*****The OFFICIAL Corruption Thread*****

Re: *****The OFFICIAL Corruption Thread*****

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2015, 9:20 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Yeah the current administration it still a bit "new" give it some time.....

Although the thread isn't a bad idea....

Still new? They had 40 yrs in power and an additional illegal 5 years

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 17th, 2015, 4:25 pm

^^^We are hoping that Rowley's tough talk is more than just that.

We await the audit of EFCL and what productive measures come of it, we are hoping it is not a witch hunt or actions meant to intimidate.

We are hoping that the new Petrotrin board can do something positive......

Postby zoom rader » November 17th, 2015, 5:08 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:^^^We are hoping that Rowley's tough talk is more than just that.

We await the audit of EFCL and what productive measures come of it, we are hoping it is not a witch hunt or actions meant to intimidate.

Dont hold ur breath, all this is powder puff to show supporters of this government that they are doing something. In the end nothing will come out of this, just as they jailed Panday with trumped up charges and in the end he won his case. This is same ole government and nothing has changed.
All the big talkers missing in Non action, wheres is Al Rawi is he fixing San Do west

Postby De Dragon » November 18th, 2015, 1:30 am

Numb3r4 wrote:^^^We are hoping that Rowley's tough talk is more than just that.

Is it essential to keep recycling the same politicians over and over and over again? Is there no one else but the Piggotts/Joneses/Juliens? Does every party have to make their appointments look like political nepotism? :? :?

Postby Redman » November 18th, 2015, 7:35 am

We saw the same thing with the last govt..they struggle to find 'unaffiliated' people with the desire to become tainted.

skl

Postby skl » November 18th, 2015, 9:38 am

De Dragon wrote:Is it essential to keep recycling the same politicians over and over and over again? Is there no one else but the Piggotts/Joneses/Juliens? Does every party have to make their appointments look like political nepotism? :? :?

Piggot wasnt the first choice for Chairman, but he was to first to say yes.

Its tough to bring in new people when people fraid of getting involved in politics.

Postby zoom rader » November 18th, 2015, 9:51 am

skl wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Is it essential to keep recycling the same politicians over and over and over again? Is there no one else but the Piggotts/Joneses/Juliens? Does every party have to make their appointments look like political nepotism? :? :?

Its tough to bring in new people when people fraid of getting involved in politics.

Piggot only fault is his drunk driving in Canada otherwise he seems a good solider.
Malcom Jones, is ok in my books
Ken Julian on the other hand is a scamp , he made a total mess of ISCOTT

Postby Habit7 » November 18th, 2015, 11:33 am

skl wrote:

Piggot only fault is his drunk driving in Canada otherwise he seems a good solider.
Piggott misbehaved in public office, he is no different than young Partap, he shouldn't be there.
Malcolm Jones was a failure at Petrotrin, he shouldn't be there.
Ken Julien is a boss, he is responsible for Point Lisas before there even was an ISCOTT, the country is indebted to him, letting him run UTT is nice ride into the sunset for him.

UNC supporters desperate to find corruption in PNM, as if they couldn't exercise that same ability during PP. They are basically proving that they were not concerned with corruption, but whether or not their tribe was committing it and how could they benefit too.

Postby De Dragon » November 18th, 2015, 11:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:
skl wrote:

Piggott misbehaved in public office, he is no different than young Partap, he shouldn't be there.
Ken Julien is a boss, he is responsible for Point Lisas before there even was an ISCOTT, the country is indebted to him, letting him run UTT is nice ride into the sunset for him.

UNC supporters desperate to find corruption in PNM, as if they couldn't exercise that same ability during PP. They are basically proving that they were not concerned with corruption, but whether or not their tribe was committing it and how could they benefit too.

Not minimizing Julien's massive contribution,(firetruck, I working on the Estate!) to the country but sometimes great conceptual leaders do not make great day to day leaders.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 18th, 2015, 11:17 pm

Habit7 wrote:
skl wrote:

Not minimizing Julien's massive contribution,(firetruck, I working on the Estate!) to the country but sometimes great conceptual leaders do not make great day to day leaders.

As a Chairman Julien will not be expected to make day to day decisions.
Boards are Governance, Executive Management are operations. Under the UNC this line was repeatedly crossed with numerous Board members doing the functions that operational managers (Marketing, Finance, HR) should have done.

skl

Postby skl » November 29th, 2015, 6:29 pm

The National Gas Company (NGC) is over-budget by $449 million on its Liquid Fuel Pipeline System.

The project, which was announced in 2012 to improve the security of supply of fuel and remove tankers from the road, was initially projected to cost US$115 million.

In response to questions by the Sunday Express, NGC’s acting communications manager Christine Punnett said, to date, the NGC has spent $1,190 million on the project.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151129 ... ver-budget

Add in the Beetham plant and Point Fortin Highway and that's a billion dollars gone missing right there.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 11th, 2015, 8:55 am

Need to keep this thread alive and in the forefront.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 11th, 2015, 9:09 am

Rory...you issa man might know.
About two years (could be three) there was an ad in the papers for compulsory acquisition of land for the purposes of fixing the Dry River Bridge in St Augustine (the one with no railings on Orange Grove Road St Augustine South)

However we still have that rickety ole bridge today. Who stick on this project?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 11th, 2015, 2:31 pm

There are currently TWO different designs for the replacement bridge at that project. One design was done by a consultant for the Ministry of Works and Transport under the Bridges Reconstruction Programme and the other done by the Regional Corporation.

