"State of Emergency" Thread

Re: OFFICIAL "State of Emergency" Thread

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 27th, 2011, 3:50 pm

them fellas was real livin it up....

money, bess food, bess alcohol, bess girls, bess room in the hotel......

reminds me of Saddam Hussain and his sons.......

outcome with these guys should have been the same as Saddam though...........

Postby redmanjp » August 27th, 2011, 5:56 pm

http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=30986&utm_medium=facebook&utm_source=twitterfeed

SoE arrests now 684

Saturday, 27th August, 2011

684 people have been arrested so far by joint operation forces, operating under the state of emergency (SoE) and Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs expects that figure to rise.

The Commissioner said 222 people were detained between 8am on Friday and 8am on Saturday.noice :D

"77 for gang-related occurences, 6 related to homicices, 37 with regards to drug offences, 21 individuals in breach of curfew, 70 serious offences and 10 people on outstanding warrants."

The AG spoke of the SoE leading to a reduced work load for medical staff at hospitals in Trinidad.

"The casualty departments that used to be clogged with stabbing victims, road accident victims, the doctors and nurses are (now) breathing sighs of relief and reporting that for once, they are having some peace and quiet."

people still taking chances going out after 9? don't because yuh getting lock up with all d real criminals :shock: Ian Alleyne say all ah dem pack up like sardine somewhere without even a pale to pee/sheit in!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 27th, 2011, 6:10 pm

It would appear that they like playing jam t****, I making sure I off the road well before and my area not even a hotspot

bluespeed

Re: T&T put in Limited State of Emergency

Postby bluespeed » August 27th, 2011, 6:16 pm

rfari wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I hope the incarceration of these "big fish" will cause a drop in crime. Manning wined and dined them in Crowne Plaza asking them the have a truce. Months later they all died in young age but crime slowly decreased.

We need not just to tackle the distributors but we need to sure up our porous border and track the finances of the drug trade. It is problem all the southern states of the US have to deal with, far less us.

And PP cancel the OPVs?

OPV's is not the answer son!

Postby redmanjp » August 27th, 2011, 6:39 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:It would appear that they like playing jam t****, I making sure I off the road well before and my area not even a hotspot

yeah yuh have to consider the area yuh liming in, where yuh have to drive through also if they in hotspots

and look they want to make penalties stiffer

http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=30990&utm_medium=facebook&utm_source=twitterfeed

Obey curfew or face stiffer penalities

Observe the 9pm to 5am curfew or face a stiffer penalty.

The warning came from National Security Minister, Brigadier John Sandy and Attorney General, Anand Ramlogan, during Saturday's state of emergency media briefing.

Both men spoke about amending the curfew order because of the rising number of curfew-breakers, many of whom reportedly had poor excuses for doing so.

"I am giving consideration to amending the curfew orders to increase and introduce a stiffer penalty and fine for those who may wish to break the curfew and ignore the fact that we are in a state of emergency and (who) seem to take it for a joke."

However there seemed to be some confusion about the procedure that must be followed by people who need hospital treatment during the curfew.

The National Security minister said they have to contact their police station and get an escort. Those who can't make it to the station first, Brigadier Sandy had this advice.

"You are allowed to go to the nearest hospital or nursing home you would like to go to. Along the way, if and when you are stopped, the instructions to the law enforcement officers are to escort all sick people to hospital."

The lockdown has extended seaward, with the coast guard also closing the maritime borders to stop criminals and persons of interest from leaving the country.

"They continue to do deterrence operations in the north-eastern sector and the south-western sector to prevent persons from leaving Trinidad illegally, in light of course, of the state of emergency."

To prevent more confusion over curfew hours and the SoE rules, the AG's office will publish advertisements in newspapers on Sunday.

they monitoring the interwebs tew!!

http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=30992&utm_medium=facebook&utm_source=twitterfeed

PM threatened in YouTube/Facebook video

Another warning for those intent on breaking the law during the state of emergency (SoE), this time in cyber space.

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan said those who make posts that incite violence, law breaking or even show how to get around security features, will be prosecuted by a special unit.

