Mr. Go Slow

2008 Honda CBR1000RR - F*ck Yeah!

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 29th, 2007, 10:50 am

http://www.motorcycledaily.com/28septem ... 1000rr.htm

[imghttp:600:344]http://www.motorcycledaily.com/092807middle.jpg[/img]

Last edited by Mr. Go Slow on September 29th, 2007, 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » September 29th, 2007, 12:55 pm

:shock: :twisted: :D

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 29th, 2007, 12:57 pm

Dam those crotch rockets :shock:

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » September 29th, 2007, 3:03 pm

Nice..

solo

Postby solo » October 1st, 2007, 7:31 am

wrt performance, that's a joke compared to the 07 gsx-r.

2007 SUZUKI GSX-R1000

To the team of Suzuki engineers responsible for the GSX-R1000, Own The Racetrack is not just a slogan, it is a way of life.

It’s a life dedicated to making the most successful open-class motorcycle in the history of production-based racing even better. The key is the motorcycle’s ability to do precisely what the rider wants, when the rider wants, how the rider wants. Accelerate, brake, corner, repeat. Make it easier for the rider, and the results will show.

Once again Suzuki has raised the level of open class sportbike performance. The 2007 Suzuki GSX-R1000, it’s the reason why Suzuki riders Own The Racetrack.

The basic architecture of the compact 999cc liquid-cooled GSX-R1000 engine is well known, a model of race-winning design: Bore and stroke of 73.4mm x 59.0mm, forged aluminum-alloy pistons with short skirts and cut away sides, chrome-moly steel shotpeened connecting rods, hollow dual overhead cams, and lightweight titanium valves. Add to that a close-ratio six-speed transmission with staggered transmission shafts, an adjustable back-torque limiting clutch and a gear driven secondary balancer shaft for reduced vibration.

A new more compact Suzuki Dual Throttle Valve fuel injection system is in place for 2007 with 12 smaller holes instead of four for improved fuel atomization and because the injectors are more compact and emit a finer spray, the secondary injectors can be positioned at a steeper 30 degree angle aimed directly at the intake ports for improved throttle response. Intake and exhaust ports are re-shaped and eight percent larger and exhaust valves are 2mm larger (26mm vs 24mm) to work with more aggressive camshafts and Iridium spark plugs are used for optimum combustion and longer life. Also a new Idle Speed Control (ISC) system improves cold starting and stabilizes engine idle under various conditions and larger ventilation holes between cylinders reduces pumping losses.

The Suzuki Advanced Exhaust System (SAES) features equal length head pipes feeding a collector, a short mid-pipe and a unique under engine chamber that leads to two short aluminum and titanium mufflers on each side. This system nearly doubles exhaust internal volume while lowering the center of gravity, centralizes the mass and improving aerodynamics. A proven Suzuki Exhaust Tuning (SET) valve finds a home on the mid pipe and the combination of the Suzuki PAIR system, a catalyzer and a oxygen sensor equipped closed loop engine management system work in conjunction to reduce emissions and improve engine efficiency.

A new larger radiator features a trapezoidal shape typically seen on works race bikes with nearly a ten percent increase in cooling capacity. The oil cooler is re-shaped with a third more cooling capacity and the oil pump is larger for increased flow.

Controlling the new 2007 GSX-R1000 is a new engine management system with massive computing power with four times the capacity of the previous models. The new ECM controls not only the fuel injection and exhaust systems but also make it possible for the rider to select from three performance settings to match riding conditions, using a three way switch mounted on the right handlebar. Engine mapping will vary for each setting and each map was developed using experience gained building racebike maps for rainy, mixed and dry conditions. Switching from map to map will be instantaneous making it possible for the rider to use different maps for different sections of the racetrack. A new self adjusting hydraulic clutch system uses a radial master cylinder and minimizes the change in clutch feel over the course of long races.

Taking lessons learned from the racetrack, the 2007 GSX-R1000 utilizes an all-new frame built to improve mass centralization by moving the rider toward the center of the wheelbase with a shorter fuel tank and moving the seat forward. The new frame is engineered to deliver the optimum rigidity balance for precise handling even at full lean. Constructed from five main aluminum alloy-castings the new frame uses less parts and less welding for improved accuracy and reduced weight. A new lighter and more rigid aluminum alloy swingarm finds a home under a two piece subframe and features a new rear shock mounting system with a link that pivots on the swingarm itself for improved traction and reduced side loads.

Taking lessons learned from the latest GSX-R600 and GSX-R750, the new GSX-R1000 also features three position adjustable footpegs for maximum rider control and maneuverability.