The bridge was supposed to be replaced under the Bridges Reconstruction Programme, but when the Ministry of Works and Transport found out the Regional Corporation already had a design, it was decided to excise that bridge from the Ministry's programme and use the funds elsewhere on a another critical bridge.

Basically, the Regional Corporation has the responsibility to replace that bridge now.

The question that has to be asked, if it hasn't been already, is how one hand was not talking to the other hand concerning the design of a replacement bridge at that location.

I am not sure how the Rapid Rail would affect the bridge replacement at this location since the 2009 design for the rapid rail has the track alignment passing very close to this bridge.

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2015, 2:57 pm

basically no bridge for allyuh!

Postby Habit7 » January 6th, 2016, 10:09 am

Now this is what you call cooking the books...

Fire hits WASA’s Records Department
Unfair to link it to audit—exec

Yvonne Baboolal
Published: Wednesday, January 6, 2016

In the face of a pending forensic audit into the award of multi-million dollar contracts by the Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA), fire of an unknown origin yesterday broke out in the sensitive record department, destroying volumes of important files.

The extent of the damage was undetermined up to press time and the approximately 1,000 staff members at the WASA St Joseph head office have been advised not to report to work today because the structural integrity of the building had to be first determined.

The fire will not affect WASA’s ability to distribute water to citizens across the country.

WASA’s communications manager Daniel Plenty, who hustled back to the scene at the St Joseph headquarters after news broke about the fire, told reporters last night: “We have no fear of losing records, we have a backup, we have soft copies and we have hard copies.”

Asked about the possibility that the fire could have been intentionally set due to pending probe into the utility, Plenty said: “It is not fair to associate this with the upcoming audit.”

About 60 workers who were still on the compound when the fire started were evacuated safely, Plenty said. He said the workers responded immediately after the alarm was sounded but noted it was too early to say if it was deliberately set.

Staff members appeared to be in shock as they looked on as fire officers battled the blaze on the second floor of the four-storey building.

“We are still trying to come to terms with this,” said one employee.

Plenty said the fire began around 4.45 pm in Block B, Building 9, which houses the Health, Safety and Equipment Department, the Corporate Communications Department and Records Department.

Other staff members described the building as the main building at the Farm Road complex and one witness said every other floor of the building had been affected either by smoke or water damage.

Staff said documents relating to confidential contracts, including purchases from suppliers and records of the Management Information System, were also stored in the Records Department.

Residents who gathered on the Farm Road sidewalk said they believed the fire was deliberately set to prevent investigators from finding evidence of “bobol.”

“We hear WASA burning. When we come outside and watch, we saw the whole of the second floor in flames,” said one resident.

One staff member at the scene said the entire registry, which had documents relating to all contractors, was destroyed. He said when the auditors came “they will only get ashes.”

Shortly after the fire broke out, photos of the smoke and later fire blazing on the second floor of the building began circulating on social media. Eyewitnesses said fire officers, using hydraulic lifts, were able to douse the flames by 7 pm.

The flames were so intense it shattered the glass on the second floor but the gaping holes gave fire officers a vantage point to extinguish the blaze.

At least seven fire tenders responded from the Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain headquarters and were assisted by units from the San Juan station. Four WASA tankers were on hand to provide an additional supply of water.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-01- ... %80%94exec

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 28th, 2016, 5:37 pm

:bump:

Postby Habit7 » January 28th, 2016, 6:49 pm

Ah man warming up the thread yes.

I don't know what allyuh know, but I hope I am not disappointed...

Postby zoom rader » January 28th, 2016, 7:17 pm

Litter wardens sent home.

Ppl voted for a con job

Postby De Dragon » January 28th, 2016, 9:01 pm

Habit7 wrote:Ah man warming up the thread yes.

So in addition to being a fabricator, you are also an arson investigator? :?

Postby Redman » January 28th, 2016, 9:12 pm

Keeping the Same system means the keeping the same opportunities to benefit from corruption..

Just the letters change

Postby De Dragon » January 28th, 2016, 9:15 pm

Redman wrote:Keeping the Same system means the keeping the same opportunities to benefit from corruption..

Just the letters change

Blasphemy! ALL corruption stop at midnight on September 8th 2015.

Postby eliteauto » January 28th, 2016, 9:23 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: man you have a hard on for Habit

Postby Morpheus » January 28th, 2016, 9:41 pm

Redman wrote:Keeping the Same system means the keeping the same opportunities to benefit from corruption..

Just the letters change

Blasphemy! ALL corruption stop at midnight on September 8th 2015.

LoL

Postby j.o.e » January 28th, 2016, 9:43 pm

you won't be

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 28th, 2016, 9:55 pm

Preaching to the choir at this point unless something actually gets done about it.

Postby zoom rader » January 28th, 2016, 10:19 pm

Arson investigator?

:grin::grin::grin:

Postby Habit7 » January 28th, 2016, 10:40 pm

eliteauto wrote:

As ZR is to PNM so is De Dragon to me :fadein:

Postby De Dragon » January 28th, 2016, 11:48 pm

Habit7 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

As ZR is to PNM so is De Dragon to me :fadein:

You are the PNM zr.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 29th, 2016, 6:14 pm

So a set of managers in EFCL got suspended today. This is in addition to the CEO and COO who are already on suspension. Let's see what comes out of this or if it is just a pappy show by the PNM.