The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » July 27th, 2012, 8:16 pm

Kenjo wrote:
SRASC wrote:Mountan Lion running nice on my MBP (Early 2011).

how long did it take to install?
think i might upgrade mine when the servers aren't so busy

Probably around 20-30 mins. OS X installs are the simplest I've ever dealt with.

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » July 28th, 2012, 6:26 am

Hi all,

First time Mac user. Recently bought an MBA not about 2 weeks ago.

So i went through the redeem program, got my emails etc etc.

I enter my redeem code into the T&T store, however it tells me that it can't be redeemed in the T&T store.

So I switch to the US store and it tells me this can only be redeemed in the T&T store...... :-/

Halp?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 28th, 2012, 4:16 pm

seems like Apple is really starting to miss Jobs :|

Apple's new Mac ads are embarrassing

Postby M_2NR » July 28th, 2012, 4:22 pm

Swisha wrote:seems like Apple is really starting to miss Jobs :|

Apple's new Mac ads are embarrassing

oh dear :lol:

casper

Postby casper » July 28th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Nothing really terribly wrong with the ads man....it's a lil humor

Postby S_2NR » July 28th, 2012, 7:24 pm

them ads is sheit. what funny about that

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 28th, 2012, 11:56 pm

S_2NR wrote:them ads is sheit. what funny about that

Not funny. Won't encourage people to buy a Mac.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 29th, 2012, 12:08 am

Imagine this ended up post 10,000!

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 12:54 am

All MS has to do is come out with an ad and it's proper game on. They already have the ball in their court honestly, let's hope they don't screw up.

Hell, I even found my old xp key to may be redeem the 40$ upgrade to win8.
As Strauss was saying, even the apple boys are excited for win8.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 29th, 2012, 12:54 am

I see nothing wrong with them.

Unless telling people they can use software that comes preloaded on every mac to do incredible things is not a good thing to put in ads?

Postby S_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 1:16 am

The ads suggest people would need an expert to use apple's software. Failure IMO. They are suppose to be promoting how simple apple is. It just works?

But the isheep will follow and say they bess :lol:

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 1:43 am

Exactly. Normally the ads apple make appeal to your emotions. This just makes me feel like I need to have a genius close (or worse :lol: google) when I first open a Mac :/ when in fact it isn't so at all!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 29th, 2012, 7:06 pm

Still no ml download code from Apple.

FML. LOL

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 7:42 pm

I jumped on iOS 6 beta today. I must say... upgrades are soooo wonderful now! So easy, straight forward and no hiccups. Hell, i might even consider not jailbreaking... I really missing f.lux though. my screen looks blue without it.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 29th, 2012, 8:14 pm

You’ll remember that 9to5Mac was the first to show photos of purported next-generation iPhone parts. Since then, many of the details – including the smaller dock connector – were affirmed by multiple mainstream reports. Unsurprisingly, as the new iPhone moves into production, more of these parts are starting to leak out to more repair shops.

Today, repair shop iLab has posted its own photos, but these images apparently showcase a fully assembled body. The new photos give a clear look at what a black, fully-assembled next-generation iPhone might look like when it ships to customers this fall. The repair shop also has some photos of other individual components like home buttons and volume keys.

casper

Postby casper » July 29th, 2012, 10:53 pm

Looks nice

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 30th, 2012, 10:31 am

Apple vs. Samsung: the complete guide to a billion-dollar trial
Can Apple convince a jury that Samsung ripped off the iPhone and iPad?
By Matt Macari on July 30, 2012 10:00 am

After over a year of drama, the patent battle between Apple and Samsung heads to trial in California today. While there’s no doubt both sides will do their best to present theatrical and emotional arguments, in the end the jury will be left with a defined set of intellectual property rights asserted against a specific list of devices — mostly variants of the Samsung Galaxy S, Galaxy S, and the Galaxy Tab 10.1. (Remember that the Galaxy Nexus and Galaxy S III aren’t part of this trial — they’re part of another case between these two companies scheduled to go to trial sometime next year.)

All that may not be nearly as sensational as eight-sided iPhone prototypes and other glimpses into Apple and Samsung’s inner workings, but understanding what’s really at stake is the key to organizing the deluge of information we’ll see over the months ahead. So let’s review what Apple and Samsung are really fighting over, as well as the stories each company will try to tell. There’s a lot going on.

