***The Official 2021 Formula 1 season thread***

oliverqueen

Re: ***The Official 2019 Formula 1 season thread***

Postby oliverqueen » August 4th, 2019, 1:22 am

when i was small i used to pronunce it 'grand pricks' instead of 'grand pree' lol

Postby Monk BANzai » August 4th, 2019, 2:05 am

worksux101 wrote:Barring extremes of weather (rain or scorching heat), or random safety cars, there's likely to be nothing interesting about the race bar turn 1.

What makes turn 1 interesting is that the top 2 aren't the best off the line, while Ham and Seb are exceptional.
Similarly, the RBR is the slowest in sector 1, followed by the Merc and the Ferrari being the fastest.
All things being equal, there's a possibility of 5 cars getting to turn 1 at the same time.
Other than that, france 2.0

oh ye of likkle faith...we said the same of the London GP and look how marvelous that turned out...

Postby bluefete » August 4th, 2019, 2:51 am

oliverqueen wrote:when i was small i used to pronunce it 'grand pricks' instead of 'grand pree' lol

Looks at name, reads comments, shakes head.

Postby bluefete » August 4th, 2019, 1:19 pm

Hamilton Wins!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What a Finish to the Hungarian Grand Prix.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/formu ... death.html

Postby Monk BANzai » August 4th, 2019, 1:56 pm

bluefete wrote:Hamilton Wins!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

why are you here? lol this is for "regulars"......

But yes..excellent strategy to put Hamilcrei back at the top...

*awaits dissertation of the race by others...

Postby teems1 » August 4th, 2019, 2:02 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:

Dissertation you say.

This was a simple case of Merc simply having a better strategy and Hamilton putting the hammer down when asked to.

69 point lead over Max going into summer break. Good times in the Lewis camp.

Bottas needs to step his game up otherwise Ocon is getting that seat.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 4th, 2019, 2:39 pm

I honestly can't think of Ocon being on the same level as the other young guns

Postby bluefete » August 4th, 2019, 2:46 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: I am a man of many talents!!!!!!!

Like you neva read my ... ahem ... one or two posts before!!

That was a boss strategic call by Mercs team and although Hamilton queried, he did what he was told and won a fantastic race.

antlind

Postby antlind » August 4th, 2019, 2:55 pm

bluefete wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:

That was a boss strategic call by Mercs team and although Hamilton queried, he did what he was told and won a fantastic race.

Agreed. Strategy paid off. But there was no way Hammy could get past Verstappen had they been equipped with equal tires. That young boy is destined for great things I think.
And as for Bottas, couldn’t mess things up any more than he did........I think its adios mi amigo for him next year.
Also great run by Sainz. I think Gasly is also headed to the Exit door.

Postby bluefete » August 4th, 2019, 5:20 pm

antlind wrote:And as for Bottas, couldn’t mess things up any more than he did........I think its adios mi amigo for him next year.Also great run by Sainz. I think Gasly is also headed to the Exit door.

I think that Bottas thought he would be Mercs' top gun by now. You can see his mind is messed up and that is affecting his driving.

I think Mercs has another young 'un waiting in the wings and when Hamilton goes, it may not be Bottas taking over.

It is tough though to know that there were races that he could have won and team management told him to step back and let Hamilton win. That must play on your mind at some time. He is only human.

antlind

Postby antlind » August 4th, 2019, 5:31 pm

bluefete wrote:
antlind wrote:And as for Bottas, couldn’t mess things up any more than he did........I think its adios mi amigo for him next year.Also great run by Sainz. I think Gasly is also headed to the Exit door.

I think that Bottas thought he would be Mercs' top gun by now. You can see his mind is messed up and that is affecting his driving.

I think Mercs has another young 'un waiting in the wings and when Hamilton goes, it may not be Bottas taking over.

It is tough though to know that there were races that he could have won and team management told him to step back and let Hamilton win. That must play on your mind at some time. He is only human.

Bottas needs to follow Rosberg and go see a shrink for some mental counselling. But you’re right, I think the psychological aspect of this sport is equally as tough as the physical side.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 4th, 2019, 7:16 pm

antlind wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:

Agreed. Strategy paid off. But there was no way Hammy could get past Verstappen had they been equipped with equal tires. That young boy is destined for great things I think.
And as for Bottas, couldn’t mess things up any more than he did........I think its adios mi amigo for him next year.

