AdamB

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby AdamB » July 20th, 2012, 4:54 am

megadoc1 wrote:
AdamB wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
AdamB wrote:
If I was so close-minded as you claim, would I be having discussions with disbelievers and polytheists (
I cant remember seeing you having a discussion with polytheists ..can you point me to such posts?

You see everything but observe nothing!!

So what about all the Trinity / dspike drama. BTW that was the biggest anticlimax I observed on this thread.

You don't understand what "associating partners with GOD" is and therefore cannot recognize. For insight into that, STUDY ISLAM.

if you believe that Jesus was anything more than a man, a human, who has to die, who had to eat and drink, who will be resurrected by GOD on the day of Judgment, who will be judged by GOD (except if exempted for a particular reason) OR if you believe he is the son of God or SON OF GOD or is GOD as part of Trinity, or worship him (Jesus) or say he (Jesus) is the LORD (meaning creator or sustainer) or has any part in Lordship or Divinity, THEN YOU FALL UNDER THE CATEGORY OF POLYTHEIST!!!
Sorry to put it so bluntly but for the purpose of discussion, this is the truth as far as Islam is concerned. I will ask M_2NR to say otherwise?? If he be truthful (for crossdrilled sake.)

LOL the very reason I ask this question was because, I suspected that your lack of understanding the christian faith has led you to believe they are polytheists ,which also proves that you don't have a clue about polytheism ...what Muslims generally accuse Christians of is trithesim not polytheism

Polytheism is the belief of multiple deities also usually assembled into a pantheon of gods and goddesses, along with their own mythologies and rituals......wiki

my question to you now is how many deities does Christians believes in? not one?
but I guess its because the author of the koran erroneously thought that Christians believe in three gods... you are just following in his footsteps ...lol all knowing my a........ah mean big toe!

Pal,
Polytheism is the doctrine of or belief in more than one god.
Anyone who associates partners with THE ONE TRUE GOD in Lordship or Divinity or Names and Attributes is a mushrik, a polytheist, whether he sees it or not.

Please clarify your belief pertaining to Jesus as I have highlighted above and I will show you the error of your ways (or at least the muslim perspective).

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 20th, 2012, 5:01 am

crossdrilled wrote:But that dream was real!! and i was told that my revalations will supersceed all other religions. I was also told that... I am still not allowed to eat pork... so it hadda be real :(

I was told in a dream that you were p_ss_ whipped into following a religion, staying away from pork, going to mosque. Otherwise how it goh look!!

d spike

Postby d spike » July 20th, 2012, 7:51 am

AdamB wrote:It's unfortunate that believers in GOD decide to show up when the word "POLYTHEISM" is mentioned but were conveniently absent when mankind was saying that stripclubs are morally good.

"conveniently absent"???
Some of us have a life, pal. I have an estate to run, cars to fix, and adolescent children, all of whom require my time, and bring me far more joy than suffering through the rabid howlings that you have turned this thread into.
Just because you think that you have some moral obligation to stand on this street corner, ranting and raving, does not mean that any other person is obligated to do so as well.
In fact, this is just symptomatic of the complex you are afflicted by... your need to apply/inflict all your personal decisions on others.

Personally, this just shows that you refuse to read what I have written - so why I bother responding, I don't know (idleness on my part, must be) for attempting to be rational in a discussion with you is like waving a handkerchief at a raging bull.
I have made it quite clear that my opinion is that one is free to make choices and live with the consequences. I have never condemned anyone here for the choices they decide to make in life.

I am not here to discuss morality. This thread was supposed to discuss the encounters one has with God... how so much like all so-called "religious" men you are, to shift from this to judging others. History repeats itself, they say. What's next, a stoning session for aberrant tuners?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 20th, 2012, 9:17 am

Dspike,
Everyone has a life pal and you're not the only "believer in GOD" on this thread, I'm sure of that.
if you haven't noticed, this thread has evolved into a religion discussion with appropriate name change.
Morality (and righteous action) is linked to religion, most would agree with that. Although we have atheists claiming to have self-developed morals and apparently theists who don't give a damn about it!?

Postby Chimera » July 20th, 2012, 9:40 am

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » July 20th, 2012, 10:07 am

rename to islamic discussion......

