Best doubles in T&T

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 31st, 2008, 10:40 pm

Who has the best doubles........
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on June 23rd, 2019, 3:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Cjruckus » March 31st, 2008, 10:42 pm

The doubles mafia is using the high price of oil to jack up prices. So even if the cost goes down, the price of doubles will never decrease. Especially if all the vendors in a certain area price fix.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 31st, 2008, 10:49 pm

Most double vendors are of East Indian or Muslim ancestry and most East Indian and Muslims families believe in communal living with close and distant relatives.

I am not surprised if blue-collared workers are able to afford such sizeable homes and decently priced vehicles as most pool their resources and save over a span of several years.

At the end of it all, their children are the beneficiaries and most importantly, life KFC, doubles will continue to sell.

Postby De Dragon » March 31st, 2008, 10:57 pm

I eh paying no $5 for no firetruck doubles(or even the normal ones :lol: )Trini too fool-fool, all dem hadda do is organize a structured boycott and yuh go see how ting come dong normal normal!

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 31st, 2008, 11:03 pm

Best doubles recipe anyone esp for the bara
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on June 23rd, 2019, 3:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 31st, 2008, 11:03 pm

ppl doh no horrors easily spending $100 for a few pieces of kfc or buying pizza or places like tgif \ruby tues or by d bar\nightclub but allyuh want to kill d doubles man for ah $4 doubles ......i only eat doubles every now\then like wks or even 2-3mths does pass me .....it damn good for allyuh who apparently must have it almost everyday ..... :roll: ...... :mrgreen:

Postby equipped2ripp » March 31st, 2008, 11:04 pm

streetbeastINC., also take into consideration the time of morning these people wake up to prepare the ingredients to make the baara, channa and chutney etc... to sweat behind a pot of oil frying baara and pies is no easy ting...

and remember that they didn't build their house and bought all those cars in a 1... they ketch dey arse for real years before they coulda buy all those stuff.

silversurfer TnT

Postby silversurfer TnT » March 31st, 2008, 11:05 pm

i'm no doubles vendor but i don't blame them, if we all complain about the price and what their children driving then why don't people just quit their job and sell doubles like them? try waking up 2 in the morning,going over a hot stove,u notice that KFC is short staff? as yourself why, any other businessman know how hard it is to get labour now.

ek4ever

Re: how much money does it realy cost to make one doubles?

Postby ek4ever » March 31st, 2008, 11:08 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:and lets say i sell 400 doubles minimum...at 4$

lol infant maths here...

i know a few doubles vendors around my area...Great large house...each of his 3 children driving pc# cars..loaded with music...

so who realy getting fooled?

The children have jobs?

rolandk

Postby rolandk » March 31st, 2008, 11:10 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:streetbeastINC., also take into consideration the time of morning these people wake up to prepare the ingredients to make the baara, channa and chutney etc... to sweat behind a pot of oil frying baara and pies is no easy ting...

and remember that they didn't build their house and bought all those cars in a 1... they ketch dey arse for real years before they coulda buy all those stuff.

x2.

If people find it too expenseive, then stop buying it, else STFU!!!

Postby equipped2ripp » March 31st, 2008, 11:12 pm

rolandk, yuh know...

Terran

Postby Terran » March 31st, 2008, 11:14 pm

I can't say for the rest of the ingredients that goes into making doubles, but a 100-lb bag of flour costs $225 and they can get about 1500 barras from that. So, that's 750 doubles. The vendors who sell at peak hours would probably sell out all.

I don't know how much oil is required to make 1500 barras, channa, pepper, seasoning, mangoes, cucumbers, etc., for 750 doubles, wrappers, bags, napkins, cooking gas, labour, etc.. But I would imagine that since all those items are most likely bought in bulk, it helps to reduce the cost per doubles.

I personally think that a selling price beyond $3 per doubles is a rip-off. And as I mentioned before, I refuse to pay more than $3 for it. If it's going to cost more than that, I can do without it.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 31st, 2008, 11:19 pm

[quote]Rohania Maharaj has come a long way since she scraped together $300 and invested it in doubles.

That $300 bought one small iron pot, two small plastic buckets, a mini ring stove, a few pounds of flour, one ice box and some channa.

Eleven years later Maharaj has expanded R Maharaj Doubles to two locations and is planning on opening a third and fourth.

“I eh regret one moment. I am proud to be a doubles vendor, the work is hard but it is worth it,â€

silversurfer TnT

Postby silversurfer TnT » March 31st, 2008, 11:21 pm

thank you, for the people who complain I sure you don't own a business to know the long hrs you have to work

Postby X2 » March 31st, 2008, 11:23 pm

$5 getting ridiculous.. but I'm glad the people make some money !!

Is hard wuk and long hours for some.... no kinda night life if you making doubles.... hurrah from them.

