I realise a good telescope is very expensive and maybe it might just be better if I can see through one for one night instead of having to buy it.

Anyone knows if it has a space observatory in trinidad that you can go in the night to look at the universe?

I am interested in the Nebula galaxy and stuff however a $6000 scope still can't cut it. You need a 20 inch scope and well I can't afford that.

check this out some mod has banned me from posting in ole talk so i have to modify my first post. I think the mod is reixman padner or some crap so small thing me eh vex.

http://www.eso.org/public/

The space lab in europe has found super earths in another solar system.
Planets in another solar system in this galaxy.
They hoping next gen 40 meter lens diameter telescope will be able to prove extraterrestrial life form.

PS I think I found it on gogole

http://www.astronomyclubs.com/1/181/0/0/club.aspx

astronomy club in trinidad and tobago
Last edited by RadeonHD on June 16th, 2008, 3:00 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Razkal » June 16th, 2008, 2:47 pm

^i doubt anywhere in trini has any facility like that man, actually i'm pretty sure we don't. The closest you might get is a telescope belonging to some other wealthy enthusiast :|

Good interest btw...star gazing is hella cool :)

Postby crazybalhead » June 16th, 2008, 2:49 pm

There used to be an astronomical society in UWI, but I am not seeing it listed anywhere.

google astronomy in Trinidad and see nah Alpine?

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » June 16th, 2008, 2:52 pm

yeah I was watching some of them images by the hubble telescope and all I can say is damn.

maby u should see it for yourself

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nebula

check that nah how decent is that eh.
Also ESO in Europe has found the first ever planet outside our solar system.

They say they counting on that planet to have extraterrestrial life.
So they building a next gen 45 meter diameter lens telescope weighing 1000 tons they hope that scope will be able to pick up life form in another solar system.

The planet looks cool check this they found other planets known as super earths

http://www.eso.org/public/

Postby Razkal » June 16th, 2008, 2:54 pm

Ah paddna have *ahem* sumting yuh could "ignite" that might make yuh see stars...buh joker tell mih doh call he name :|

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » June 16th, 2008, 3:06 pm

http://www.astrocarina.org/pages/CARINA ... ation.html

They usually have annual star-gazing parties. Used to be monthly meetings, but I haven't been active in it for a number of years.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » June 16th, 2008, 3:10 pm

cool thanks I just want to look a lil bit don't want to spend no big money on expensive telescopes.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » June 16th, 2008, 3:15 pm

W2J

Postby W2J » June 16th, 2008, 3:19 pm

sweet david.... how did you attach your camera to the input on the scope

Dragist

Postby Dragist » June 16th, 2008, 3:21 pm

I took that with My Cam and a Tamron 70-300mm Lens

Postby st7 » June 16th, 2008, 3:31 pm

niherst goin to arima side suppose to have a telescope.

is niherst rite? i kno it start with ah N and it along de highway

Re: WTK: Space Observatory in Trinidad with Space Telescopes

Postby r3iXmann » June 16th, 2008, 4:14 pm

Alpine wrote:check this out some mod has banned me from posting in ole talk so i have to modify my first post. I think the mod is reixman padner or some crap so small thing me eh vex.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 16th, 2008, 6:58 pm

Alpine,

if you intrested in telescopes

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

if you dont see a model you want

go to www.celestron.com

im the celestron dealer for the caribbean

full warranty an support

RapToR

Postby RapToR » June 16th, 2008, 7:05 pm

[b]Celestron Utilizes Google Maps API to Deliver a Rich Interactive View of the Sky Fueled by Amateur Astronomers around the World

CelestronImages.com is an Online Community for Amateur Astronomers and Terrestrial Observers to Share Their Photography with the Masses!
TORRANCE, Calif.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Celestron®, one of the world’s leading designers and manufacturers of telescopes, binoculars, spotting scopes, microscopes and related accessories, announced the addition of CelestronImages.com to their growing website collection.

