COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

nismotrinidappa

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name "COVID 19"

Postby nismotrinidappa » March 8th, 2020, 11:09 pm

I heard an article.
1. Hard for virus to survive in hot climate.

2. Melanin...melatonin pigmentation seems to be a important factor..i.e skin tone may protect you ..

Anybody can confirm or have an input on cases with brown and dark skin people?

Postby paid_influencer » March 8th, 2020, 11:18 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:I heard an article.

2. Melanin...melatonin pigmentation seems to be a important factor..i.e skin tone may protect you ..

warmer and more humid weather decreases transmission, which is why we have a "flu season."

The skin pigmentation thing sounds like complete BS.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 8th, 2020, 11:43 pm

Besides the toilet paper issue in Australia, for quite some time now, Chinese people are buying baby formula in huge numbers to ship to China. They are basically creating a shortage for Aussies to resell and fulfill demand in China.

Postby sMASH » March 9th, 2020, 12:47 am

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:below is a post from a surgeon in the affected part of Italy.
https://np.reddit.com/r/medicine/commen ... mo_in_the/
original post (in Italian):
https://www.facebook.com/daniele.macchi ... 2210500625

if you work in health care, it is a good read to see what is coming

yeah, italy and china now, but wit exponential increase many other countries including the US and maybe even T&T could be facing a very worrying situation

we are about to live through a horror movie of sorts. get your popcorn ready.

not stocking up on popcorn. too afraid vermin might get to it.

rest of stuff already stocked up and ready though. I going to start on my entertainment supplies next: speakers, video games, etc., to get me through the long quarantine without going mad.

put it in a pigtail bucket.... with the cover properly on.

Postby redmanjp » March 9th, 2020, 2:13 am

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/08/experts-coronavirus-high-risk-for-diabetics/

Experts: Coronavirus, high risk for diabetics
Patients with uncontrolled diabetes have a higher risk of mortality if infected with covid19, endocrinology specialist Dr La Vern A Scott advised on Saturday.

"Diabetes paralyses the immune system, diabetics don't do well with infections," Scott said.

"Having exposure to the coronavirus makes them more susceptible to get the infection but when they are infected...their ability to overcome the infection is less than a non-diabetic."

He made these remarks at the launch of Toujeo – a new treatment for patients with type one and two diabetes, at Hilton Trinidad, Port of Spain.

Costa Rican specialist Dr Chih Hao Chen Ku explained the coronavirus will pose a higher risk to diabetics with high blood glucose levels when compared to those with regulated blood glucose levels. Patients with organ damage and other complications, such as cardiovascular disease, also face increased risk from the coronavirus.

There are an estimated 117,000 people in TT living with diabetes according to recent figures by the International Diabetes Federation and the World Health Organisation says the disease is one of the world's leading causes of death.

Postby redmanjp » March 9th, 2020, 2:27 am

US army getting involved-things not looking good when that happens

Postby Gladiator » March 9th, 2020, 6:09 am

That's BS...

Postby Gladiator » March 9th, 2020, 6:11 am

Everyone works in a building with AC...nice and cool for the virus to live.

Some schools AC down too.
paid_influencer wrote:

warmer and more humid weather decreases transmission, which is why we have a "flu season."

The skin pigmentation thing sounds like complete BS.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 9th, 2020, 11:42 am

So it's about 2 weeks since Carnival and no reports of Covid-19 here yet? Where the naysayers and crybabies?

Where the, 'let we delay Carnival till May' crowd gone? Hope you realized delaying till May when tens of thousands have it in the USA by then would have been disastrous.

Btw, I jump up in 6 fetes Carnival week, play mas in 3 bands, meet, greet and wine with endless foreign girls. Not even a sore throat or runny nose since.

Dohplaydat

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name

Postby Dohplaydat » March 9th, 2020, 11:43 am

Gladiator wrote:That's BS...

First one might be true, but the impact isn't as great as one would have hoped it seems.

Postby nemisis » March 9th, 2020, 12:20 pm

If number 2 was true, you could imagine caucasians loosing there minds when they find out black people less likely to get it to begin with. The lolllllz!!!!