Yup..to me they both performed today...to Say max was driver of the day is to ignore the drive that Hamilcrei did to catch and dispose of max...and to say Lewis had an excellent drive is to not observe Max's brilliant drive and defense.

Bottas was a innocent passenger of the first lap... i thought Le Crec's pull in on him wud've given the Stewards something to look at...but it was hard racing...

But not tmention the other newbies.... Albon's scrap with Kyvvat ...Norris who cud have ended up higher had it not been for that clumsy stop..... Sainz...finally getting his pound of flesh nudging behind the top three.... Good racing all-round.

as silly season progresses:
Gasly, Bottas and BOTH Haas drivers.

3 weeks rest... i going n set up meh scalextric set yes.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 4th, 2019, 11:59 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:
antlind wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:

Yup..to me they both performed today...to Say max was driver of the day is to ignore the drive that Hamilcrei did to catch and dispose of max...and to say Lewis had an excellent drive is to not observe Max's brilliant drive and defense.

Bottas was a innocent passenger of the first lap... i thought Le Crec's pull in on him wud've given the Stewards something to look at...but it was hard racing...

But not tmention the other newbies.... Albon's scrap with Kyvvat ...Norris who cud have ended up higher had it not been for that clumsy stop..... Sainz...finally getting his pound of flesh nudging behind the top three.... Good racing all-round.

whats with the dissertation? :lol:

Bottas' endplate got dislodged when Hamilton hit him. On the replay you can see the sparks. It just got worse by LeClerc.

Toto said this summer would decide Bottas...hard to imagine Ocon not getting the seat next year or even after summer considering theyre the only top team without youth. Wont be surprised to see Kvyat take Gasly's spot either.

All the talk about youth though and ultimately they all got beaten today by their closest rival, so nice to see the old guard still has it in them.
Max by Ham. LeCLerc by Seb. Albon (whose fast becoming my favourite on the grid) by Kvyat. Norris by Sainz. Gio by Kimi.

Postby MG Man » August 5th, 2019, 9:50 am

Bottas lost his seat when he moved for Max to pass him

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 5th, 2019, 10:31 am

bluefete wrote:I think that Bottas thought he would be Mercs' top gun by now. You can see his mind is messed up and that is affecting his driving.

Bottas would have to be mad in his head to even begin to think that.

Seems like Hamilton's ability to win the World Championship is getting easier each year since Rosberg won.

And Ocon is even softer than Bottas. Look at how Perez used to abuse him at Force India.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 5th, 2019, 10:58 am

I don't believe Bottas thought he would be number one in the team... He probably thought the title fight would be closer.

For those who forgot... The year Rosberg won the title, Hamilton had about 4 DNFs more than him
Edit: wow... it was only one more DNF than Rosberg. It felt like 4

Postby Monk BANzai » August 5th, 2019, 3:49 pm

worksux101 wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:
antlind wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:

whats with the dissertation? :lol:

Bottas' endplate got dislodged when Hamilton hit him. On the replay you can see the sparks. It just got worse by LeClerc.

Toto said this summer would decide Bottas...hard to imagine Ocon not getting the seat next year or even after summer considering theyre the only top team without youth. Wont be surprised to see Kvyat take Gasly's spot either.

All the talk about youth though and ultimately they all got beaten today by their closest rival, so nice to see the old guard still has it in them.
Max by Ham. LeCLerc by Seb. Albon (whose fast becoming my favourite on the grid) by Kvyat. Norris by Sainz. Gio by Kimi.

AYE AYE!!! lol...

Postby janfar » August 8th, 2019, 4:10 am

Ocon for Bottas- He was shining in a car (force India) that wasnt supposed to shine in his rookie year.

Bottas replaces Kubica at Williams cuz thats where he belongs.

Kyvat for Gasly- Kyvat is outperforming is team mate and is doing well this year- he deserves a second chance.

Mic Shumacher- Bye bye RoGro. Hello Mic in a Haas for his rookie year in F1.

And last but certainly not least- Vettel's sabbatical (go and fix your problems at home) Replaced by the other guy with problems at home- Nico Rosberg.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 12th, 2019, 10:51 am

And just like that, Pierre gasly is demoted to Torro Rosso and replaced by Alexander Albon

Postby pete » August 12th, 2019, 10:56 am

Hopefully it's not too much pressure for a driver in his first F1 season.