Postby Chimera » July 20th, 2012, 10:08 am

why? all religions are being discussed.

Postby Sky » July 20th, 2012, 10:21 am

Humes

Postby Humes » July 20th, 2012, 8:14 pm

With one post, smeed made thermaltake and AdamB look even more pathetic. Real, real sad.

Thanks for your contribution smeed. I might not share your beliefs, but I appreciate the fact that you're not an ignorant, overbearing, hypocritical azzhole.

d spike

Postby d spike » July 20th, 2012, 11:57 pm

AdamB wrote:Dspike,
Everyone has a life pal and you're not the only "believer in GOD" on this thread, I'm sure of that.

You aren't fooling anyone - except yourself. That previous remark of yours was quite clearly and specifically aimed. You really think no-one can look back at previous posts and see who posted what? (THAT would explain a lot of your posts, though...)

AdamB wrote:if you haven't noticed, this thread has evolved into a religion discussion with appropriate name change.

I have noticed.
I have also noticed your inability to discuss religion in a rational manner.
Hopefully, you will soon be taught the difference between discussing things and lambasting those who hold differing opinions.

AdamB wrote:Morality (and righteous action) is linked to religion, most would agree with that. Although we have atheists claiming to have self-developed morals and apparently theists who don't give a damn about it!?

Last time I checked, it was a free country and I could discuss what I wished.
My purpose in taking part in this thread was to correct some errors that were being touted as truth - errors in an area I am quite familiar with.
I have no wish to tell others what to do - THAT is not my job here. If you think it is yours, then hats off to you, cheer-o, good luck.

This is a public forum in which all sorts of things are discussed and displayed, including (and not restricted to) NWS material and some quite remarkable invitations to some even more remarkable activities. To sit here in this little corner and be all prude seems rather blind and even hypocritical... if you really feel that way, you shouldn't even be on Trinituner until it is all sanitized and pure... or better yet, why don't you go on those threads and chastise the immoral folk there? (I think this argument was dealt with before.)

The fact remains that we are all here in this life, with decisions to make...
d spike wrote:Let it suffice to say that your knowledge of right and wrong is yours to judge your own actions, what is truth for you, what is acceptable for you... not to tell others what to do or believe. They must be allowed to exercise that same gift in their lives - in order for the choice they make to be truly theirs.

Postby RBphoto » July 21st, 2012, 12:45 am

Anyone want to follow me yet?

sweetiepaper

Postby sweetiepaper » July 21st, 2012, 9:43 am

^ where is your destination?

sweetiepaper

Postby sweetiepaper » July 21st, 2012, 10:04 am

TonyM wrote:God creates man, his greatest creation. God creates man to desperately require drinking water to live. God puts man on a planet 2/3 covered with water, but made it salt water than man cannot drink. Intelligent Design!

God creates the earth for his greatest creation to live, but makes it a tiny planet in some small solar system in an obscure part of a galaxy. Intelligent Design!

God makes all living things on earth, but then wipes out 99% of it in a flood because they didn't turn out they way God intended. Intelligent Design!

God created everything. He made hearts automatically beat, lungs work. He gave animals and humans the natural instincts to survive, hunt, feed, reproduce, nurture the young. But then needed to reveal a book on how to live and worship. Intelligent Design!

God gave man free will but then commanded man to do exactly as he says or burn in eternal damnation in a fiery hell. Intelligent Design!

TonyM, how do you think life started on earth?

Postby MG Man » July 21st, 2012, 10:07 am

why must there be a destination?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 21st, 2012, 11:08 pm

d spike wrote:
AdamB wrote:Dspike,

That previous remark of yours was quite clearly and specifically aimed. YES, aimed at believers in GOD!!
AdamB wrote:if you haven't noticed, this thread has evolved into a religion discussion with appropriate name change.

I have noticed.
I have also noticed your inability to discuss religion in a rational manner.
Hopefully, you will soon be taught the difference between discussing things and lambasting those who hold differing opinions.
Awaiting to be taught. lol
I said it before, this is religion discussion and I present the views of Islam. I don't lambast, I ask for evidence of where your beliefs originate. That's the difference with Islam compared to other religions, we base what we believe and what we do on evidence. We look down on newly invented matters in religion / worship because the consequence of these are in the fire.

