Murder Toll count for 2008

Postby Greypatch » January 24th, 2008, 9:18 am

24 Days 33 Murders

I will start with an article...

Making a mockery of 'zero tolerance'

Thursday, January 24th 2008

WITH a week to go before the end of this first month in the year, the country's murder toll stood at a depressing 33 up to yesterday. aAnd with expectations about the crime debate in Parliament having fizzled into nothingness, the country is being told now once again about a "zero tolerance" campaign by the police over the current Carnival season.

Thousands of citizens who make a decision to participate in the celebrations for Carnival have been doing so in recent times with justifiable nervousness about the security of both their person and property.

Visitors who continue to come to these shores to enjoy our music, theatre and hospitality continue to do so knowing full well that they have to be alert to their own safety whatever the general camaraderie that is clearly on display.

It is not just the homicides but the armed robberies and rapes many of which go unreported because too many citizens do not have confidence in the police as it relates to swift and decisive action. The result is that even the official statistics, alarming as they are, do not give the full picture.

But even the official figures continue to give the lie to the Government's pronouncements that suggest that this administration is even close to reining in the criminals in our midst -- gangs, unbelievably, thinking nothing of waging wars within eyesight and earshot of police posts and stations, as if they want to headline their disrespect of the forces of law and order.

To be fair though, there has been a marked drop in the number of kidnappings but the underside to this is the perception that, with their backs to the wall, more and more businessmen are victims of shake-downs from thugs intent on getting money from the law-abiding without having to go through the trouble of actually having to snatch and hide a son or a daughter, a husband or a wife.

What is being bred by all this are rising levels of cynicism and resignation and perhaps, most disturbingly, hostility towards even the best and brightest of our officers even as malcontents in the service who think nothing of dishonouring their uniform, not only engage in illegal practices in full view of the public but turn on those members of the public who either raise their voices in protest or who find themselves, through no fault of their own, at the receiving end of loose cannons bent on showing off the worse that police can do.

plex

Postby plex » January 24th, 2008, 9:20 am

Everyday in this place is a murder...I stop counting..

Postby Greypatch » January 24th, 2008, 9:20 am

^ I will ... :|

plex

Postby plex » January 24th, 2008, 9:26 am

I know i should not talk so but its disturbing to see our ppl dying and nothing is being done..

Postby Greypatch » January 24th, 2008, 9:36 am

how u men nothing eht we have "zero" tolerance fuh de festival

plex

Postby plex » January 24th, 2008, 9:38 am

zero tolerance? Martin Joseph saying that.. :|

larafan

Postby larafan » January 24th, 2008, 10:04 am

Greypatch,

how many of that 33 were innocent ppl???

one comes to the top of my head...a girl in morvant gunned down because some ass tort she was someone coming to take him out.... :?

but anyway

i'm sure about 20-25 of that 33 know why dem dead...

Postby Greypatch » January 24th, 2008, 10:06 am

murder is murder..

larafan

Postby larafan » January 24th, 2008, 10:08 am

not really....when is gangsters and such deading...murder becomes a good deed...ask batman and dem fellas

Postby hydroep » January 24th, 2008, 10:11 am

Actually it's quite funny that Minister Joseph and the rest of the bungling buffoons have fallen silent when it comes to quoting comparative figures. So wha' happen? Like their statisticians on sick leave o' wha'?

Maybe it has something to do with the fact up till the murder rate was 24 for January '08 that figure worked out to be a 300% increase in murders when compared to the same period last year...:?

Ironic that their own method of trying to fool the population that crime was under control has come back to bite them in the arse...:twisted:

Postby Greypatch » January 24th, 2008, 10:19 am

Minister joseph continues to be a total and utter failure...

he cannot even control the spiraling cost of building police stations.

plex

Postby plex » January 24th, 2008, 10:26 am

So why put back a failure?

Postby Greypatch » January 28th, 2008, 9:49 am

24 Days 33 Murders

UPDATE
28 Days 36 Murders..

Postby Greypatch » February 21st, 2008, 9:43 am

51 days 59 murders..

a stabbing is now a minor offence..

no state of emergency as it will inconvience some people.

if the bandits doh get u the food price will

plex

Postby plex » February 21st, 2008, 9:55 am

Its sad thing..