Speaking during Saturday's daily media briefing on the SoE, Mr Ramlogan said the special unit that is being established to monitor cyber space would include a Facebook presence.

The aim is to use information on criminals or criminal activity that is posted on social networking sites such as Facebook.

The AG said the information would be vetted and warned people not to post false information that could result in wasting the time of law enforcement; which is a criminal offence.

Mr Ramlogan said the unit would pursue cases such as the posting of a video on his Facebook page of a teenaged girl using foul language to criticise the SoE.

"In one (video) that has been sent (to me), there's a young lady, couldn't be more than 14 or 15 years of age, using profane and obscene language and expressing her thoughts in a most vulgar and obscene manner. That video has been passed on to the Commissioner of Police and such action will not be tolerated. You have a right to freedom of expression. You have a right to legitimate disagreement but you do not have a right to incite violence and you do not have a right to use vulgar, obscene and abusive language."

However, there's more to this particular video, which allegedly contains threats against Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

"I have received a number of text messages and calls about it. It is a matter of grave concern and I have instructed that that video be forwarded to the Commissioner of Police. I've asked that he give it his immediate and urgent attention."

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 27th, 2011, 7:26 pm

duane gonna have to take a backseat....new admin in town! :lol: :lol:

Postby rfari » August 27th, 2011, 8:13 pm

bluespeed wrote:
rfari wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I hope the incarceration of these "big fish" will cause a drop in crime. Manning wined and dined them in Crowne Plaza asking them the have a truce. Months later they all died in young age but crime slowly decreased.

We need not just to tackle the distributors but we need to sure up our porous border and track the finances of the drug trade. It is problem all the southern states of the US have to deal with, far less us.

And PP cancel the OPVs?

It was in reference to the bold text. IMO the OPVs are the key element to suppressing the flow of illegal goods into the country. Better tackle it on the open seas before it hit the streets. Btw, ah hear tht the tarouba stadium is the detention centre. You could confirm?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 27th, 2011, 8:25 pm

rfari wrote:
bluespeed wrote:
rfari wrote:

And PP cancel the OPVs?

It was in reference to the bold text. IMO the OPVs are the key element to suppressing the flow of illegal goods into the country. Better tackle it on the open seas before it hit the streets. Btw, ah hear tht the tarouba stadium is the detention centre. You could confirm?

in the case of drugs, its better cut cut off the demand, than it is to cut off the supply.
get the sellers/users behind bars and then there is no need for drugs to come into the country.

Postby rollingstock » August 27th, 2011, 8:39 pm

Trinidad is a major transshipment point, getting rid of the sellers/users will make no difference.

Postby Habit7 » August 27th, 2011, 8:43 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:
rfari wrote:
bluespeed wrote:
rfari wrote:

And PP cancel the OPVs?

in the case of drugs, its better cut cut off the demand, than it is to cut off the supply.
get the sellers/users behind bars and then there is no need for drugs to come into the country.

I hope you are no where near the corridors of power because you couldn't be more wrong. If that was so, coca fields in Colombia and poppy fields in Afghanistan would be allowed to flourish.
If the supply is not cut off, other ppl will run the gun and drug trade, even the armed forces

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 27th, 2011, 8:56 pm

i see you point........
was a bit short-sighted.......

i guess it goes both ways........cut the supply and cut the demand.......

Postby redmanjp » August 27th, 2011, 9:00 pm

ib4curfew

homeboy

Postby homeboy » August 27th, 2011, 9:01 pm

Would the OPV's made a difference when we are dealing with the same people who are in control?

As someone posted earlier, the CG boat was down and the person who was repairing it was told to make sure and don't fix that boat? why?

It all comes down to the people who have the power to make a change.

Re: T&T put in Limited State of Emergency

Postby rfari » August 27th, 2011, 9:48 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
rfari wrote:True. I agree 100%. But these programmes that the government runs are not serving its true purpose. URP is suppose to be a temporary 'helpme' from what I understand but most people treat it as a career. CEPEP is suppose to be a start-up for micro business man/women but its turning into another urp. Proper implementation of these programmes is needed and most of all proper discipline from the participants. U cyar tell me that you comfortable holding up a stone barrier while a wacker man cut the side of the road and u wouldn't even invest in a cheap ass wacker to start ur own sh.it. Tht's just pure laziness.