AdamB wrote:Morality (and righteous action) is linked to religion, most would agree with that. Although we have atheists claiming to have self-developed morals and apparently theists who don't give a damn about it!?

Last time I checked, it was a free country and I could discuss what I wished.
My purpose in taking part in this thread was to correct some errors that were being touted as truth - errors in an area I am quite familiar with.
I have no wish to tell others what to do - THAT is not my job here. If you think it is yours, then hats off to you, cheer-o, good luck.
Since you're one of the foremost with knowledge about Jesus, was he sent (or did he come) to correct errors but not tell people what to do? Maybe you can tell us what he would have said about stripclubs. He probably would have said, "Let whosoever that is without sin, cast the first stone" but not "the wages of sin is death".

Similarly, I'm not interested in your motives. If you don't want to comment on moral issues, all I'm saying is that others should (if they think it's religion-related).

This is a public forum in which all sorts of things are discussed and displayed, including (and not restricted to) NWS material and some quite remarkable invitations to some even more remarkable activities. To sit here in this little corner and be all prude seems rather blind and even hypocritical... if you really feel that way, you shouldn't even be on Trinituner until it is all sanitized and pure... or better yet, why don't you go on those threads and chastise the immoral folk there? (I think this argument was dealt with before.)
I am taking part in this discussion for now, if and when I have time I may consider your suggestion.
The fact remains that we are all here in this life, with decisions to make...
d spike wrote:Let it suffice to say that your knowledge of right and wrong is yours to judge your own actions, what is truth for you, what is acceptable for you... not to tell others what to do or believe. They must be allowed to exercise that same gift in their lives - in order for the choice they make to be truly theirs.

BTW I also have a job, an estate, vehicles to maintain, adolescents AND toddlers.

d spike

Postby d spike » July 21st, 2012, 11:28 pm

MG Man wrote:why must there be a destination?

Believing in a destination allows those insecure folk who are convinced that they are going in the right direction, to feel good about themselves by sneering at and chastising those who are not perceived to be going in the same direction.

Postby Sky » July 21st, 2012, 11:57 pm

A question for the religious folk. Why does your god want us to be good to each other and ourselves?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 22nd, 2012, 6:16 am

d spike wrote:

Believing in a destination allows those insecure folk who are convinced that they are going in the right direction, to feel good about themselves by sneering at and chastising those who are not perceived to be going in the same direction.

so why did GOD send prophets like the ones named in the bible and the ones not named to other peoples? Were the prophets the most insecure because they pointed people to a particular direction? Well Jonah literally tried to jump ship but look what happened to him!!

Postby RBphoto » July 22nd, 2012, 9:21 am

AdamB wrote:
d spike wrote:

so why did GOD send prophets like the ones named in the bible and the ones not named to other peoples? Were the prophets the most insecure because they pointed people to a particular direction? Well Jonah literally tried to jump ship but look what happened to him!!

Cool story bro...

Postby maj. tom » July 22nd, 2012, 10:13 am

AdamB wrote:
d spike wrote:

I think I gonna use this Monty Python sketch on this thread for these kind of lulz.

d spike

Postby d spike » July 22nd, 2012, 11:57 am

d spike wrote:I was not referring to the prophets, but rather the average insecure Joe, who feels the need to create and dominate little information-lacking cul-de-sacs like this one, to boost his ego, mistaking vanity and blindness for religious superiority.

Before anyone gets all hot and sweaty under the collar about this remark, stop and THINK for a while.
If this insults you, it's for one of two reasons:
Either the cap fits most comfortably; or
You are not aware of the following...

For a thread that has rambled on and on and on for three hundred and more pages on the topic of religion, one would think that the more learned tuner folks would have taken part in said discussion... but this isn't so.
Looking at other threads, it is quite clear that there are more than a few tuners who are well versed in their respective religions - yet they don't post here. Why?

People who clearly think rationally (and this is something one can tell by the manner in which they present arguments) often steer clear of this thread. Why?

