PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby skylinechild » September 30th, 2018, 7:28 pm

kamakazi wrote:I haven't met with a lot of success trying to change from AHCI to legacy and vice versa after an install

Heres the link on how to do the IDE to AHCI change via registry - its how i did it and it works on windows 10 :wink:

Link >> https://mywindowshub.com/enable-ahci-wi ... tallation/

for windows 7 theres another set of instructions - google is your friend here 8-)

Postby nervewrecker » September 30th, 2018, 7:29 pm

Aye, talking about chiney i have a window unit to collect from him.
But I working normal hours like normal people now so no free time.

Postby skylinechild » September 30th, 2018, 7:36 pm

Soul Collector wrote:Thanks for the tips skylinechild. Doubt I'll pump new money into this old rig though, will build a new system next year. Just wanted to give it some life and leave it for my lil bro to use.

wait.. i advise you... :shock: i thought we was advisin nerve.... :?:
*scrolls back up and sees post about intel QX processor.

ohh... umm well yea... i always wanted to own a LGA 775 ....esp one form the QX quad core series. :oops:
you seriously underestimating the power you got there man.

stick it full with DDR2 RAM and a SSD. ....

if u need to - get a better board.

*goes off on a Rant .......
ppl tend to have the trend to buy crap boards but good processors...and when the new software is made and time passes they feel the system gets old and "slow".....and they then get the idea of spending for a new pc...cause it not worth the amt of $$ for RAM or a SSD.

Postby skylinechild » September 30th, 2018, 7:37 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Aye, talking about chiney i have a window unit to collect from him.
But I working normal hours like normal people now so no free time.

yet i am without Ac goin on close to 2 yrs.... * plucks petal from a daisy flower.... :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » September 30th, 2018, 7:39 pm

You tell me you get it sorted out.
Thursday I was on your side.
You eh tell me the road missing? Nearly clear away crane, pile driver, truck, excavator and everything like bowling pins

Postby skylinechild » September 30th, 2018, 7:46 pm

nervewrecker wrote:You tell me you get it sorted out.
Thursday I was on your side.
You eh tell me the road missing? Nearly clear away crane, pile driver, truck, excavator and everything like bowling pins

you didnt ASK if the road good ...why u does be driving at dem speeds to clear way dem ting for ... :lol:

. it get started but it BARELY cooling - plus the condenser inside sounds like loud cracking noises (as though stuff break apart -and fell inside it....)

so i dont use it.... it took over 2 hrs to TRY to cool my room and it couldnt - i just get fed up and turn it off...

need someone to take it off the wall - take it apart...see what causing all the loud cracking noises.... fix it and reinstall onto wall.... then go behind.... check compressor... and stuff...service it.... regas up everything...and then cold breeze...

thats like a 4-5 hr work right dey...

men only want to come spray water for 15 mins to "clean" it and collect $$$

speaking of which my living room Ac needs a regular cleaning... u go handle meh..??

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 30th, 2018, 8:44 pm

skylinechild wrote:nerve- you have a very high processor usage - you do alot of multi tasking -

whats the specs on the processor HCCA offering you and what is your current processor specs?

windows 10 isnt failure - it works good - its just that you do alot of damn multi tasking lol...thats all.

a GOOD processor for what you want it to do should be at least a tri core from yester years - or a quad core and above... no dual core or dual threads for u....

adding RAM is always a good thing in my book- others may disagree and look at it as throwing away money on an old platform. -if you look at it a stick of ram is lets say - 15-20 USD.
no where in the blue hell you gettin a brand new computer for that price - even if you change processor for 60 USD (just giving a random figure)

you will NEVER get a new pc for the cost of 80 USD equivalent in TT

find out whats the best processor there is for your current board.... and see if you cud get ur hands on it.
throw in a normal everyday video card to take the video processing load off the CPU....
and see if u get any improvement.

I offered him a better deal this evening. The CPU better than what in my apu as well.

Athlon x4 860k 3.7ghz base 4ghz turbo quad core
New copper base heatpiped amd stock cooler (swap with his current cooler)
Xfx radeon HD 5450 1gb ddr3 pcie GPU
Kingston 4 GB 1600mhz ddr3

For $500

What u think?

