Mountain Biking

richiepooh

Mountain Biking

Postby richiepooh » April 7th, 2008, 11:15 am

Does anyone know if there is a Mountain Bike club in Trinidad??

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 7th, 2008, 11:37 am

You can contact Michael Phillips (622-MIKE) or Gene Samuel (622-Bike) for the clubs located in the North.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 7th, 2008, 11:39 am

sweeks wrote:You can contact Michael Phillips (622-MIKE) or Gene Samuel (622-Bike) for the clubs located in the North.

Sweeks do you mountain bike, if yes where you from?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 7th, 2008, 11:39 am

There must be. Last visit I saw some well equipped bikes heading up the highway.

Are you into it?

Postby eliteauto » April 7th, 2008, 11:43 am

can anyone point out some nice places to ride? on the East West Corridor there's too much traffic except Chag on a weekend

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 7th, 2008, 11:52 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:There must be. Last visit I saw some well equipped bikes heading up the highway.

Are you into it?

Yes, been riding about 4 years. Now started back. Looking at doing some interesting rides on the weekends.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 7th, 2008, 11:54 am

sweet man, I was hoping someone asked about it. When it comes to trails and downhill, Trinidad must have it nice. What are you riding?

Postby Maserati » April 7th, 2008, 11:56 am

cane fields around debe side m2 ring road and the mangroves down oropouche (sp) woodland are a decent ride.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 7th, 2008, 12:01 pm

Gary Fisher - The Marlin 2006 model

What about you?

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 7th, 2008, 12:09 pm

noiceee... the blue Giant AC -3 in the pic. Hayes soel 8 inch hydrualic brakes,fox forks, truvaticv stem and cranks.. big step up from the hard tail norco.
The silver VPS is my bro's spare frame...hes the one that pushed me into it.
All the bikes i had in trinidad never had any brakes , save my rubber slipper on the tire.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 7th, 2008, 12:13 pm

:lol: :lol: Cool

Call a ride nuh

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 7th, 2008, 12:29 pm

richiepooh wrote:
Sweeks do you mountain bike, if yes where you from?

Couva .... there are some lovely roads and off road close to where I am.... Preysal, Grand Couva, Chickland, Freeport, Brasso, Caparo, Indial Trail, Mayo etc etc....

I don't bike like I use to but I'd really like to get back into it....I recently sold my road bike but I still have a mountain bike.

http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/02/cusa/model-2FS6.html

Cannondale F600 with full Shimano components.... sweetest hardtail I've ever ridden. I've got the pebble colour which I think is the only one in the country.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 7th, 2008, 12:37 pm

Sweet bike dread, i guess you got it from Motorcycle etc. I just sold my orbea road bike, because the drivers in this country don't give a fcuk about cyclist. So i'm looking to do trails or country riding now.

Looking forward to some invitations soon. Saturday me and a couple friends went up to the abandon Dome in Chaguaramas, a 5 mile climb, it took close to an hour. But the ride down was fun.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 7th, 2008, 12:42 pm

sounds like an swesome ride down. Richie , sorry bro im away for a bit.
What components are available off the shelf in trinidad and , are the prices reasonable?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 7th, 2008, 12:44 pm

Richie what area are you from?
Last edited by sweeks on April 7th, 2008, 2:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 7th, 2008, 1:15 pm

[quote="sweeks"]Richie what are are you from?[/quote

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 7th, 2008, 3:16 pm

I ride regularly with who ever wants to join.

There are many mountain bike trails in Chaguramas, and just this weekend we were biking up Cumaca Rd. in Valencia.

I also run a 10K at least once a week (School St. in Carenage to Crews inn and back) (just under an hour, no hero ting (I'm not light, 192 lbs).

I gym at least once a week at valley view, warm-up is three set's of chins, 20-15-15
three set's of push-ups, 40-30-30, three sets of incline abs -20-20-20 (i suck at abs)

I hash with the POS hash house harriers every other weekend and basically try to maintain an active lifestyle.

richiepooh, if you are looking for a workout, I'm your guy, Marcus 680-0874

the Dome / Radar ball is a good pull, if you made that in an hour, you are more then welcome to join. There are trails in the back of Anchorage, awesome trails opposite and around the golf course and of course, everywhere else in this country.

I'll be busy this Satiurday (whole day) but I'm free Sunday. or anytime this week if you want to run / hike / do sprint exercises / whatever.

Late hours are not an issue as I typically do my 10k run at 8pm or 9pm.

All I ask is that if you can't make it, call early and give it your all when we are training.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 7th, 2008, 3:41 pm

Eh Marcus, i may know you because i hash every other Saturday. Saturday gone we hashed in Palo Seco. It was real nice with the mud volcano and all. If we never met at the hash, you may know me as the Hash DJ. the white station wagon with the music.

This evening we are heading Chancerlor Hill to do repeats. Welcome to join, we are starting to cycle 4:15pm sharp.

on on

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 7th, 2008, 4:08 pm

Wait wait wait ... Is you give me the cigar Saturday? Richard?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 7th, 2008, 4:10 pm

Damnit, notice to short bro!

Too, I destroyed the Merrils on that hash, I need to get a new pair. That was a damn fine hash though.

Postby AllTrac » April 7th, 2008, 4:18 pm

i really want to get back into mountain biking, marcus i'll give u a call so i can hook up with you guys when you all going on a trail

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 7th, 2008, 4:30 pm

No problemo!

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » April 7th, 2008, 6:40 pm

I dont think there is a formal club but there is def a informal club. Just join in any bunch you see riding man or go out by yourself. Soon enough you will have a bunch of riding buddies.

There are at least a couple of trails in on the eastern side. Personally I tried the off road but fell too much especially using cleats so went back into what I love , road.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 8th, 2008, 8:02 am

haha YEP!!!!!!!!

Those cigars finished in a jiffy BRO.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 8th, 2008, 8:05 am

We are going Maracas this Saturday.

Everyone is meeting and parking at the Police Station in Maraval for around 5:30AM, leaving 6:00 am sharp.

Please let me know so we could make arrangements for parking.

on on

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 8th, 2008, 9:40 am

If you guys ever up to biking in Central let me know. You can safely leave your vehicles at the ATO Boldon stadium off the Preysal Flyover.

Postby AllTrac » April 8th, 2008, 10:57 am

sweeks, you ride in central?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 8th, 2008, 11:02 am

A bit on Sunday morning.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » April 8th, 2008, 10:28 pm

anyone here does ride north area road or off-road?

gencon

Postby gencon » June 4th, 2008, 1:39 pm

yeh fellas give me your appraisal of this bike and these bike accessories