Apple's case against Samsung

APPLE'S NARRATIVE

Apple’s told just one simple story in nearly every brief and official statement since the beginning of this lawsuit: Apple invested great resources into developing the iPhone and iPad, they’ve become the benchmark for competitors and consumers, and Samsung deliberately chose to copy Apple’s products and designs rather than fairly competing. If Apple has its way, the jury will hear this narrative so much it will seem like an established fact, and the details of the legal arguments will blur into an overall pattern of copying by Samsung. We’ve already seen Apple produce internal Samsung documents that allegedly show Samsung was obsessed with beating Apple. To counter, Samsung will obviously want to disprove Apple’s story, and show that it developed its products independently of what Apple was doing.

FULL STORY:
http://www.theverge.com/2012/7/30/31994 ... rial-guide

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 30th, 2012, 10:38 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
S_2NR wrote:them ads is sheit. what funny about that

Not funny. Won't encourage people to buy a Mac.

Postby M_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 9:57 pm

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 30th, 2012, 11:57 pm

Those ads are shite. Apple was supposed to be the computer "For the rest of us" with ease of use unparallelled in computing. Now they are saying you need an "expert" to use the preloaded software.

Seems like Apple is turning into the new (old) Microsoft.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » July 31st, 2012, 4:15 am

good call.. i am ny... :)

M_2NR wrote:http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/city-maps-2go/id327783342?mt=8

City maps 2go for free right now.

xvirus

Postby xvirus » August 2nd, 2012, 3:59 pm

check them out http://www.mobilelizard.com/main.php

meh cuz unlock his iphone 4s in 10mins

$275tt

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » August 2nd, 2012, 5:49 pm

xvirus wrote:check them out http://www.mobilelizard.com/main.php

$275tt

The site looks sketchy at best.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 2nd, 2012, 7:51 pm

mojosodope wrote:

$275tt

Same thing i was thinking....the site really shady.

xvirus

Postby xvirus » August 2nd, 2012, 9:11 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
mojosodope wrote:

$275tt

Same thing i was thinking....the site really shady.

same was on my mind, but he did it & i was shocked with how fast it was that's why i post it up nah

Sully

Postby Sully » August 3rd, 2012, 8:07 am

Upgraded to Mountain Lion, then was forced to upgrade parallels 6 to 7. Ended up spending more than I initially bargained for.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 3rd, 2012, 12:21 pm

Sully wrote:Upgraded to Mountain Lion, then was forced to upgrade parallels 6 to 7. Ended up spending more than I initially bargained for.

i read that parallels would not have worked so i got the new version 7 too.

xtech

Postby xtech » August 4th, 2012, 10:28 am

London (CNN) -- Why iPhones so expensive?

It is the device, arguably, that led the smartphone revolution.
But according to Apple's head of design, the iPhone was very nearly scrapped before it ever made it to the shelves.
In a speech this week at a business-themed event here, British-born designer Sir Jonathan Ive caused a stir when he said that Apple almost gave up on the iPhone "multiple times" before its launch in 2007.
Ive said problems with early models of the phone seemed so fundamental that even Apple's brightest minds struggled to solve them.

"With the early prototypes, I held the phone to my ear and my ear would dial the number," he said. "You have to detect all sorts of ear-shapes and chin shapes, skin color and hairdo. That was one of just many examples where we really thought, 'Perhaps this isn't going to work.'"

The designer, who once claimed the late Apple co-founder Steve Jobs was his "best friend," spoke at an Olympics-themed business event.

It seems almost inconceivable now that Apple might have given up on its massively popular iPhone before it was born. More than 200 million iPhones have been sold since Apple first launched the device five years ago, and there are an estimated 170 million iPhone users across the world.

But Ive said it was not uncommon for Apple to scrap "incredibly compelling" devices at the production stage if they were not considered game changing, or the design problems were considered deep-seated.
"We have been, on a number of occasions, preparing for mass production and in a room and realized we are talking a little too loud about the virtues of something," he said. "That to me is always the danger, if I'm trying to talk a little too loud about something and realizing I'm trying to convince myself that something's good."
Far along in the development process, Steve Jobs famously ordered Ive's designers to change the look of the iPhone, scrapping its aluminum case for a stainless steel bezel that made the touchscreen display more prominent, according to Walter Isaacson's recent biography of the mercurial Apple CEO.
"You have that horrible, horrible feeling deep down in your tummy and you know that it's OK but it's not great," Ive said Monday. "And I think some of the bravest things we've ever done are really at that point when you say, 'That's good and it's competent, but it's not great.'"

Postby M_2NR » August 4th, 2012, 12:18 pm

Check the price of an S III right now.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » August 4th, 2012, 5:53 pm

a little late, but finally got my elevation lab dock
rsz_img_4931.jpg