The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 10:13 am

AdamB wrote:If you reject the revelations of GOD to man intended to provide GUIDANCE, are you going to open your own church and write your own scriptures?

he could do like the muslims and plagiarize someone else's and invent his new reliion

Postby RBphoto » July 26th, 2012, 10:30 am

AdamB wrote:If you reject the revelations of GOD to man intended to provide GUIDANCE, are you going to open your own church and write your own scriptures?

he could do like the muslims and plagiarize someone else's and invent his new reliion

Once he not going to invent the flying macaroni monster, he could go through. Doh be on FSM dan :|

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 10:32 am

FSM (His Noodlyeness) pwns all false pasta prophets

Postby RBphoto » July 26th, 2012, 10:39 am

FSM (HN)... pardon me for missing the second part bretherin. May his meatballs have mercy onto me.

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 10:41 am

just remember to don your Pirate regalia tomorrow, (our Holy Holiday), and you'll be ok

Postby Dizzy28 » July 26th, 2012, 10:42 am

AdamB wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:My religion and my beliefs are two separate things. My belief is that if you live life on earth, be good, do good, pray to any God that you want with sincerity you basically good to go.

In essence unlike a few of the other regular posters in here I am not Atheist, however I believe there is one God, but he/she does not care whether we call him/her Ram, Allah, Buddha, Christ, Flying Sphagetti Monster etc.

I believe God gave us so many religions to see how well we would live with one another but we failed him because there are zealots of all forms and fashion who claim their way is the only way.

Does your belief have any basis? Your religion would document what GOD wants and WHAT HE CARES ABOUT.
How do you KNOW GOD will accept all religions if they would have strayed from HIS GUIDANCE?

If you reject the revelations of GOD to man intended to provide GUIDANCE, are you going to open your own church and write your own scriptures?

I have not rejected the revelations of God. I have chosen to accept that which provides a logical and spiritual balance. You have as much proof in the validity of the Quran as I do in the existence of one unnamed irreligious God.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 26th, 2012, 10:54 am

AdamB wrote:The Islamic view on this is that prophets were sent to all peoples of all times calling them to the worship of THE ONE TRUE GOD. .

is there a list of these prophets, and their times and locations?
reason I am asking, how is one to know which prophet is the real deal...

You don't. That's why there are millions of religions. Some argue because others masturbate. And the masturbators are divided even more between lefties, righties, both hands and mental masturbation.

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 11:04 am

nah I wanna hear AdamB's specific take on it
After all, the overwhelming evidence from researchers in India indicates all the 'mythical' people and places from Hindu scripture are apparently real..........the latest being the 'mythical' city of Dwarka, supposedly inhabited before civilized man even existed........the city has been found under water, and would have been dry land long before man should have been around....so who to believe?....but maybe the architects of Dwarka were muslims too, since AdamB's belief is that islam was always around.......

Postby RBphoto » July 26th, 2012, 11:54 am

Strauss wrote:
AdamB wrote:The Islamic view on this is that prophets were sent to all peoples of all times calling them to the worship of THE ONE TRUE GOD. .

You don't. That's why there are millions of religions. Some argue because others masturbate. And the masturbators are divided even more between lefties, righties, both hands and mental masturbation.

I was originally a righty, then I needed a hand for the computer mouse, then Brazilian fart pron made me premature, so I guess I am mental now.

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » July 26th, 2012, 12:31 pm

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 26th, 2012, 12:33 pm

MG Man wrote:nah I wanna hear AdamB's specific take on it
After all, the overwhelming evidence from researchers in India indicates all the 'mythical' people and places from Hindu scripture are apparently real..........the latest being the 'mythical' city of Dwarka, supposedly inhabited before civilized man even existed........the city has been found under water, and would have been dry land long before man should have been around....so who to believe?....but maybe the architects of Dwarka were muslims too, since AdamB's belief is that islam was always around.......

http://www.miraclesofthequran.com/historical_07.html

THE CITY OF IRAM

At the beginning of 1990, press-releases in the well-known newspapers of the world declared "Fabled Lost Arabian city found," "Arabian city of Legend found" and "The Atlantis of the Sands, Ubar." What rendered this archaeological find particularly intriguing was the fact that this city is mentioned in the Qur'an. Many people had previously suggested 'Ad was a legend or that the location in question could never be found. Such people could not conceal their astonishment at this phenomenal discovery.

It was Nicholas Clapp, a noted documentary filmmaker and a lecturer on archaeology, who found this legendary city mentioned in the Qur'an.225 Being an Arabophile and a winning documentary film maker, Clapp had come across a very interesting book during his research on Arabian history. This book was Arabia Felix, written by the English researcher Bertram Thomas in 1932. Arabia Felix was the Roman designation for the southern part of the Arabian Peninsula which today includes Yemen and much of Oman. The Greeks called this area "Eudaimon Arabia" and medieval Arab scholars called it "Al-Yaman as-Saeed."226 All of these names mean "Happy Yemen," because the people living in that region used to serve as middlemen in the lucrative spice trade between India and places north of the Arabian Peninsula. In addition, the people living in this region produced and distributed "frankincense," an aromatic resin from rare trees.