New high and low-speed compression damping adjustability is built into both front forks and the rear shock along with adjustable rebound and preload adjustments for maximum rider control. The outer tubes of the front forks are now larger in diameter below the lower triple clamp to improve rigidity while the DLC coated fork tubes remain at 43mm. Fork offset has been changed from 30mm to 28mm, increasing trail from 96mm to 98mm. Front wheel travel has also been increased from 120mm to 125mm.

The ’07 GSX-R1000 also benefits from new front brake rotors and brake carriers. Each 310mm disc is attached to the carrier using 12 floating mounts instead of 8 for improved heat transfer away from the disc.

The disc is also slightly thinner, measuring 5.0mm vs 5.5mm for reduced weight. The rear brake is a 220mm rear disc working with a single piston caliper now mounted above the swingarm, to reduce the effect of rear suspension movement caused by braking.

Handling will also benefit from the use of an all-new electronically controlled steering damper. A solenoid valve operated by the engine management system controls a tapered needle, increasing or reducing oil flow for increased or reduced damping force.

Extensive wind tunnel testing led to new and improved bodywork for the 2007 GSX-R1000, with an aggressive style and an overall reduced frontal area for amazing aerodynamic performance. A slightly taller windscreen also makes it easier for the rider to tuck in on the racetrack. New vertically stacked headlights also debut on the new GSX-R1000. The multi-reflector headlight has a new simpler shape and uses a 55w H7 halogen bulb positioned over a 70mm projector high beam.

Because everything else is new on the ’07 GSX-R1000, the instrument cluster is new as well. The new instruments include a step motor controlled analog tachometer, digital LCD speedometer, dual LCD tripmeters, an LCD clock, coolant temp/fuel injection readout, gear position indicator and a programmable LED engine rpm indicator light. A new LCD engine mode indicator displays which performance setting has been selected by the rider.

The new 2007 GSX-R1000 has been developed with lessons learned over more than 20 years of production racing domination.

It is more than just a motorcycle. It is the most powerful and most efficient GSX-R ever built. The new 2007 Suzuki GSX-R1000, Own The Racetrack.

Postby crazybalhead » October 1st, 2007, 7:39 am

sweet thread! :shock:

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 1st, 2007, 8:06 am

de way ting going, jus now dem bike go have power steering!

Postby wagon r » October 1st, 2007, 8:10 am

give me a kawa zx14 anyday....

...in kawa green no less.. 0X

Postby RASC » October 1st, 2007, 9:00 am

For a litre bike there is no other choice than a GSX-r...sorry :wink: King for the past 3+ years :!:

Narcissus

Postby Narcissus » October 1st, 2007, 9:25 am

u could use a bike motor to power a lawn mower?

mpower

Postby mpower » October 16th, 2007, 3:37 pm

nsr250r fast and fun!!

*Phoenix*

Re: 2008 Honda CBR1000RR - F*ck Yeah!

Postby *Phoenix* » March 7th, 2010, 7:10 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:http://www.motorcycledaily.com/28september07_honda2008cbr1000rr.htm

[imghttp:600:344]http://www.motorcycledaily.com/092807middle.jpg[/img]

:twisted:

If anyone has one of these in Original condition please let me know...

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » March 7th, 2010, 8:14 pm

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Re: 2008 Honda CBR1000RR - F*ck Yeah!

Postby 2 d Max Auto » March 7th, 2010, 8:24 pm

I'm in love :)

I have an 05 CBR 1000RR, but I recently sat on an 08 CBR 1000RR and immediately I wanted one

Mr. Go Slow wrote:Image

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 7th, 2010, 11:15 pm

RASC wrote:For a litre bike there is no other choice than a GSX-r...sorry :wink: King for the past 3+ years :!:

Ahmmm...NO....Fireblade has won the literbike shoot out 07, 08, 09 (Motorcycle.com)

The 2009 Fireblade (and 600RR) are the ONLY bikes to be equipped with Combined ABS

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » March 8th, 2010, 8:53 am

^ Firstly, why would you want ABS on a bike?
Secondly, Motorcycle.com - in 06 there voted the CBR last and in 07 voted the same CBR (the bike did not change) first...think about the source...

It's better to have a slipper clutch than ABS IMHO! (thank God there introduced it in the 09 model)

The only advantage the CBR has over the GSX-R is handling due to a better suspension in my opinion...but motor for motor...can't beat a Suzuki and it just looks better (I must state I'm a little biased when it comes to Suzuki)

All in all, the big four (GSXR, R1, CBR & Kawa) have all great bikes and it is solely up to the rider to pick one he is most comfortable with and enjoy...

Postby tr1ad » March 8th, 2010, 10:07 am

katana in yuh mc

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 8th, 2010, 10:55 am

The Combined ABS on the Fireblade reduces the riders need to concentrate on brake modulation especially when going in corners. When tested riders said it made a great difference since you can jump on the brakes late into a corner and not worry about it locking up or losing control....the C-ABS system sorts it all out....this allowed the rider to concentrate on exiting the turn thereby cutting down lap times

The 06 CBR competing in the shootout then was at the end of it's lifecycle (4 year old design) and was competing with newer bikes from the others. Some significant changes were done for the 07 model .....and the 08 was a fresh design and has since then dominated the comparison tests

motor for motor the ZX-10R has the most punch but all the brands lack the broad mid-range punch of the Honda

And yes all these bikes are phenomenal machines...usually it's the rider that'll make the difference....I think however they need to become a little more competitive with the Euros....the Euro literbikes make the Japs look like 600cc :mrgreen:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 8th, 2010, 11:43 am

ABS on bikes , while i love these picts or the very hot bikes , ia m no bike man , but a simple logic would tell me that man a bike man got out of control no on straight road but corners, why ? \

Any possible reason for lack of control, or the need for panic and or evasive action while in the act of cornering (entry braking, speed modulation, exit acceleration ) .I think ABS would greatly help in the control and modulation of the speed while conering.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 8th, 2010, 10:37 pm

Awsome Bike.. From what i have researched so far..
Would love to see one in person and see how it feels..

I like the Red/Black on the right!

Underground Master

Postby Underground Master » March 9th, 2010, 11:42 am

ek4ever wrote:The Combined ABS on the Fireblade reduces the riders need to concentrate on brake modulation especially when going in corners. When tested riders said it made a great difference since you can jump on the brakes late into a corner and not worry about it locking up or losing control....the C-ABS system sorts it all out....this allowed the rider to concentrate on exiting the turn thereby cutting down lap times

The 06 CBR competing in the shootout then was at the end of it's lifecycle (4 year old design) and was competing with newer bikes from the others. Some significant changes were done for the 07 model .....and the 08 was a fresh design and has since then dominated the comparison tests

motor for motor the ZX-10R has the most punch but all the brands lack the broad mid-range punch of the Honda

And yes all these bikes are phenomenal machines...usually it's the rider that'll make the difference....I think however they need to become a little more competitive with the Euros....the Euro literbikes make the Japs look like 600cc :mrgreen:

If you have to trust in ABS you are not really a rider, might as well get an automatic bike then. I love my Honda........but to each his own I guess

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 9th, 2010, 12:03 pm

^^ It's not trust in ABS....it's just a tool to help you ride faster...remember this was developed for track riding....it does what it's supposed to do....like the TCS being used in F1...and I think those guys are 'expert' drivers

And yeah....Love my Honda too

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » March 9th, 2010, 9:27 pm

Meh.. I prefer a bike you can enjoy everyday at legal speeds. That's why I'm getting this baby in July..

crotch rocket

Postby crotch rocket » March 10th, 2010, 9:22 am

Just bought me a 09 repsol cbr1000 :D

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » March 10th, 2010, 9:32 am

crotch rocket wrote:Just bought me a 09 repsol cbr1000 :D

sweet. :P :P :P

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » March 10th, 2010, 9:52 am

Underground Master wrote:
ek4ever wrote:The Combined ABS on the Fireblade reduces the riders need to concentrate on brake modulation especially when going in corners. When tested riders said it made a great difference since you can jump on the brakes late into a corner and not worry about it locking up or losing control....the C-ABS system sorts it all out....this allowed the rider to concentrate on exiting the turn thereby cutting down lap times

If you have to trust in ABS you are not really a rider, might as well get an automatic bike then. I love my Honda........but to each his own I guess

I find that is balls... :lol:
It is all geared to make you faster... its like saying there is no benefit to AYC/Electronic differentials.. less things to focus on mean u can put more attention on your line etc....
Again a dogbox will rip a "pure manual" to shreds 9 times out of 10.. taking away much of the driver error...
That is an antiquated way of looking at it is all..
What i will say is there is some value in learning to control the bike without ABS.. but once u can do it on your own if called upon to I would welcome the assist.
my 2cents :lol:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 10th, 2010, 11:02 am

Repsol CBR1000RR

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » March 10th, 2010, 2:43 pm

This is my taste...SUZUKI :twisted: :twisted:

09 GSX-R 1000

06 GSX-R 600

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » March 10th, 2010, 2:45 pm

BulletProof wrote:Meh.. I prefer a bike you can enjoy everyday at legal speeds. That's why I'm getting this baby in July..

Awesome!!! 8-)

If you don't mind sharing - how much you getting this bike for?

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » March 10th, 2010, 7:08 pm

Kongorealm wrote:Awesome!!! 8-)

If you don't mind sharing - how much you getting this bike for?

It's a power cruiser, new - 17,000 AUD, '06 models with low mileage start from around 14,000 AUD.