Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby stev » January 6th, 2014, 8:45 am

is it just me or custom launchers (nearly all) starts to lag after time :|

trying out some on a partner's S2.

Postby M_2NR » January 6th, 2014, 9:25 am

stev wrote:is it just me or custom launchers (nearly all) starts to lag after time :|

trying out some on a partner's S2.
nova launcher user here. No slowdowns at all and I have been using this launcher ever since.

Go launcher known for that though.

jungle_fever wrote:having some problems with my nexus 4 can anyone recommend someone to fix it for me.
it looses service, and i have to manually register it back on the network. did a reset twice already and changed the sim card, same problem. bought the phone when i was in the states direct from Google, contacted them and they started to suggest possible solutions, but they stop replying to my emails. like them still in the festive season.
there is a known issue of the sim card tray. Could be this.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » January 6th, 2014, 9:38 am

jungle_fever wrote:having some problems with my nexus 4 can anyone recommend someone to fix it for me.
it looses service, and i have to manually register it back on the network. did a reset twice already and changed the sim card, same problem. bought the phone when i was in the states direct from Google, contacted them and they started to suggest possible solutions, but they stop replying to my emails. like them still in the festive season.
there is a known issue of the sim card tray. Could be this.[/quote]

Are you using cut sims? I had a similar problem with my n4 until I got a factory cut sim from the phone company.

Postby RASC » January 6th, 2014, 10:20 am

A lot of new players in the android game this CES... new chipsets galore. 2014 is looking amazing already.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 6th, 2014, 11:08 am

Captain Awesome wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Xperia roms are sweet, but they get buggy very quickly

Explain da one a lil more nah please. Buggy how?

Just found that simple transitions slowed down notably, app crashes etc...was on a N7000

But aside that, i love that Xperia Z rom for it.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » January 6th, 2014, 11:17 am

Orrr you mean a Xperia rom port to a Samsung device?

Postby Trini Hookah » January 6th, 2014, 11:23 am

Lol yup, I wudn badtalk an Xperia and im posting from my S here :lol:

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » January 6th, 2014, 8:08 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Lol yup, I wudn badtalk an Xperia and im posting from my S here :lol:
man I loved that phone, that's actually one of the few phones I ever regret selling, phone sturdy, fast, sits great in the hand, camera was better on 4.0.4 but still great upgrade in 4.1 , actually I was the first to get 4.1 on the xperia s, only thing it missing is the water proof and dust resistant certification.. and a little bigger screen like 4.7"

Premera

Postby Premera » January 7th, 2014, 7:33 am

guys, is it normal for the battery to get really hot on a Brand New Note 3 after using the phone to Skype for about 30 mins ?

Also, I took the 2GB Data plan and got a 90% data used warning after 30 mins of Skype. However, when I Skyped via my wifi at home for the same duration, it was a lot less data used ? ( I track data usage on my phone )

Thanks

Digimaco

Postby Digimaco » January 7th, 2014, 7:46 am

Wifi usage is not going to affect your data plan. I would stick to Skype over wifi.

Postby noshownogo » January 7th, 2014, 8:06 am

Sometimes it isn't the battery at all getting hot, but rather the processor chip/memory.

This is common for phones doing intensive and or extended duration tasks. Skype for 30mins on a large screen phone will do the trick.

My S4 after 30mins gaming will do the same.

Premera

Postby Premera » January 7th, 2014, 8:11 am

Digimaco wrote:Wifi usage is not going to affect your data plan. I would stick to Skype over wifi.

What I meant was I skyped using my mobile data for 30 mins and used up 90% of my 2BG plan, then yesterday I skyped for the same duration using my wifi at home and I used nothing close to 1GB ?

Is it that the mobile data is not true 2GB ?

Postby M_2NR » January 7th, 2014, 8:16 am

You have a limit on mobile data. Its a separate plan to your WiFi internet. And yes 30mins of Skype can burn through a lot of data.

Premera

Postby Premera » January 7th, 2014, 8:33 am

M_2NR wrote:You have a limit on mobile data. Its a separate plan to your WiFi internet. And yes 30mins of Skype can burn through a lot of data.

Agreed, but shouldn't the data burnt be the same with wifi and the data plan if the same amount of minutes are used either way ?

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » January 7th, 2014, 8:45 am

Premera wrote:
M_2NR wrote:You have a limit on mobile data. Its a separate plan to your WiFi internet. And yes 30mins of Skype can burn through a lot of data.

