Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 6th, 2010, 8:36 pm

Also a good way to spot poor breeding choices is the appearance of black spots, like black pepper, on the head of the fish. No raise spots, just colouration.
Another trait of poor fishes are large eyes, elongated shaped bodies, missing pectoral fins, overly shy fish.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » January 6th, 2010, 9:10 pm

Halfbreed,

I agree with that assessment. Going back 10+ years or so, the guy from Lange Park had some really nice stock and had really healthy, well-cared for and well formed discus. Most of the stuff I have seen in passing in the few pet shops are not impressive in the least..but I haven't been much in pet shops..only now starting to check out the few that I come across.

Besides, If i do decide to invest in discus, I will almost never buy from a per shop. I prefer to buy from a breeder directly. I would prefer to buy an entire batch of free-swimming fry and grow them out myself and cull from there rather than buy a few fish about 2-3" which may have been malnourished in the grow out process and have their growth stunted to some degree.

With respect to equipment..I still have my tanks. air and water pumps and heaters from way back when and can rebuild the canister filters I initially built for my discus tanks back then.

Just need to find some good stock to start with. I was checking online in the US at some breeder sites and realised that there are some really great varieties that have been developed over the last 10 years. I wonder if any of the local importers would assist (for a small fee :) ) in the logistics in bringing in some stock from one or more of these breeders.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 6th, 2010, 9:24 pm

Shiva has offered to help me bring in stock. He strikes me as an honest person, I have dealt with him for years.
Ask him, the lange park ppl still in the game, does anyone know?

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » January 6th, 2010, 9:29 pm

I could check since i work in Chaguanas. I think I remember which house it is.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 6th, 2010, 9:43 pm

Much of my hope lies with raj, hopefully something good will come out of my trip next week.
If u interested in calicos goldfish, wazir has an impressive lot

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » January 6th, 2010, 9:56 pm

Never really liked goldfish. I only got the 3 orandas because they were $6 each. I used to keep & breed angels, oscars and bettas and started on discus but then moved out of my parent's house and didn't have space in my apt to move the dozens of containers I had with fish. I ended up giving all the fish I had.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » January 6th, 2010, 11:15 pm

To all discus men, yes Lange park reeder Ian is still in business, i do suggest you check him around feb tho for stock, bpught from him last month & i got like the lowest graded two cause most had already shipped out *yep thas right) he ships/exports all his discus & dont sell locally at all to any petshops(politics nah)
He sells locally to indiviuals like me & you but not pet shops & the two i bought were still okish as to compared to the shitty ones i see time around...
Wazir does have some nice ones, not too bad, lil pricey but thas expected! he does have good stock from time to time as well.....
If anyone has a breeding pair of discus or angels to sell please contact or inform me, i will be interested as i would like to start ack my hand at these.....btw

Halfbreed07,if you come accross anyone who sells & breeds & have numbers or anything such to ah breeding pair, let me know I wanna start breeding, I go supply you self if they come tru nice, you have contact numbers to the cascade, santacruz cocorite men?

wireless

Postby wireless » January 6th, 2010, 11:36 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:Image

couple of my boys, got some black neons and panda corydoras in with dem, java fern and some giant amazon swords planted.
btw how are the ones in grand bazaar?

What is the size of your tank?
thinking about getting some discus

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » January 6th, 2010, 11:44 pm

Good to hear that Ian is still around.

Still drooling over some of the strains I have seen online at US & Asian breeder sites.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 7th, 2010, 5:27 am

I can link you a angels, huge kois veil tails angels pm me if u interested.
The discus tank is a 48x18x18
Can someone post a no. Or directions to the lange park guy.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 7th, 2010, 7:22 am

Halfbreed07, With that said, You're saying that Dr. Fish doesn't have fish of quality?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 7th, 2010, 7:29 am

AGENT RORO wrote:Halfbreed07, With that said, You're saying that Dr. Fish doesn't have fish of quality?

si, as off 4 months ago that is so

fire mouth/convict cross breeds

'kois' veil tail angles

Postby foss » January 7th, 2010, 7:46 am

now filling my tank...

undecided with fish i will put in it tho

djblademan

Postby djblademan » January 7th, 2010, 8:01 am

anywhere allyuh go, allyuh must take pics of the diff qualities you guys come across so we can be the judge as well....i never step fot by dr. fish as yet but would love to....need a contact & directions! i doh know down that side at all!