The English researcher Thomas described these tribes at length and claimed that he found the traces of an ancient city founded by one of these tribes.227 This was the city known as "Ubar" by the Bedouins. In one of the trips he made to the region, the Bedouins living in the desert had shown him well-worn tracks and stated that these tracks led toward the ancient city of Ubar. Thomas, who showed great interest in the subject, died before being able to complete his research.

Whole societies have passed away before your time, so travel about the earth and see the final fate of the deniers.
(Qur’an, 3:137)

Clapp, who examined what the English researcher Thomas wrote, was convinced of the existence of the lost city described in the book. He quickly started his research, attempting to carry on from where Thomas had left the project. Clapp took two different approaches in his mission to prove the existence of Ubar. First, he found the tracks which the Bedouins said existed and in order to aid his work, he applied to NASA to provide the satellite images of the area. After a long struggle, he succeeded in persuading the authorities to take the pictures of the region he so craved.228

The above satellite photographs show a section of Oman in the south of the Arabian Peninsula. In the photographs of the city of Ubar, viewed from space by NASA in 1992, were identified traces of ancient desert tracks. The people of ‘Ad, revealed 1,400 years ago in the Qur’an, emerged as one of the miracles of the Qur’an through modern-day technology.

Clapp went on to study the ancient manuscripts and maps in the Huntington library in California. Here, he quickly found a map covering the region he was studying so intensely. He found a map drawn by the Greek-Egyptian geographer Ptolemy in 200, which showed the location of an old city found in the region and the paths which actually led up to this city.

Meanwhile, his research received a further boost when he received the news that satellite photographs had been taken by members of NASA. In the pictures, caravan trails, which were virtually invisible to the naked eye, caught Clapp's attention. They could only be seen as a whole from the sky. Comparing these pictures with the old map he had in hand, Clapp immediately realised that the trails in the old map corresponded with the trails in the pictures taken from the satellite. The final destination of these trails was a broad site understood to have once been a city.

Finally, thanks to the work of Clapp and Thomas before him-along with a helping hand from NASA researchers-the location of this legendary city, which had been subject of the stories told orally by the Bedouins, was discovered. After a short while, excavations began and remains of an old city were brought to light. This lost city was dubbed "Ubar, the Atlantis of the Sands."

But let us ask: What was it that proved this to be the city of the people of 'Ad mentioned in the Qur'an?

From the very beginning of the study of the site, it was understood that this ruined city belonged to 'Ad. Researchers discovered Iram's pillars, which were specifically mentioned in the Qur'an, in the form of towers in the land of the people of 'Ad. Dr. Juris Zarins, a member of the research team leading the excavation, said that since the towers were alleged to be the distinctive feature of Ubar and since Iram was mentioned as having towers or pillars, this then was the strongest proof so far that the site they had unearthed was Iram, the city of 'Ad described in the Qur'an:

Do you not see what your Lord did with 'Ad-Iram of the Columns whose like was not created in any land? (Qur'an, 89:6-8)

As seen, that the information provided by the Qur'an about the events of the past is in total agreement with historical information is another evidence of the fact that the Qur'an is the Word of Allah.

225. Thomas H. Maugh II, "Ubar, Fabled Lost City, Found by LA Team," The Los Angeles Times, 5 February 1992.
226. Kamal Salibi, A History of Arabia (Caravan Books: 1980).
227. Bertram Thomas, Arabia Felix: Across the "Empty Quarter" of Arabia, (New York: Schrieber's Sons: 1932), 161.
228. Charlene Crabb, "Frankincense", Discover, January 1993.
Last edited by AdamB on July 26th, 2012, 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 26th, 2012, 12:35 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Strauss wrote:

I was originally a righty, then I needed a hand for the computer mouse, then Brazilian fart pron made me premature, so I guess I am mental now.

I don't masturbate....masturbation happens because of me

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » July 26th, 2012, 12:45 pm

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 12:54 pm

good read, AdamB, but it really didn't address my question........does your islamic proof overwrite the hindu proof? and what about the christian proofs?
What does islam say about the massive man-made structure off the coast of Japan that predates civilized man?
And what about Gobekle Tepe?

Postby RBphoto » July 26th, 2012, 1:37 pm

MG Man wrote:good read, AdamB, but it really didn't address my question........does your islamic proof overwrite the hindu proof? and what about the christian proofs?
What does islam say about the massive man-made structure off the coast of Japan that predates civilized man?

Um.. The events in the Bhagvad Gita and Ramayan, though having names of real places, did not really happen. They are stories related through various vehicles, these happed in the mind of the writers. There may have been actual wars, bridges over the sea, perverts kidnapping man wife etc.... but life makes for a poor moral story.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 26th, 2012, 2:38 pm

Man-made structure predating civilized man?

Either it was built by CAVEMEN or something wrong with the dating of the structure.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 26th, 2012, 2:38 pm

Man-made structure predating civilized man?

Either it was built by CAVEMEN or something wrong with the dating of the structure.

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » July 26th, 2012, 3:21 pm

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 26th, 2012, 7:24 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
MG Man wrote:good read, AdamB, but it really didn't address my question........does your islamic proof overwrite the hindu proof? and what about the christian proofs?