Illuminati, Lola... as for Humes, I was amazed when I saw him start to post regularly, and it'll be a sad day when he gives up in frustration...

...For both rational thought and true religious spirituality cannot compete with ego and pride on a public forum such as this.
Logic is shouted down, and fanaticism hammers spirituality into the ground in this arena. As any good protester knows, loud noises will drown out peace and reason in public - neither rational thinking nor brotherliness is raucous and snarling...

...and so, the more experienced folk wisely tread around this hole, not daring to step into this swirling mess of rabid and fanatical howling...

Fellows like maj. tom, enter the discussion, but are beaten off with snarls of ignorance and blindedness...
"Ignorance"? one might ask... but yes, IGNORANCE, says I. For where else in this universe of rational thought could one hold a discussion, where ideas are shared, yet folk refuse to look back to see if a particular matter was discussed already? If you are sharing it to benefit others, doesn't it make sense to look and see if they benefited from it BEFORE? What drives this sort of ignorance? VANITY... PRIDE... EGO.

This is on the internet. There is something called "a search engine". "Google". If you do not own a set of encyclopaedias, then all you have to do is TYPE YOUR QUESTION... or even just type a key word... but NO!! Not these Fanatics!! It must all be dragged upon the floor, in front of them, the Tuner Sanhedrin of our time, where they can peruse and pronounce judgement in full view of the cowering masses.

No bloody wonder certain tuners refuse to pass through this thread again!

As for me:
d spike wrote:When I first started browsing Tuner fairly recently, I used to read Bluefete's "God" thread in amazement (while not the most accurate word, that's the most polite word I can use to describe how I felt), but I never even wished to voice an opinion. This decision was based on my experiences regarding discussions amongst differing faiths. While it sounds like a good idea to compare differences, observe similarities, and generally learn of different ways of looking at the same thing, this never works for religion, unless the persons involved share a strong sense of trust, respect, wisdom and maturity - as well as a very good grasp of language.
Thus it is that whenever average people discuss religion (especially Christianity) it soon turns into either a competition, an evangelistic affair, or a fight - or all three, in that order.
But then someone I know, who is fed up of the nonsense that passes for the fundamentalist view on Tuner, started a 'religiously-themed' thread just to see how foolish these goodly folk could get - and lad, did they ever.
Then I realised that the only view representing those who consider the teachings of the Christ more than just interesting, were a handful of blinded literalists whose only knowledge of scripture was what they were fed.
And here is my conundrum: When I read Bluefete's thread, I was quite certain the spouted nonsense I came across was precisely that - because of what I knew. Suppose I didn't know... then my assumption would be that despite whatever sense Jesus' words might make, his followers are all complete imbeciles. If a drink has a magnificent bouquet, but all who drink it go mad - then bet your last cent I ain't tasting it.
And so I have decided (against the better judgment of most of my peers) to attempt to be the voice of reason - not for the benefit of Bluefete, or Sir Civic, or this Megadoc1... but for the curiously minded who might otherwise shy away from delving into what could result in a better understanding of why we all are here.

Humes

Postby Humes » July 22nd, 2012, 2:00 pm

Well said, d spike, and thanks.

I mostly started posting in this thread regularly because at some point early on, these fellas were posting lies (not beliefs, LIES) as truth and it bothered me that they might be convincing fence-sitters with that ole talk. People deserve access to proper and factual information before making their choices.

Now, though, I doh even think that necessary. Because anyone who can eat up the level sh1t these fellas talkin, and observin the manner in which they spew that sh1t...probably eh worth helpin in the first place.

d spike

Postby d spike » July 22nd, 2012, 9:56 pm

Humes wrote:Well said, d spike, and thanks.

I mostly started posting in this thread regularly because at some point early on, these fellas were posting lies (not beliefs, LIES) as truth and it bothered me that they might be convincing fence-sitters with that ole talk. People deserve access to proper and factual information before making their choices.

Now, though, I doh even think that necessary. Because anyone who can eat up the level sh1t these fellas talkin, and observin the manner in which they spew that sh1t...probably eh worth helpin in the first place.

