The Religion Discussion

sweetiepaper

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby sweetiepaper » July 26th, 2012, 11:59 pm

bluefete wrote:Good question. We will either find out that God is real or that when you die, yuh dead and that's it!
if it's the latter then you wouldn't be able to tell anything since your consciousness ended when you died.

As with most "light at the end of the tunnel" and other near death experiences, the brain may develop a mental picture of what you believe will happen when you die, much like a dream. When dreaming it only takes seconds for the brain to construct a dream world and scenario for you to live in. In those seconds of dying your subconscious can create whatever you believe to be heaven: gates with St. Peter, or reincarnation, or the grave with two angels to question you, or whatever you were conditioned to believe during your life that will happen to you when you die.

So you think that humans pretty much trick themselves into thinking they are going to heaven or hell because they are conditioned to believe this occurs at death? If this is so, why is it only some people that die have these experiences?
Do you also think humans trick themselves into thinking they have had an encounter with God as well?

I know the mind is a very powerful thing but i have read a lot of those near death experiences, and some of them cannot be simply explained by conditioning.

On a side note, i recently heard Dr. Caroline Leaf, a neurologist, speak about the brain.
She was explaining that your thoughts are real physical things in your head that look like trees, think the word was dendrites, not sure.
When you have good, happy, healthy thoughts, well formed trees develop with healthy branches but when we have toxic, negative thoughts, the trees are deformed and sick.
She also said 98% to 75% of mental and physical illnesses today are as a result of those sick trees / bad thoughts. It was kinda interesting so i just thought i'd share it with you all.
For those of you who are interested, i have put the link to her blog:
http://drleaf.com/blog/general/you-are- ... ought-life

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 27th, 2012, 12:36 am

sweetiepaper wrote:
bluefete wrote:Good question. We will either find out that God is real or that when you die, yuh dead and that's it!
if it's the latter then you wouldn't be able to tell anything since your consciousness ended when you died.

As with most "light at the end of the tunnel" and other near death experiences, the brain may develop a mental picture of what you believe will happen when you die, much like a dream. When dreaming it only takes seconds for the brain to construct a dream world and scenario for you to live in. In those seconds of dying your subconscious can create whatever you believe to be heaven: gates with St. Peter, or reincarnation, or the grave with two angels to question you, or whatever you were conditioned to believe during your life that will happen to you when you die.

So you think that humans pretty much trick themselves into thinking they are going to heaven or hell because they are conditioned to believe this occurs at death? If this is so, why is it only some people that die have these experiences?
Notice I used the words "the brain MAY develop a mental picture of what you believe". I didn't say "this is what happens when you die", I said "this MAY happen".

sweetiepaper wrote:Do you also think humans trick themselves into thinking they have had an encounter with God as well?
it would be silly to make such a blanket statement as each encounter would surely be different and each person experiencing it would have had a different history of past experiences leading up to their encounter.

What you should ask yourself is why the vast majority of claimed encounters with God happen with the very God they believe in and in the religion they believe in or were privy to.

sweetiepaper wrote:I know the mind is a very powerful thing but i have read a lot of those near death experiences, and some of them cannot be simply explained by conditioning.
like which ones? please give examples.

if there was a recent encounter with God that could be proven as real, then there would be no more need for faith and everyone would follow that religion, so please share it here! 8-)

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 27th, 2012, 10:19 am

AdamB wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:
MG Man wrote:good read, AdamB, but it really didn't address my question........does your islamic proof overwrite the hindu proof? and what about the christian proofs?
What does islam say about the massive man-made structure off the coast of Japan that predates civilized man?
And what about Gobekle Tepe?

Um.. The events in the Bhagvad Gita and Ramayan, though having names of real places, did not really happen. They are stories related through various vehicles, these happed in the mind of the writers. There may have been actual wars, bridges over the sea, perverts kidnapping man wife etc.... but life makes for a poor moral story.

Any other hindus can verify that their religious books are just fables or fabricated to teach morals? ABA Trading?
do you really think any faithful religious person is going to say their religious books are just fables or fabricated?

if they did then they would not be faithful, would they.

FAITH is believing that something is true.

I hope it was sarcasm and not pure lack of logic and common sense that made you post that question.

Actually, it was...just wondering if we have any hindus in this religion discussion, trying to flush them out to be brave enough to say "I am a hindu and this is my belief......".

Maybe the Atheist Crossdrilled is the closest we have to a hindu on this thread?
Last edited by AdamB on July 27th, 2012, 11:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » July 27th, 2012, 10:27 am

AdamB wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:
MG Man wrote:good read, AdamB, but it really didn't address my question........does your islamic proof overwrite the hindu proof? and what about the christian proofs?
What does islam say about the massive man-made structure off the coast of Japan that predates civilized man?
And what about Gobekle Tepe?