Postby noshownogo » February 21st, 2008, 10:06 am

51 days 60 muders

source: de guardian front page

Postby RASC » February 21st, 2008, 10:07 am

Once innocent ppl are not killed :wink:

Last person to be murdered's alias was "MONSTER" ...I'm sure it was of the friendly variety :roll:

Postby AllTrac » February 21st, 2008, 10:09 am

Larafan makes a vaild point tho

Postby Greypatch » February 21st, 2008, 10:18 am

RASC wrote:Once innocent ppl are not killed :wink:

Last person to be murdered's alias was "MONSTER" ...I'm sure it was of the friendly variety :roll:

remember yuh words eh ..

but the gangas also kill innocents directly during a crime

they also kill when u witness a crime..

and u also get killed when u end up in the middle

like the woman who was shopping in the street last week

Postby RASC » February 21st, 2008, 10:22 am

Greypatch,I understand your point...

But I disagree with this:
Murder is Murder

Murder is innocent life lost.
What is taking place within the underworld is self-purge.

:wink:

Postby AllTrac » February 21st, 2008, 10:25 am

RASC wrote:Last person to be murdered's alias was "MONSTER" ...I'm sure it was of the friendly variety :roll:

:? but monster was ah good boy, he used ot get me in club leadership for free on all de premium nights 8-)

ingalook

Postby ingalook » February 21st, 2008, 10:45 am

what about the grandfather fella who was gunned down execution style kneeling in his living room because he was due to testify about witnessing his brother's murder?

the point is innocent people ARE being killed :|

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » February 21st, 2008, 2:08 pm

What is being bred by all this are rising levels of cynicism and resignation and perhaps, most disturbingly, hostility towards even the best and brightest of our officers

From experience here!....I had a love and dream to enter the force and move into tactical (performance and opportunity willing), but at the last minute of the enrollment I pulled out, and the reason for this is that I had a job at the time that was paying just a little bit better than the PS.....but mind you, if the country was not going downhill the way it was been for the last few years and the leadership of the gov't was better I would have taken the PS job over the better salary. and as the article said, sad to see but alot of the brighter minds who are already in the force are getting discontented with the work!....

larafan

Postby larafan » February 21st, 2008, 2:18 pm

no one aint saying innocents doh get murdered...its most unfortunate and sad that they do...

but...of that 60..how many were 'innocents'?

and i aint torking bout de bad boy from leventille name 6 shot..or rubber slippers who was allegedly 'a good boy'....

i sure 40 or 50 of de 'murdered' know why dem dead...

Postby Greypatch » February 21st, 2008, 2:22 pm

dis is just one aspect...

we also have many other crimes in which few are held and even less concivted..(10 years later)

larafan

Postby larafan » February 21st, 2008, 2:24 pm

how does the law define a murder?

a premeditated killing?

Narcissus

Postby Narcissus » February 21st, 2008, 2:33 pm

AllTrac wrote:
RASC wrote:Last person to be murdered's alias was "MONSTER" ...I'm sure it was of the friendly variety :roll:

:? but monster was ah good boy, he used ot get me in club leadership for free on all de premium nights 8-)

Williams, also known as "Monster", died on the spot after he was shot three times, to the head and body. A nickname family members said he may have received because of his towering height.

Raziel

Postby Raziel » February 21st, 2008, 3:24 pm

Yes ... where they really selling this PNM juice?

Murder is not murder?
Crime don't affect the average citizen
Anybody who is a victim of a crime is involved in drugs?

How stupid can you be?

When are people going to start asking the real questions?

Crime is in most cases related to social/economic issues. i.e. Where countries are wealthy, there is less crime vs. countries with high poverty levels where crime levels are higher (e.g. Hati)

So why in a country where money flowing like water, where we supposedly have low unemployment, where the goverment and business making record incomes, we have record crime rates?

And what is going to happen when the money run out?

Postby Greypatch » March 6th, 2008, 9:58 am

So why in a country where money flowing like water, where we supposedly have low unemployment, where the goverment and business making record incomes, we have record crime rates?

67 Days 75 MURDERS

Postby hydroep » May 6th, 2008, 1:41 am

126 Days.

Police tally...155.

Media tally...161.