COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 497 cases, 10 deaths, 348 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » August 16th, 2020, 8:24 am

Final zess?

FB_IMG_1597580589222.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 497 cases, 10 deaths, 348 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby Chimera » August 16th, 2020, 8:32 am

Everyone seeing today as a major last lap lime yes.

freaking idiots.

Postby adnj » August 16th, 2020, 8:34 am

FrankChag wrote:too late? the virus has a 2-week incubation... so by next week, hospitals are going to be maxed... 3,000 active cases by the end of August.

At this rate, 1/2 million by end of September? Is that what we're aiming for? herd immunity? because that is not a good idea, death-wise.

Either your model or your assumptions are incorrect. You cannot maintain a constant infection rate when the uninfected population is decreasing proportionately -- not to mention new restrictions on movement.

Postby paid_influencer » August 16th, 2020, 8:37 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Everyone seeing today as a major last lap lime yes.

freaking idiots.

u going beach bai? :drinking:

last lap in full swing

Postby paid_influencer » August 16th, 2020, 8:45 am

redmanjp wrote:this is why we now need the mask mandate!

yup. imagine you can charge people $1000 for littering, $500 for parking, and jail time for obscene language but the penalty for taking off a mask and spewing COVID over everybody is ... nothing.

:drinking:

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 474 cases, 10 deaths, 325 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby adnj » August 16th, 2020, 9:04 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:I see tnt is well on its way to be the US of the caribbean when it comes to covid. All we missing is the mass graves. At this rate might start seeing that mid next month

You are way, way off even as a joke.

The USA has 168K deaths and 5.62M cases.

To match the severity of USA outbreak, Trinidad would need to have 700 dead and 22K cases -- and climbing.

U missed my point. I am stating that like US is the leader in covid infections in the G7. We may end up being the leader in covid infections in the catibbean. That is all. Hence my statement the US of the caribbean.

He's not wrong.

It's almost exactly as I predicted. Back in March or April I said we locked down too hard and when we eventually have a real first wave, we'll be fed up. I hate being proven right about this now but it was very very predictable.

This isn' simply a trini thing, locking down hard for months is difficult or anyone, Americans, Italians, Chinese, Spanish etc.

People all over the world now have lockdown fatigue. Almost no one has the same fear, discipline that they did in Mar to June. We fed up.

Worst of all, the way we behaved from March to June is how we should be behaving now. The goal is always to flatten the curve, not avoid it (which is near impossible, even NZ is finding that out now).

Secondly, we have a government that for the last 3 weeks has been extremely complacent in allowing election activities to go on, playing down the severity of the outbreak. Remember "it's not raging, no community spread, we have it under control, we still Oxford number 1".

Thirdly, we have a government that sends messaging saying it's the citizens fault for getting covid. That is utterly rediculous. Almost 90% of the cases so far are people who have contracted it from co-workers or their immediate relatives. Not people going bars, restaurants, groceries or not wearing masks in crowds.

Many persons can't work from home and many employers need to make up for low earnings right now so again, unless a strict lockdown is enforced, it will continue to spread.
If you look at other CARICOM nations and take into consideration the recent jump in confirmed cases, Trinidad is still in a much better position with respect to infection rate of its population.[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200816/01734f670510cbbb0b37b75af7516812.jpg[/img]

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 16th, 2020, 9:04 am

Last lap in full effect up on the north coast....
Screenshot_2020-08-16-08-59-37-074_com.whatsapp.jpeg
Screenshot_2020-08-16-08-59-45-967_com.whatsapp.jpeg

Postby matr1x » August 16th, 2020, 9:13 am

They hyper exaggerating this thing

Postby maj. tom » August 16th, 2020, 9:18 am

The weather not even looking good for beach. Why some people have to be so? We saw the nonsense USA did and how they're paying the price and now we doing the same thing. Did the same thing for election campaigning.

Ventilator confessions don't help anyone, and it does not redeem your soul for deliberately opposing clear guidelines and mischievous deeds done regarding the virus.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 16th, 2020, 9:24 am

Last night at couva hospital
60 admissions
1 death
1 hdu critical case
3 ICU critical

May be reflected in this morning update

Postby aaron17 » August 16th, 2020, 9:29 am

ST Auto wrote:Last night at couva hospital
60 admissions
1 death
1 hdu critical case
3 ICU critical

May be reflected in this morning update
11 in total dead?

Postby aaron17 » August 16th, 2020, 9:31 am

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:this is why we now need the mask mandate!

yup. imagine you can charge people $1000 for littering, $500 for parking, and jail time for obscene language but the penalty for taking off a mask and spewing COVID over everybody is ... nothing.

:drinking:
That is if u ever get caught to begin with....slim chance.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 16th, 2020, 9:31 am

According to my contact inside one person died last night. May be reflected in this morning or this afternoon update depending on when family was informed etc

Postby goalpost » August 16th, 2020, 10:22 am

No release yet?

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2020, 10:37 am

They can’t do release until the family etc has been notified.

Postby K74T » August 16th, 2020, 10:40 am

Confirmation of death

FB_IMG_1597588808647.jpeg
FB_IMG_1597588811366.jpeg

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 16th, 2020, 10:43 am

all dat mc death and infections and all dese people so dotish to rush maracas an river, it shud really be a last lap for dem, one infection on the beach and daz it all dem in caura some mth end. dotish mc.

Postby paid_influencer » August 16th, 2020, 10:51 am

22 cases between 6pm yesterday and 10am this morning.

46 cases in 24 hours, out of 119 tests in 24 hours. ~40% positivity rate.

this is baaaaaad.

