6 gas-saving myths (discuss)

Madrax

6 gas-saving myths (discuss)

Postby Madrax » May 13th, 2008, 11:01 pm

6 gas-saving myths

Sure you want to save gas, but there's a lot of bad advice on how to do it. Some of it makes no difference, and some of it can wind up costing you.

By Peter Valdes-Dapena, CNNMoney.com staff writer
Last Updated: May 13, 2008: 3:11 PM EDT

NEW YORK (CNNMoney.com) -- With gasoline prices hitting record levels, it seems everyone has a tip on how to save fuel. Much of the advice is well-intentioned, but in the end, much of it won't lower your gas bill.

Here's a look at a few misconceptions:

#1. Fill your tank in the morning

You may have heard that it's best to fill your gas tank in the early morning while the fuel is cold. The theory goes that fluids are more dense at lower temperatures, so a gallon of cold gas actually has more gas molecules than a gallon of warmer gas.

But the temperature of the gasoline as it comes out of the nozzle varies little during the course of the day, according to Consumer Reports, so there's little, if any, benefit, to getting up early to pump gas.

#2. Change your air filter

Maintaining your car is important, but a clean air filter isn't going to save you any gas. Modern engines have computer sensors that automatically adjust the fuel-air mixture as an increasingly clogged air filter chokes off the engine's air supply.

While engine power will decrease slightly as the air filter becomes clogged, a lack of performance or an increase in fuel consumption will be negligible, Consumer Reports says.

#3. Use premium fuel

With prices already over $4.00 a gallon, premium gasoline is a hard sell these days. But a lot of drivers think because their owners' manual recommends premium, they'll get better fuel economy if they stick with it. Really, they're paying more money for nothing.

Even cars for which premium is recommended won't suffer with regular fuel. Modern engine technology comes to the rescue again. When sensors detect regular instead of premium fuel, the system automatically adjusts spark plug timing. The result is a slight reduction in peak horsepower - really, you'll never notice - but no reduction in fuel economy.

#4. Pump up your tires

Proper tire inflation is important for a number of reasons. Under-inflated tires are bad for handling and can even cause a crash. Improper tire inflation also causes tires to wear out faster and to heat up more, which could trigger a dangerous high-speed blow-out.

According to on-the-road driving tests by both Consumer Reports and auto information site Edmunds.com, underinflated tires reduce fuel economy, so proper inflation is key.

But you should never over-inflate your tires. They'll get you slightly better fuel economy because there will be less tread touching the road, reducing friction. But that means less grip for braking and turning. The added risk of a crash isn't worth the extra mile a gallon you might gain.

#5. To A/C or not A/C

There's no question air-conditioning makes extra work for the engine, increasing fuel use. But car air conditioners are much more efficient today than they used to be. In around-town driving, using the A/C will drop fuel economy by about a mile a gallon.

Meanwhile, driving at higher speeds with the windows down greatly increases aerodynamic drag. As speed increases, drag becomes more of an issue, making A/C use the more efficient choice at high speeds.

At most speeds and in most vehicles, A/C use drains slightly more fuel than driving with the windows down, contends David Champion, head of auto testing for Consumer Reports. "My final take on is that it's very close," says Phil Reed, consumer advice editor for Edmunds.com. "It's hard to measure the difference and every vehicle is different."

The best choice - if temperature and humidity allow - is to keep the windows rolled up and to turn the A/C compressor off. You can keep the fans running to blow in air from the outside, but your car will be as aerodynamic as possible while still letting you breathe. You will save gas, but the fuel economy improvement will be slight.

#6. Bolt-ons and pour-ins

Before you buy a device that's supposed to make your car more fuel-efficient or pour in an allegedly gas-saving additive, ask yourself this: Don't you think oil and car companies aren't doing everything they can to beat their competitors?

If BP (BP) could add something to its gasoline that made cars go farther on a gallon, cars would be lining up at the company's pumps. Sure, people would burn their fuel-saving BP gas more slowly, but then they'd drive right past rivals' gas stations to come back to BP for more. BP stations could even charge more for their gas and still sell tons of the stuff.

So if there really was an additive that made gas burn up more slowly, it wouldn't be sold over the Internet one bottle at a time.

Likewise, car companies are already spending big bucks to increase fuel mileage. If General Motors could make its cars go significantly farther on a gallon simply by putting a device into the fuel line, don't think for a second it wouldn't be doing that. GM's car sales would go through the roof.

"There are a number of these gas-saving devices that are generally useless," says Champion.

But drivers who try them will swear they work. In reality, it's probably an automotive placebo effect, says Reed. Buy one of these devices or additives, and you're like to pay extreme attention to your fuel economy and how you drive.

Of course it can't hurt to keep a close eye on your driving habits -- and what kind of car you drive. In the end, that can make the most difference in saving gas.