Postby skylinechild » September 30th, 2018, 9:00 pm

HCCA wrote:
skylinechild wrote:nerve- you have a very high processor usage - you do alot of multi tasking -

whats the specs on the processor HCCA offering you and what is your current processor specs?

windows 10 isnt failure - it works good - its just that you do alot of damn multi tasking lol...thats all.

a GOOD processor for what you want it to do should be at least a tri core from yester years - or a quad core and above... no dual core or dual threads for u....

adding RAM is always a good thing in my book- others may disagree and look at it as throwing away money on an old platform. -if you look at it a stick of ram is lets say - 15-20 USD.
no where in the blue hell you gettin a brand new computer for that price - even if you change processor for 60 USD (just giving a random figure)

you will NEVER get a new pc for the cost of 80 USD equivalent in TT

find out whats the best processor there is for your current board.... and see if you cud get ur hands on it.
throw in a normal everyday video card to take the video processing load off the CPU....
and see if u get any improvement.

I offered him a better deal this evening. The CPU better than what in my apu as well.

Athlon x4 860k 3.7ghz base 4ghz turbo quad core
New copper base heatpiped amd stock cooler (swap with his current cooler)
Xfx radeon HD 5450 1gb ddr3 pcie GPU
Kingston 4 GB 1600mhz ddr3

For $500

What u think?

sounds like a good deal.

whats the actual processor model # so we can better compare performance
I'd also need to know what nerve has runing now - and also his main board manufacturer and model.
i'm not much of a AMD raedon graphics kinda guy i'm more of a nvidia user.
and as i said....more ram the merrier.

anyone got a proper working activation patch for windows 10 and office 2016 pro plus ( it has all the office apps word excel power point publisher etc)

or can recommend something that WORKS ??

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 30th, 2018, 9:12 pm

My apu is an a10 6800k fm2
The athlon is an athlon x4 860k fm2+

He currently has an a4 4000
Ram is Kingston 4gb 1600mhz valueram
Board is an asrock fm2a68m-dg3+

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 30th, 2018, 9:23 pm

skylinechild wrote:*goes off on a Rant .......
ppl tend to have the trend to buy crap boards but good processors...and when the new software is made and time passes they feel the system gets old and "slow".....and they then get the idea of spending for a new pc...cause it not worth the amt of $$ for RAM or a SSD.

Somehow I feel the need to respond (some food for thought).
There is a saying to not spend good money behind bad. I usually recommend replacing core components that do not transcend builds, namely (CPU, Mobo and RAM). The condition to this statement is unless you spent a LOT of money on those components and the cost of rebuilding can be justified by the performance and reliability of the platform, then don't bother.

As much as I might be an enthusiast, my clients are not. Some demand reliability above all else, while others can work with the risks inherent in used parts.
CPUs tend to be pretty reliable used, motherboards and memory not so much.
SSDs do not fit into my classification of core components as it generally isn't platform limited.

That is the cost of reliability...

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 1st, 2018, 1:56 am

skylinechild wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:Thanks for the tips skylinechild. Doubt I'll pump new money into this old rig though, will build a new system next year. Just wanted to give it some life and leave it for my lil bro to use.

ohh... umm well yea... i always wanted to own a LGA 775 ....esp one form the QX quad core series. :oops:

Lol small thing though. It was a budget system at the time and tried to get the best bang for the buck while trying to future proof as best I could.

The board is a Gigabyte EP45-UD3P which was a well reviewed mid range board at the time.

Would you say that board needs upgrading if I do decide I want to load up more DDR2 RAM and throw in a SSD?

Also, the AMD 6850 has proven itself over the years as well. The CoD, CSGO and LoL titles aren't that demanding, which is what it'll be used for still, so no need to upgrade the GPU in this setup.

Postby skylinechild » October 2nd, 2018, 2:28 am

Soul Collector wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

Lol small thing though. It was a budget system at the time and tried to get the best bang for the buck while trying to future proof as best I could.

The board is a Gigabyte EP45-UD3P which was a well reviewed mid range board at the time.

Would you say that board needs upgrading if I do decide I want to load up more DDR2 RAM and throw in a SSD?

