Nokia Smartphone Thread (help & bess price list)

Postby RBphoto » April 28th, 2008, 4:53 pm

Yes dudes, I buy this thing here right, nokia 5700, real nice smartphone
[img::]http://www.techshout.com/images/nokia-5700-india2.jpg[/img]

Now I looking to add all kinda nice software to it, but I see it have phones with the same operating system can do some nifty things. I want to find out, can I do all of the GSM tower triangulation like they do with the Iphone without the datasim, and can i use google earth with this phone??? Help a newbie S60 person out here please phonejunkies!!![/img]
Last edited by RBphoto on September 27th, 2008, 12:27 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby RASC » April 28th, 2008, 7:16 pm

S60 is very versatile, the sheer number of Applications you can run are almost endless.

All you have to do is figure out which exact version of SYmbian Series 60 your running and download to your hearts content (or as much memory you have :wink: )

Nokia 5700 : Symbian OS v9.2, S60 rel. 3.1

Applications : http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=1242543

Your version can run most if not all applications located within that thread. Enjoy :!:

chaosagentx

Postby chaosagentx » April 29th, 2008, 8:02 am

Hey, check out www.getjar.com. you can find every application u lookin for including games. the best part is that they free and u dont need to register. only a couple apps u need to pay for such as MS Office Suite etc. and u can also find software for any other phone on this site.

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » April 29th, 2008, 8:22 pm

boy... didnt i like link you with d site and ting? lol... buss a lil search and fix man :P good luck...

BTW you got the quickoffice to work? no PM or email...

Postby tr1ad » April 29th, 2008, 8:33 pm

whe sah

meh 6500 classic eh even lookin like a smartphone

Postby RBphoto » April 30th, 2008, 10:04 am

So wham? The 6500 is a dunsie phone then? I swear that phone you had look like an Ipod nano.

I now realize that people who buying the N95 8gig gettin gyped, as my phone (and other new phones) could use an 8 gig card, upgradable to 36GB :shock:

wickedestman, I not concentrating on the apps right now, i specifically looking at if this can do the cell tower triangulation like the N95 and the Iphone.

I getting the datasim soon and I want to make the most out of the phone. I just curious to try out all the capabilities, even if it is just once. I feel that I will make this an symbian S60 V3 ched yes, with focus on Nokia.

Speaking of which, why Bmobile doh get some good phones? The E65 is the best nokia I seeing without getting into the N series.

Postby tr1ad » April 30th, 2008, 10:19 am

:oops: :oops: :oops: :cry:

Postby RBphoto » April 30th, 2008, 10:27 am

tr1ad wrote::oops: :oops: :oops: :cry:

Oh there there sniffy poo, dry up them tears, I am sure there is a noob somewhere around for you to bash, just hold on and doh fighten too much in that lonely place, hit the famous line on GOS et all and everything will be better :lilangel:

Postby tr1ad » April 30th, 2008, 10:35 am

BWDMC

Postby RBphoto » April 30th, 2008, 10:46 am

There you go!!!! :lol:

Postby RBphoto » April 30th, 2008, 2:58 pm

Check this out, a micro SD card for wifi. I checking if this will work with my phone yes

http://www.spectec.com.tw/products_deta ... e=w1sdw823

Only for windows mobile :cry:
Last edited by RBphoto on September 5th, 2008, 10:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » April 30th, 2008, 5:33 pm

well maybe the stuff on those sites... lol ;)

but wow... thas the sh*t right deh... micro sd FTW now yes!

i wonder if deh making it in M2? that wil be cool...

Postby RBphoto » September 2nd, 2008, 3:22 pm

Ok, just bought this app for my nokia. It is on sale right now, so if you want it I suggest you check it out. They maby bringing out a new version soon. Down to 10 euros from 45. It really helps out at work, reading and editing Excel, Power point and Word files at work.

Also, i am checking out the E51. It has almost the same internals as the 5700 but with more ram and user memory. It also adds wifi. Only thing missing from it is the external speakers. This should be a nice upgrade for people who were originally looking to get the 5700.

OfficeSuite 4
Word, Excel and PowerPoint® files on your Symbian phone

Special Summer Promotion
Get the OfficeSuite now for only € 10.00!!! Limited time offer
OfficeSuite is a complete mobile office solution, allowing you to create, view and edit Word, Excel and PowerPoint files away from your office. The program utilizes the most commonly used desktop document formats and allows you to easily acquire your sensitive documents on your handset. With the advanced editing features you can modify documents on the fly and save them in their original format, just ready to be used back on your desktop PC.

The Word Editor of OfficeSuite
A powerful tool for creating professional documents, reports, and brochures. You can easily create everything from business letters to complete books with professional layouts, and email them from your phone.

Features&Benefits: Opening and editing of Microsoft native DOC files and the commonly used RTF and TXT formats
True Type fonts and Unicode support
Advanced spelling capabilities in 6 languages - English, German, Spanish, French, Italian, and Dutch- word auto-complete and underlining of misspelled words
Advanced document formatting with embedded tables, images and hyperlinks
Custom zoom to get best visualization of your documents
Full preservation of the original document formatting
Supports password protected Word files

The Excel Manager in OfficeSuite
This application allows you to work with native Microsoft Excel XLS and XML files or the commonly used CSV format right on your mobile phone. A feature-packed spreadsheet manager with which you can calculate, analyze, and visually communicate your data quickly, easily and on the go.

Features&Benefits:
Opening and edition of Excel XLS and XML files, and CSV files
Save in the original file format with 100% preservation of the of the document formatting
Support of True Type fonts and ability to work with multiple fonts, font colors and font styles
Over 100 common and scientific functions to make your calculations easy and accurate
Custom zoom for best document visualization
Charts
Support of password protected Excel files
Undo and redo
Hiding and freezing of columns and rows

PowerPoint® Presentations in OfficeSuite
Slides provides all the resources you need to deliver high-impact presentations from your mobile handset.

Features&Benefits:
Support of PPT and PPS PowerPoint® native files
Several different view modes - slide view, slide show, notes and outline view
True Type fonts and Unicode supported
Landscape and portrait view modes
Fullscreen mode
Embedded images and charts

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 2nd, 2008, 3:24 pm

That Nokia is sittin in front of me turned OFF.

Excellent camera... but its a pain in the ass over my Sony Ericsson.

SE FTW.

Postby RBphoto » September 2nd, 2008, 3:32 pm

Strauss wrote:That Nokia is sittin in front of me turned OFF.

SE FTW.

The E51 or the 5700 you have? The 5700 is so easy to use for music and the camera, so I guess it is the E51 you have. The screen is also better. SE has a lot of bells and whistles as well as conectivity options, like to TV and stuff, so I can see why some people like it. Never drop a call with my nokia though. Which SE you have?

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » September 2nd, 2008, 4:06 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 2nd, 2008, 4:26 pm

SE FTW.

only a Mac guy woulda find a Nokia hard to use :lol:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 2nd, 2008, 4:43 pm

The 5700.

Everything is so PC-like.

No class. No proper organization. The functions not OBVIOUS.
Bluetooth file transfers and organizing seems like operating an alien device.

Postby RBphoto » September 2nd, 2008, 4:59 pm

Strauss wrote:The 5700.

Everything is so PC-like.

No class. No proper organization. The functions not OBVIOUS.
Bluetooth file transfers and organizing seems like operating an alien device.

The default menu system is a little messed up, but you can spend the time and customize it so that your most used functions are at hand. One thing to note, this is a music phone, so if you primarily bought it for music like me,you may have found it more enjoyable (ok, the headphones with the adapter suck for a music phone). It sucks that the best software that would make this phone shine like file browsers, callenders and other nice functionality are all shareware. If those programs came with the phone, it would outshine any other phone in it's class. At least Calcium is free to replace the crappy calculator. By the way, what is the cost of the SE that you have? more or less than the 5700, which is about $1999.00

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 2nd, 2008, 5:14 pm

Oh I have an old SE... the w810i and wife has the s500i. Both run games and applications really well and the quality is excellent for music when on the ear piece. Mega Bass is amazing when turned on. Getting to media stuff is really easy and common sense.

The Nokia 5700... great at photos, and jams LOUD and CLEAN without earphones. Battery lasts long... (its a Nokia.. what you expect). But its just clumsy to use and requires too much customizing that you normally get out of the box with the SE or the iPhone (well.. except *pwn*cough*age*cough*)

Have over 1000 games for the phones including Contra, Double Dragon 2, Need for Speed Pro Street, Underground, Carbon, Devil May Cry, FIFA etc. So I spend lots of time on them and on the internet.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » September 2nd, 2008, 10:39 pm

SE FTW.

I got a 6120 Classic a few weeks ago. Got a few apps and games for it, but it came with the office suite readers and a PDF reader, which have been useful.

Goin to check out those links above

Postby RBphoto » September 3rd, 2008, 4:22 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:

SE FTW.

I got a 6120 Classic a few weeks ago. Got a few apps and games for it, but it came with the office suite readers and a PDF reader, which have been useful.

Goin to check out those links above

The readers would have been nice, but I needed to edit documents in the field, which is why I paid for the software. The Adobe acrobat reader for symbian is a free download I got from Nokia europe, but considering getting PDF pluss. The 6120 is almost the same as the 5700, and since both were almost the same price, I went for the 5700. For all who think that Symbian is a pin, you should try windows mobile. Windows mobile menu system really requires a touch screen, or else you will never get anything done on that OS. It was not made phone friendly, basicaly the same as the desktop computer UI. Windows mobile should have taken a page out of the Treo's UI. It was user friendly from what I remember.

type_r_teggy

Postby type_r_teggy » September 5th, 2008, 9:22 am

i hav a 5700, n i only answer calls n text messages... :(
did kno the phone is capable of all dat....

Postby RBphoto » September 5th, 2008, 9:53 am

type_r_teggy, The phone is a veritable computer with a operating system. There are many free applications, and literally thousands of games for it if you include java games. It is one of Nokia's better multimedia phones, but they have some inmprovements to make. The next aplicaton I going to buy maby in a few months is the remote control one to control tv's and airconditioning through the infrared interface. I looking into getting a bluetooth keyboard for this if I could make the editor work in landscape mode.

One thing I have noticed, the different regions of the nokia website have different freebies. Singapore one has a lot of stuff, and different regions have different free games to download, so just don't vsit the US nokia site alone for updates.

Also, check out nokia Mosh. This is a great file sharing website (made by nokia) and you can get a lot of cool graphcs, movies, themes and applications.

Postby RBphoto » September 8th, 2008, 9:49 am

Ok, please help meh out people. I bought a 4 gig card for my phone, formatted it, re-inserted my 1 gig card, then start a backup. when finished, inserted my 4 gig card, and did a restore, hoping my programs would have been restored. Some were not in the menu but when I was re-installing, the phone asked me if I wanted to over write. When re-installed they apperaed in the menu and worked. Did i fleck up something here? Also, i finding that after looking at my restore log, plenty of old crap like installers and temporary stuff was restored. Is this normal for Symbian? Do I have to hunt down this crap and remove it manually?

Details

Postby Details » September 8th, 2008, 10:35 am

aye dude them fellas soft i go send uh ah link when ah reach home for some wicked mods where u can hack uh fone add ngage n all kinda crap ah go link uh bro doh worry

Postby RBphoto » September 8th, 2008, 11:01 am

Details wrote:aye dude them fellas soft i go send uh ah link when ah reach home for some wicked mods where u can hack uh fone add ngage n all kinda crap ah go link uh bro doh worry

Link away dude. Why not post it here where everyone can see also? Thanks.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 8th, 2008, 11:24 am

as an E50 owner a very good phone for business applications, this card crosdrilled can make the phone wi fi compatible, logic tells me no , i am not sure

Details

Postby Details » September 8th, 2008, 11:27 am

crossdrilled, when ah reach home i dont have acess for to the sites on work dey say i abusin the net to mod my fones so dey block the sites..... so when i reach home i would send some of the best symbian sites there is

Postby RBphoto » September 8th, 2008, 12:53 pm

cornfused wrote:as an E50 owner a very good phone for business applications, this card crosdrilled can make the phone wi fi compatible, logic tells me no , i am not sure

I checked into the card, it is for windows mobile, not symbian phones like ours :(. I edited the post a few days ago when I found out. I was a bit dissapointed as well (too good to be true syndrome). Since this thread relates to the budget nokia symbian phones, I am changing the title to suit.