crossdrilled wrote:AdamB wrote:It's unfortunate that believers in GOD decide to show up when the word "POLYTHEISM" is mentioned but were conveniently absent when mankind was saying that stripclubs are morally good.
However, Allah (the Arabic word meaning THE ONE TRUE GOD) accepts only that which is good!!
MG Man wrote:notice how he sidestep me busy busy eh..........google eh give him ah response yet
d spike wrote:...we are all called to walk a path. Each of us has our own path. To stop walking in order to start directing traffic, or to go and drag people off their path to walk alongside you, may not be the best thing for that person.
...Reserve your ability to judge for yourself and your own actions - that is what it's for. Directing it outward warps it's ability to do good and to better oneself.
MG Man wrote:I am here now, and I am self aware..........when I die,I have no reason to believe there is anything afterward........my consciousness will fade and I will once again become star dust
That is enough for me..........however, for most people, this is not a pleasant thought, hence, mankind's consciousness creates the idea of god to help him feel relevant in the big scheme of things........and growing out of the idea of god, is the idea of religion, as a need for social control and maintaining the cultural status quo.........religion is a an evolutionary response
re your good / evil questions, good and evil are just words applied to certain groups of perceptions
The same way you justify allegations of the prophet being a pedophile by saying what is bad now, was acceptable back then.....
crossdrilled wrote:And he completely ignored the fact that I am NOT saying that Islam has 99 gods, but that people who he is calling polytehis call the same god many names as well and believe in one devine being.
d spike wrote:Since my post was deleted (why, I don't know) I need to not step on the corns that seem to have appeared, and since someone seems hell-bent on demanding morality be discussed, here is what I have to say on the matter (without mashing anyone's corns):
In Cuba, if you pay a man to get piston-rings for your Chevy, he will go in the back, pick up a few milk-tins, and carefully craft the rings for you - and you will call him a "God-send"...
In Trinidad, if you catch a man building your paid-for piston-rings out of milk-tins, you would never forgive him - assuming you don't remove any body-parts first.
The morality of a situation depends on the person within the situation, NOT the person viewing it from outside... hence the reasons why true believers in the Divine, leave judgement up to the Divine.
It is far too easy (and far too common) for believers to assume the morality they acquire should be projected on others.d spike wrote:...we are all called to walk a path. Each of us has our own path. To stop walking in order to start directing traffic, or to go and drag people off their path to walk alongside you, may not be the best thing for that person.
...Reserve your ability to judge for yourself and your own actions - that is what it's for. Directing it outward warps it's ability to do good and to better oneself.
AdamB wrote:MG Man wrote:I am here now, and I am self aware..........when I die,I have no reason to believe there is anything afterward........my consciousness will fade and I will once again become star dust
That is enough for me..........however, for most people, this is not a pleasant thought, hence, mankind's consciousness creates the idea of god to help him feel relevant in the big scheme of things........and growing out of the idea of god, is the idea of religion, as a need for social control and maintaining the cultural status quo.........religion is a an evolutionary response
re your good / evil questions, good and evil are just words applied to certain groups of perceptions
The same way you justify allegations of the prophet being a pedophile by saying what is bad now, was acceptable back then.....
So you have no purpose, you will return to dust, you are nothing (but dust)?
Good and evil are NOT just words "applied to certain groups of perceptions". You know the difference, also between right and wrong, that's built into your DNA man.
Even the atheist nations / people know that and behave accordingly. The question is: Why don't they behave like murdering, stealing and abuse is the good thing to do and vice versa (that charity, fairness, etc is bad)?
How come there isn't a conflict to have a paradigm shift?
AdamB wrote:crossdrilled wrote:And he completely ignored the fact that I am NOT saying that Islam has 99 gods, but that people who he is calling polytehis call the same god many names as well and believe in one devine being.
Bro,
There's difference between names related to perfect intangible attributes of GOD and inventing names and persons for GOD THAT HE DID NOT APPROVE OR REVEAL.
Also, many worship some aspect of the Creation of GOD rather than GOD himself.
Take a look at these names and compare with what followers of other religions worship. There is no "picture" of GOD in Islam, GOD is not a man / human, not a magnificent creation or the like. There is none like unto Him!
His Names are not without meaning and we do not liken Him to the Creation or the Creation to Him. If we say the SWORD IS SHARPER THAN THE STICK, doesn't that diminish the sharpness of the sword (as any sword may be sharper than a stick, even a dull one)?
