3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » March 12th, 2016, 5:59 pm

Yup, 10lb king on a banking line in the gulf, no wire. Sums up my day lol.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » March 12th, 2016, 6:17 pm

meccalli wrote:Yup, 10lb king on a banking line in the gulf, no wire. Sums up my day lol.

nice!!

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » March 12th, 2016, 6:27 pm

Fellas , I need some help. I have a Fin-Nor Lethal spinning reel about 2 years now, it works really well, no complaints. But it is very difficult to get a spare spool. I finally found one and bought it new from the company website.

At first glance the dimensions between the original spool and the spare are identical, but when I put the spare spool on, the main shaft is not extending far enough through the spool for the drag knob to engage properly, also the line clicker at the bottom of the spool wasn't engaging.

I checked the height of both stacks of drag washers and they are identical, when I flipped over both spools I noticed that on the spare spool is about 3 millimeters longer than the original (see picture with yellow arrow).

It is too much hassle to send back, I was wondering if I could use a dremel to grind down the middle of the spool where the main shaft has to pass and see if that would work.
14.jpg

Postby meccalli » March 12th, 2016, 6:42 pm

Yeah, that sucks, your idea sounds good though, not good at machining lol.
Some cell phone pics, never really carry my slr at sea but this fish deserved a pic considering the location and circumstances. One man hook, next one fight, another gaffed lol. Got some nice reds too, not a single salmon or crocro oddly enough. Big bachine as well around, took butterfly jigs.
Imageking by meccalli, on Flickr
ImageIMG_20160312_144610 by meccalli, on Flickr
ImageIMG_20160312_144627 by meccalli, on Flickr

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » March 12th, 2016, 6:49 pm

that's a nice king for an accidental catch lol, nice size reds too.

That king hit the line on the way down?

Postby meccalli » March 12th, 2016, 6:58 pm

Nope, sitting dead on the bottom, double drop banking line with old sardine :lol:

proton17

Postby proton17 » March 12th, 2016, 7:12 pm

Way nice catch boi meccalli, how d water was rough? Dat kingfish must hv been real hungry:)

Postby meccalli » March 12th, 2016, 7:17 pm

Water was nice in the morning, got some white caps around midday, were in 40-50 ft.

coolfiger

Postby coolfiger » March 12th, 2016, 8:39 pm

Any body here using any apps to share good banks? Just got a boat trying to find some out in the gulf from riverboats

proton17

Postby proton17 » March 13th, 2016, 8:57 pm

Did a lil banking today, water was real nice for most of the day.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1457917041.111839.jpg

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » March 13th, 2016, 10:45 pm

Good catch bro

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » March 14th, 2016, 7:19 am

proton17 wrote:Did a lil banking today, water was real nice for most of the day.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1457917041.111839.jpg

One of them things doesn't look like the others, I seeing one of them big salmon with the orange belly?

I wish that pirogue had a working baitwell though.

Postby meccalli » March 14th, 2016, 7:29 am

Think that's what they call big scale salmon.

Postby dougla_boy » March 14th, 2016, 9:37 am

going out Saturday DDI to do some live bait and banking

any tips or anything for when ah doing that?

did it some years ago eh, caught a king fish, but i just sat with a castor and applied my live bait, castor was rigged before hand

Postby meccalli » March 14th, 2016, 4:10 pm

Standard live bait rig I guess, #1 mustad bronze beak alavive hooks, #2 coffee colored afw wire and 12lb line. hook bait behind anal fin and let him im out slow according to your drift/current. You can use tiny barrel swivels with no gloss on it but I like to tie a short bimini and albright it directly to the haywire.

proton17

Postby proton17 » March 14th, 2016, 6:41 pm

Meccali I ent know which one ppl does call chairfoot from black salmon or wat other local names nah.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 15th, 2016, 12:31 am

hey guys, the teaser to my new video up...wud drop the full video soon...like, share and subscribe to the channel for it...

Postby joker » March 15th, 2016, 1:08 pm

SEAWEED in maracas yesterday .... :cry:

Postby *KRONIK* » March 15th, 2016, 9:37 pm

Allyuh ever use this?

1458092205972.jpg

To make this?

1458092230647.jpg

And does it work?

Postby meccalli » March 16th, 2016, 10:56 am

Yeah, it works the same as any running type style rig except with a snap to attatch weights. I use that configuration but with a swivel and a duolock. Comes in handy if you want a fishfinder rig in the surf and needs a rig that wont twist in the wash while using something like a sputnik sinker.
ImageDSC_9716 by meccalli, on Flickr

Postby *KRONIK* » March 16th, 2016, 2:11 pm

Scene...i got my hands on a set of the braid slides so i wanted to try that rig sometime soon....

Use with circle hooks or regular j-hooks?

I never tried circles before so i bought a few 3/4/5 to try...

Postby meccalli » March 16th, 2016, 3:44 pm

Doesn't matter, I use circles most of the time, just snell them or use a loop.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 16th, 2016, 4:11 pm

Well i go try mih hand...
Ketching mih arse to snell them tho cuz of how the short the shank is.

And i cant seem to find anything smaller than 50lb mono...which giving trouble to wrap

Postby meccalli » March 16th, 2016, 4:35 pm

Try this then, strongest loop knot I know.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 16th, 2016, 5:28 pm

I now find a new spool of berkeley trilene 50lb leader line

I try mih hand
With a #4 and #5 circle

1458163662578.jpg

1458163652535.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » March 16th, 2016, 5:38 pm

Now try another 2

1458164300742.jpg
1458164291312.jpg

Postby meccalli » March 16th, 2016, 5:57 pm

Looking good, if you decide to snell your j's as well, let the line exit the back of the hook, that's how commercial guys set up for palang with eyeless hooks.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 16th, 2016, 6:42 pm

Thanks...
Took me a long while tho...

I only realise what u said about passing the line behind when i done tighten up everything.

Will try the both when i make a gulf o paria trip...

1458168074629.jpg

What about these pre-made leaders with snaps and swivels?

Do they make any sense?

Postby meccalli » March 16th, 2016, 7:34 pm

Only if you're casting into a school of cutlass fish or ancho or summn lol. I never use those things, wayy too unsightly, better off using some heavy sabikis if you need pre made rigs or a three way swivel with a wire trace.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 16th, 2016, 8:06 pm

Scene....
I used it a couple times since started using braided line...its easier to tie up one of those than to join a mono leader to the braid.

It worked ok for the grunts and catfish...but then after a few rough pulls and getting swallowed...the snaps started to bend up and get loose.