I never liked CEPEP or URP as an empowerment tool but I was more referring to free universal education up to degree level and 50% thereafter, HYPE, MUST/MIC for those who are not academically inclined but are good with their hands, NEDCO for those who have a LEGIT business idea and need help getting it off the ground. How come people in some areas using pitch oil lamp and river water can rise above poverty and become successful while others sit and think that what others work hard for should be taken away

Agreed. But education up to secondary school level has been free for quite a while and yet it wasnt/hasnt been taken advantage of by a certain sector of society. I can't see them taking advantage of free tertiary education or 50-50 to do masters. Instant gratifications is the name of the game for these people.

Postby stev » August 27th, 2011, 10:57 pm

my first post in this thread:

friday afternoon i come outside work to take ah smoke. 2 guys and a girl rel gunta lookin walkin rel fast up d road. one girl and guy stop to buy a phone card across d road...d other ask me for a cigarette. no scene i give d man one....he start to talk bout d SOE and saying they had to run out of their home cuz police raiding thier street. :S

he vex cuz d police have a sniffer dog on his bed where his child sleeps. saying things about burning down all the cloth stores in POS. he cant wait for curfew to finish etc. i jus say cool...throw wey half mih cigarette and head upstairs faster dan ato boldon on crack. this was on st vincent street btw.

just wanted to share that...idk if dem bandit comin back wit a bang (literally) after curfew.

Postby rfari » August 27th, 2011, 11:49 pm

stev wrote:my first post in this thread:

friday afternoon i come outside work to take ah smoke. 2 guys and a girl rel gunta lookin walkin rel fast up d road. one girl and guy stop to buy a phone card across d road...d other ask me for a cigarette. no scene i give d man one....he start to talk bout d SOE and saying they had to run out of their home cuz police raiding thier street. :S

he vex cuz d police have a sniffer dog on his bed where his child sleeps. saying things about burning down all the cloth stores in POS. he cant wait for curfew to finish etc. i jus say cool...throw wey half mih cigarette and head upstairs faster dan ato boldon on crack. this was on st vincent street btw.

just wanted to share that...idk if dem bandit comin back wit a bang (literally) after curfew.

Bruh, not to dispute your story but how did the dude know that police had a sniffer dog on the bed that his child sleeps but he ran away from his home because they raiding his street? Sounds like they were planning to rob/rape ur arse hoss. Quick thinking.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 28th, 2011, 12:41 am

homeboy wrote:Would the OPV's made a difference when we are dealing with the same people who are in control?

As someone posted earlier, the CG boat was down and the person who was repairing it was told to make sure and don't fix that boat? why?

It all comes down to the people who have the power to make a change.

in a nut shell this must be done.....
1....revamp the TTPS
2....Revamp the TTCG
3.....revamp the TTA
4.....dismiss everyone in customs and the port and get new ppl
5.....build 10 sub naval bases with air support around the country
6.....fix the 360 radar system and make it functional(that's why it was purchased)
7.....buy 5 more helicopters 10 fast patrol vessels and 30 more interceptors

and your borders will be fortified.....3 opv's cannot accomplish that!!!! TALK DONE!!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 28th, 2011, 1:01 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Riv ... 43298.html

