:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 5th, 2013, 2:15 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
X_Factor wrote:farfan sells industrial air compressors and the prices are not that bad

Even for new units, eBay is still the cheapest option IMHO... NO "T&T middle man" mark up.

Just back from a hunting expedition at Farfan then SSL then Allied Industrial and even AM Marketing. All in the $10k+ price range for the compressor specs i want. Farfan has Industrial Air brand, SSL had Maxus.

An IR 2130 impact wrench at SSL is just about $2100 whereas on Amazon its $150USD. Even landed here its not going to be $2100.

Unfortunately i can't afford local prices for this stuff.

Today has solidified my decision to import everything i need.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 5th, 2013, 5:23 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:An IR 2130 impact wrench at SSL is just about $2100 whereas on Amazon its $150USD. Even landed here its not going to be $2100.

Yup, that's what I decided over seven years ago. That's when I joined eBay. Few regrets so far.

Just join a local courier service with a US address as well. (Helpful when US suppliers don't want to sell to foreigners.)

Register your credit card with PayPal (eBay affiliate.) That way you don't have to "broadcast" your credit card number on the net for each transaction... and PayPal "guarantee" a payment refund in case the seller tries to shaft you.
Sanctifier wrote: :idea: Register your PayPal "Ship to" address as your Courier's US address as well.
Win!... WIN!

My $0.02¢

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2013, 6:04 pm

is there any service in Miami I can sign up for that will receive and hold my packages for like a two weeks? and then I'll pick em up when I go. family becoming unreliable to use them even for such a simple thing.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

Xplode

Postby Xplode » June 5th, 2013, 6:24 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:is there any service in Miami I can sign up for that will receive and hold my packages for like a two weeks? and then I'll pick em up when I go. family becoming unreliable to use them even for such a simple thing.

Hyatt Regency Miami,i ship to them 2 weeks before i'm there ,each package cost $7 usd hold fee
but they hold it only for 30 days after that it's returned,even if you are not a guest at the hotel you can use Hyatt ,just have your tracking number from amazon etc. most packages they hold for me was 12 from amazon

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2013, 6:49 pm

hmmm any size restrictions? they ever lose or stole anything?

Postby pioneer » June 5th, 2013, 7:18 pm

pm pimptacular...I usually send my things to him and he keeps it till I ready to collect

Xplode

Postby Xplode » June 5th, 2013, 7:22 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:hmmm any size restrictions? they ever lose or stole anything?

biggest package, was 2 sets of 5 pcs luggage , that came in 2 good size boxes ,all i did was park in front the hotel ,told the valet that i will not be long,went to concierge and told them i have some packages on hold ,they asked me for tracking number,and 5 min after my boxes were there ,$7 fee and $5 tip , over the years with all the electronics delivered in Hyatt Regency Miami never had anything missing.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 5th, 2013, 7:23 pm

pioneer wrote:pm pimptacular...I usually send my things to him and he keeps it till I ready to collect

He keeps my stuff safe for a small fee

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » June 5th, 2013, 7:29 pm

pioneer wrote:pm pimptacular...I usually send my things to him and he keeps it till I ready to collect

see this thread before you trust any one on trinituner eah

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=495184&hilit=bbq

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 5th, 2013, 7:38 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:An IR 2130 impact wrench at SSL is just about $2100 whereas on Amazon its $150USD. Even landed here its not going to be $2100.

Yup, that's what I decided over seven years ago. That's when I joined eBay. Few regrets so far.

Just join a local courier service with a US address as well. (Helpful when US suppliers don't want to sell to foreigners.)

Register your credit card with PayPal (eBay affiliate.) That way you don't have to "broadcast" your credit card number on the net for each transaction... and PayPal "guarantee" a payment refund in case the seller tries to shaft you.
Sanctifier wrote: :idea: Register your PayPal "Ship to" address as your Courier's US address as well.
Win!... WIN!

My $0.02¢

Yup already have PayPal and Ebay accounts. Looking into Ecouriers for ocean shipping, they have not gotten back to me on a quote i requested yet.

Barring that, I'll use maybe a Laparkan & Transbrokerage combo when i'm ready by the end of the year.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 5th, 2013, 9:59 pm

Sanctifier wrote:Run a 24/7 Gas Station in Maraval...

Paintless Dent Repair service starting in July (and Media Blasting in 2014)... 95% complete.
That's what all the eqp't is for Conrad.

Help my wife setup a new concept in catering in early 2014 (more later)... 50% complete.

Commercial farm in late 2014. First Poultry, then Aquaponics... (waiting to "close" lease)... 0% complete.

I hope you weren't offended by my post.

I genuinely love your informative posts and can't help but think you must have an impressive collection of tools and probably look like McGuyver. :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 5th, 2013, 10:09 pm

RapToR wrote:

X3

For $5usd a month he rented me a closet in his house.

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2013, 10:10 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
RapToR wrote:

X3

For $5usd a month he rented me a closet in his house.

do you still rent it or did you come out of the closet?

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 5th, 2013, 10:11 pm

Unfortunately I was unable to continue lease of the closet.

Postby Redman » June 5th, 2013, 10:18 pm

Conrad wrote:
Sanctifier wrote:Run a 24/7 Gas Station in Maraval...

Paintless Dent Repair service starting in July (and Media Blasting in 2014)... 95% complete.
That's what all the eqp't is for Conrad.