CelestronImages.com is an online community for amateur astronomers and terrestrial observers to showcase, discuss and share their stunning photography with the world. What makes CelestronImages.com unique is the integration of Google Maps technology that allows Celestron to display astro photos directly on an interactive map of the night sky. Furthermore, visitors and members can also download and share KML files that allow them to view astro images on Sky in Google Earth.
The creation of CelestronImages.com stems from demand for more interactive venues in the astronomy community. Image sharing has become a very popular function for internet users to display their favorite photography with other hobbyists. “Amateur astronomers are capturing spectacular images of the night sky. Celestron was determined to create a comprehensive website to offer exposure and support to this hobby,â€

RapToR

Postby RapToR » June 16th, 2008, 7:07 pm

reiXmann wrote:
Alpine wrote:check this out some mod has banned me from posting in ole talk so i have to modify my first post. I think the mod is reixman padner or some crap so small thing me eh vex.

pioneer strikes again :|

simplicity

Postby simplicity » June 17th, 2008, 8:00 am

on Mount St. Benedict, there's a astronomy group there with a powerful telescope...

unimatrix001

Postby unimatrix001 » March 1st, 2009, 3:24 pm

Trinidad & Tobago Astronomical Society (TTAS)
http://www.tt-astrosociety.com/

Caribbean Institute of Astronomy (CARINA)
http://www.caribbeanastronomy.com/

You can check out those two sites for more info about astronomy in Trinidad & Tobago. TTAS has monthly meetings in the Dudly Huggins Building at the University of the West Indies, St Augustine. Meeting times for 2009 are at 6.30pm every last Saturday of the month (eg Saturday 28th March 2009). Seeing this year is the International Year of Astronomy, there are very structured lectures about astronomy for those who know nothing and those of you who are well versed.

Check it out.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » March 1st, 2009, 4:25 pm

Razkal wrote:^i doubt anywhere in trini has any facility like that man, actually i'm pretty sure we don't. The closest you might get is a telescope belonging to some other wealthy enthusiast :|

Good interest btw...star gazing is hella cool :)

there is an observatory in tobago. UWI Physics department sometimes organizes fieldtrips, but as far as i know its for students. Don't know what other association or group has access to the observatory.

Postby buzz » March 1st, 2009, 5:05 pm

RapToR wrote:Alpine,

if you intrested in telescopes

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

if you dont see a model you want

go to www.celestron.com

im the celestron dealer for the caribbean

full warranty an support

buh yuh kno he just wanted yuh tuh post :|

frontier

Postby frontier » March 1st, 2009, 6:00 pm

check NIHERST they have telesope views every 2nd and 4th friday of the month until the end of march, if interestred call 642-6112.
the year is the "internatonal year of astronomy" and the have a year long activities list planned as well as an astronomy club

N_A_K

Postby N_A_K » March 1st, 2009, 6:27 pm

I always wanted a telescope too :(

one that I could use to take pictures with.

Would be a cool and interesting hobby.

(but I not ready yet raptor :P)

Postby sharkman121 » December 27th, 2011, 10:10 pm

anyone still shares an interest in star gazing/astrology?

Re:

Postby dougla_boy » December 27th, 2011, 11:46 pm

Razkal wrote:Ah paddna have *ahem* sumting yuh could "ignite" that might make yuh see stars...buh joker tell mih doh call he name :|

eh i cud make feel as if he walking and peeing on pluto....

Postby sMASH » December 28th, 2011, 9:32 am

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 827&type=3

check out dat, especially the pics at the end... let me know if u not seeing them...
one day to come, a few years from now, i want to organize a large telescope.

Postby sMASH » January 9th, 2012, 3:47 pm

Postby sMASH » January 9th, 2012, 3:53 pm

Postby MG Man » January 9th, 2012, 4:22 pm

ever since my grampa gave me a poster of the moon with all the craters, I stopped using the telescope