WTK: STOP SMOKING!!!

shagadelic99tt

WTK: STOP SMOKING!!!

Postby shagadelic99tt » January 5th, 2007, 9:46 pm

well my new year resolution was to stop the smoking...which i'm very close to and proud to say..i only smoke like 1 a day now...but what i wanted to know is are there ne ppl here who have stopped smoking and if so what sedatives yuh used to help the cravings...right now the only one i find is hot lipton tea kinda helps but not for long..

carmelo

Postby carmelo » January 5th, 2007, 9:52 pm

start taking crystal meth or lsd or snort a line or 2 :|

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » January 5th, 2007, 9:53 pm

Then you have not stopped, you have failed.

This was one of my resolutions as well. I have not touched a cigar since 2006. I haven't drank alcohol since june 06. :cry: I miss a ice cold stag...

serendipity

Postby serendipity » January 5th, 2007, 10:09 pm

cigarettes are sometimes considered a phallic symbol...

so everytime you go to light up... picture you are putting... a d*ck
in your mouth..........

unless of course you swing that way.. then disregard my post :skurred:

and if you do not know what i mean by phallic symbol... remember.. google is your friend.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » January 5th, 2007, 10:50 pm

I believe people can STOP without having to go through cutting down. Break it down into several steps that you can stop yourself at:

Dont lime around too much where people smoking and blowing it in your face, try to avoid it like a nonsmoker would, dont even look at someone lighting up

Get rid of your lighters, ashtrays, matches you usually have all over the place

a) Dont buy any cigarettes

b) Dont put a cigarette in your mouth

c) Dont light a cigarette

Each of these are points that you can catch yourself and STOP... back out of it.
Discipline, discipline.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » January 5th, 2007, 10:56 pm

I quit smoking on the 1st of Jan. 2006.

1 year+ smoke free!!!

Keep mints/gum nearby, if the craving is a strong one, an ice-cold glass of water works wonders! (plus yuh flushing yuh system)

You have to really WANT to quit in order to stop smoking... if you are not serious about it, you'll fail.

Good luck.

Quit Smoking Benefits:
When you quit smoking, the benefits begin within minutes of your last cigarette.

At 20 minutes after quitting:
blood pressure decreases
pulse rate drops
body temperature of hands and feet increases.

At 8 hours:
carbon monoxide level in blood drops to normal
oxygen level in blood increases to normal

At 24 hours:
chance of a heart attack decreases

At 48 hours:
nerve endings start regrowing
ability to smell and taste improve

Between 2 weeks and 3 months:
circulation improves
walking becomes easier
lung function increases

Between 1 to 9 months smoke free:
Starting as early as a month after you quit smoking, and continuing for the next several months, you may notice significant improvements in these areas:
coughing
sinus congestion
fatigue
shortness of breath

At 1 Year smoke free:
excess risk of coronary heart disease is decreased to half that of a smoker

At 5 years smoke free:
from 5 to 15 years after quitting tobacco, stroke risk is reduced to that of people who have never smoked.

At 10 years smoke free:
risk of lung cancer drops to as little as one-half that of continuing smokers
risk of cancer of the mouth, throat, esophagus, bladder, kidney, and pancreas decreases risk of ulcer decreases

At 15 years smoke free:
risk of coronary heart disease is now similar to that of people who have never smoked
risk of death returns to nearly the level of people who have never smoked

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » January 5th, 2007, 11:04 pm

thanx ppl for the feedback...will try a couple of those things specified..

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » January 5th, 2007, 11:07 pm

Try Jesus !!

hindian

Postby hindian » January 5th, 2007, 11:14 pm

dread i trying to stop for abt i year now but it hard cause all when i say all the ppl i work with does smoke! :roll: it real hard jed but not impossible

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 5th, 2007, 11:37 pm

keep picturing a cancer ridden lung.....

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 1:17 am

Pioneer,

I beg to differ with you but my Daddy died of lung cancer from smoking.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 6th, 2007, 1:19 am

^^^Well done

You can also exercise your right to GROW UP!!!

Finally, a positive thread wrt to QUITTING Smoking and you have screw it up.

What have you achieved?

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 1:21 am

hindian wrote:dread i trying to stop for abt i year now but it hard cause all when i say all the ppl i work with does smoke! :roll: it real hard jed but not impossible

Have you ever tried the nicotine patches or gum?

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 1:32 am

with all due respct, I never said you were nagative or evil, with the link provided you can read a lot about the effects of second hand smoke and the big cover up by Phillip Morris. Maybe you will remember they were slapped with billion dollar law suits in almost every State in the US

http://www.lungusa.org/site/pp.asp?c=dvLUK9O0E&b=35422

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 6th, 2007, 1:33 am

Sorry Tristan. Bad timing.

My comments were intended for Pioneer.

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 1:34 am

NP :wink:

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 6th, 2007, 1:39 am

for a fact smoking causes / puts the body more at risk for lung cancer...u stay ther and write your own facts..see who takes it on....
but ther are other factors in the environment that results in the same, burning plastics pollution etc...but smoking is the largest single contributor to lung cancer....

plus ever heard of emphysema? blacknd bronchioles/ non functioning cillia as a result of tar from cigs...go do som reading bro....

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 6th, 2007, 1:47 am

LOL..^^smoke 5 more for that^^^

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 1:53 am

Pioneer,

A recent survey was done on the Eastern seaboard of the US where there are no or a limited number of Industries, and is constantly fed by breeze coming off the ocean.

In the NC region where the survey took place there were 315 cases of lung cancer, 13% were attributed to genes, another 21% were those who previously worked in an industry where there carcinogenic substances and the other 66% were smoking related.

I got your point, but there is no doubt based on scientic surveys that lung cancer is the leading cause of death among males and is increasing among women.

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 1:55 am

I'll be in T&T in 4 days I will bring you a whole cartoon, how bout that :?:

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 1:58 am

It was done by The Dept of Health and Human services, because of the rising cost of Health care being funded by Federal Gov't.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » January 6th, 2007, 2:00 am

^^does it include x-mods? if not it won't be able to keep his attention for more than 30 seconds.

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 2:02 am

Come on now, Alcohol and Tobacco are the biggest payers of Federal Tax Revenues, there is no incentive for Fed Gov't to sabotage the Tobacco industry.

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 2:07 am

I am not negating that they do feed people propaganda when it suits their purpose, however they don't do it when it is literally costing the US Billion$ every year for Health care. They will do their best to plug the leak not widen the gap.

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 2:12 am

They are desperately trying to do that...no tax revenues only money being filtered out through Medicaid.

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 2:15 am

and VS pays taxes....prostitutes don't

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 2:19 am

They pay taxes as a Business, it is not based on the type of business they operate.

lizzy

Postby lizzy » January 6th, 2007, 2:24 am

The only regulated industries there are in the US is what falls under the jurisdiction of the USDA and they are taxed accordingly. If the products of any of those industries pose a potential risk to the Health of the population and is costing Gov't, then Gov't steps in.

In the tobacco industry, all cigarette companies are mandated to carry health risk warnings.

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » January 6th, 2007, 2:28 am

Got over the smoking habit years now. Way i did it was by staying away from my friends who smoke and staying in my house. That gonna be pretty hard if you working. It has alot to do with will power. Make up your mind and anything is possible. Now I have to make up my mind against alcohol. Trying to be liquor free for 2007. Take 1 step at a time and you will reach your goal. Peace.

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 6th, 2007, 4:48 am

just let the man smoke!.....he like them relllll ole ppl,,and those ppl who says the moon landing was a hoax...lol...no hard feelings eh pioneer....will sponsor u some unfiltered