Coffee drinkers

Re: Coffee drinkers

Postby Dizzy28 » January 25th, 2024, 4:13 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
MaxPower wrote:I love my Hong Wing in the morning.

Strong black and bitter

Didn’t Hong Wing used to make coffee using local beans? I am seeing that their coffee is imported from Brazil and they just bottle it here.

Pretty hard to run a local coffee business when the local quantity available is "not applicable"
Capture.JPG

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2024, 4:56 pm

locally grown is robusta type
not the best tasting

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 28th, 2024, 5:21 pm

[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240128/11be0ac4a71bc99441f81f6e5717f737.jpg[/img]

Desperation kicking in. Picked these up in Massy at ~75 each. Didn’t brew yet but we’ll see.

No bogo in the Starbucks this week and I’m not paying 140 a bag for average coffee blend that I never tasted before. It’s only worth it during BOGO for me

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 29th, 2024, 2:15 pm

Thyme gourmet have some kinda closing down sale. random weird flavors on sale but the premium stuff not and is over $200/box or pack

saw the massy ones but I feel the columbian from pricesmart might taste better.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 9th, 2024, 7:36 pm

Dunno if these are good prices thyme gourmet
thymegcof.jpg

Sent from my 220333QAG using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Les Bain » February 9th, 2024, 7:55 pm

There's a flavoured variety brand named Beenie's available for a little while now. Was going through the flavours with every new purchase. Best one is the peppermint, which went down nice in the Christmas season. Tried hard to find even single choc flavour in their double choc. Cookies and cream was nice though the wife found it smelled like bush tea anytime I opened the bottle.

Currently trying their chai latte and it going in the bin. It smells and tastes like if somebody mixed salt butter in your instant Nescafé :sick:

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 10th, 2024, 11:44 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240128/11be0ac4a71bc99441f81f6e5717f737.jpg[/img]

Desperation kicking in. Picked these up in Massy at ~75 each. Didn’t brew yet but we’ll see.

No bogo in the Starbucks this week and I’m not paying 140 a bag for average coffee blend that I never tasted before. It’s only worth it during BOGO for me

Decaf have decent flavour, missing the kick tho. 5/10
Italian is a tad better. 6/10

No dominant notes to speak of, just a barebones brew for both

Postby Dizzy28 » March 10th, 2024, 6:42 pm

Got a new pack of grounds to try out.

Never had Tim's grounds before. Once the wife got a whole set of Tim's instant single serve packets in work. Those weren't bad for instant.
PXL_20240310_223457820.jpg

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » March 10th, 2024, 9:15 pm

Les Bain wrote:There's a flavoured variety brand named Beenie's available for a little while now. Was going through the flavours with every new purchase. Best one is the peppermint, which went down nice in the Christmas season. Tried hard to find even single choc flavour in their double choc. Cookies and cream was nice though the wife found it smelled like bush tea anytime I opened the bottle.

Currently trying their chai latte and it going in the bin. It smells and tastes like if somebody mixed salt butter in your instant Nescafé :sick:

I am pretty much on my second test bottle as well ... thank god i didnt pick up the Chai latte bottle in Massy ... I did pickup the Vanilla ... Tried the chocolate that tasted like those cheap chocolates u get mixed with plastic.

Postby maj. tom » March 12th, 2024, 12:44 pm

The vendors tell me that this place in Chaguanas Market is now allocated to Rituals Coffee House. Construction start.
They were pretty upset about it because how a private 1% business come and taking the community space in the market that they always paying the Corporation for a stall to sell. But I don't know if it's true, that's all they tell me. In a few weeks we will know.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 12th, 2024, 8:28 pm

I'm suffering for good coffee beans these days.

Hong wing drop bad in the last year. Or maybe my tastes just evolve :X
The Waitrose marginally better.
The pricesmart Colombian is my cheap standby.
Starbucks doh have anything that standing out. I pop in and ask for a sample of what's in the machine to see if I'll buy a batch of beans. But at 140 a bag for mediocre stuff....fkdat

I really need a good coffee fix soon.

Postby eliteauto » March 13th, 2024, 12:12 pm

If you're in POS pass by Malabar Farms, lots of different Waitrose offerings as well as Gevalia, Bustelo and Starbucks, most are under $100

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 13th, 2024, 12:51 pm

Just hop on a plane to the states a weekend or more days and buy about 10+ of them random packs of coffee by the counter in Marshalls or other department stores.

They vary in price from about 5 to 12 dollars. You'll save hundreds of dollars and that savings will offset the cost of the plane ticket maybe by 20-33%. Savings from other things you buy will completely cover the ticket. Or use points or miles and ticket 'free'.

I know people who have completely stopped buying in Trinidad except essentials and their metric is when they run out of coffee......that's when they know they need to book a trip to buy more lol...and they do it.

Not to mention you won't have to deal with traffic, crime ,litter ,disgusting trini guntas and all the other wonderful things that make trinidad what it is.