Agreed, but shouldn't the data burnt be the same with wifi and the data plan if the same amount of minutes are used either way ?

Show us a Screenshot of what Android is saying the Skype app used on mobile data

Premera

Postby Premera » January 7th, 2014, 8:53 am

unfortunately my new data cycle stsarted Jan 5th so the info is not there anymore.

however, I looked at the wifi usage and Skype used 478MB last night for approx. 45 mins Skype ( 15.5MB of which was for background data. Not sure what that is, or means )

Kronik

Postby Kronik » January 7th, 2014, 9:58 am

Go in Skype settings and change the setting from high quality video, that mashes up your data very fast

Postby stev » January 7th, 2014, 1:45 pm

I thought the Nexus 5 battery life supposed to be bad (from all the reviews i read)

I'm 1 day 14 hours on battery (13% remaining) - moderate usage and WIFI didnt turn off since (remained on for at least 5 hours when i was using 4G)

is this bad compared to other phones? I have no idea :lol:

gfbl

Postby gfbl » January 7th, 2014, 4:01 pm

can anyone assist me??followed a youtube video and tried odin and motochopper to unlock an att samsung s4 i337 but no luck

Kronik

Postby Kronik » January 7th, 2014, 4:39 pm

stev wrote:I thought the Nexus 5 battery life supposed to be bad (from all the reviews i read)

I'm 1 day 14 hours on battery (13% remaining) - moderate usage and WIFI didnt turn off since (remained on for at least 5 hours when i was using 4G)

is this bad compared to other phones? I have no idea :lol:

Run data on it and see if it lasts the day. Data pull way more battery than WiFi

Postby stev » January 7th, 2014, 5:08 pm

would eventually see how long it lasts on 4G...these days i always around WIFI. lol

this is how much i get out of it b4 plugging in to charge.....very little screen on time. lol
Screenshot_2014-01-07-16-10-32.png
Screenshot_2014-01-07-16-08-41.png

Postby M_2NR » January 7th, 2014, 7:59 pm

Get an app like GSAM battery monitor and post screen on times. You don't seem to use your phone for other things as much though like email, whatsapp etc.
Also you may have a wakelock towards the end no? The screen wasn't on all the time and it was Awake?

Postby stev » January 7th, 2014, 10:15 pm

didnt use the phone as much for the past 2 days...coming down to the end i had the screen on for a while...installing and updating / browsing apps etc....checked the phone every 5 - 10 mins for emails and messages and made a couple calls...nothing heavy.

...installing GSAM Battery Monitor

Postby M_2NR » January 7th, 2014, 10:37 pm

U wouldn't believe but installing/updating apps is somewhat intense. I never realised it until I turned off automatic updates. Can't wait to hear the results of gsam after a week

Postby Ted_v2 » January 8th, 2014, 4:55 am

My tab had a memory problem. I posted a few pages back. I did a factory restore and downloaded back the apps. 4gb free now. Vs 400mb

Postby M_2NR » January 8th, 2014, 6:21 pm

You coulda use an app like disk usage to see where it was being taken up.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 8th, 2014, 8:03 pm

yuh mean nobody post this yet?

New Leaked Images Show Nokia's Vision For Android On The Normandy, Courtesy Of @evleaks

Nokia's rumored Android phone, the Normandy, has popped up a few times in leaked pics, but we've never seen the UI until now. In the newest images, the Android interface designed by Nokia is on display for all to see.

The lock screen has a rather Windows Phone vibe with large offset text and notification panels down at the bottom. There are also screens from the Skype and Viber apps. Notably, the status bar shows two separate SIM cards with their own signal bars. There are no virtual buttons on the Normandy, which is a little odd considering the single hardware button. The Normandy might be completely changing the way Android works to match Nokia's feature phone aesthetic.

Even with Microsoft set to acquire Nokia's Devices and Services division, it looks like the Normandy might still happen. By all accounts, it looks like a low-end dual-SIM phone with Android. It's not likely to be competitive with Nokia's Windows Phone products – it might not even come to the US.

Android Police

Postby nervewrecker » January 10th, 2014, 7:50 pm

Guys, anyone knows where sells the nexus 4 and 5 devices brand new here in Trini?

Postby stev » January 10th, 2014, 9:03 pm

not sure about brand new....but i saw the Nexus 4 and 5 in lets talk Gulf City.

Postby nervewrecker » January 10th, 2014, 9:48 pm

Any idea of price?

A friend saw mine and likes it, was wondering what prices are like here so he will know if to wait till he goes abroad.