Also, the AMD 6850 has proven itself over the years as well. The CoD, CSGO and LoL titles aren't that demanding, which is what it'll be used for still, so no need to upgrade the GPU in this setup.

so i did some checks on that board...seems thats its a good board - the best thing u cud do for it is stick it full of ram and a SSD....and go again.
if you still require more performance then time to buy everything new..... board processor RAM etc

this unit - stock full of 16gigs of ram and a SSD - can be repurposed as a media server for your home - supports dual gigabit LANS and such.

if you choose to stick with this LGA 775 platform the best board you may be able to get is either the asus P5Q deluxe or the gigabyte ga-ep45 extreme. - bear in mind you will STILL need to upgrade your RAM and add in a SSD for the snappy response.

bear in mind this LGA 775 socket is over 7+ yrs old and newer more modern processors with higher clock speeds can move faster than this.

if it was me and i dont have much $$ to spend... buy ram and a SSD
if i wanted more speed than this can perform - - new motherboard processor and RAM ( sell the old units)

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2018, 3:04 am

skylinechild wrote:...
this unit - stock full of 16gigs of ram and a SSD - can be repurposed as a media server for your home - supports dual gigabit LANS and such...

For a media server, a large hard drive will work better than an SSD. More than his 4 GB of RAM won't help much either.

Plug in or install a hard drive. He'll be able to serve up files fine but the processor wont be able to transcode much so files will need to play at native resolution.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 2nd, 2018, 9:14 am

Thanks skylinechild ^^

The only money I'm willing to spend on this rig is for RAM and well the SSD which is long overdue anyway. Doubt I'll go the server route though.

Once I have to change mobo then I'm just gona build a new rig. Would have done so already as I find it fun doing the research and building etc but $ hasn't permitted me to indulge that idea just yet☹️

Postby Ted_v2 » October 15th, 2018, 7:39 pm

explain me something. i have always have harddrive failures for as far i could remember. I always used to keep purchasing new laptops every couple of years, used to have the same issues over and over. always some seagate and toshiba

wannna build a pc now. anyone can give me a est cost? or whats their experiences with small builds.
i do some photography so small editing and i download and look at alot of tv series, so plenty deleting and downloading.
Im accustomed to less than 4gb ram and im happy with it. barely cross over 100GB
Need a solid state drive and hdmi outs would be nice but not a must.

whats you guys views on the mini pcs?

Postby skylinechild » October 15th, 2018, 8:05 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:explain me something. i have always have harddrive failures for as far i could remember. I always used to keep purchasing new laptops every couple of years, used to have the same issues over and over. always some seagate and toshiba

wannna build a pc now. anyone can give me a est cost? or whats their experiences with small builds.
i do some photography so small editing and i download and look at alot of tv series, so plenty deleting and downloading.
Im accustomed to less than 4gb ram and im happy with it. barely cross over 100GB

the uses you talking about there.... is more or less abit above a normal avg user....not quite at enthusiast level either.

hard drive failures do happen... but ive never personally experienced a failure ( knock on wood)

on my pc (and customers) if its a new Hard drive i always do a full format( not a quick) to clean out the drive - identify any bad sectors / segments so the O.S wont go storing data there

i also show customers how to defragment and do other disk clean up as well.

having 4Gb of ram could also be a contributing factor to early Hard drive death- windows uses a segment of hard drive to act as memory - called a paging file.

larger the paging file the more stuff you can have there..... too much of a large paging file could result in extreme disk fragmentation and delays when accessing data.

typically i recommend customers to have 8 Gb of RAM...and above.

seagate and toshiba are supposed to be good drives...dunno what u doing to fail those.

ok so ur cost break down is like this.

pc case - your choice and style up to u... cost up to u

power supply -EVGA power supply $40 usd >>> https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-Bronze-Warr ... 57JV4CYTTK

main board - i use intel - so just as an example...>>> https://www.amazon.com/PRIME-LGA1151-Mo ... +mainboard

but ANY any good mainboard from asus / msi/ evga etc will do

processor i'd recommend and intel i5 processor

memory 8Gb or ram corsair or crucial....PNY or patriot

SSD drive - again just as an example >>> https://www.amazon.com/Blue-NAND-500GB- ... ywords=ssd

1 TB secondary storage drive $46 USD >>> https://www.amazon.com/Blue-Cache-Deskt ... drive&th=1

Optical drive 22 USD >>>> https://www.amazon.com/Asus-Serial-ATA- ... ical+drive

add up your running total.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » October 15th, 2018, 8:35 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:explain me something. i have always have harddrive failures for as far i could remember. I always used to keep purchasing new laptops every couple of years, used to have the same issues over and over. always some seagate and toshiba

whats you guys views on the mini pcs?
Check out the chart on this website
It should give you a good estimate on what you can get with your budget
Remember to allow for vat and online tax now though

http://www.logicalincrements.com/

Have at look at this too
Corsair air 240 case
Good cooling for our climate
And relatively light to bring in compared to big traditional steel cases

Postby ismithx » October 15th, 2018, 9:03 pm

Seagate has had a lot of reliability issues in the past, so it may not be just you. Also the point about having more RAM is definitely true.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » October 15th, 2018, 9:38 pm

HDD failure data stats NOTE: these drives are a mix of consumer and enterprise hdd.
https://www.backblaze.com/blog/hard-drive-stats-for-q2-2018/

Postby sMASH » November 12th, 2018, 11:14 pm

Where sells fittings locally?