You can't put a price on peace of mind.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 13th, 2024, 1:03 pm

Skanky wrote:Just hop on a plane to the states a weekend or more days and buy about 10+ of them random packs of coffee by the counter in Marshalls or other department stores.

They vary in price from about 5 to 12 dollars. You'll save hundreds of dollars and that savings will offset the cost of the plane ticket maybe by 20-33%. Savings from other things you buy will completely cover the ticket. Or use points or miles and ticket 'free'.

I know people who have completely stopped buying in Trinidad except essentials and their metric is when they run out of coffee......that's when they know they need to book a trip to buy more lol...and they do it.

Not to mention you won't have to deal with traffic, crime ,litter ,disgusting trini guntas and all the other wonderful things that make trinidad what it is.

Hahahahahahhaa my pockets eh that deep to pull that flex.

Thanks Elite I’ll check Malabar.
Heard bloom has good ting too but never sampled it.

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2024, 4:03 pm

malabar have super cheap lamb bone steaks

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 13th, 2024, 4:22 pm

How does the gevalia hold up? Saw the brand a few places but not familiar with it.

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2024, 5:30 pm

oh yes, plenty ppl shopping in them
stores, ross, tj marshalls

it really have plenty ting on the displays by cashier line for ppl to grab

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Skanky wrote:Just hop on a plane to the states a weekend or more days and buy about 10+ of them random packs of coffee by the counter in Marshalls or other department stores.

Thanks Elite I’ll check Malabar.
Heard bloom has good ting too but never sampled it.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 14th, 2024, 8:58 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

It's not a flex,it's just people have become disenchanted with the situation in trinidad.
I know people who were previous every weekend limers who refuse to go out now. If they want to lime they lime at home or they book a flight to Miami.
Same with beach...they prefer to book a flight to tobago and not have to deal with the trinidad guntas and gunta culture along with the journey to get to maracas. I can't say I disagree with them.

But since this is the coffee thread my coffee nearly done....these days I drinking some dark lavazza(great), a jamaica blue mountain(average),a free one that Atlantic LNG gave out at a conference(some local stuff that's average) and a pricesmart colombian(average).
I like variety so I usually have a few packs open and make a different one everyday but you can't beat them $5 coffees by the counter in those big retail stores. Great bang for your buck and lots of variety.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 14th, 2024, 11:20 am

Saw Cafe Barista demo a coffee bag that is a percolated coffee single, open bag pour hot water into mug and make coffee. Was a bit weak, Folgers have a ground coffee single serve that is better.

death365

Postby death365 » March 14th, 2024, 12:16 pm

also working clothes - pants shirts
jeans - jersays
socks jockey shorts
vitamins :fadein:

death365

Postby death365 » April 1st, 2024, 7:04 pm

Now came back from vene.
20240401_185030.jpg

Postby eliteauto » April 1st, 2024, 7:31 pm

How does it compare to Bustelo and Pilon?

Postby pugboy » April 1st, 2024, 8:02 pm

it will taste the same
if consumed like how them latinos like it
strong with plenty plenty plenty sugar

eliteauto wrote:How does it compare to Bustelo and Pilon?

death365

Postby death365 » April 1st, 2024, 8:26 pm

Equality to Bustelo same grind and taste.

Also was 4 usd.
eliteauto wrote:How does it compare to Bustelo and Pilon?

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » April 3rd, 2024, 5:42 pm

Massy has some decent DR coffee InDuban Gourmet and Cafe Santo Domingo price isn't bad also for 1lbs bags.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 3rd, 2024, 7:37 pm

Will try.^ twice given coffee from relatives who visited DR. Were both very much failures... hongwing was plenty better.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 22nd, 2024, 8:57 am

Starbucks Couva have BOGO on Guatemala Casi Cielo.
Pink pack
Description from site:
Straight from select farms in Guatemala’s high-altitude, volcanic Antigua region, this batch of single-origin Guatemala Casi Cielo® represents our finest possible expression of one of our most beloved coffee origins. Harvested just once a year, this coffee—both bright and smooth with lemon and dark cocoa notes—is not to be missed.

Tasting notes:
Definitely getting a delicate citrus note on first sip with a slightly bitter backend, guessing that's the dark cocoa part. Has a slightly creamy mouthfeel, but all I added was my Demerara gold brown sugar.

Not as good as the voyager blend for me with the dominant grapefruit, but surely a fantastic brew. Good morning sip for my daily commute in traffic.

I'll give it a 7.5/10

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » April 22nd, 2024, 5:17 pm

death365 wrote:Now came back from vene. 20240401_185030.jpg

Picked up a couple of these at Target in Sawgrass, $US 3.50 a pop. Tastes fine.

Also got some vene coffee a little while ago, not as strong as I would expect, but not bad.

hindian

Postby hindian » May 8th, 2024, 6:23 am

Fellas morning, where would I get the silicone sealing gasket for a moka pot locally? Thanks

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 8th, 2024, 10:51 am

Have a brand new Breville Smart Grinder Pro and Technivorm Moccamaster, anyone interested pm for more details!