Postby teems1 » August 12th, 2019, 11:43 am

pete wrote:Hopefully it's not too much pressure for a driver in his first F1 season.

Should have waited until end of season imo.

Toro Rosso both seats are ex RB drivers.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 12th, 2019, 11:35 pm

I suspect they dont trust kvyat to have the potential to reach max, while albon is unknown.
Also, albon has showed throughout his career that he adapts quickly, which u need mid season. If he's half decent, it'll give him a red bull seat next year.
Everyone says max is outdriving the car - now we'd find out if it really was just gasly selling the car short.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 12th, 2019, 11:41 pm

worksux101 wrote:I suspect they dont trust kvyat to have the potential to reach max, while albon is unknown.
Also, albon has showed throughout his career that he adapts quickly, which u need mid season. If he's half decent, it'll give him a red bull seat next year.
Everyone says max is outdriving the car - now we'd find out if it really was just gasly selling the car short.

Albon's tussle with Kyvvat is textbook early Verstappen as well eh...

I agree with you tho...of all the newbie's Albon is showing most promise to adapt as Hodna has been adapting to Max's driving..

2020 is gonna be gud...

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 13th, 2019, 12:01 am

He's alot more mature than Max was. He's lost control a few times in practice but never hit anyone. In his fight with Kvyat, he held his own while always giving his teammate space - I suspect that's what impressed marko just enough to push him over the edge.
Albon is also the only driver on the grid to prove he can go head to head with LeClerc.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 13th, 2019, 10:42 am

Couple of things
Dr. Helmut won't swallow his pride twice; did it once when he was forced to take back Kvyat

He appears to be more level headed than Max when engaging with other drivers wheel to wheel (mentioned above). I don't think he is the only driver who can go head to head with leclerc; Max would argue with you there

He was actually more impressive than Kvyat (if you exclude Hungary [edit: Germany]) for the first half of the season; he is more consistent and red bull racing still has a chance to take second in the constructors but they need a driver to finish closer to Max than gasly is.
Last edited by kamakazi on August 13th, 2019, 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 13th, 2019, 10:09 pm

kamakazi wrote:Couple of things
Dr. Helmut won't swallow his pride twice; did it once when he was forced to take back Kvyat

He appears to be more level headed than Max when engaging with other drivers wheel to wheel (mentioned above). I don't think he is the only driver who can go head to head with leclerc; Max would argue with you there

He was actually more impressive than Kvyat (if you exclude Hungary) for the first half of the season; he is more consistent and red bull racing still has a chance to take second in the constructors but they need a driver to finish closer to Max than gasly is.

I meant in the past, not this season...in F2 he regularly challenged LeClerc without incident, something Max couldn't do...arguably since Seb was given a penalty in Canada, Max should've as well.

Definitely agree about how impressive albon's been, while staying down to earth and honest...personally my fav driver alongside Seb.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 14th, 2019, 4:42 am

You know that saying past performance is no indication of what can happen in the future.

I'm not exactly sure what you are saying.
Max didn't race in F2 as far as I know, did have some coming together in karting with Charles. I understand that Albon is decent but to suggest that Max can't challenge Charles wheel to wheel without incident... Aaah NO. Proven by one or two laps prior to the incident in Austria.

The situations are different regarding the penalties, that is why Max didn't get one. (believe you are referring to vettel in Canada and Max in Austria)

To my previous statement. Not everyone that excels in the Junior formulas excel when you put them in bigger faster machinery and vice versa. Some get faster but some don't seem to improve

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 14th, 2019, 7:28 am

That's in no way what I'm saying, and as much as im an albon fan, it would be ludicrous to suggest he's better than max at the moment.
I'm simply stating that he's much better than many think, and his ability to keep up with LeClerc, who is widely considered the best of that foursome - lando, Russell, albon - shows that he's more suitable than the media are giving him credit for.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 14th, 2019, 1:48 pm

yeah...the last statement was a bit open-ended :)

Let's see how the second half of the season goes.
Still waiting on the decision that Toto is going to make

Postby MG Man » August 14th, 2019, 2:10 pm

kamakazi wrote:yeah...the last statement was a bit open-ended :)

Let's see how the second half of the season goes.
Still waiting on the decision that Toto is going to make

pretty sure Bottas done know he walking....they should draft Kimi ti run against hamtotee :lol: