Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

christopherwilliams2

Re: Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 7th, 2012, 8:22 am

I was very interested in the new Smart Plan...but there are some conditions...
1. you have to sign an 18 month contract.
2. you have to deposit 600 dollars that you'll get back when the 18 months are over.

that sucks.

firstchoicett

Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Postby firstchoicett » July 7th, 2012, 9:25 am

pete wrote:Dunno why this offer isn't on the website but I saw the ad on facebook.

yea I saw it in Facebook too . I hope I can get it 4 my biz plan. Already have 4 GB 4G . Just need more text and mins

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 7th, 2012, 10:36 am

Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Postby M_2NR » July 7th, 2012, 12:03 pm

Plans are online. It replaces some older plans. Existing customers have to redo contracts if you are taking a "smart" plan and you have to walk with 300$ more since there is a new credit limit scheme. It's all on the site.

hustla_ambition101 wrote:I kinda hoping they expire it, or hit us a "4g" upgrade. They need a good plan for blackberry though

na na. I can't come in again :oops: I wish they do hit us an auto upgrade to 1GB of 4G though but there current terms throw that out of the window :( (new sign ups and 18month plans with a higher credit limit)

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 7th, 2012, 2:24 pm

M_2NR wrote:Plans are online. It replaces some older plans. Existing customers have to redo contracts if you are taking a "smart" plan and you have to walk with 300$ more since there is a new credit limit scheme. It's all on the site.

hustla_ambition101 wrote:I kinda hoping they expire it, or hit us a "4g" upgrade. They need a good plan for blackberry though

na na. I can't come in again :oops: I wish they do hit us an auto upgrade to 1GB of 4G though but there current terms throw that out of the window :( (new sign ups and 18month plans with a higher credit limit)

Upgrade would be ideal, I mehself just riding the wave since I done a while now

Postby M_2NR » July 7th, 2012, 9:06 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Upgrade would be ideal, I mehself just riding the wave since I done a while now

ent! i really don't wanna have to go through anyone for a renewed package.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 18th, 2012, 10:53 am

Digicel 3 G down today .

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 18th, 2012, 11:11 am

No its not

Postby Stephon. » July 18th, 2012, 11:19 am

Look who aint pay their bill on time this month :lol:

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 18th, 2012, 2:40 pm

Lol my bill always have credit bro ....... They always owning me .... I find when I was in sando next to TSTT I was not getting nothing lol but when I move out from TSTT it worked .

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 21st, 2012, 2:13 pm

firstchoicett wrote:Digicel 3 G down today .

speed has dropped in curepe/st joseph area. would get 5-6Mbit/s on a 2Gb plan about three weeks ago; now i'm getting .2-.4 Mbit/s.

plan is paid for and i'm nowhere near the data cap

Postby M_2NR » July 21st, 2012, 2:23 pm

Corn Bird wrote:

speed has dropped in curepe/st joseph area. would get 5-6Mbit/s on a 2Gb plan about three weeks ago; now i'm getting .2-.4 Mbit/s.

monitor it very closely within the next few days then call and cuss. A padna of mine lost two months worth of data because of an error on their part.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 21st, 2012, 2:39 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Corn Bird wrote:

monitor it very closely within the next few days then call and cuss. A padna of mine lost two months worth of data because of an error on their part.

called in several times. didn't curse anyone (i don't agree with cursing some child who is working a phone and probably doesn't know much).

i'm trying to get an idea if any other tuners are seeing a decrease in download speed

by the way, my upload speed is still high -- 1 Mbit/s

Postby maj. tom » July 21st, 2012, 2:59 pm

^ yea around UWI area. Slow dl speeds since last week. May be some maintenance required on one of their towers.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » July 21st, 2012, 3:07 pm

Is the problem constant or during certain times of the day?

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 21st, 2012, 3:15 pm

shaneelal wrote:Is the problem constant or during certain times of the day?

it is a constant problem (at all times of the day) over the past few days for me in st.joseph

Postby M_2NR » July 21st, 2012, 5:54 pm

You should probably call and talk to someone higher than a CSR. There seems to be an issue with the throttling on accounts. As it got sorted out the guy got back the usual speeds. And I didn't literally mean curse :| I meant talk sternly.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 21st, 2012, 6:13 pm

M_2NR wrote:You should probably call and talk to someone higher than a CSR. There seems to be an issue with the throttling on accounts. As it got sorted out the guy got back the usual speeds. And I didn't literally mean curse :| I meant talk sternly.

it does seem as if it's being throttled as the download speed are closer to EDGE

then again major tom agrees that download speeds are down around curepe/st augustine

will check the speed in trincity and see what's happening.

csr says to bring the phone into maraval.

must say that digicel is very impressive -- their only real customer service center is a tiny waiting room in their head office in port of spain. bmobile at least has some service centers throughout the country

Postby M_2NR » July 21st, 2012, 7:27 pm

Corn Bird wrote:must say that digicel is very impressive -- their only real customer service center is a tiny waiting room in their head office in port of spain. bmobile at least has some service centers throughout the country

sarcasm noted. I was quite surprised myself that was the case. Although if you have major issues with bmobile you'd have to go the POS branch as well eh.

Tell them to reset everything. That's what they had to do with the guy account. They told him he had to go into maraval but he declined.

Postby S_2NR » July 21st, 2012, 7:34 pm

data on the whole runs slower on both networks in the uwi area. but school closed so i doubt its that.
if they throttling u, dont tolerate that crap.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 21st, 2012, 9:28 pm

Yes I find Digicel Data slow down alot on my plan I only use like 700 MB out of my 4 GB so far my speed drop to .4mb the past few days I did not really notice it since I was on WIFI most of the time but I did a lot of site visits this week and notice it ... Calling Digicel Monday ....

Postby maj. tom » July 21st, 2012, 10:06 pm

Maybe it is now that the network starting to take some load. Especially in that area.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 22nd, 2012, 12:32 am

getting .2 Mbit/s down and 1 Mbit/s up in trincity and o'meara.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 24th, 2012, 4:43 pm

Was getting that same speed can my Digicel Agent and my speed back up to 10 MB/s ;-)

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 24th, 2012, 6:27 pm

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1343168813.265893.jpg

Not bad

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 24th, 2012, 8:54 pm

firstchoicett wrote:Was getting that same speed can my Digicel Agent and my speed back up to 10 MB/s ;-)

it turned out that the problem was with my plan (which was paid for and not over limit), not my phone or coverage.

called in several times, said they would reset and to restart the phone. nada.

then i changed to a smart plan -- the instant the new plan registered, the speed went back to normal. also getting around 10 MB/s which is faster than i was getting before

really crap customer service at digicel, those morons can't even identify their own settings...

i suspect the problem has to do with transition from the free 1 month of 4G to my previous 2Gb plan

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 24th, 2012, 9:10 pm

Ok cool team green said them go be faster we go have to wait and see lol

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 24th, 2012, 9:18 pm

screenshot.jpg

if bmobile updated their coverage (and perhaps they did because i haven't checked in years) where i live then i would switch back to green. customer service at digicel is doggy doo

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 24th, 2012, 10:16 pm

Corn Bird wrote:
screenshot.jpg

if bmobile updated their coverage (and perhaps they did because i haven't checked in years) where i live then i would switch back to green. customer service at digicel is doggy doo

wow

thats good stuff

what phone are you using? your radio is fast!

Postby 16 cycles » July 25th, 2012, 7:24 am

ping:163ms
DL: 2145kbps
UL; 751kbps

location POS
plan: Digicel 4G

Data used to do the test: 5.1MB

anyone else seeing the speedtest.net app using so much data?