Help my wife setup a new concept in catering in early 2014 (more later)... 50% complete.

Commercial farm in late 2014. First Poultry, then Aquaponics... (waiting to "close" lease)... 0% complete.

I hope you weren't offended by my post.

I genuinely love your informative posts and can't help but think you must have an impressive collection of tools and probably look like McGuyver. :lol:

It eh de tools yuh have to worry about -is Sanctifier mouth dat will fix yuh good.
:lol: :twisted:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 6th, 2013, 5:59 am

Conrad wrote:I hope you weren't offended by my post.
I genuinely love your informative posts and can't help but think you must have an impressive collection of tools and probably look like McGuyver.
Why should I be offended Conrad? This will always be a hobby... It's supposed to be FUN! If I was as well built as your "bare knuckle" boxer (John L. Sullivan?)... or looked like McGuyver that would be a miracle. Image

I'm tall (6' 2")... bald :( ... nearly 60 :wink: ... and a GREAT Dad (IMHO) (30... 28... 7... 4 yrs) :) ...
I have a paunch too... but I'm working on that. (I have to lose 20+ lbs to improve the Evo's power-to-weight ratio.) :lol:
If one day I could "invent" like McGuyver that would be a blessing :mrgreen: ... and another miracle! :lol:
Redman wrote:It eh de tools yuh have to worry about -is Sanctifier mouth dat will fix yuh good. :lol:
Please ignore all comments from this TOTAL STRANGER.
Hi Redman how yuh goin'. I called yesterday but yuh voicemail said you was only takin' calls from important people. :mrgreen: :lol:

Postby Redman » June 6th, 2013, 8:27 pm

Hi Redman how yuh goin'. I called yesterday but yuh voicemail said you was only takin' calls from important people. :mrgreen: :lol:

Ah Little birdie from up on yourside say youre a push over...... :lol:

Talk soon

Postby X_Factor » June 6th, 2013, 11:38 pm

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BLFLYW6/ref ... PDKIKX0DER

for about 1100 landed....doh buy out all nah
leave one for me till i get pay mth end

Postby pugboy » June 7th, 2013, 7:06 am

I converted my old 14.4 Dewalt to LiFe A123 batteries a while now.
Using 4 A123 cells at 3.3v for about 13v under load.
Much better performance.

My original Nicds crapped out and I went so far as to buy a replacement set from a third party and those died too.
20130607_070228.jpg
Last edited by pugboy on June 7th, 2013, 7:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 7th, 2013, 7:09 am

Too bad its not on the $25 off $100 special listing.

Postby Chimera » June 7th, 2013, 9:22 am

i have two black and decker 18v cordless drills to repair yes

dunno if it make sense repairing or just buy new ones

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 7th, 2013, 5:58 pm

Redman wrote:Ah Little birdie from up on yourside say youre a push over...... :lol:

Talk soon

Yup, that's what they all say... until it's too late!!! :evilbat:

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 14th, 2013, 10:17 pm

Guys, wanna build a cabinet but trying to figure out something.

How do I join two pieces of 2x4 wood? Countersink the screw halfway into the outer 2x4 and drill into the inner one?

Also what's the cost of 2x4 these days?

Postby X_Factor » June 14th, 2013, 10:56 pm

google wood joining types, you can choose the best suited to the application, strength and do-ability

Postby pioneer » June 14th, 2013, 11:38 pm

45 degree butt joint...or whatever it's called

do eeet

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 15th, 2013, 3:51 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Guys, wanna build a cabinet but trying to figure out something.
How do I join two pieces of 2x4 wood? Countersink the screw halfway into the outer 2x4 and drill into the inner one?...

ADVANCED WOODWORKERS: STRONGEST & CHEAPEST...but time consuming...
DOVETAIL JOINTS... Image
(btw the pic is of TWO garden gates...)

NOVICE WOODWORKERS: (like myself): VERY STRONG & VERY QUICK...
Jig is expensive... but you'll use it for the rest of your life!... US $41.69 + Shipping
LAP JOINTS, Glue, Kreg Jig® Jr, & pocket screws... Image

A cheaper alternative (but single-hole so less versatile)... Kreg Mini Jig®... US $18.45 + Shipping

My $0.02¢

Postby X_Factor » June 16th, 2013, 10:44 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Motion-Pro-08-015 ... PDKIKX0DER

lookin for this locally
or about a 10" 1/4 or 3/8 extension

any ideas?

southside connections

Postby southside connections » June 17th, 2013, 9:39 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Guys, wanna build a cabinet but trying to figure out something.

How do I join two pieces of 2x4 wood? Countersink the screw halfway into the outer 2x4 and drill into the inner one?

Also what's the cost of 2x4 these days?

You can table mount a decently powered router, and do everything from dovetails, straight to box joints with the right bits

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » June 18th, 2013, 9:02 am

So I went to Pricemart last week and I gots me one of dem compact work table from KETER. Thanks Pios for giving me the heads up on this, I was really on the lookout for something like this as I don't have space for a dedicated work table.

I also saw from KETER these really cool Pro Sliding Tool Chest:

http://www.amazon.com/Keter-17191709-Ma ... tool+chest

Got me one of these as well for $450, very nice.

Postby Chimera » June 18th, 2013, 11:52 am

thats a great price @ 450

think ill go get one