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » March 9th, 2020, 12:28 pm

Trinidad is going to be the only country that covid19 "never hit"... oh btw, those ppl are dying from the normal flu, not covid... /s

As i keep hearing, this place is unreal.
All the purell and lysol sold out nationally.
But we 'safe'... no 'confirmed cases'.. but everybody coughing and sneezing and ships landings..

And businesses somehow 'afraid' to send some staff to work from home, because why? steups.

These two vids are very informative.

Postby Ben_spanna » March 9th, 2020, 1:13 pm

people going crazy down under... fighting for toilet paper and almost fighting over " did you cough AT me" ? its like people everywhere are losing their minds.

Postby redmanjp » March 9th, 2020, 1:18 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:So it's about 2 weeks since Carnival and no reports of Covid-19 here yet? Where the naysayers and crybabies?

Where the, 'let we delay Carnival till May' crowd gone? Hope you realized delaying till May when tens of thousands have it in the USA by then would have been disastrous.

Btw, I jump up in 6 fetes Carnival week, play mas in 3 bands, meet, greet and wine with endless foreign girls. Not even a sore throat or runny nose since.

some have no symptoms- peak prosperity on youtube pointed to the fact that 600 on a cruise ship also had no symptoms- they were tested and 70% were positive for covid19.

you may not have symptoms but you could still be a carrier- and the incubation period eh finish yet- it's 14 days, 2 to go

they aren't testing anyone with a mild case- so only someone with a link to foreign travel from the banned countries- or perhaps someone with health conditions shows up at hospital with trouble breathing (the virus attacks the lungs) then they might test but by that time another 20 ppl have it but don't know, that's what's happening in some place like Washington- CDC admitted it went undetected for weeks!
Last edited by redmanjp on March 9th, 2020, 2:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 9th, 2020, 1:41 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:So it's about 2 weeks since Carnival and no reports of Covid-19 here yet? Where the naysayers and crybabies?

some have no symptoms- peak prosperity on youtube pointed to the fact that 600 on a cruise ship also had no symptoms- they were tested and 70% were positive for covid19.

you may not have symptoms but you could still be a carrier- and the incubation period eh finish yet- it's 14 days, 2 to go

I agree with him. It's unlikely we had any carnival Corona cases.

Also it's 2 to 14 days with 14 being the tail end of that distribution so it's rare that it will show no symptoms for 14 days unless you're asymptomatic (Also possible).

Also, the carnival peeps arrived mostly during carnival week. So it's well past 14 days since they've been here. Either way, yea it might be too soon to say there were no cases resulting from Carnival, buy my money is on that there were none.

Postby matr1x » March 9th, 2020, 3:49 pm

Chinese built hospital in 6 days.......hotel in China collapsed and killed quarantined ppl.

You sure you want Chinese to build things? They can't see good in the first place

Postby Kenjo » March 9th, 2020, 5:18 pm

matr1x wrote:Chinese built hospital in 6 days.......hotel in China collapsed and killed quarantined ppl.

You sure you want Chinese to build things? They can't see good in the first place

Different building which was a hotel built in 2018 but still they always have shoddy work

Postby adnj » March 9th, 2020, 6:03 pm

matr1x wrote:Chinese built hospital in 6 days.......hotel in China collapsed and killed quarantined ppl.

The Wuhan Covid-19 hospital was built from prefabricated modules.

The collapsed hotel quarantine was built and owned by a private company. The Chinese government has announced their intention to take the hotel owner into custody.

[URL]https://youtu.be/53nhErXUd9A
[/URL]

[IMG]https://i.ytimg.com/vi/53nhErXUd9A/maxresdefault.jpg
[/IMG]

Postby hydroep » March 9th, 2020, 6:39 pm

Authorities have extended quarantine measures to the whole of Italy...:shock:

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-51810673

Contrary to the experience of other countries the Italians are seeing severe infections in younger people.

This is some serious shyte.

Postby paid_influencer » March 9th, 2020, 7:18 pm

VP Pence directing people to:

coronavirus.gov

for updated guidelines for work/home/etc.

