Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 4th, 2021, 4:10 pm

pugboy wrote:they are wireless electronic shifters out a while now but kinda costly

Di2 :)
Imagine it run out of juice and you're stuck in a tall gear on the NCR.

I think GCN tested it and it failed for long rides.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 4th, 2021, 4:17 pm

Some hook and plate systems work for vertical bike holding applications. Some splicing tape or tennis racquet tape , along with some electrical tape works well. In the market for budget MTB , storage would be vertical against a door with the protected hook through the rim.

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2021, 4:18 pm

Duane is the kind of guy to buy bluetooth pedal cranks

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2021, 4:48 pm

the di2 shimano electric out a good few years now, in wide use in pro peloton
ie stage races 4hours a day, so it can last, prob need to charge every couple days.
many here locally

sram brought out the completely wireless ones
i've seen guys with it locally too

one thing, all these high level bike components do work as advertised and make to take licks
rain, sun, mud
once properly maintained and adjusted.

VexXx Dogg wrote:
pugboy wrote:they are wireless electronic shifters out a while now but kinda costly

Di2 :)
Imagine it run out of juice and you're stuck in a tall gear on the NCR.

I think GCN tested it and it failed for long rides.

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2021, 4:50 pm

based upon mgman description of duane

i dont feel electrical tape have any place in his garage....

cornfused wrote:Some hook and plate systems work for vertical bike holding applications. Some splicing tape or tennis racquet tape , along with some electrical tape works well. In the market for budget MTB , storage would be vertical against a door with the protected hook through the rim.

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2021, 7:56 am

pugboy wrote:based upon mgman description of duane

i dont feel electrical tape have any place in his garage....

cornfused wrote:Some hook and plate systems work for vertical bike holding applications. Some splicing tape or tennis racquet tape , along with some electrical tape works well. In the market for budget MTB , storage would be vertical against a door with the protected hook through the rim.

Duane is the kind of guy to heat-shrink his socks on

Postby 16 cycles » January 5th, 2021, 12:57 pm

wrap the contact points in gel type handle bar tape...

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2021, 6:44 am

i checked for the flex seal rubber coating
it is $145 a small tin which should do 4 racks

the simple design is a plate which bolts to wall
with 1.5” square rhs coming out and another plate or angle steel which is wide enough and the two bent steel hooks welded to it
and the rubber coating painted to the hooks.
i can draw up something later

the ones you posted have collapse hinge on them to drop down if not in use. that would add complexity and cost.

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2021, 7:47 am

this style out of wood is nice and could hook to hang helmet

it may not look or work so nice with a bike with very slanted top tube.
I would make that out of teak or appamatt.

woodrack.jpg

Postby MG Man » January 6th, 2021, 7:47 am

Duane is the kind of guy to offer to pay more for complexity

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 6th, 2021, 1:23 pm

MG Man wrote:Duane is the kind of guy to offer to pay more for complexity

Postby MG Man » January 7th, 2021, 8:15 am

pugboy wrote:this style out of wood is nice and could hook to hang helmet

it may not look or work so nice with a bike with very slanted top tube.
I would make that out of teak or appamatt.

woodrack.jpg

Duane is the kind of guy to ask for it to be made in carbon fibre, with brushed aluminium hardware

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 27th, 2021, 11:06 am

Finally built my virtual riding rig.
I putting in some weekday riding during hours when I would never ride, and pushing some climbs that really taking me to my limit.

The Saris M2 is a decent smart trainer unit, and Zwift is an awesome platform with challenging routes. I love how the trainer adapts resistance automatically based on the grade of the climb so it feels very realistic.

I find virtual riding to be much harder than road cycling, as there is no coasting and I'm overheating. Losing incredible amount of water through sweat - maybe I need a fan.

I'm going to be building my climbing capability to perhaps tackle the Arima to Blanchi/Maracas climb next year.

Keep pedalling boys

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » March 1st, 2021, 9:48 pm

Anyone have any entry level bikes to part with? looking to get active with kids.. Heights 5'6", 4'6" and 4'2".. PM

francis1979

Mountain Biking

Postby francis1979 » March 2nd, 2021, 8:40 am

gtiracer wrote:Anyone have any entry level bikes to part with? looking to get active with kids.. Heights 5'6", 4'6" and 4'2".. PM

call Geronimo’s cycle and ask then if they have any used bikes that’s meets your requirements

These bikes make be more expensive that a new generic bike at a toy store; but worth every dollar

Postby pugboy » March 2nd, 2021, 8:51 am

there is a popular guy who used to work at that shop called ramchie
ask them for his number

he knows a lot of ppl and usually had a good idea of what bikes on the secondhand market for sale
i sold a bike thru him already

Postby 16 cycles » March 3rd, 2021, 1:09 pm

^ how the zwift /turbo trainer coming along?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 3rd, 2021, 9:24 pm

16 cycles wrote:^ how the zwift /turbo trainer coming along?