There are other principles related to the names and attributes that I will not mention here but the knowledge is there and established.
http://abdurrahman.org/tawheed/asmawasi ... s-sadi.pdf
MG Man wrote:I am here now, and I am self aware..........when I die,I have no reason to believe there is anything afterward........my consciousness will fade and I will once again become star dust
d spike wrote:d spike wrote:I was not referring to the prophets, but rather the average insecure Joe, who feels the need to create and dominate little information-lacking cul-de-sacs like this one, to boost his ego, mistaking vanity and blindness for religious superiority.
Before anyone gets all hot and sweaty under the collar about this remark, stop and THINK for a while.
If this insults you, it's for one of two reasons:
Either the cap fits most comfortably; or
You are not aware of the following...
For a thread that has rambled on and on and on for three hundred and more pages on the topic of religion, one would think that the more learned tuner folks would have taken part in said discussion... but this isn't so.
Looking at other threads, it is quite clear that there are more than a few tuners who are well versed in their respective religions - yet they don't post here. Why?
People who clearly think rationally (and this is something one can tell by the manner in which they present arguments) often steer clear of this thread. Why?
Illuminati, Lola... as for Humes, I was amazed when I saw him start to post regularly, and it'll be a sad day when he gives up in frustration...
...For both rational thought and true religious spirituality cannot compete with ego and pride on a public forum such as this.
Logic is shouted down, and fanaticism hammers spirituality into the ground in this arena. As any good protester knows, loud noises will drown out peace and reason in public - neither rational thinking nor brotherliness is raucous and snarling...
...and so, the more experienced folk wisely tread around this hole, not daring to step into this swirling mess of rabid and fanatical howling...
Fellows like maj. tom, enter the discussion, but are beaten off with snarls of ignorance and blindedness...
"Ignorance"? one might ask... but yes, IGNORANCE, says I. For where else in this universe of rational thought could one hold a discussion, where ideas are shared, yet folk refuse to look back to see if a particular matter was discussed already? If you are sharing it to benefit others, doesn't it make sense to look and see if they benefited from it BEFORE? What drives this sort of ignorance? VANITY... PRIDE... EGO.
This is on the internet. There is something called "a search engine". "Google". If you do not own a set of encyclopaedias, then all you have to do is TYPE YOUR QUESTION... or even just type a key word... but NO!! Not these Fanatics!! It must all be dragged upon the floor, in front of them, the Tuner Sanhedrin of our time, where they can peruse and pronounce judgement in full view of the cowering masses.
No bloody wonder certain tuners refuse to pass through this thread again!
As for me:d spike wrote:When I first started browsing Tuner fairly recently, I used to read Bluefete's "God" thread in amazement (while not the most accurate word, that's the most polite word I can use to describe how I felt), but I never even wished to voice an opinion. This decision was based on my experiences regarding discussions amongst differing faiths. While it sounds like a good idea to compare differences, observe similarities, and generally learn of different ways of looking at the same thing, this never works for religion, unless the persons involved share a strong sense of trust, respect, wisdom and maturity - as well as a very good grasp of language.
Thus it is that whenever average people discuss religion (especially Christianity) it soon turns into either a competition, an evangelistic affair, or a fight - or all three, in that order.
But then someone I know, who is fed up of the nonsense that passes for the fundamentalist view on Tuner, started a 'religiously-themed' thread just to see how foolish these goodly folk could get - and lad, did they ever.
Then I realised that the only view representing those who consider the teachings of the Christ more than just interesting, were a handful of blinded literalists whose only knowledge of scripture was what they were fed.
And here is my conundrum: When I read Bluefete's thread, I was quite certain the spouted nonsense I came across was precisely that - because of what I knew. Suppose I didn't know... then my assumption would be that despite whatever sense Jesus' words might make, his followers are all complete imbeciles. If a drink has a magnificent bouquet, but all who drink it go mad - then bet your last cent I ain't tasting it.
And so I have decided (against the better judgment of most of my peers) to attempt to be the voice of reason - not for the benefit of Bluefete, or Sir Civic, or this Megadoc1... but for the curiously minded who might otherwise shy away from delving into what could result in a better understanding of why we all are here.
bluefete wrote:Hey MGMan: That is a fair enough statement. Does its principles guide how you live your life presently? Once your consciousness fades, there is nothing forever after that? Then what is the purpose of this short life of our?
Is there a definitive view of right and wrong?
animals dont need prinicples on how to live. Some of them kill for food or to protect their own.bluefete wrote:Hey MGMan: That is a fair enough statement. Does its principles guide how you live your life presently? Once your consciousness fades, there is nothing forever after that? Then what is the purpose of this short life of our?
MG Man wrote:bluefete wrote:Hey MGMan: That is a fair enough statement. Does its principles guide how you live your life presently? Once your consciousness fades, there is nothing forever after that? Then what is the purpose of this short life of our?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:animals dont need prinicples on how to live. Some of them kill for food or to protect their own.bluefete wrote:Hey MGMan: That is a fair enough statement. Does its principles guide how you live your life presently? Once your consciousness fades, there is nothing forever after that? Then what is the purpose of this short life of our?
what is the purpose of a wild animal's life? Like a polar bear or a narwhal whale.
Or what of tribes in New Guinea or those tribes who have never contacted modern civilizations. They don't follow the guidelines you follow and they've survived as a tribe up til now. They don't go to heaven? Their life has no purpose?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uncontacted_peoples
It is estimated that on tribe have lived on their island for 60,000 years. They have to make contact with the outside world. They have their own religion, their own guidelines (evidence of satellite photos show that they are hunter-gatherers who do not even grow their own crops) and their own laws. I'm sure they don't go murdering and raping everyone in their tribe. Yet they've never seen a bible, qu'ran, gita, torah etc.
They don't go to heaven? Their life has no purpose?
your answer there is very different from the bible thumping, earth is 6000 years old, Darwin is a mad man rants from earlier in this thread.bluefete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:animals dont need prinicples on how to live. Some of them kill for food or to protect their own.bluefete wrote:Hey MGMan: That is a fair enough statement. Does its principles guide how you live your life presently? Once your consciousness fades, there is nothing forever after that? Then what is the purpose of this short life of our?
what is the purpose of a wild animal's life? Like a polar bear or a narwhal whale.
Or what of tribes in New Guinea or those tribes who have never contacted modern civilizations. They don't follow the guidelines you follow and they've survived as a tribe up til now. They don't go to heaven? Their life has no purpose?
It is estimated that on tribe have lived on their island for 60,000 years. They have to make contact with the outside world. They have their own religion, their own guidelines (evidence of satellite photos show that they are hunter-gatherers who do not even grow their own crops) and their own laws. I'm sure they don't go murdering and raping everyone in their tribe. Yet they've never seen a bible, qu'ran, gita, torah etc.
Like all the rest, they too will find out when they die. It matters not that they have/have not seen a Bible, Gita etc. The end result is the same for all who pass through this here planet earth
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:your answer there is very different from the bible thumping, earth is 6000 years old, Darwin is a mad man rants from earlier in this thread.bluefete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:animals dont need prinicples on how to live. Some of them kill for food or to protect their own.bluefete wrote:Hey MGMan: That is a fair enough statement. Does its principles guide how you live your life presently? Once your consciousness fades, there is nothing forever after that? Then what is the purpose of this short life of our?
Like all the rest, they too will find out when they die. It matters not that they have/have not seen a Bible, Gita etc. The end result is the same for all who pass through this here planet earth
what do you think they will find out?
crossdrilled wrote:What sins? How come allyuh people assume atheist doh lead sin free life? Is the get out of jail repentance something I can use once or as needed anytime I feel that the "end is near" ?
AdamB wrote:The Islamic view on this is that prophets were sent to all peoples of all times calling them to the worship of THE ONE TRUE GOD. .
MG Man wrote:AdamB wrote:The Islamic view on this is that prophets were sent to all peoples of all times calling them to the worship of THE ONE TRUE GOD. .
is there a list of these prophets, and their times and locations?
reason I am asking, how is one to know which prophet is the real deal...
Dizzy28 wrote:My religion and my beliefs are two separate things. My belief is that if you live life on earth, be good, do good, pray to any God that you want with sincerity you basically good to go.
In essence unlike a few of the other regular posters in here I am not Atheist, however I believe there is one God, but he/she does not care whether we call him/her Ram, Allah, Buddha, Christ, Flying Sphagetti Monster etc.
I believe God gave us so many religions to see how well we would live with one another but we failed him because there are zealots of all forms and fashion who claim their way is the only way.