US gov't working on tax relief, grants, loan extensions, etc, to cope with economic cost of necessary quarantine

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2020, 7:46 pm

Doh forget them Europeans greet each other with kiss on both sides of face

hydroep wrote:Authorities have extended quarantine measures to the whole of Italy...:shock:

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-51810673

Contrary to the experience of other countries the Italians are seeing severe infections in younger people.

This is some serious shyte.

ftitan

Postby ftitan » March 9th, 2020, 7:49 pm

Don't want to be the average fearmonger so I'm going to list sources for my claims. Feel free to refute with stronger evidence.

What I really want to find out is if anyone knows what kind of testing they're using in CARPHA for coronavirus. Articles make it seem like they're testing everyone once and that's that. Like I'm genuinely interested in someone clearing this up.
Because current testing methods give a lot of false-negatives and throat swab testing will give a very high false-negative rate.
source: https://archive.is/yyGJm#selection-1183.0-1183.112

Dohplaydat wrote:Btw, I jump up in 6 fetes Carnival week, play mas in 3 bands, meet, greet and wine with endless foreign girls. Not even a sore throat or runny nose since.

Those aren't the average symptoms. Dry cough, fever, shortness of breath are the symptoms. Asymptomatic carriers are uncommon. But maybe you're right.
https://www.kwqc.com/content/news/Knowi ... 32871.html

Also, the 14 day incubation period was based off previous MERS cases. Current data shows 24 days with one freak case showing it can incubate for up to 27 days. So I won't say we're out of the woods yet.
source: https://www.independent.co.uk/news/worl ... 26591.html
https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101 ... 20020974v1
https://www.pharmaceutical-technology.c ... d-27-days/
Last edited by ftitan on March 9th, 2020, 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2020, 7:55 pm

Bad flus tend to hit you sudden though, you get hit with serious fever and body aches
Unlike a common cold which you often feel coming on and usually can still function somewhat.

Postby paid_influencer » March 9th, 2020, 8:03 pm

the first few rounds of exponential spread are shockingly boring. Right now we would be on square 2, assuming something came in during the last 2 weeks.
6RJEW9g.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » March 9th, 2020, 9:09 pm

you know if I live through the coronavirus thing, I'm going to take a cruise. They actually look really fun and they'll be cheap even with a really good room. Disney has the best ones I think

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 9th, 2020, 10:33 pm

pugboy wrote:Bad flus tend to hit you sudden though, you get hit with serious fever and body aches
Unlike a common cold which you often feel coming on and usually can still function somewhat.

For me I've only ever had 2 bad flus and they are distinctly different to virus or colds we have occasionally. Biggest difference aside from the severity is how long they last. I once had a flu for what felt like a month, with almost 2 weeks of that month I felt like utter sheit.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 9th, 2020, 11:10 pm

COVID-19: median incubation period is 5.1 days - similar to SARS, 97.5% develop symptoms within 11.5 days. Current 14 day quarantine recommendation is 'reasonable' - 1% will develop symptoms after release from 14 day quarantine. N = 181 from China.

https://annals.org/aim/fullarticle/2762 ... y-reported

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 10th, 2020, 5:30 am

what can i use to store 3 months ah rice and flour ?i expect when this hit TT we get a state of emergency, schools closed, people told to work from home, only one person from family allowed out in the streets, gathering of people will he banned so it will be some stress.

Postby Redman » March 10th, 2020, 6:21 am

There is a ton of information online on long term food storage....preppers.

Postby adnj » March 10th, 2020, 8:28 am

screwbash wrote:what can i use to store 3 months ah rice and flour ?i expect when this hit TT we get a state of emergency, schools closed, people told to work from home, only one person from family allowed out in the streets, gathering of people will he banned so it will be some stress.
I just did a web search:

Whole-grain and alternative flours keep for up to three months in a cool, dry place such as a pantry, or about six months in a refrigerator or freezer. Nut flours should be stored at least in the refrigerator, and they can be kept, frozen, up to a year before they go bad.Nov 15, 2017