Postby foss » January 7th, 2010, 8:18 am

anyone knows where i can get a nice un-expensive fish tank cover for my 4foot?

with a light etc

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » January 7th, 2010, 9:52 am

foss wrote:anyone knows where i can get a nice un-expensive fish tank cover for my 4foot?

with a light etc

check chais or wazir

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 7th, 2010, 10:35 am

un-expensive is certainly not chai.
pet shop boys in sando has the best prices on tanks, imo

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 7th, 2010, 10:39 am

djblademan wrote:anywhere allyuh go, allyuh must take pics of the diff qualities you guys come across so we can be the judge as well....i never step fot by dr. fish as yet but would love to....need a contact & directions! i doh know down that side at all!

grants rd. rousillac. its before la brea on the main road on the left side, his no. is usually in the classifieds advertising 'class discus'.

Postby foss » January 7th, 2010, 10:41 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:un-expensive is certainly not chai.
pet shop boys in sando has the best prices on tanks, imo

covers as well? for a 4 foot eh

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 7th, 2010, 10:46 am

yes, dey usually do, 653-0675.

Postby foss » January 7th, 2010, 10:48 am

thanks!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 7th, 2010, 1:08 pm

a couple vidz to keep d thread flowin...

<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/id6EAtNXH8M&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/id6EAtNXH8M&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>

<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/KirLk_FLyQk&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/KirLk_FLyQk&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 7th, 2010, 1:23 pm

<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/KirLk_FLyQk&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/KirLk_FLyQk&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>[/quote]

dat forker nice

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » January 7th, 2010, 2:00 pm

nice tusk and wrasse they ryantt.
ah see yuh get d picasso now too. rel smart fish.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 7th, 2010, 2:15 pm

Halfbreed07, thanks man...

rmtuner, yea dred...awaitin ah banner fish yet, do anyting wit d 6ft yet?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » January 7th, 2010, 4:09 pm

the 6ft should be up and running by end of d month.
go take pics when done.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » January 7th, 2010, 4:13 pm

the urquoise blue that Wazir them have real nice tho must say.... i would love to buy a pair.... thinkin about it!

embellishfrost

Postby embellishfrost » January 7th, 2010, 7:27 pm

For you tuners who respect & love marine wildlife please go to this thread and sign the petition ensuring that a swim up bar/club is not built at Stingray City!

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=288393

Time is limited as Cayman's Tourism and Liquor Licensing Board have already given their approval.

Please help save & protect the sting rays' habitat.

On behalf of Oceanic Defense I thank you!

Embellish Frost.

To become a member of Oceanic Defense's army check out
www.oceanicdefense.org or go to http://oceanicdefense.blogspot.com/

djblademan

Postby djblademan » January 7th, 2010, 8:00 pm

cool gonna sign now....

fellass the grand bazar pet shop is sh!t im sorry....they have an albino iridescent wit discus & & other species with others & i was like???
but the discus quality there real poor tho! ah mean for 110$????

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 7th, 2010, 8:04 pm

djblademan wrote:cool gonna sign now....

fellass the grand bazar pet shop is sh!t im sorry....they have an albino iridescent wit discus & & other species with others & i was like???
but the discus quality there real poor tho! ah mean for 110$????

it poor even if offered for free.... those fish should have been culled, i hope no one buys them and breeds them.
somebody trying ah thing on facebook.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/City-Of-P ... 699?ref=mf
Last edited by Halfbreed07 on January 7th, 2010, 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.