QM

Postby QM » May 14th, 2008, 2:05 am

i try all :lol:

Snags

Postby Snags » May 14th, 2008, 3:28 am

heel toe into neutral and park in reverse

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » May 14th, 2008, 4:25 am

Michael wrote:heel toe into neutral and park in reverse

saves me hundreds each month :thumbsup:

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » May 14th, 2008, 4:34 am

#1 is BS....well in canada anyways, all fuel tanks that gas stations have here are temperature regulated to 15C

Postby crazybalhead » May 14th, 2008, 6:18 am

With some cars, you will notice if it pulls timing with shitty gas, believe me. :lol: :lol: :lol:

riadb

Postby riadb » May 14th, 2008, 6:21 am

^^ for real

Postby Hook » May 14th, 2008, 6:37 am

all gas here shitty...and stock ECU could only pull so much timing...and at 10.5:1 CR mines knocks any way u take it

Postby crazybalhead » May 14th, 2008, 6:39 am

You should sell that vehicle and buy something more fuel efficient hook, like a prius, or a wingle or a tiida or something else with an equally silly name.

Postby Hook » May 14th, 2008, 6:40 am

hahahahahahahaha...naaaw...I'll wait till the names get less silly :lol:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » May 14th, 2008, 7:27 am

That BS is not nearly as relevant to Trinidad driving. Esp the part about the A/C.

SRT-4

my 0.2 cents

Postby SRT-4 » May 15th, 2008, 12:09 am

Acetone is the key...
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/van5VmJ1yno&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed>

Re: 6 gas-saving myths (discuss)

Postby redmanjp » October 13th, 2010, 1:08 pm

oh this ched old but does driving with windows down really burn more gas than with it up & AC on? or does it just depend on your speed? ive read this on a few websites- i know from physics that the dragforce increases exponentially with speed

and what about putting the car in neutral when at a standstill? will that save gas?

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2010, 2:36 pm

redmanjp wrote:oh this ched old but does driving with windows down really burn more gas than with it up & AC on? or does it just depend on your speed? ive read this on a few websites- i know from physics that the dragforce increases exponentially with speed

In a wagon with no wind deflectors, you feel the extra strain of the wind in some cases at 100kmh. Round the town driving, none at all.

redmanjp wrote:and what about putting the car in neutral when at a standstill? will that save gas?
only if you
Snags wrote:heel toe into neutral and park in reverse

Re:

Postby Redman » October 13th, 2010, 2:56 pm

nismown3d wrote:#1 is BS....well in canada anyways, all fuel tanks that gas stations have here are temperature regulated to 15C

The pumps adjust for ambient temperature-so they adjust the volume to deliver the energy content at a standard temp and pressure.

Gasoline expands/contracts 1% for every 22 deg F change in Temp.

Local stations buy fuel at ambient temperature even though NP and Unipet buy from Petrotrin adjusted for the temp/pressure.

So the Stations and the public getting short changed.
Its about 2% loss to the stations
But shhhh dont tell nobody.

Later

Postby sharkman121 » October 13th, 2010, 4:12 pm

Nice thread...

what about the "TORNADO" device that was selling like wildfire some yrs ago that allowed maximum efficiency WRT air/fuel ratio thus making gas consumption more efficient.... or sum mumbo jumbo like that.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 13th, 2010, 5:30 pm

#1&#4 are not myths

Postby tr1ad » October 13th, 2010, 5:47 pm

FS: Magnet Fuel Saver... just attach two small magnets to your fuel lines... act now whilst supplies last

Postby rollingstock » October 13th, 2010, 5:51 pm

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » October 13th, 2010, 6:45 pm

tr1ad wrote:FS: Magnet Fuel Saver... just attach two small magnets to your fuel lines... act now whilst supplies last

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 13th, 2010, 7:15 pm

is this info really reliable....good info though

Postby bushwakka » October 13th, 2010, 9:42 pm

vid 2 long to load by me....wat mythbusters say abt the windows down thing?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 13th, 2010, 10:48 pm

I doh care, top gear say full up when it's cold/ morning and dais what I do........

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 13th, 2010, 11:02 pm

bushwakka wrote:vid 2 long to load by me....wat mythbusters say abt the windows down thing?

Windows down more fuel efficient, from their tests by approx. 15%. Their tests were on a track, in our stop and go traffic it'll be worse.

Postby pete » October 13th, 2010, 11:16 pm

Their tests were also in some REALLY unaerodynamic vans so I think the windows made a negligible difference to the overall drag of the vehicle.

Would've been better if they did the test in two regular sedans.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » October 14th, 2010, 7:01 am

clean car burns less gas an adds 10hp.... :?

Postby bushwakka » October 14th, 2010, 10:18 am

shaneelal wrote:
bushwakka wrote:vid 2 long to load by me....wat mythbusters say abt the windows down thing?

Windows down more fuel efficient, from their tests by approx. 15%. Their tests were on a track, in our stop and go traffic it'll be worse.

k interesting.....doh like the noise tho......drowns out my music too

GoogleTNT

Postby GoogleTNT » March 23rd, 2011, 5:02 pm

I tried acetone in the tank and the magnet non works not even the additive , any1 know of somthin that will work?

Postby noshownogo » March 24th, 2011, 8:26 am

tape all seams present on your car

Postby MG Man » March 24th, 2011, 3:24 pm

ride a bicycle