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2020, 10:57 am

So no more delays

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 474 cases, 10 deaths, 325 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » August 16th, 2020, 11:02 am

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:I see tnt is well on its way to be the US of the caribbean when it comes to covid. All we missing is the mass graves. At this rate might start seeing that mid next month

You are way, way off even as a joke.

The USA has 168K deaths and 5.62M cases.

To match the severity of USA outbreak, Trinidad would need to have 700 dead and 22K cases -- and climbing.

U missed my point. I am stating that like US is the leader in covid infections in the G7. We may end up being the leader in covid infections in the catibbean. That is all. Hence my statement the US of the caribbean.

He's not wrong.

It's almost exactly as I predicted. Back in March or April I said we locked down too hard and when we eventually have a real first wave, we'll be fed up. I hate being proven right about this now but it was very very predictable.

This isn' simply a trini thing, locking down hard for months is difficult or anyone, Americans, Italians, Chinese, Spanish etc.

People all over the world now have lockdown fatigue. Almost no one has the same fear, discipline that they did in Mar to June. We fed up.

Worst of all, the way we behaved from March to June is how we should be behaving now. The goal is always to flatten the curve, not avoid it (which is near impossible, even NZ is finding that out now).

Secondly, we have a government that for the last 3 weeks has been extremely complacent in allowing election activities to go on, playing down the severity of the outbreak. Remember "it's not raging, no community spread, we have it under control, we still Oxford number 1".

Thirdly, we have a government that sends messaging saying it's the citizens fault for getting covid. That is utterly rediculous. Almost 90% of the cases so far are people who have contracted it from co-workers or their immediate relatives. Not people going bars, restaurants, groceries or not wearing masks in crowds.

Many persons can't work from home and many employers need to make up for low earnings right now so again, unless a strict lockdown is enforced, it will continue to spread.
If you look at other CARICOM nations and take into consideration the recent jump in confirmed cases, Trinidad is still in a much better position with respect to infection rate of its population.

For now....

People boasted about Florida, India and I kept telling everyone just wait it's a matter of time before it gets out of control.

What's shocking me about T&T is that even with our low testing rate our positive tests per tests done has been surprisingly high this last week. They is always an extremely bad sign.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 16th, 2020, 11:09 am

^EXTREMELY BAD SIGN!

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 16th, 2020, 11:11 am

Low testing is meaningless.

Once you are testing people with symptoms or people with exposure history or risks then those tests will be morw accurate.

You can't waste tests just testing random people when you are aiming to detect and treat. This is not about surveillance. This is about detecting and removing. To narrow it down you have to test based on symptoms.

Let me ask you a question. Have you ever woke up in the morning, felt amazing and went by the doctor for a test because you suspect that you are ill?

I am guessing no.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 16th, 2020, 11:13 am

paid_influencer wrote:22 cases between 6pm yesterday and 10am this morning.

46 cases in 24 hours, out of 119 tests in 24 hours. ~40% positivity rate.

this is baaaaaad.

Those tests are not random. Those tests would be for persons most likely displaying symptoms or exposed to the virus somehow. So think about it this way. Every tests carried out would have a high chance of confirming infection. Remember the purpose of a test is to confirm infection so that is why there is specific criteria for testing.

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2020, 11:14 am

“ Secondly, we have a government that for the last 3 weeks has been extremely complacent in allowing election activities to go on, playing down the severity of the outbreak. Remember "it's not raging, no community spread, we have it under control, we still Oxford number 1"

This doh care about boasting and ting

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 16th, 2020, 11:15 am

Figured ppl would rush to the beach today

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 16th, 2020, 11:15 am

Upcoming week will be bad. Imagine number of deaths that will result for this latest spike in the next couple of weeks. Hope this is a wake up call and population start taking this seriously so it can be brought under control.

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2020, 11:16 am

Most of the states have drive up testing and they are for any and everybody.
Lot of the persons do go for tests on their own without symptoms.

Redress10 wrote:Low testing is meaningless.

Once you are testing people with symptoms or people with exposure history or risks then those tests will be morw accurate.

You can't waste tests just testing random people when you are aiming to detect and treat. This is not about surveillance. This is about detecting and removing. To narrow it down you have to test based on symptoms.

Let me ask you a question. Have you ever woke up in the morning, felt amazing and went by the doctor for a test because you suspect that you are ill?

I am guessing no.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 16th, 2020, 11:18 am

Redress10 wrote:Low testing is meaningless.

I am guessing no.

Please try to understand that 50-70% of Covid cases are mild. Many of these people are being turned away right now which is rediculous because if they don't know they're positive they can be spreading it to persons who will inturn infect other persons. All unknown and out of sight.

Without a fever or other severe symptoms you will be denied testing right now in T&T. In fact, I shall test this tmr as my brother has some mild symptoms and I'll be taking him for a test tomorrow. He has no fever, but has a minor cough, is feeling very fatigued and has mild headaches.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 16th, 2020, 11:21 am

pugboy wrote:“ Secondly, we have a government that for the last 3 weeks has been extremely complacent in allowing election activities to go on, playing down the severity of the outbreak. Remember "it's not raging, no community spread, we have it under control, we still Oxford number 1"

This doh care about boasting and ting
They could have implemented the lock down two weeks ago and I believe the election could have still go on and result would have been more or less the same.
Last edited by neilsingh100 on August 16th, 2020, 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby goalpost » August 16th, 2020, 11:23 am

Quick question:
They are classifying cases as pending epidemiological and recent cases.
Then there are those who were tested at a private lab.
Shouldn't those be also classified as either pending or recent?
Or am I missing something?