True... I dare say I never looked at it quite that way.
It is a pity that with a soap-box, enough invective and vigour (a few flecks of foam at the corner of the mouth doesn't hurt) and a battered scrap of scripture, one man can twist a small truth and lead so many sheep into darkness...

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 22nd, 2012, 11:26 pm

The simple answer is that the Unseen GOD that we believe in says so! We believe and trusts in what HE says.

How about the UNSEEN GOD promises those who Believe in Him, obey His Commands, perform Good deeds and stay away from his prohibitions, then they will be rewarded with an existing but UNSEEN Paradise, to dwell therein forever. That is what HE said.

Those who disobey will be punished in hellfire. That is what HE said.

Why is good good and evil evil? Why is good not evil and evil not good? Why is there even good and evil?

What is the alternative? Absolutely no purpose in life? Then why don't we see people committing suicide left, right and centre?

I will ask this question - DO THOSE (ATHEISTS) WHO DON'T BELIEVE UNSURE THAT THEY DON'T BELIEVE?

ARE THEY SURE THAT WHAT THEY DON'T BELIEVE IN REALLY DON'T EXIST?

Postby MG Man » July 22nd, 2012, 11:51 pm

unlike you, my lack of belief is an open door..............anytime someone can propose a sensible, logical argument for the existence of a creator, cool........until then, I have no reason to believe one exists, especially one that takes attendance etc

btw your first line 'The simple answer is that the Unseen GOD that we believe in says so!' makes no sense whatsoever and is at best a weak attempt at proving your point

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 23rd, 2012, 12:14 am

MG Man wrote:unlike you, my lack of belief is an open door..............anytime someone can propose a sensible, logical argument for the existence of a creator, cool........until then, I have no reason to believe one exists, especially one that takes attendance etc

btw your first line 'The simple answer is that the Unseen GOD that we believe in says so!' makes no sense whatsoever and is at best a weak attempt at proving your point

Isn't it seemingly established that believers believe in an Unseen GOD, so that cannot be proven with the tangible evidence you are looking for.

By extension, the reason and existence of a "destination" cannot be proven.

The question you asked was why must there be a destination? I guess you didn't see the words REWARD AND PUNISHMENT.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 23rd, 2012, 12:25 am

Humes wrote:Well said, d spike, and thanks.

Time for all this and no time to say a 2 cents about a morality issue?

Anyway I get what you're saying, also noticed mostly atheists on this thread and a few haters jump in to get in a cheap punch or two. Which makes me wonder after over 300 pages, why are atheists so interested in religion or the views of those who believe in GOD if they are certain that said GOD does not exist? WHAT IS THE MOTIVATING FACTOR??

Postby MG Man » July 23rd, 2012, 12:38 am

AdamB wrote:
The question you asked was why must there be a destination? I guess you didn't see the words REWARD AND PUNISHMENT.

typical
reward and punishment............the easiest way to control simple minds

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 23rd, 2012, 10:58 am

MG and others,

Can you please comment on:
Why is good good and evil evil? Why is good not evil and evil not good? Why is there even good and evil?

What is the alternative? Absolutely no purpose in life? Then why don't we see people committing suicide left, right and centre?

I will ask this question - DO THOSE (ATHEISTS) WHO DON'T BELIEVE UNSURE THAT THEY DON'T BELIEVE?

ARE THEY SURE THAT WHAT THEY DON'T BELIEVE IN REALLY DON'T EXIST?

To some extent evil might support the TOE's "Survival of the Fittest" hypothesis...so the Dark Knight who blazed guns in Colorado and others like him should be considered the future of the human race??

What is the purpose of your existence, MG and others?

Postby MG Man » July 23rd, 2012, 1:41 pm

I am here now, and I am self aware..........when I die,I have no reason to believe there is anything afterward........my consciousness will fade and I will once again become star dust
That is enough for me..........however, for most people, this is not a pleasant thought, hence, mankind's consciousness creates the idea of god to help him feel relevant in the big scheme of things........and growing out of the idea of god, is the idea of religion, as a need for social control and maintaining the cultural status quo.........religion is a an evolutionary response

re your good / evil questions, good and evil are just words applied to certain groups of perceptions
The same way you justify allegations of the prophet being a pedophile by saying what is bad now, was acceptable back then.....