Rival gang leaders 'unite' behind bars
Story Created: Aug 27, 2011 at 11:49 PM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 27, 2011 at 11:49 PM ECT
Cedric "Burkie" Burke, 36, and Keon "Baine" Bain, 31, who were arrested by police allegedly hiding out at the Hyatt Regency hotel on Friday, are expected to appear before a Port of Spain magistrate tomorrow on gang -related charges.
Detective constable Nobel Smith of the Port of Spain CID, on Friday charged Burke with being a gang leader and Bain a member of the Sea Lots, Port of Spain, gang.
Commissioner of Police Dwayne Gibbs, at yesterday's daily news briefing regarding the operations of the security forces on Day 5 (8 p.m. on Thursday to 8 a.m. yesterday) under the State of Emergency, confirmed both men were charged by police under the Anti-Gang law.
Burke and Bain were nabbed by police around 11.30 a.m. on Friday in a room at the premium Waterfront hotel. Karen Hall, a 26-year-old San Juan woman, who police said told them she was the men's secretary, was also detained at the hotel but subsequently released after being interviewed by Port of Spain CID officers.
Officers led by Snr Supts Glen Hackett and John Martinez of the CID and Criminal Intelligence Unit (CIU), swooped down on the hotel on Friday and detained Burke and Bain.
Police said they also seized $16,000 at one of the two rooms booked by Bain on the 22nd and 16th floors of the hotel. The rooms registered under Bain's name were 2001 and 1601, police said.
Guests and hotel employees looked on in shock as the three were led out of the hotel in handcuffs and into two waiting police vehicles.
Police also claimed that the suspects, who often exchanged rooms, had initially checked in on August 23, two days after Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced a State of Emergency in the country.
Officers reported they also found premium drinks which included Johnny Walker Blue, Moet, Bailey's and Harvey's Bristol Cream in the rooms. Records from the hotel, police said, indicated that Bain had been paying for their stay with cash on a daily basis—in excess of $900 per night.
Police said before they moved in on the hotel, the suspects were spotted liming, eating, drinking and smoking in their verandah.
Officers from the CID who were also involved in the exercise are Sgts Mervyn Edwards, Andrew John Andy Wallace, and including PCs Anderson Roberts, Nikruma Porter, Rickey Babwa and WPC Claudia Cabie.
The suspects, police said, had also checked in at the hotel in the company of five women, who left on Thursday, and other women were expected to take their place yesterday. Police said they received information that the men had also been ordering food from a fine dining restaurant and had even thrown a curfew party at their rooms earlier this week.
Officers from the CID, on Friday, also visited several hotels in Port of Spain and secured the names of guests in an attempt to determine if there were criminals and gang members seeking refuge at the hotels. Police said they will be keeping constant watch on hotels and guest houses in the Port of Spain Division.
Meanwhile, sources say the Government is facing yet another challenge—the amalgamation of criminal gangs who have vowed to fight back.
For the first time, rival gang members, particularly those who operated in the Beetham, Sea Lots, Laventille, Belmont and East Port of Spain communities, faced each other up close and personal after being placed in the same cells when rounded up by law enforcement officials, a source said.
According to the source, who was recently released after being in custody among gang members, the men have agreed to unite forces and fight their common and ever present enemy—the police.
They have promised revenge and retaliatory attacks against law enforcement officers, accusing them of detaining them without sufficient evidence to link them to criminal gangs.
They have also expressed confidence that within a mater of months, all gang-related charges brought against them by the state will be dismissed and/or discontinued before the courts.
The men have promised to wage war against the state "and promised to teach them a lesson for messing with the wrong set of people," the man who asked not to be identified told the Sunday Express.
Police sources within the Port of Spain Division confirmed that they have received information regarding such statements made by gang members while in custody.
Commissioner of Police Dwayne Gibbs yesterday stated that as of 8.a.m. yesterday, police detained 684 persons, 267 of them gang leaders and members.
Gibbs stressed that law enforcement officials will be strong and resolute in their objective to root out those who are fleeing from one area to the next to escape the law. "So you going to take whatever means and try to hide and move into different areas. We will narrow down our scope, we will broaden our scope and trying to do it very strategically and systematically so that we don't have people escaping the net," Gibbs said.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 28th, 2011, 1:05 am

so they gonna spent a few days in jail and then what.....

come out and cause havoc again?

If we were under islamic law they would have all been placed in an open yard and shot.....firing squad style....

but they just sitting there waiting to come out......one good thing though....Police would have pictures of every one of them including fingerprints so an updated database can now be built

Postby RBphoto » August 28th, 2011, 1:08 am

^^^Good. now if they can stab each other and not wast our tax payers dollars.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » August 28th, 2011, 2:51 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:so they gonna spent a few days in jail and then what.....

come out and cause havoc again?