Put in about 1000kms on it since Mid january :)
Also climbed about 9000m cumulatively.

Popped about 3 tubes, my anti puncture liners killed 2, and low pressure killed 1.
If I keep popping out the rest of my spares, I will switch to full tubeless. Still learning to dial this in properly.

Honestly, I like it.
No hassle to ride in the dark, or wait until wife come home to take over with kid.
Riding at my own convenience, and some dread workouts too.

Nearly vomited during the hardest climb on zwift - the Alpe du Zwift because I went in first thing in the am without breakfast. Ambitious of me to try it, but I got it done.

It's taking toll on le buttski tho - still not riding with padded shorts and the static setup of this means more seat time.

Will def recommend for anyone wanting to get into a non-boring form of indoor cycling

Postby pugboy » March 3rd, 2021, 9:54 pm

u need a direct trainer, a world of difference
i using a gen2 kickr and rocker board
make much much more comfortable and no butt hurt

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 3rd, 2021, 10:07 pm

pugboy wrote:u need a direct trainer, a world of difference
i using a gen2 kickr and rocker board
make much much more comfortable and no butt hurt

After I drop waaaaay too much coin on my current carbon bike - I couldn't spring that 12k for a direct drive trainer nah - making do with the M2 for half that.

But yea, I see that combo very popular on reddit. We might hadda start a pain cave thread lmao

Gonna try some padded shorts first to see if I could put in more than 2-3 hours static seat time

Postby pugboy » March 3rd, 2021, 10:11 pm

u do group rides on zwift?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 3rd, 2021, 10:20 pm

pugboy wrote:u do group rides on zwift?

I move like I do IRL, lone wolf lmao
we could linkup a sunday or something inno.
Wanna swap out these gravel 37s for road 32s. My road use and trainer use doh need knobs

Postby pugboy » March 4th, 2021, 6:10 am

since i got sick last year I on the antisocial scene too lol

but I used to do group rides organized by the 3R group
they stay within the prescribed pace unlike many rides.

I used to a do a 60mile ride on sundays call 3R steady

I presently only do short rides(1hr) and mainly workouts

VexXx Dogg wrote:
pugboy wrote:u do group rides on zwift?

I move like I do IRL, lone wolf lmao
we could linkup a sunday or something inno.
Wanna swap out these gravel 37s for road 32s. My road use and trainer use doh need knobs

Postby 16 cycles » March 4th, 2021, 7:50 am

Vexx - definitely get two good pairs of cycling bibs...

There are trainer specific tires that might help as well with punctures....

thanks for the feedback on zwift....hoping to set up something in a month or two.....lone wolf since covid /feb2020 as well.....

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 4th, 2021, 10:32 am

16 cycles wrote:Vexx - definitely get two good pairs of cycling bibs...

There are trainer specific tires that might help as well with punctures....

thanks for the feedback on zwift....hoping to set up something in a month or two.....lone wolf since covid /feb2020 as well.....

the reason I didn't wanna use trainer tyres because I do real road rides too, and those not meant for asphalt. I also hate changing tyres frequently - esp with that aftermarket skewer I bought. I could grab a second rear wheel but my bike gear budget blown. The most I willing to spring on is a pair of new tires that can take the trainer and road - and maybe a swap to tubeless setup.

But for sure, zwifting is affordable and addictive.
There are other apps like Rouvy too, but when I burn out all the Zwift routes I'll check em out.

I thought my badmind coulda overpower buttpain, but that only works when riding once a week not 4x/week

Postby pugboy » March 4th, 2021, 11:04 am

you can get a cheap secondhand spare road wheel to use on the trainer
the cassette might cost more than the wheel

Postby 16 cycles » April 1st, 2021, 6:53 am

who doing zwift racing?

the trainer specific tires are much quieter as well @ VD

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 1st, 2021, 9:31 am

I using my normal gravel tire 700x37c WTB riddler.

It's noisy, but I have a few spares over the years so I can pretty much wear em out. Not buying a trainer tyre because it's too much work to swap when I wanna hit road lol.

If I hadda buy tyres, I'll go back to a thicker road tyre, maybe the conti gp5000 700x32, the specialized Roubaix was a nice one too in that size.

Aside from my badge hunting on zwift, I started the Tour of Watopia event. Did my first stage on monday was pretty decent.

Postby pugboy » April 1st, 2021, 9:50 am

zwift races are seriously sandbagged
you will quickly see when you try

a good workout is to try and stay with a pace partner above your grade

16 cycles wrote:who doing zwift racing?

the trainer specific tires are much quieter as well @ VD

Postby 16 cycles » April 1st, 2021, 11:39 am

i doing the tyre swap on rear - down to abt 10 mins with tube and thru-axle...

thanks for heads up on zwift...