Postby skylinechild » November 13th, 2018, 12:08 am

sMASH wrote:Where sells fittings locally?

fittings ????

fittings for ???

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2018, 7:28 am

Oh shims., brain fart .

I meant water cooling fittings.
Like t's and and 90 degree elbows.

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2018, 7:29 am

Also, looking for a serial to USB adaptor, to use an Ole skool device.

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 13th, 2018, 7:30 am

sMASH wrote:Oh shims., brain fart .

I meant water cooling fittings.
Like t's and and 90 degree elbows.

Don't know, I just ordered directly from ek.

They arrived in about a week

Postby skylinechild » November 13th, 2018, 7:39 am

sMASH wrote:Also, looking for a serial to USB adaptor, to use an Ole skool device.

smash whqt device you wanna run thru the serial to USB adapter ?
reason why i'm asking some devices out there dont play nicely with certain chipsets that are in those usb to serial adapters.

if you can tell me what device you have i can probably recommend something that should work without any issues.

if u going to run the greddy emanage blue piggyback ecu thru usb know that getting the greddy emanage blue to work with that serial to usb adapter is pressure....

check out cooldrives.com

they have really good devices that dont have any issues like the generics.

see link for their listing of usb to serial >>>> http://www.cooldrives.com/index.php/ada ... erial.html

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2018, 8:03 am

Haltech unit.... Nice that I asked.

Postby skylinechild » November 13th, 2018, 2:18 pm

sMASH wrote:Haltech unit.... Nice that I asked.

smash can you post up the model # of the haltech unit or if you dont want to reveal your secrets - go on google and do a search - and get the user guide -find the communications settings in the user guide and post that info here.

we may be able to help you choose an adapter that will work.

remember not all adapters ( and computers) are the same

theres things like IRQ and DMA and baud rate to consider..

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2018, 2:58 pm

Is my cousin doing an upgrade to a v6 gallant...
Ill ask him what halltech he is using.

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2018, 8:08 pm

Haltech e6x... I'm. Not familiar, to know if there is another model scheme

Postby skylinechild » November 14th, 2018, 4:53 pm

sMASH wrote:Haltech e6x... I'm. Not familiar, to know if there is another model scheme

ok smash i found some info for you... it shouldnt be too hard.

stay away from those ebay usb to serial adapters - those are junk.

instead go on the website i gave you and purchase a good working stable unit.

install it onto your laptop setup the com port and youre done.

remember to set the baud rate to 19200. Also make sure flow control is set to NONE.

install your haltech software and then in the communications setup specify the same com port as you selected earlier - so the haltech will know what port the serial is on.

see the following steps i got from haltech site showing how to setup the com port properly.

The following guide will help you through the process, with the USB to serial adaptor plugged into a USB port.

Using Windows XP

1 - Select MY COMPUTER, under the Start Menu.

2 - Select SYSTEM icon.

3 - Select HARDWARE tab.

4 - Select DEVICE MANAGER button.

5 - Open PORTS(COM&LPT), and select the USB-to-Serial Comm Port.

6 - Select PORT SETTINGS tab.

7 - Click ADVANCED button.

8 - Under Com Port Number, select Com1, as long as not already in use (any com port 1-4 can be used, just be sure to select the same com port when setting up the Halwin software).

9 - Click OK.

NOTE be sure to always use the same usb port on your laptop when youre using the usb to serial adapter otherwise the pc may assign a new com port number - and you will have to manually reassign it in the haltech to get it to work again... :lol:

info on how to get your haltech software to run on 64 bit pc's
win 7,8,&10

link >>> http://forums.haltech.com/viewtopic.php?t=11540

edit...

haltech recommends this adapter

Link >>> https://www.tuningtechnology.net/access ... al-adapter

or if not that unit any good serial usb adapter using a Prolific branded chipset

you now owe me a six pk of shandy carib.....sorrel and lime mix up eah.... :lol: