Best doubles in T&T

DMan7

Re: Best doubles in T&T

Postby DMan7 » January 22nd, 2023, 1:40 pm

How allya soo sexist in here, wam to the best Doubles WOman?

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 22nd, 2023, 1:47 pm

gastly369 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:food business weird in that ppl will blank a place until they see other people eating there. better yet if it have a crowd, crowd does draw in more crowd.

man eating 6 doubles have to stand around the doubles cart for 10-20 minutes. built-in crowd, even without the social media beat up. once they get customers they will get regulars, and build up a business base that way.

right now it have a chinese place open up in gulf city. brand new place. dead dead. and the windows big and wide open so everybody in the car park could look in and see the deadness of how dead it is inside there.
I give that Chinese restaurant a few months..... Already lots negative reviews price well high and crappy service

Gonna be another jaxx mr chows for that location... Might see 2 3 ppl for the day

Chinese food prices on the whole have gotten really out of hand. I remember when you could go by Chung's in San Juan and get a $5 box back in the 2000s. Now $5 can't buy a doubles in many places.

Postby matr1x » January 22nd, 2023, 2:39 pm

matr1x wrote:Yep. You wouldn't want to have a vene cook a doubles. By MS supermarket in debe, the doubles man try that. His sales plummet. The Bara was gunky and seasoning was off. In mid December he changed back the cooks. Definitely a taste improvement

Just one of the bad apples. Many Venes are helping with the preparation and you don’t even have a clue as you gobble down your doubles in large amounts.

You seem like a doubles junky…remember your health is important especially in your case.

Thank you for looking out for my health, although nobody freaking asked you to.

Maybe they should look at eating some pork instead of chowing on all that beef. It will get their taste buds right. Remember how far Ali's fall? A real shame

Postby matr1x » January 22nd, 2023, 2:40 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:food business weird in that ppl will blank a place until they see other people eating there. better yet if it have a crowd, crowd does draw in more crowd.

man eating 6 doubles have to stand around the doubles cart for 10-20 minutes. built-in crowd, even without the social media beat up. once they get customers they will get regulars, and build up a business base that way.

right now it have a chinese place open up in gulf city. brand new place. dead dead. and the windows big and wide open so everybody in the car park could look in and see the deadness of how dead it is inside there.
I give that Chinese restaurant a few months..... Already lots negative reviews price well high and crappy service

Gonna be another jaxx mr chows for that location... Might see 2 3 ppl for the day

Chinese food prices on the whole have gotten really out of hand. I remember when you could go by Chung's in San Juan and get a $5 box back in the 2000s. Now $5 can't buy a doubles in many places.

There was a place opposite the road to go to presentation college, is a bar now. The Chinese food there was amazing!

Postby Dizzy28 » January 22nd, 2023, 4:21 pm

All that talk about doubles in Puna.........IMO Pablo's by the market and Mamoos by Macoya are the two best Tunapuna doubles.

There's someone who sells on Maharaj Street, they ranking 3rd and could move up if they had different sauces besides pepper and sweet sauce.

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » January 23rd, 2023, 7:43 am

pugboy wrote:is 6 really that hard to eat?
i can easily eat 3, never tried more
but i know many ppl who can eat 4-5

If the doubles small 6 is nothing to eat, if it big then 4 but you must not drink any soft drink or anything to full you up. what about cheyenne on youtube who had 15 doubles in 1 hour

Postby matr1x » January 23rd, 2023, 7:51 am

The size and thickness of the Bara determines how much you can eat

Postby adnj » January 23rd, 2023, 8:48 am

matr1x wrote:The size and thickness of the Bara determines how much you can eat
See, now this is finally a topic that you understand.

Postby alfa » January 23rd, 2023, 8:54 am

adnj wrote:

:D :D :D

Postby matr1x » January 23rd, 2023, 11:36 am

adnj wrote:

Thank goodness we will never have a tuner meet up. You all edgy online and complete puss in person

Postby MaxPower » January 23rd, 2023, 12:02 pm

adnj wrote:

The topic of obesity.

death365

Postby death365 » January 23rd, 2023, 12:28 pm

Yuh old !!!! Chung's used to taste ok too, sure the rice was small break up pieces but it was $5 :D

triniterribletim wrote:Chinese food prices on the whole have gotten really out of hand. I remember when you could go by Chung's in San Juan and get a $5 box back in the 2000s. Now $5 can't buy a doubles in many places.

Postby Dave » January 23rd, 2023, 12:49 pm

New Chung's as opposed to Chung's alone?

Mary is my partner lol.

Postby matr1x » January 23rd, 2023, 1:35 pm

adnj wrote:

The topic of obesity.

Nobody mentioned your mudda max. Relax yuhself

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 23rd, 2023, 2:10 pm

How unhealthy is doubles?

Postby teems1 » January 23rd, 2023, 2:24 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:How unhealthy is doubles?
Not great, not terrible.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 23rd, 2023, 3:53 pm

teems1 wrote:
Not great, not terrible.

is doubles-channa on hops (everything, with slight pepper), still "doubles"?
Asking for a amigo who is watching his cholesterol... and another one who hates old-oil bara.

Postby paid_influencer » January 23rd, 2023, 5:38 pm

FrankChag wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Not great, not terrible.

is doubles-channa on hops (everything, with slight pepper), still "doubles"?
Asking for a amigo who is watching his cholesterol... and another one who hates old-oil bara.

no

Postby paid_influencer » January 23rd, 2023, 5:48 pm

a doubles is 300 calories, give or take.

key is portion size.

one doubles with a water is (300 cal).
two doubles with a soft drink is getting up there (700-800 cal).

compare this with other fastfood options, like KFC combos which easily pass 1000+ calories. and is mostly meat raised with growth hormones to make the chicken breast grow big

Postby st7 » January 23rd, 2023, 5:54 pm

DMan7 wrote:Dass in El Socorro is the best doubles in T&T.

there's a Dass on aranguez main road close to betterdeal too... same family?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 23rd, 2023, 5:55 pm

st7 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Dass in El Socorro is the best doubles in T&T.

there's a Dass on aranguez main road close to betterdeal too... same family?

I feel so, all them doubles people know each other.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 23rd, 2023, 7:43 pm

death365 wrote:Yuh old !!!! Chung's used to taste ok too, sure the rice was small break up pieces but it was $5 :D

triniterribletim wrote:Chinese food prices on the whole have gotten really out of hand. I remember when you could go by Chung's in San Juan and get a $5 box back in the 2000s. Now $5 can't buy a doubles in many places.

Not that old really, 33 this year. Trinidad was quite a safe and affordable place in the not too distant past. Used to pass by Chung's as a stop off on the way back from secondary school in Port of Spain. In the 1990s and 2000s you could go out and roam without the looming threat of getting killed or kidnapped. I wasn't rich or anything, but you didn't need to be to be able to have an enjoyable life. I probably would have never considered migrating if things had stayed more or less the same. Those days are definitely some of the ones I miss the most. The sort of idyllic island life that is becoming vanishingly rare.

Postby MaxPower » January 23rd, 2023, 7:48 pm

DMan7 wrote:all them doubles people know each other.

They also fight down eachother..

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 23rd, 2023, 7:55 pm

Dave wrote:New Chung's as opposed to Chung's alone?

Mary is my partner lol.

Chung's alone, though I believe the old man is the same owner, he had spoken about opening up a new restaurant in another location back in the day. The Chinese Mary I'm most familiar with is Mary Leung in Petit Valley, the food there was really good too. If you were looking for good Chinese food up that side and didn't want to go by Eagle's on the Avenue, ( whenever I went there, the old man would always refuse when I attempted to pay ) that was one of the two spots you hit up, the other was the Chinese restaurant directly opposite West Bees, some of the best Chinese food up on that side.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » January 23rd, 2023, 10:26 pm

came here for pics also...

Rx

Postby Rx » February 4th, 2023, 7:17 am

Check out Gewandass on the Creek.. South western folks.

Postby maj. tom » February 4th, 2023, 5:53 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:There's a guy I chase village opposite Chase mart that has consistently good doubles on evenings from probably 2pm to 8pm

Monday to Friday AFAIK.

And then it have a fella does sell in front of daisy's in chaguans in the night with bess doubles

This guy? He comes out at 5pm. A pit stop for the after-work rush. Good doubles, haven't had in a few years since before covid.

Postby Rovin » February 4th, 2023, 6:52 pm

thats not opposite daisies which is a few buildings lower down in d direction d traffic does flow, next to d old Jubilee cinema

guy in that pick is by d junction road near d gas station where taxis does line up, havent had his in a long while so cant review

^^^there is another doublesman man behind his spot that i wouldnt recommend as he lets his doubles warmer steam d barras way too much so its almost soggy

d man who comes out on afternoons in front d gas station right there, his is decent

so yea 3 vendors within a stone's throw of each other ...

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » February 4th, 2023, 7:49 pm

Best doubles in Florida?

Postby timelapse » February 4th, 2023, 7:56 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Best doubles in Florida?
The one that you can get