Um.. The events in the Bhagvad Gita and Ramayan, though having names of real places, did not really happen. They are stories related through various vehicles, these happed in the mind of the writers. There may have been actual wars, bridges over the sea, perverts kidnapping man wife etc.... but life makes for a poor moral story.

Any other hindus can verify that their religious books are just fables or fabricated to teach morals? ABA Trading?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 26th, 2012, 7:31 pm

AdamB wrote:Man-made structure predating civilized man?

What about TIME TRAVEL? What about GOD created it as is? What about those Japs - cutting edge of technology huh?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 26th, 2012, 7:51 pm

AdamB wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

Any other hindus can verify that their religious books are just fables or fabricated to teach morals? ABA Trading?
do you really think any faithful religious person is going to say their religious books are just fables or fabricated?

if they did then they would not be faithful, would they.

FAITH is believing that something is true.

I hope it was sarcasm and not pure lack of logic and common sense that made you post that question.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » July 26th, 2012, 9:14 pm

AdamB wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

lol how was it verified in the first place?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 26th, 2012, 9:18 pm

^ the same way any or all religious texts are verified I guess

konartis

Postby konartis » July 26th, 2012, 9:21 pm

all religious books a fictional, the bible is the main one, re-written over and over to please different generations...nothing like that never happened and never will...plain and simple...

Postby bluefete » July 26th, 2012, 9:25 pm

bluefete wrote:
bluefete wrote:Hey MGMan: That is a fair enough statement. Does its principles guide how you live your life presently? Once your consciousness fades, there is nothing forever after that? Then what is the purpose of this short life of our?

Is there a definitive view of right and wrong?
animals dont need prinicples on how to live. Some of them kill for food or to protect their own.

what is the purpose of a wild animal's life? Like a polar bear or a narwhal whale.

Or what of tribes in New Guinea or those tribes who have never contacted modern civilizations. They don't follow the guidelines you follow and they've survived as a tribe up til now. They don't go to heaven? Their life has no purpose?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uncontacted_peoples

It is estimated that on tribe have lived on their island for 60,000 years. They have to make contact with the outside world. They have their own religion, their own guidelines (evidence of satellite photos show that they are hunter-gatherers who do not even grow their own crops) and their own laws. I'm sure they don't go murdering and raping everyone in their tribe. Yet they've never seen a bible, qu'ran, gita, torah etc.
They don't go to heaven? Their life has no purpose?

Like all the rest, they too will find out when they die. It matters not that they have/have not seen a Bible, Gita etc. The end result is the same for all who pass through this here planet earth
your answer there is very different from the bible thumping, earth is 6000 years old, Darwin is a mad man (He is!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ) rants from earlier in this thread.

what do you think they will find out?

Good question. We will either find out that God is real or that when you die, yuh dead and that's it!

Postby bluefete » July 26th, 2012, 9:28 pm

konartis wrote:all religious books a fictional, the bible is the main one, re-written over and over to please different generations...nothing like that never happened and never will...plain and simple...

Queen Elizabeth II will step down, when her husband Prince Phillip steps down.

When that happens, you can come back and tell me about the Bible being fiction!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 26th, 2012, 10:16 pm

bluefete wrote:Good question. We will either find out that God is real or that when you die, yuh dead and that's it!
if it's the latter then you wouldn't be able to tell anything since your consciousness ended when you died.

As with most "light at the end of the tunnel" and other near death experiences, the brain may develop a mental picture of what you believe will happen when you die, much like a dream. When dreaming it only takes seconds for the brain to construct a dream world and scenario for you to live in. In those seconds of dying your subconscious can create whatever you believe to be heaven: gates with St. Peter, or reincarnation, or the grave with two angels to question you, or whatever you were conditioned to believe during your life that will happen to you when you die.

sweetiepaper

Postby sweetiepaper » July 26th, 2012, 11:12 pm

MG Man wrote:unlike you, my lack of belief is an open door..............anytime someone can propose a sensible, logical argument for the existence of a creator, cool........until then, I have no reason to believe one exists, especially one that takes attendance etc

btw your first line 'The simple answer is that the Unseen GOD that we believe in says so!' makes no sense whatsoever and is at best a weak attempt at proving your point

So MG, how do you think the universe came into being or how did life start on earth?
Do you have a logical reason for your existence?

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2012, 11:29 pm

sweetiepaper wrote:
MG Man wrote:unlike you, my lack of belief is an open door..............anytime someone can propose a sensible, logical argument for the existence of a creator, cool........until then, I have no reason to believe one exists, especially one that takes attendance etc

btw your first line 'The simple answer is that the Unseen GOD that we believe in says so!' makes no sense whatsoever and is at best a weak attempt at proving your point

So MG, how do you think the universe came into being or how did life start on earth?

why do I need a reason for my existence?
do you have a logical reason why an invisible man in the sky created you?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 26th, 2012, 11:44 pm

sweetiepaper wrote:

why do I need a reason for my existence?
do you have a logical reason why an invisible man in the sky created you?

They dont question that because they are not taught to think and question the status quo.