If we were under islamic law they would have all been placed in an open yard and shot.....firing squad style....

but they just sitting there waiting to come out......one good thing though....Police would have pictures of every one of them including fingerprints so an updated database can now be built

It really is interesting to find out what charges would be given under this "gang" charges.
I hope it's a few years in jail and not any money to pay charge.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 28th, 2011, 7:34 am

^most likely they will get out on bail(best case scenario)

but at least they finally released their names. Would be nice to put up some pictures for the public to see these gang 'leaders'

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 28th, 2011, 10:02 am

White CZ4A wrote:^most likely they will get out on bail(best case scenario)

but at least they finally released their names. Would be nice to put up some pictures for the public to see these gang 'leaders'

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 28th, 2011, 12:06 pm

Thread get real QUIET

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 28th, 2011, 3:05 pm

White CZ4A wrote:^most likely they will get out on bail(best case scenario)

newspaper had the photos of the guys from the hyatt

Triniangel2011

Postby Triniangel2011 » August 28th, 2011, 8:24 pm

Some say the SOE is takes away the rights of citizens...funny eh...but if you want to view it from that perspective..the SOE takes away the freedom of citizens temporarily so that the freedom of citizens can be SUBSTANTIALLY INCREASED IN THE LONG RUN....Trinidadians need to become more long term oriented....Sacrifice today so that YOU CAN ACTUALLY LIVE TO SEE TOMORROW..

commonsense01

Postby commonsense01 » August 28th, 2011, 9:22 pm

So they using the SOE to take from the poor to give to Ispat. Some of those ppl who have the scrap iron business on the beetham are honest as some might not, but to take the ppl containers of iron and then threaten them if they dont have permission to be there or if they have a license they will not be compensated. But some months ago farmers who was squatting and also given notice to leave but after being evicted were compensated. So why were they not give notice(I dont know if they were i am justing asking) What do see thou is just as the farmers were compensated for doing something illegal so should they without all this strong talk, but then again they from beetham . I just hope ppl realise what is going on, the govt sending a very frightening message

Postby Habit7 » August 28th, 2011, 9:44 pm

commonsense01 wrote:So they using the SOE to take from the poor to give to Ispat. Some of those ppl who have the scrap iron business on the beetham are honest as some might not, but to take the ppl containers of iron and then threaten them if they dont have permission to be there or if they have a license they will not be compensated. But some months ago farmers who was squatting and also given notice to leave but after being evicted were compensated. So why were they not give notice(I dont know if they were i am justing asking) What do see thou is just as the farmers were compensated for doing something illegal so should they without all this strong talk, but then again they from beetham . I just hope ppl realise what is going on, the govt sending a very frightening message

I kinda glad they get rid of that scrap yard. It was an eyesore and they burned metal to melt it and it cause a lot of smoke on the highway

homeboy

Postby homeboy » August 28th, 2011, 9:54 pm

Habit7 wrote:
commonsense01 wrote:So they using the SOE to take from the poor to give to Ispat. Some of those ppl who have the scrap iron business on the beetham are honest as some might not, but to take the ppl containers of iron and then threaten them if they dont have permission to be there or if they have a license they will not be compensated. But some months ago farmers who was squatting and also given notice to leave but after being evicted were compensated. So why were they not give notice(I dont know if they were i am justing asking) What do see thou is just as the farmers were compensated for doing something illegal so should they without all this strong talk, but then again they from beetham . I just hope ppl realise what is going on, the govt sending a very frightening message

I kinda glad they get rid of that scrap yard. It was an eyesore and they burned metal to melt it and it cause a lot of smoke on the highway

Besides this which is a good point, have anyone here ever try to go to any dump in Trinidad? You can't and will never be safe because of these same people, they are one of the biggest reasons that people dump their sh*t all over the place.

Postby RBphoto » August 28th, 2011, 9:57 pm

Habit7 wrote:I kinda glad they get rid of that scrap yard. It was an eyesore and they burned metal to melt it and it cause a lot of smoke on the highway

No, they burnt cables to get at the copper from under insulation. If they spent about 3000TT on a manual stripper, they would not cause pollution, save gas (accelerant) and be more efficient. Many days the whole of POS was in black clouds because of those mutha4cars. Good riddance.