kevcam wrote:Well allyuh know who gets my vote.![]()
Those homegrown players not going anywhere soon. Bojan extended his contract today.
Alves contract expiring 2012 and negotiating an extension until 2015 but it looking like some real friction there. Hope they come to an agreement soon because even though he does not bring in those crosses good, he always in the plays once the ball on the ground. As well as no other player on the side can match his work rate he puts in all his games.
idlemind wrote:Thats where I got the jersey but by the time the order was placed, they ran out of other Barca stuff.
Supposed to be restocking soon
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cant_del_Bar%C3%A7a wrote:Cant del Barça is the official hymn of FC Barcelona. It was commissioned in 1974 to celebrate the club's 75th anniversary. The words were written by Jaume Picas and Josep Maria Espinàs and the music was composed by Manuel Valls.
The hymn was given its official debut on 27 November 1974 at the Camp Nou before a game between FC Barcelona and East Germany. A 3,500 strong choir was conducted by Oriol Martorell. On 28 November 1998, during the clubs’ Centenary, it was performed by Catalan singer-songwriter Joan Manuel Serrat at the end of a festival at the Camp Nou. Since 2008-09 el Cant del Barça has been printed on official Barcelona replica jerseys.
Hymn lyrics
* Original version in Catalan language[1] (and English translation):
Tot el camp, és un clam, (The entire field is a clamour,)
som la gent blaugrana, (we are the blue and red people,)
tant se val d'on venim, (no matter where we come from,)
si del sud o del nord, (be it south or north,)
ara estem d'acord, estem d'acord, (now we all agree, we all agree,)
una bandera ens agermana. (a flag unites us in brotherhood.)
Blaugrana al vent, (Blue and red with the wind,)
un crit valent, (a brave cry,)
tenim un nom, el sap tothom: (we have a name everyone knows:)
Barça!, Barça!, Barça! (Barça!, Barça!, Barça!)
Jugadors, seguidors, (Players, supporters,)
tot units fem força. (all together we are strong.)
Són molts anys plens d'afanys, (Many years full of zeal,)
són molts gols que hem cridat, (many goals we have screamed,)
i s'ha demostrat, s'ha demostrat, (and it's proven, it's proven,)
que mai ningú no ens podrà tòrcer. (no one will ever beat us.)
Blaugrana al vent, (Blue and red with the wind,)
un crit valent, (a brave cry,)
tenim un nom, el sap tothom: (we have a name everyone knows:)
Barça!, Barça!, Barça! (Barça!, Barça!, Barça!)
http://www.fcbfans.com/newsletter/landpage-newsletter2_29dic10.php wrote:
Afellay’s Dream
Afellay is a happy boy. After the deal was settled for his transfer from PSV Eindhoven to FC Barcelona, the Dutch footballer landed in Barcelona on December 23.
After passing his medical, the footballer was introduced to blaugrana fans on December 24. He was their Christmas gift. “I’m really happy to be part of the Barça family, the best team in the world,” he said in his first press conference. Later, in an interview for Barça TV, he admitted he’d hoped to wear the blaugrana shirt since he was a little boy: “I’m dying to play with Messi and Iniesta.” Leo and Andrés are two of the players he admires the most. Now, this is no longer a hope. His dream will come true.
Afellay (24) had signed a contract with Ajax until June 30, 2011. Now he’s signed with FC Barcelona for four seasons and a half. His shirt will bear No. 20 –a legacy from Alves (who’ll be wearing No. 2) and Deco.
The Dutch midfielder, who’s won all the titles in Holland, could make his debut with Barça soon, in one of the matches to be played by the First Team in the near future.
idlemind wrote:
And I got my first ever football jersey guys, waay excited to say the least.
The details and quality are really impressive..
..the team logo is even on imprinted on the player number.
And well here's my player...in almost every set play, captain caveman is involved.
Even when he's helping out in center forward and things take a turn for the worst, he's almost always the first on the ball and usually the last man protecting defense.. arguably the most determined barca player...Carles Puyol Saforcada.
...next up, captain's armband....
mitch wrote:idlemind wrote:
And I got my first ever football jersey guys, waay excited to say the least.
The details and quality are really impressive.....blah blah blah
how much did it cost?
ado15mk3 wrote:Nice gift there boss^^^. Bought the Messi from barca website the night they pong RM. Everything was on sale with free worldwide shipping. Juzzy was US$77 and taxes was TT$200 . Delivered to door shipping via UPS in 1 week. Wish I had more $$$.
Can't wait to see the UCL Arsenal game!!!
ado15mk3 wrote:Nice gift there boss^^^. Bought the Messi from barca website the night they pong RM. Everything was on sale with free worldwide shipping. Juzzy was US$77 and taxes was TT$200 . Delivered to door shipping via UPS in 1 week. Wish I had more $$$.
Can't wait to see the UCL Arsenal game!!!
http://www.fcbarcelona.com/web/english/noticies/futbol/temporada10-11/01/02/n110102114899.html wrote:Xavi: “I feel privileged”
Xavi Hernández told the ‘El Marcador’ show on Barça TV how it feels to have equalled Migueli’s record number of appearances, and described what a pleasure it is to play for Barça at the moment.
Xavi has been in the Barcelona first team for thirteen seasons, and although he has lived through the good times, he has also endured bad ones. “People are enjoying Barça. We have won titles and we’ll try to win more, but I have also suffered bad times” he said. “You can’t put a price on being loved so much in your own home. I have also been criticised, but I always wanted to triumph here.” And there can be no arguing that he has done just that.
Surprise tribute
On the tribute paid to him after the game, Xavi said “I wasn’t expecting it. They didn’t tell me a thing. But when I’m not in control of a situation, I get nervous. Today I felt very much the focus of people’s attention”.
Asked if he suspects anybody will beat his own record, Xavi replied that “Víctor and Andrés are still young and I’m sure they can beat me.” Then he laughingly added that “Carles is two years older than me, so it’s not so easy for him.”
Difficult game
As for the game, Levante proved a lot trickier than many had expected. “They had just lost 8-0 at the Bernabéu and played it tight at the back. And the picth wasn’t too good either … But once you’ve scored, you feel lñiberated. The first goal changed the game. It came a bit late, but at least it came”.
On Sunday, Xavi Hernández equalled Migueli’s record of 549 appearances for FC Barcelona. Migueli’s son took the honorary kick off before the match with Levante.
Xavi has now played as many games for Barça as another living legend, Migueli, and both players received hearty tributes on such a monumental occasion.
Migueli honoured
FC Barcelona first played tribute to Migueli, who did so much for the club over so many years. Tarzan, as he was known, was at the club for 16 years, and retired at the age of 38. Today, it was his own son who took the honorary kick off. Then it was over to Xavi, who currently ties with the great man, but will get the chance to break the record outright against Bilbao on Wednesday: his 550th game.
Migueli: "I wish Xavi all the best"
Speaking to ‘El Marcador’ on Barça TV, Migueli claimed that his legs were shaking and that he felt more nervous than he did on the day of his debut at the Camp Nou. “The merit is not to play 549 games, but to get better every day, dedicate everything to the club you love and feel happy for spending your life at Barça”. As for Xavi, Migueli sais “I wish him all the best. I’be been bettered by a world champion, a local boy and that’s an honour for me”.
Xavi: “I feel loved”
After the game, a clearly moved Xavi shared a few words with the fans. He said “I feel very loved. It is an honour to wear this shirt and I hope to wear it for many years more. Thanks to everybody, from my heart”.
http://www.fcbarcelona.com/web/english/noticies/futbol/temporada10-11/01/03/n110103114902.html wrote:
Llevant game facts and figures
http://www.fcbarcelona.cat
Although Xavi and Pedro grabbed the headlines in the game against Llevant in the opening game of 2011, there were plenty of other protagonists as the selection of facts and figures from the game shows below:
► Víctor Valdés made his 384th appearance for the team, equalling the number of games played by Antoni Ramallets and must now set his sights on Andoni Zubizarreta’s record of 410 games.
►Stuani’s 81st minute goal was the first the team had conceded at home since 14th November, when Nilmar scored for Villarreal.
► The win was Guardiola’s team’s 11th La Liga win on the run, beating their previous best run from the treble winning 2008/09 season and taking them one closer to the Club record of 14 straight wins from the 2005/06 campaign under Frank Rijkaard.
► The victory also marked the team’s 24th consecutive game unbeaten, equalling the run set in 2005/06 and just three short of the Club record set in the 1973/74 season.
► The game saw the return of Gaby Milito after two months out with an injury he picked up in the Cup game against Ceuta in November.
► Barça have won every one of the last 18 La Liga games that Sergio Busquets has played in, something only Puskas, Del Sol and Carles Puyol have equalled.
► Xavi made 151 successful passes, 12 more than the whole Llevant team, but unusually for him, he was also the Barça player who gave away most possession(13).
http://www.fcbarcelona.com/web/english/noticies/futbol/temporada10-11/01/06/n110106114948.html wrote:
Quarter final qualification trivia
http://www.fcbarcelona.cat
The win against Athletic Bilbao and therefore qualification for the last eight of the Copa del Rey, all thanks to Abidal’s first goal for Barça, produced plenty of nuggets of information.
► Wednesday saw Josep Guardiola face Athletic Builbao for the tenth time as a manager. It’s the club he has faced the most and with a very positive balance for FC Barcelona. In these ten games, they have won seven and drawn three.
► This game was the 150th for Josep Guardiola in charge of FC Barcelona, in which time he has totalled 109 wins, 28 draws and 13 defeats, with 376 goals for and 112 against. That equals the record of the legendary 1950s coach Fernando Daucik and puts hi8m sixth in the all-time list behind Cruyff (430), Rijkaard (273), Michels (264), Van Gaal (200) and Venables (169).
► Xavi Hernández has now officially worn the FC Barcelona shirt 550 times, the most ever, even more than the previous record holder Migueli. He came off in the 77th minute and even the San Mamés saw fit to offer him an ovation.
► The newest signing, Ibrahim Afellay, made his debut for FC Barcelona last night, coming on in the 90th minute as a replacement for David Villa and at a tense time following the home side’s equaliser.
► This was only the third goal Abidal has ever scored as a pro. The first two were at Olympique Lyon, and curiously he has yet to score in a league fixture. He scored a cup goal against Lille, and also got one in the League Cup semi finals on January 17, 2007 against Le Mans. Abidal also scored a penalty in the World Cup final shootout against Italy in 2006, which France ultimately lost..
► It was Barcelona’s 25th game in a row without defeat, thus beating the 2005-2006 record. The club is now just two short of the amazing run of 27 unbeaten matches in 1973-74.
► Three of the Barça players, Keita, Adriano and Alves, met on old friend in Joaquín Caparrós last night. The trio all played under the Andalusian’s orders in their time at Sevilla.
► Last night was the third time in a row that Josep Guardiola’s side went in at half time with the score at 0-0. The other two were the first leg of the cup tie with, which ended 0-0, and Sunday’s league fixture with levante, which ended 2-1. The goals may have been short in coming, but Barça are into the cup quarter finals and are still top of La Liga.