Um.. The events in the Bhagvad Gita and Ramayan, though having names of real places, did not really happen. They are stories related through various vehicles, these happed in the mind of the writers. There may have been actual wars, bridges over the sea, perverts kidnapping man wife etc.... but life makes for a poor moral story.

Any other hindus can verify that their religious books are just fables or fabricated to teach morals? ABA Trading?
do you really think any faithful religious person is going to say their religious books are just fables or fabricated?

I hope it was sarcasm and not pure lack of logic and common sense that made you post that question.

Actually, it was...just wondering if we have any hindus in this religion discussion, trying to flush them out to be brave enough to say "I am a hindu and this is my belief......".

Maybe Crossdrilled is the closest we have to a hindu on this thread?

lol such a sad withered attempt at nothingness....

Postby Chimera » July 27th, 2012, 10:29 am

AdamB wrote:

I'm not a hindu .

Pops is a hindu, mom is a muslim, i went a catholic school

I eat beef,pork,drink and be merry 365 days a year.

Postby Chimera » July 27th, 2012, 10:33 am

Postby Chimera » July 27th, 2012, 10:44 am

Postby Chimera » July 27th, 2012, 10:45 am

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 27th, 2012, 10:55 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
AdamB wrote:

I'm not a hindu .

That's a common problem with mixed religion marriages...the children stray away!!
ABA Trading LTD wrote:I feel us Hindus wouldn't be so sensitive if we got more hugs, I`d like to volunteer myself to start this healing process, lola can i get a hug? :)

Postby Chimera » July 27th, 2012, 11:33 am

AdamB wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:
AdamB wrote:

I'm not a hindu .

That's a common problem with mixed religion marriages...the children stray away!!
ABA Trading LTD wrote:I feel us Hindus wouldn't be so sensitive if we got more hugs, I`d like to volunteer myself to start this healing process, lola can i get a hug? :)

LOL @ problem with mixed religion marriages

i eh even gonna comment na :lol: :lol: :lol:

a muslim talking about marriage and children straying away :lol: :lol:

and what thread was that in? this one? i think it was one where someone was complaining about Hindus being oversensitive and fighting up for everything

I just jump in to try and get a hug

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 27th, 2012, 11:49 am

sweetiepaper wrote:

Notice I used the words "the brain MAY develop a mental picture of what you believe". I didn't say "this is what happens when you die", I said "this MAY happen".

sweetiepaper wrote:Do you also think humans trick themselves into thinking they have had an encounter with God as well?
it would be silly to make such a blanket statement as each encounter would surely be different and each person experiencing it would have had a different history of past experiences leading up to their encounter.

What you should ask yourself is why the vast majority of claimed encounters with God happen with the very God they believe in and in the religion they believe in or were privy to.

sweetiepaper wrote:I know the mind is a very powerful thing but i have read a lot of those near death experiences, and some of them cannot be simply explained by conditioning.
like which ones? please give examples.

if there was a recent encounter with God that could be proven as real, then there would be no more need for faith and everyone would follow that religion, so please share it here! 8-)

Islamically, man cannot "see" or "encounter" GOD in physical reality / our earthly realm or with our flesh bodies. There would have to be a veil of light (HIS HIJAAB) between HIM and us, otherwise we will be burned. Kinda like when Moses wanted to see GOD on Mt Sinai. He saw a "burning bush".

In any case, whatever the actual explanation, we cannot see HIM.

Those who claim that they have are either dis-illusioned or possessed by jinns (spirits) making them believe that they have seen HIM but that is not the case. Just do a psychiatric evaluation on those persons who claim and you will see.

stickman

Postby stickman » July 27th, 2012, 11:59 am

AdamB wrote:In any case, whatever the actual explanation, we cannot see HIM.

At least you're getting somewhere. You see why there are atheists and freethinkers.

We have pointed out issues in Islam relating to morals and inconsistencies and yet you have not been able to provide a worthy argument or justify anything. In the end it boils down to faith vs logic. Trying to mix the two simply does not work, even if it appears so.

Postby Gladiator » July 27th, 2012, 1:53 pm

So if you cannot see this thing how can you call it a "HIM" and assign gender, how can you verify penis/testicle/XY Chromosome etc if you cannot see it...

You should call it an "IT" cause you cannot see IT

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 27th, 2012, 2:11 pm

AdamB wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Any other hindus can verify that their religious books are just fables or fabricated to teach morals? ABA Trading?

Actually, it was...just wondering if we have any hindus in this religion discussion, trying to flush them out to be brave enough to say "I am a hindu and this is my belief......". [/quote]your condescension is disgusting and very narrow minded.

It is unfortunate that readers of this topic will assume your lack of sense represents all Muslims.

AdamB wrote:That's a common problem with mixed religion marriages...the children stray away!!
stray away from what?

it is far better to be taught both or multiple beliefs and choose for yourself which one you want to follow and have faith in, rather than only knowing one thing and assuming it is correct only because it is all you know.

You do realise, and especially with your blinkers on, you would have been a staunch and pious Aztec if you were born in Mexico in 1492.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 27th, 2012, 2:34 pm

AdamB wrote:
AdamB wrote:Any other hindus can verify that their religious books are just fables or fabricated to teach morals? ABA Trading?

your condescension is disgusting and very narrow minded.

It is unfortunate that readers of this topic will assume your lack of sense represents all Muslims.

AdamB wrote:That's a common problem with mixed religion marriages...the children stray away!!
stray away from what?

it is far better to be taught both or multiple beliefs and choose for yourself which one you want to follow and have faith in, rather than only knowing one thing and assuming it is correct only because it is all you know.

You do realise, and especially with your blinkers on, you would have been a staunch and pious Aztec if you were born in Mexico in 1492.

How would you know what is better when you don't know what is good for you?
In ABA's case, it didn't do him any good, did it? He was even exposed to christianity and now practises nothing. Maybe he could shed some more light?
What about you Duane? Product of mixed religious marriage as well? If so, what are you today?

Any others are welcome to state their case, a lil poll to test the hypothesis!

BTW I said "common" not all cases this is the result. I am living proof of that!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 27th, 2012, 3:34 pm

AdamB wrote:How would you know what is better when you don't know what is good for you?
do you think the Aztecs knew there would be different religious beliefs centuries later? Are you sure there will not be different religious beliefs centuries from now? History has shown religions that lasted for 6000 years were eventually stopped for new beliefs. Christianity and Islam have only been here for 2000 and 1500 years respectively.

AdamB wrote:In ABA's case, it didn't do him any good, did it? He was even exposed to christianity and now practises nothing.
who are you to judge?

AdamB wrote:What about you Duane? Product of mixed religious marriage as well?
No both my parents were and still are of the same beliefs

AdamB wrote:BTW I said "common" not all cases this is the result. I am living proof of that!!
what proof do you have that you chose the right way?

There is no substantial or empirical evidence that Christians are right and Muslims are wrong or that Buddhists are right and Jews are wrong.

Why do YOU think people stopped believing in Egyptian religion? Considering that the most advanced people in the world followed that religion for nearly 6000 years. Far longer than Christianity and Islam have been around in their current form.

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » July 27th, 2012, 7:14 pm

take the time and research rather than come here and pound keyboard.. i'm sure half of you wont even listen to this but will reply with somthing foolish....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVJjmj6FPXM

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » July 27th, 2012, 7:17 pm

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » July 27th, 2012, 7:20 pm

everybody does bash muslims... oh muslims are allowed to have four wives and on and on.. but the Quraan is the only religious book that said a person should have one wife... no other religious book teaches this...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 27th, 2012, 8:25 pm

thermaltake wrote:the Quraan is the only religious book that said a person should have one wife... no other religious book teaches this...
I'm not sure what you mean

Genesis 2:22-24
Then the LORD God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man. The man said, "This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called 'woman, ' for she was taken out of man." For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.

Proverbs 18:22
He who finds one wife finds what is good and receives favor from the LORD.

Deuteronomy 24:5
If a man has recently married, he must not be sent to war or have any other duty laid on him. For one year he is to be free to stay at home and bring happiness to the wife he has married.

Mark 10:6-9
"But at the beginning of creation God 'made them male and female.' 'For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh.' So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate."

the last sentence of the last quote is why Catholics do not practice divorce.

that is just examples from the bible. There are instructions and teachings in the Qur'an, Gita, Bible and Torah about marriage.

stickman

Postby stickman » July 27th, 2012, 8:48 pm

thermaltake wrote:everybody does bash muslims... oh muslims are allowed to have four wives and on and on.. but the Quraan is the only religious book that said a person should have one wife... no other religious book teaches this...

Muslims are guilty of bashing others too. Many Islamic lectures held at mosques in Trinidad have topics that often bash Hinduism.

Anyway, the Quran said that man is permitted to beat their wives.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 28th, 2012, 1:01 am

stickman wrote:

At least you're getting somewhere. You see why there are atheists and freethinkers.

We have pointed out issues in Islam relating to morals and inconsistencies and yet you have not been able to provide a worthy argument or justify anything. In the end it boils down to faith vs logic. Trying to mix the two simply does not work, even if it appears so.

You've pointed out issues from your imagination based on lies and fabrications!
If you knew anything about verifying information and facts, the logic of worthy justification would point to the truth, the truth is ISLAM!!

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 28th, 2012, 1:05 am

stickman wrote:
thermaltake wrote:everybody does bash muslims... oh muslims are allowed to have four wives and on and on.. but the Quraan is the only religious book that said a person should have one wife... no other religious book teaches this...

Muslims are guilty of bashing others too. Many Islamic lectures held at mosques in Trinidad have topics that often bash Hinduism.

Do you attend the "many Islamic lectures"? I have never attended a lecture where Hinduism has been bashed.

Since you are the expert, why don't you also tell us HOW (BY WHAT METHOD) IS A MAN PERMITTED TO BEAT HIS WIFE?

stickman

Postby stickman » July 28th, 2012, 1:07 am

AdamB wrote:
stickman wrote:

You've pointed out issues from your imagination based on lies and fabrications!
If you knew anything about verifying information and facts, the logic of worthy justification would point to the truth, the truth is ISLAM!!

You're being delusional again. I have posted occurrences which are verified from the hadith. Yes, I might called your prophet a child molester, but I only called him that because I have the information obtained from the hadith. Again you can read the hadith from your sources.

And I know of the hadith ranking scheme which I assume was created to filter out hadith which would make Islam and the prophet look bad.

stickman

Postby stickman » July 28th, 2012, 1:10 am

AdamB wrote:
stickman wrote:

Do you attend the "many Islamic lectures"? I have never attended a lecture where Hinduism has been bashed.

Since you are the expert, why don't you also tell us HOW (BY WHAT METHOD) IS A MAN PERMITTED TO BEAT HIS WIFE?

Do I need to provide proof that Muslims bash Hindus? It's obvious. And I don't go to mosques (I have no reason to) but I have friends who are Muslims.

Are you suggesting that it is the "tap method" argument that Muslims love to bring up, when violence against women is brought up against them?

Postby Chimera » July 28th, 2012, 1:56 am

AdamB wrote:In ABA's case, it didn't do him any good, did it? He was even exposed to christianity and now practises nothing.

what do you mean didn't do me any good?

what makes you better than me?

My parents never forced any religion upon my siblings or myself.
I think this is the main difference between us, tell us about your upbringing, was religion forced upon you from an early age?

I practice nothing because I realized none of it made sense and decided not to practice any. I found it extremely funny that grown men could insist that their invisible friend was better than another persons invisible friend.

Postby sMASH » July 28th, 2012, 9:13 am

for a good while i have not been following up what goin on in here. i was watching this, and sumwhere around 12:37 till the end, reminds me of what spike was saying.

quite interesting.

Postby sMASH » July 28th, 2012, 9:37 am

a while ago i used to talk to a girl i met online who told me that for divali they used to bbq beef on purpose, and they were at the mosque too.

it is most probable that people of one group would bash another group...its human nature.

the problem is, my group, tends to like to blow up things.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 28th, 2012, 11:28 am

SMASH,
I wonder if any other religious group does eat pork during Ramadhan and Eid? Honestly, I don't care even if they think they doing it for spite. And don't think this doesn't happen because somehow ppl only think muslims bad.

People shouldn't judge groups based on what a few ignorant ones do due to the disease in their hearts.

So sMASH, Allyuh into event decorations, BLOWING UP BALLOONS and stuff?? Lol

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » July 28th, 2012, 3:28 pm

thermaltake wrote:the Quraan is the only religious book that said a person should have one wife... no other religious book teaches this...
I'm not sure what you mean

Genesis 2:22-24
Then the LORD God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man. The man said, "This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called 'woman, ' for she was taken out of man." For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.

Proverbs 18:22
He who finds one wife finds what is good and receives favor from the LORD.

Deuteronomy 24:5
If a man has recently married, he must not be sent to war or have any other duty laid on him. For one year he is to be free to stay at home and bring happiness to the wife he has married.

Mark 10:6-9
"But at the beginning of creation God 'made them male and female.' 'For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh.' So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate."

the last sentence of the last quote is why Catholics do not practice divorce.

that is just examples from the bible. There are instructions and teachings in the Qur'an, Gita, Bible and Torah about marriage.

mr. duane all the quotes you mad from thos religious books none of them said a man must marry one woman... cud you highlight it where it specified dat....?