**Someone sponsor meh a doubles nah** :oops:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 31st, 2008, 11:29 pm

You complain about $5 doubles yet many of you are willing to put down $400 on a meal and few drinks at TGI or Ruby Tuesdays for pre-packaged food and horrible service. Don't forget to tip!

Yeah,' hoss', you've made it alright. Show the world what a fool you are to spend money so frivolously.

LOL.
Last edited by AbstractPoetic on March 31st, 2008, 11:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 31st, 2008, 11:30 pm

........................??.........
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on June 23rd, 2019, 3:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 31st, 2008, 11:33 pm

forget what d material cost but what about d labor as said above - its not like u buy 3 dozen jersey for $12 each & just sit by d side of d road retailing for $20 each

all that hard work to get d ingredients , alot of time involved , labor to cook it in a hot kitchen , drive to d spot to sell it then labor to make it according to how d ppl want since its not like u making it d same way over & over ....its a few hundred of these things u have to individually hand make , pressure on d doubles maker when 20 ppl surround u & grumbling because everybody impatient .....think of all that & observe how hard these ppl does work instead of just watching how it costing u $1 more ..... so instead of some ppl complaining : why they dont start to make doubles & sell it cheaper than d current price .......:|

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 31st, 2008, 11:44 pm

yea well i asked and they said $5 from sometime next week or the week after...flour increase by a few cents or whatever, and they increase by an entire dollar...

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 31st, 2008, 11:45 pm

but anyway....all this talk of doubles made me and the bro hungry so we jumped in the mean ole 4x4 went down the road to our suprise Ruffina doubles!!!!!!!

we bought 8...4 each...belly full...... the end....

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 31st, 2008, 11:54 pm

amm yea but i still not going to pay $4 a doubles jed

simple maths 8 doubles x $4 = $32

to me thats a good piece ah money.....worst yet if they increase it to $5...

i real sorry...i would pay $2.50-$3.00 but $4+ i real sorry

i know doubles ppl hadda live 2 eh, but oh gosh!!

Postby X2 » March 31st, 2008, 11:59 pm

apparently some freshwater yankee don't realize that a doubles cost $2 USD when ur stateside... and your average TGIF bill is about the same in the states as Trinidad.... :lol:

Postby UML » April 1st, 2008, 12:00 am

.....still getting doubles in chaguanas for $2.00 :mrgreen:

Postby X2 » April 1st, 2008, 12:07 am

JJ16 wrote:amm yea but i still not going to pay $4 a doubles jed

simple maths 8 doubles x $4 = $32

to me thats a good piece ah money.....worst yet if they increase it to $5...

i real sorry...i would pay $2.50-$3.00 but $4+ i real sorry

i know doubles ppl hadda live 2 eh, but oh gosh!!

Don't forget the danger of being out the hours they have to operate.

$5 is asking alot tho... $4 is already pushing it !

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 1st, 2008, 12:09 am

where by d market or something?

Postby Maserati » April 1st, 2008, 12:13 am

Well said E2R
the people work hard for their $.

streetbeastINC. wrote:NO the children have no jobs...but to drive round trinidad playing hard music and liming.....

I'm sure not all doubles vendor kids live that lifestyle..

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 1st, 2008, 12:14 am

X2, i agree with the hours indeed..but jed..if any of them say thats also why the price has 2 increase..i would assume selling the day would be cheaper since they dont have that much danger

but then again look at it...in tnt now, and well all over the world..danger doh really have a time again nah, it have danger 24/7...even on christmas it not safe!

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » April 1st, 2008, 12:15 am

Haven't bought doubles since last year. Don't miss it. Even less reason to buy now.

I don't blame the doubles vendors. They know people will pay for it even if the prices raise. Why not make as much profit as possible?

If you find the price too high, don't buy. Simple. If you can afford it, full yuh belly.

By the end of the year a doubles might be $10 for one and a Dinner Special in KFC will be $40. The lines will still be long in both cases.

Such is life in Trinidad.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » April 1st, 2008, 1:49 am

allyuh feel it easy to make doubles awa

4 is still a good price everything going up n allyuh fighting down d doubles man hahaha

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 1st, 2008, 1:58 am

DF1_2nR, very true what u saying eh, buh i feel dem doubles men needs 2 learn some basic economics.

in simple...

if u sell for $3 and you C.O.P. is $1 then u make a profit of $2...@ $3, 10 ppl might buy from u, meaning that u make a profit of $20

if you C.O.P increases to $1.50 and you decide to sell for $5 then your profit per double is $3.50, yea you making a bigger profit but at the price only about 5 ppl may buy from u and you gonna make a profit of $17.50 meaning u actually gain less at the end of the day

and i feel that is exactly what going on...

**paging corollalover** lol.....